• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Sep 13, 2006
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1178 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DiexeN.
    Sep 7, 2009
    7
    While i did enjoy the whole squad based combat and the fully discructable environments i never really liked the stratiegic point capturing objective. It gets frustrating during a single or multiplayer game because while im capturing one of the enemys points he is usually captuering one of mine and i just hate that. But overall it was a pretty good game and the campaign was good so i will While i did enjoy the whole squad based combat and the fully discructable environments i never really liked the stratiegic point capturing objective. It gets frustrating during a single or multiplayer game because while im capturing one of the enemys points he is usually captuering one of mine and i just hate that. But overall it was a pretty good game and the campaign was good so i will give it a 7. Expand
  2. ObjR.
    Oct 1, 2006
    9
    Pretty good game. Reminds me of Dawn of War. The only drawback is that it runs horribly on lower end PCs like mine.
  3. KneelB4ZOD
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    Pure and simple, if you like gaming, add this to your shelf. I would like to point out that WHAM! gaming officially sucks a fat one for this last critique. I mean cmon, way to F### up guys. Who rags on a game with a rating of 75, when 20 or more bigger critics give the game a 90 - 100 (there were like ten 100's!!!). 20+!!!!!!!!!! Dude, you guys are the laughing stock of the gamingPure and simple, if you like gaming, add this to your shelf. I would like to point out that WHAM! gaming officially sucks a fat one for this last critique. I mean cmon, way to F### up guys. Who rags on a game with a rating of 75, when 20 or more bigger critics give the game a 90 - 100 (there were like ten 100's!!!). 20+!!!!!!!!!! Dude, you guys are the laughing stock of the gaming world; I should have your jobs u SOB's.... Game revolution, i didn't expect that kind of idiocy from you. to tha point::::::::: This game has a few classic RTS flaws, but simply dominates every single game of its genre. In my book, this is the 4th best RTS WW2 game ever created (thus far). Expand
  4. Benlikeimgonnasay
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    I think its safe to say that WHAM! gaming critics officially suck a fat fucking dick. Seriously, when 20 or more critics rate a game at 90 and above, and you gave it a 75.... wow, way to fuck up eh?

    to tha point, this game has classic RTS flaws, but flat out dominates competition. This is a must buy. Seriously, who the fuck ever heard of Wham! gaming, i hate you faggots.
  5. SanZ.
    Oct 27, 2006
    8
    Visceral and quite possibly one of the most intense and exciting RTS i'd ever played. This is very different from all other rts in the market right now, and emphasizes alot more on tactics and how you fully utilize the strengths of your units. Its not about turtling and massing your troops and over-running your opponents in a single swoop (aka C&C). to A B: DO NOT compare this with Visceral and quite possibly one of the most intense and exciting RTS i'd ever played. This is very different from all other rts in the market right now, and emphasizes alot more on tactics and how you fully utilize the strengths of your units. Its not about turtling and massing your troops and over-running your opponents in a single swoop (aka C&C). to A B: DO NOT compare this with Red Alert.it is in no way like any of the C&C games, in fact, it would be an insult to CoH. You're not supposed to mass anything, which forces you to utilize your resources and units more effectively. And also, the emphasis is on tactical and strategic combat, NOT base building and harvesting of resources. I think this game is just not for you A B. I would have rated this a 9 but the tank pathfinding bugs are way too glaring to be ignored. Online matching and ranking systems are still bugged as well. Expand
  6. DirkD.
    Sep 13, 2006
    8
    Well, it's certianly NOT as realistic as the Close Combat games (buy the upcoming Theatre of War if you want that...I will be!), but it's far and away the best RTS game out there to date.
  7. S-T-S
    Sep 16, 2006
    9
    Indeed, this is good RTS. Many talk about Close Combat being realistic.. I think Combat Mission series is THE most realistic WWII game to date (granted that it's turn based, but when you press go it moves all players at once, so its kinda mixed RTS and turn based). It says something about Combat Mission, when even antitank weapon damage is calculated from the angle it was shot. Indeed, this is good RTS. Many talk about Close Combat being realistic.. I think Combat Mission series is THE most realistic WWII game to date (granted that it's turn based, but when you press go it moves all players at once, so its kinda mixed RTS and turn based). It says something about Combat Mission, when even antitank weapon damage is calculated from the angle it was shot. Troops have wery realistic morale and efficiency based on how close leaders are. And the tactics play far more important role than in any game i have seen. Expand
  8. LauriS.
    Sep 18, 2006
    8
    By no means a bad game it still feels like dawn of war: winter assault with WW2 units and awesome graphics. Owners of less powerful rigs and people seeking realism beware.
  9. AndrewZ.
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    All I can say is amazing.
  10. ChrisJ
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    Spectacular - the first WWII RTS I've enjoyed, Company of Heroes is beautifully put together.
  11. DaveR.
    Sep 22, 2006
    9
    Yes it's an RTS - it even says exactly that on the box, it follows RTS conventions If it didn't it wouldn't be an RTS. It is NOT realistc at the expense of gameplay. There are games that force you to micromanage your troops underwear requirement from the quartermaster and even their facing under fire "Please turn and face the guys shooting at you" This game doesn't Yes it's an RTS - it even says exactly that on the box, it follows RTS conventions If it didn't it wouldn't be an RTS. It is NOT realistc at the expense of gameplay. There are games that force you to micromanage your troops underwear requirement from the quartermaster and even their facing under fire "Please turn and face the guys shooting at you" This game doesn't -and as a GAME - it's all the better for it. For those who want that - I can suggest the "Combat Mission" games - a fine game with an average turn time for a company size operation of about three and a half weeks. Where even the most retentive "Uber" general can micro manage every last aspect of there troops Play that and realise that no commander would ever do that in real life "gamey features" Durr "It IS a game" There is no resource gathering in the usual sense (you have to take resource points which then give you manpower / fuel or ammo depending on type) I think of that as your HQ allocating resourcs depending on your units geographical footprint and usefullness (which is what generally happens) MG's with short ranges do irk me, but haviing played Flashpoint, being shot from a mile away with no idea who or how is not really everyones gaming "cup of tea" and despite beig realistic - also seems very arbitrary and not linked in any way to your skill as a gamer. This game is action packed fun with a good measure of thought required (the skirmish modes are damn hard) Clarker Expand
  12. TheMan
    Sep 24, 2006
    10
    Very fun, very good graphics, and a awesome campaign mode. Some things do magically appear, and the gun ranges are a little bogus, but other than that the game can be reall realistic.
  13. RossA.
    Sep 25, 2006
    9
    Sounds, animations, atmospheres, environments, potential for strategic variation, importance of individual squadron control, unit special abilities, intelligent AI, even an engine that can scale down on 3 years+ old computers and still run smoothly. While comments such as Mick N's: "Drivel [...], absolutely horrid," are usually counter-productive, he does make the valid points that a Sounds, animations, atmospheres, environments, potential for strategic variation, importance of individual squadron control, unit special abilities, intelligent AI, even an engine that can scale down on 3 years+ old computers and still run smoothly. While comments such as Mick N's: "Drivel [...], absolutely horrid," are usually counter-productive, he does make the valid points that a few things are blindingly traditional (health bars, unrealistic obtaining of upgrades) and could use a little spark. But what makes me give this game a 9 is that, while this game is executed very well, Relic does not innovate enough on their previous RTS, 40k, to justify giving them a 10. However, this game is superbly crafted. The only aspect that its missing is something that differentiates it from 40k outside of the setting. Expand
  14. DM
    Sep 26, 2006
    10
    I some what laugh at the few comments as to COH being generic or the same old RTS formula dressed up. Fortunately these people are in the minority and I suspect are Devs for competitors. The truth is there is many, many new and innovated game play mechanics to COH, the destructible environments, the suppression and pinning of squads, the territory control, and more. These combined to I some what laugh at the few comments as to COH being generic or the same old RTS formula dressed up. Fortunately these people are in the minority and I suspect are Devs for competitors. The truth is there is many, many new and innovated game play mechanics to COH, the destructible environments, the suppression and pinning of squads, the territory control, and more. These combined to create a dynamic and tactical game. Where one well placed Machine gun nest and sniper can hold up and pin four squads or two Anti tank guns lying in ambush can devastate your Armour rush. Since WW1 military commanders have known Artillery is the queen of the battle field and COH is no different, as one well timed strike can smash a spear head. So go ahead Nick B, mass up units and run a cross the map, see what happens, you obviously haven Expand
  15. Marty
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    I NEVER take the time to vote on a game...but THIS...this is THE best RTS to date. Period. GREAT GRAPHICS...AMAZING gameplay...EXCEPTIONAL AI. What more can you ask for. Even the sounds are fantastic. Don't even hesitate on this one.
  16. SpencerL.
    Jan 1, 2007
    9
    Gets a little hard to quickly. Otherwise a really awsome game. You can get so close to the action you can actually only see a little of the guy and his gun.
  17. NavB.
    Jan 16, 2007
    9
    I bought this game during the holidays and have been playing the campaign mode and i must say this game is really awesome. The level of difficulty is somewhat higher in this game compared to other RTS games but i think that's the part that makes it that much more fun for me. The graphics and physical are really good along with level of detail in general. I have played the multiplayer I bought this game during the holidays and have been playing the campaign mode and i must say this game is really awesome. The level of difficulty is somewhat higher in this game compared to other RTS games but i think that's the part that makes it that much more fun for me. The graphics and physical are really good along with level of detail in general. I have played the multiplayer as well quite a few times now and really enjoyed that as well. I would say this is a must have game for any RTS fan. I am looking forward to the expansion for this which will hopefully add more units and factions. Expand
  18. BjörnH.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    The very best strategy game ever! The combat feels so real and there is good space for strategy and tacticts. Haven't enjoyed a strategy game based on old school base building since C&C: Red Alert.
  19. BillyE.
    Oct 27, 2007
    9
    Very realistic by RTS standards, great graphics, great sound. This game is nearly perfect. The only thing I hated was the vehicle AI. It would create the necessity to micromanage and that isn't always a viable choice when your in an intense battle. To typical idiotic comments made below about the realism; join a freaking war if you want true realism.
  20. J.Hair
    Feb 20, 2007
    8
    It's not as overrated as Warhammer, which consists mostly of amassing as many units as possible to eliminate opponents.
  21. JBW.
    Feb 4, 2007
    8
    I gave this game an 8 because the graphics, physics, and sound are all awsome, they could not be better, the firefights can be huge and absolutely amazing to watch and play, and the destructible environments only adds to this. The only problem that I had was that you had to do everything, your troops would not act on their own.
  22. R.Hill
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    Ok for all of those negative reviews lets get some things straight here... The game is similar to Dawn of War but NOT the same thing. Company of Heroes is a fast paced, intense, TACTICAL game. Dawn of war is more about spamming mass units and attacking in big waves. I tried Faces of War (which people seem to compare Company of Heroes to), it
  23. UK_John
    Apr 16, 2007
    9
    This is a solid 9. It would have been a 10 if there was the German campaign to defend as well as the American campaign to attack. The graphics, the sound the AI, all is excellent. This is fast paced gaming, A way to find your units just a little quicker would have been welcome, but really, this is the best WWII RTS Game out there by a long long way!
  24. Wehrmacht132
    May 14, 2007
    10
    This game is unbelievable ... all in- the best strategy game of all time.
  25. TimY.
    May 24, 2007
    10
    Great presentation and polish. It's hard to find a game these days with this much work put into it. Unrealistic in some aspects, but these are small complains to an otherwise great game.
  26. DomE.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    Great game. been just playing the skermish, everything works well love how everything gets destroyed some glitches but nothing serious wot so ever found it in a bargin bucket as well!!
  27. JasonM.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    This is by far the best quality RTS I have ever played. Tons of fun, and the expansion is due this fall!!! The game is available on STEAM now too. If you don't know about STEAM it lets you download the game to any PC at any time, so if you reinstalled your OS or upgraded your PC you don't need to track down those scratched DVD's or anything. Highly recommend CoH!
  28. ChrisH.
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    I feel safe in saying that this is the pinnacle of the tactical RTS. It offers two great different, but balanced, factions, loads of units, amazing presentation, and incredible sound. I love how the resource points replace the ore miners and tiberium harvesters of old and create a frantic struggle for resources that keeps the action going for the entire game. That's not to say I I feel safe in saying that this is the pinnacle of the tactical RTS. It offers two great different, but balanced, factions, loads of units, amazing presentation, and incredible sound. I love how the resource points replace the ore miners and tiberium harvesters of old and create a frantic struggle for resources that keeps the action going for the entire game. That's not to say I don't like the old system (CnC3 is one of my favourites!) but it's nice to play something different, especially when it's as well-done as CoH. The amazing presentation goes hand in hand with the intense action. As you maneuver your tank down tight French streets, it'll take down road signs, rubble, and even sides of buildings caught in its path with its engine humming as it goes on its way. Infantry will be in cover, seemingly safe, only to have their safe place blown a way by a terrifying-sounding heavy machine gun. Both the sound and the graphics are top-notch, but unfortunately take at least a somewhat decent PC to run. Still, if you can run it, you won't want to put it down. Expand
  29. MarkJ
    Nov 1, 2008
    10
    The best RTS game I have ever played since Command and Conquer Gold. It's replay value is endless, much like some FPS games have (RTCW); and with a high end graphics card like the GTX 290 you will be amazed at the realism in the physics and particle effects that dazzle your screen, not to mention the clear crisp sounds of MG fire every 20 seconds that keeps you thinking about the The best RTS game I have ever played since Command and Conquer Gold. It's replay value is endless, much like some FPS games have (RTCW); and with a high end graphics card like the GTX 290 you will be amazed at the realism in the physics and particle effects that dazzle your screen, not to mention the clear crisp sounds of MG fire every 20 seconds that keeps you thinking about the battlefield. Expand
  30. MikeH.
    Feb 16, 2008
    9
    The visual effects are stunning not to mention the gameplay it is like gold coated chips.
  31. ArchangelM.
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    Fantastic gameplay,superior graphics,no pixalation, no popups, top of the line in warcraft, spending 22 years in the marines and entering service back in 73, id say this has all the action of a real conflict,and the only thing missing was bodybags,the initial sequence at the beach was so lifelike and so very devastating, amazing work, and the control choices could include joystick, other Fantastic gameplay,superior graphics,no pixalation, no popups, top of the line in warcraft, spending 22 years in the marines and entering service back in 73, id say this has all the action of a real conflict,and the only thing missing was bodybags,the initial sequence at the beach was so lifelike and so very devastating, amazing work, and the control choices could include joystick, other then that id rate it 100. Expand
  32. JonV
    Jul 20, 2008
    9
    I only gave this a 9 beacuse of the requirements. I had a 2-year old computer with nVidia Geforce 7600, and it filled out the recommended requirements but it could'nt play it on medium. but on my new computer the game is absolutely great. Thou it does remind of dawn of war, the games are completly different from each other. Even if you do'nt like RTS, you should buy this game.
  33. LouisM.
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    Having played this game for years, I can safely say that it is the best RTS game I have ever played. The graphics are outstanding for the genre, the gameplay is superb, and the learning curve is by no means steep. I've recommended this game to many friends who all have enjoyed it, and I'll continue to recommend it. It is worth every penny.
  34. MangeB
    Jan 14, 2009
    10
    This game i still right at the top a couple of years later and the devs are still working on new patches, maps and balance tweaks. I've spent several hundreds of hours with it. While the campaign doesn't last more than 15-20 hours or so (I forgot), in online play it never gets booring. Since the four main factions (including the follow up opposing fronts) in turn have three tech This game i still right at the top a couple of years later and the devs are still working on new patches, maps and balance tweaks. I've spent several hundreds of hours with it. While the campaign doesn't last more than 15-20 hours or so (I forgot), in online play it never gets booring. Since the four main factions (including the follow up opposing fronts) in turn have three tech trees each, even repeated play on the same map usually turns out differently depending on player strategy and the flow of each game. Whats more, the game can now be found dirt cheap. An amazing bargain for a game that kicks ass and will last for a long time to come. Out of this game and the follow up opposing fronts, this one is definitely the better one, but you may want to get the other one too for the ability to play as all four factions online. Expand
  35. MicahS
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    Best RTS game i have ever played, just bought the whole combo pack for $35, best $35 ever spent, i was a little wary because i am more of a FPS kinda guy but this game is intense enough to pull me into it!
  36. MartinD
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    Company of heroes is easily one of the best RTS games of all time and excels in all areas. Relic continues to provide support by releasing balance patches and graphics updates and is one of the few developers who listen to the community and provide balance updates based on the feedback they recieve. If you haven't played COH yet your missing out.
  37. RashM
    Mar 1, 2009
    10
    Most impressive and revolutionary RTS Ever. The first RTS games, Warcraft 1 and Dune, defined the genre. Since then every game has merely copied these two with no real innovation - starcraft is a shining example of this and sc2 promises to be no different. CoH is far more than the boring stats vs stats combat. It is a very cerebral, highly tactical strategy game. It skill fully maneuvers Most impressive and revolutionary RTS Ever. The first RTS games, Warcraft 1 and Dune, defined the genre. Since then every game has merely copied these two with no real innovation - starcraft is a shining example of this and sc2 promises to be no different. CoH is far more than the boring stats vs stats combat. It is a very cerebral, highly tactical strategy game. It skill fully maneuvers away from all the criticisms of the RTS genre (as pointed out by actual military strategists and turn-based strategy game players). It defines a innovative new strategy game that can be hailed as the greatest revolution in RTS since Warcraft 1 made its debut in 1994. Despite its excellent design and depth, it engages from the start, as one makes the first fumbling steps into the game. The game has remarkable polish: excellent graphics, color schemes and incredible sound to add to the inspiring atmosphere. It transforms the computer into a 1944 battlefield. A new bar has been set rather high for future games in the RTS genre. Expand
  38. Jacob
    May 13, 2009
    10
    I have played this game since it first came out. I came across it by luck. Now with all of the expansions out, this game appeals to single and multi player enthusiasts. The AI in the troops is a great aspect, the dimensions you have to cover in this game mean that you cannot get a super weapon and win. You have to play to win each time. For first time strategist it is a fun play and for I have played this game since it first came out. I came across it by luck. Now with all of the expansions out, this game appeals to single and multi player enthusiasts. The AI in the troops is a great aspect, the dimensions you have to cover in this game mean that you cannot get a super weapon and win. You have to play to win each time. For first time strategist it is a fun play and for veteran gamers it is the complete conjunction of action strategy and fun. Expand
  39. joe
    Sep 16, 2009
    7
    The tanks, Jesus Christ they can be retards, instead of retreating lets do a full u turn, expose our rear armor and die. Infantry, Why do you insist on jumping out from behind the sandbags and getting blown to hell? Game has balance issues, once the enemy controls more than 2/3 the map you may as well quit as they will have more units than you have bullets. But some parts do redeem this game.
  40. BeaLavont
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    I can't believe you people who rate this game so low because it lacks features NO OTHER GAME ON EARTH HAS!!! DUH??!! "Infantry cant jump over walls"..what RTS is out there that this is possible? I mean you comparing this game to a game that DOES NOT EXIST... learn to critique my friends...this RTS compared to past ones is a MASTERPIECE.. simply the best there is now...jeez
  41. Iven
    Nov 25, 2006
    10
    Amazing Graphics. Very fast paced, especially for an RTS. Visceral and quite possibly one of the most intense and exciting RTS I've ever played.
  42. JamesW.
    Oct 21, 2006
    10
    Unreal - World War 2 might have been done to death by a myriad of FPS games out there. Sincere congrats to Relic for breathing life in to a stale story genre with an absolutely STERLING RTS worthy of many accolades; it has everything you'd expect from a game destined to become reckoned as "great" - atmosphere, polish, balance and suspense. The satisfying 'thud' of distant Unreal - World War 2 might have been done to death by a myriad of FPS games out there. Sincere congrats to Relic for breathing life in to a stale story genre with an absolutely STERLING RTS worthy of many accolades; it has everything you'd expect from a game destined to become reckoned as "great" - atmosphere, polish, balance and suspense. The satisfying 'thud' of distant artillery with the growl and grind of approaching tanks adds an unbelieveable level of involvement when you are left in control of a few squads of Rifleman to hold a town against impossible odds... But it's very possible to hold the line, and that is why they call it "company of heroes". Thanks for a great game, Relic. You're a credit to the gaming industry. Expand
  43. XBlackFuryX
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    Really an awfull game, best RTS ever ( i guess ), enjoyable gameplay, lots of great vehicles, and there isnt lots of 152mm artillery fucking your base like in FOW. The AT guns, Tanks, Mgs, minefields and other traps by enginners make it a great strategy game even at defense and atack.. And General J., do you really think that all soldiers have AT grenades ? Why dont you try to researchReally an awfull game, best RTS ever ( i guess ), enjoyable gameplay, lots of great vehicles, and there isnt lots of 152mm artillery fucking your base like in FOW. The AT guns, Tanks, Mgs, minefields and other traps by enginners make it a great strategy game even at defense and atack.. And General J., do you really think that all soldiers have AT grenades ? Why dont you try to research Stick Bombs on barracks ? IT are real, not lots of AT grenades. Expand
  44. Mike
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    I hated the demo! I didn't understand what all the hype was about. And a month later, I bought the game, becasue all the good reviews got to me. I started playing this game, and I was amazed in how excellent the gameplay is! The demo doesnt even scratch the surface of how excellent this game is!
  45. CorinneLau
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    I'm not a veteran RTS player but this one is just amazing! It's a lot of fun and looks spectacular, I keep wanting to play more games. There seems to be a lot of depth possible and skill to master, I'm getting there!
  46. Thomasl
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    I don't like RTS, but I like this. There was a game a few years ago called "Close Combat" that received great reviews, but not much attention from the general public. This has many of those strategy elements, and I'd be surprised if the developers didn't 'steal' a lot of great ideas from it.I don't like RTS, but I like this. There was a game a few years ago called "Close Combat" that received great reviews, but not much attention from the general public. This has many of those strategy elements, and I'd be surprised if the developers didn't 'steal' a lot of great ideas from it.
    http://www.gamespot.com/pc/strategy/closecombat3therf/index.html?q=close%20combat

    Additionally, if you've every played an old Avalon Hill role playing game called squad leader, you'll probably very much enjoy this. Beautiful game. Biggest problem is not being able to zoom out far enough (wastes a lot of time which you'll need to manage all the strategy)

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advanced_Squad_Leader
    Expand
  47. DieselP.
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    Out of all the RTS games I have played, I was skeptical to buy yet another one. However, I decieded to go ahead and get this. OMG it is the best RTS game I have ever played. The game play is so realistic, and the graphics are amazing. It gives you the feeling of being in the game. The 3d camera, its so awesome. It runs perfect on my D2.8Ghz 256mb Vid card 1gig of ram.
  48. O.Lum
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    This baby is a solid Niner! Best RTS since this genre was created with Dune 2. Yes, I've been playing PC Games for that long. What's truly cool about this game is that it deviates from the standard RTS where if you build the most units you win. In COH tactics are used, and fewer units can defeat a force superior in numbers by using flanking moves and combined arms. I have a 3 This baby is a solid Niner! Best RTS since this genre was created with Dune 2. Yes, I've been playing PC Games for that long. What's truly cool about this game is that it deviates from the standard RTS where if you build the most units you win. In COH tactics are used, and fewer units can defeat a force superior in numbers by using flanking moves and combined arms. I have a 3 year old machine and it runs well. Sure it's not cranked graphically but it still looks pretty sweet. Buy it, best RTS in ages! Expand
  49. JanB.
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    Relic outdo themselves once again. Company of Heroes is King!
  50. Kyleb
    Sep 21, 2006
    7
    So let me get this straight. This game is BETTER than Warcraft 3 according to this site and most of the reviews. And I'm the Easter Bunny. It's a decent game with great graphics, but no way does it compare to the epic WC3. Mick N is full of crap giving it a one, but let's not get our fanboy panties up in a bunch about this game. It's only got TWO forces for oneSo let me get this straight. This game is BETTER than Warcraft 3 according to this site and most of the reviews. And I'm the Easter Bunny. It's a decent game with great graphics, but no way does it compare to the epic WC3. Mick N is full of crap giving it a one, but let's not get our fanboy panties up in a bunch about this game. It's only got TWO forces for one thing. And no way does it generate anything like the envolvement I had with the WC3 heroes, or the exploratory diablo-like secondary gameplay. Expand
  51. TakeshiJ.
    Dec 28, 2007
    9
    Awesome game, probably the best thats out theres. As an avid strategy game player, this game has graphics and sound that easily creme any other rts on the shelfs today. The game play is Relics crown with squads instead of single units. From starcraft to Company of Heroes rts has come a long way. And the only reason that I gave it a 9 is because it lacks certain units (like artillery) and Awesome game, probably the best thats out theres. As an avid strategy game player, this game has graphics and sound that easily creme any other rts on the shelfs today. The game play is Relics crown with squads instead of single units. From starcraft to Company of Heroes rts has come a long way. And the only reason that I gave it a 9 is because it lacks certain units (like artillery) and the AI starts to suck once you get good, but that's where multiplayer comes in! Expand
  52. SantoshM.
    Feb 18, 2007
    9
    The best I have ever played and shows the real war situation. 10 points is worth but -1 is always for improvement.
  53. YoshiY.
    Jul 28, 2007
    7
    A great looking RTS game that's somewhat different from a lot of those out there. But still, I'm probably being generous giving it a seven for couple of reasons. The biggest problem is the micro-management required for a lot of your units, which can be hell in the heat of battle. Guns won't point and fire in the right direction unless you tell them to, while your infantry A great looking RTS game that's somewhat different from a lot of those out there. But still, I'm probably being generous giving it a seven for couple of reasons. The biggest problem is the micro-management required for a lot of your units, which can be hell in the heat of battle. Guns won't point and fire in the right direction unless you tell them to, while your infantry won't automatically throw those sticky bombs at an enemy tank unless you tell them to--and you have to repeatedly do so--even though their rifles have no visible effect on armour. Locating your units can be a pain too, and since this game limits you to the number of units available more than most RTS do, every unit counts. There are also various niggling problems, like base placement and unit movements. Once my rangers got trapped in a building and couldn't get out - I eventually had to shell the area (and lose half the unit) before they crawled out from the rubble... Tanks also have a nasty habit of running into each other, and that's bad when you're under fire. Enemy's AI rather good, especially with flanking your troops. That would've been great it it weren't for the fact that all this micro-managing really puts you in a disadvantage. And with the opponent in CoH playing quite aggressively, things can get really frustrating at times. Wasn't expecting this to be historically authentic and that proved true, though it didn't really matter to me. Still, wish the game had offered more campaigns rather than just Normandy, and more variety of gameplay as the story unfolds instead of the same old thing over and over. Expand
  54. davisa
    Dec 20, 2008
    10
    This game is exiting if i am so glad i got it i recommend this game highly if i could do it all over again i think i would in this game u can get a bunch of real vehicles and infantry like halftrak tanks jeeps and infanty like rangers medics enginneers ifelt like iwas really a WW2 commander most fun game ive bought in years if u like shooting games, strategy, science ficion or andy other This game is exiting if i am so glad i got it i recommend this game highly if i could do it all over again i think i would in this game u can get a bunch of real vehicles and infantry like halftrak tanks jeeps and infanty like rangers medics enginneers ifelt like iwas really a WW2 commander most fun game ive bought in years if u like shooting games, strategy, science ficion or andy other type of game this is all of them combined plz plz do yourself a favor and buy this faboulous game best ever! Expand
  55. JimW
    Aug 12, 2008
    7
    Very good game and probably deserves all the plaudits it has got. But i want to nitpick. Briefly, A little too much micromanagement required, maybe I just suck but i have trouble controlling every aspect of what every one of my units is doing, at the same time. AI can be an utter pain in the behind, especially when they don't seem to want to get into cover when there is plenty about, Very good game and probably deserves all the plaudits it has got. But i want to nitpick. Briefly, A little too much micromanagement required, maybe I just suck but i have trouble controlling every aspect of what every one of my units is doing, at the same time. AI can be an utter pain in the behind, especially when they don't seem to want to get into cover when there is plenty about, and instead sit themselves plum in the middle of a field. Apart from that, it is great. It is like a awesome sports car, but with a few dents that need buffing out. Expand
  56. erikf
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    Great game. Enough to keep you on the edge of your seat, from building to building, check point to check point, Normandy to Berliin.
  57. DanielG
    Dec 23, 2009
    7
    I like this game but it falls apart when it comes to the AI i mean come on. I played against easy AI on a skirmish and they already had 3/4 of the map when i started sending troops out; this means you might as well quit the game because as soon as they get tanks out you are dead.
  58. MARIOK
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    The greatest RTS since STARCRAFT .I really love the details of COH that is its strongpoint. The graphics are top notch and the sound too.Gameplay is fast and tactical COHs physics perfectly .Anyone who has a pc buy it, you wont regret it
  59. JackL
    Feb 26, 2009
    10
    The best RTS ever played, Even from what we've seen of Dawn of war 2 cannot match Company of heroes, and with yet another incoming expansion pack adding more machines and campaigns to this box of carnage, It can only get better, Physics is fantastically implemented, AI is fantastic, the squad act not just through morale but simple common sense that many other modern games lack even The best RTS ever played, Even from what we've seen of Dawn of war 2 cannot match Company of heroes, and with yet another incoming expansion pack adding more machines and campaigns to this box of carnage, It can only get better, Physics is fantastically implemented, AI is fantastic, the squad act not just through morale but simple common sense that many other modern games lack even now! Graphics are among the finest to be seen in RTS history, the only other graphical details I've seen that are better would be the new Empire Total war. Relic has grabbed the RTS genre by the throat tore its previous ideas from it's grubby hands and put something far better in it's place. Expand
  60. RobertM.
    Nov 28, 2007
    9
    Not realistic, but when was it supposed to be? Great game.
  61. Seb
    Nov 16, 2008
    9
    A brilliant game in all respects. Pros: - Excellent graphics, physics and audio. - (Very) destructible environments and excellent atmosphere. - Impressive selection of units from the era. - Long single player campaign with good replay value due to medals, various difficulties. - Great multiplayer support including rankings, chat lobbies and friends list. - Cinematic and engaging A brilliant game in all respects. Pros: - Excellent graphics, physics and audio. - (Very) destructible environments and excellent atmosphere. - Impressive selection of units from the era. - Long single player campaign with good replay value due to medals, various difficulties. - Great multiplayer support including rankings, chat lobbies and friends list. - Cinematic and engaging storyline. - Can provide an enjoyable challenge to both the novice and experienced gamer alike. Cons: - AI could do with some tweaks / improvements in rare situations. - If only it had a co-op campaign mode... Expand
  62. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    The best RTS ever made, without question - no game, not even simulators like Theatre of War approach the depth and variety of CoH. One of the few games that gives you such options in battle, and is the only RTS where you can truly use and manipulate terrain and neutral world structures to turn the tide of battle. Use a howitzer to create a heavy cover point for advancing infantry? YouThe best RTS ever made, without question - no game, not even simulators like Theatre of War approach the depth and variety of CoH. One of the few games that gives you such options in battle, and is the only RTS where you can truly use and manipulate terrain and neutral world structures to turn the tide of battle. Use a howitzer to create a heavy cover point for advancing infantry? You bet. Build your own cover? Sandbags coming right upt. That hedgerow blocking your advance? Not if my demolition pack has anything to say.

    No RTS game approaches the sheer variety, depth and brilliance of CoH. I've been playing since release and it still amazes me the new strategies and environmental tactics that pop up.

    A master work of game design, no RTS fan should miss it.
    Expand
  63. gas
    Aug 6, 2012
    8
    One of the best RTS games ever made, i got it at release and from time to time im still playin it.
    Ofc the concept is repetitive, but its like any other RTS.
    Great feeling over the game mechaincs, really great audio, still very appealing graphics, challenging AI, balanced but enough different factions. I personally think that Starcraft II offers a bit more depth to the players who wants
    One of the best RTS games ever made, i got it at release and from time to time im still playin it.
    Ofc the concept is repetitive, but its like any other RTS.
    Great feeling over the game mechaincs, really great audio, still very appealing graphics, challenging AI, balanced but enough different factions.
    I personally think that Starcraft II offers a bit more depth to the players who wants a more competitive experience in multi and a better structured single player campaign, anyway thumbs up for this COH, imo second only to SC2, really a well made and fun RTS.
    Expand
  64. Oct 10, 2010
    10
    This game is the best rts i'v seen because its more tactical than most of the rts where you win is who has the most units this rts its how you play the units not how many anyway I find this a good game! =3
  65. Oct 26, 2010
    8
    What stands out about this game is the attention to detail. The audio and visuals are excellent. Unit speech is believable. The use of a physics engine is put to excellent use; gunners hunch over and fall out of vehicles when killed and tanks plow though most of the destroyable landscape in their way. The campaign play has been fun and challenging, though it's not uncommon for missions toWhat stands out about this game is the attention to detail. The audio and visuals are excellent. Unit speech is believable. The use of a physics engine is put to excellent use; gunners hunch over and fall out of vehicles when killed and tanks plow though most of the destroyable landscape in their way. The campaign play has been fun and challenging, though it's not uncommon for missions to punish you for not being prepared. It de-emphasizes buildings and resources somewhat and focuses more on unit combat and strategy which can lead to more intense combat, but can also mean more micromanaging.
    My biggest complaint about this game is the occasional AI malfunctions; Units not fighting back, tanks fighting in melee-range, or units taking cover next to explosives they just threw. The combat balance can be frustrating, it can take minutes for a tank to dispatch 3 foot-soldiers. The main menu shows you many campaigns but says you need to purchase expansions to play them, giving the impression you need to purchase a lot to enjoy this game. However the main campaign included has a sufficient number of gameplay hours. Luckily these flaws don't overshadow what a great RTS this is; It's worth picking up if you enjoy RTS games.
    Expand
  66. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    I've had this game for a few years now and have all the expansions. I have played through all the campaigns now a total of 3 times and still enjoy loading this up every now and then. It is perhaps one of the best rts games ever made. I really like the idea of being able to have my infantry take cover and get an advantage on the field. I really like not having to mine or collectI've had this game for a few years now and have all the expansions. I have played through all the campaigns now a total of 3 times and still enjoy loading this up every now and then. It is perhaps one of the best rts games ever made. I really like the idea of being able to have my infantry take cover and get an advantage on the field. I really like not having to mine or collect resources. The fact that you have to take over territories and hold on to them is a great concept and makes the game much more fun to play. It seems that the all sides are good and balanced. The graphics and special effects look fantastic on a good gaming system. One thing that I find annoying though is the AI at times. Path finding seems to be good for the most part, but sometimes your troops will just stand there and take a beating from an enemy mortar team and you have to baby sit them (though they do have the smarts to go for cover when someone is shooting at them). It would be nice if they would automatically retreat back out of range when this happens instead of just standing there like a bunch of idiots (or lying down on the ground as if that is going to help). When playing against a computer player even on a normal setting the computer player seems to obtain far more resources faster then you do....so if there is nothing in the way to slow it down (blown bridges) the computer will just run you over with wave after wave all the while taking all your territory from you faster than you say "cheatinsob!"....over all it is a great game to play if you like RTS games (especially World War 2 ones), and though I have yet to play against a human player I'm sure it would be fun. Expand
  67. Aug 23, 2012
    8
    One of the most fun rts titles I have ever played. Don't expect to play this competitively, there is a lot of randomness that dictates the outcomes of battles and the combat AI is horrible but you forget those things when your blowing everything up with artillery.
  68. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    Nice game, it's realistic. I'm loving it!
    It's especially fun if you play 4 vs 4. Communication will be as important as skill. And for the price you pay now? Why not?
  69. Nov 12, 2012
    8
    I love this game!, the reasons that I do not give a 10 is because they are very few factions and in multiplayer of classic or skirmish you can't play as a fictitious faction with the units of the American vs American , or German vs. German.
  70. Jul 24, 2016
    9
    I picked this game a long time ago as a bundle with the DLC for cheap but that was probably the best money I've spent on a video game ever. The multiplayer balance was off at times but you were still able to find games without people abusing bs. Single player was great, yeah its not the most realistic WW2 game out there but imo it had a great balance between realism and gameplay. In allI picked this game a long time ago as a bundle with the DLC for cheap but that was probably the best money I've spent on a video game ever. The multiplayer balance was off at times but you were still able to find games without people abusing bs. Single player was great, yeah its not the most realistic WW2 game out there but imo it had a great balance between realism and gameplay. In all honesty I dont recall any RTS coming close to this title in terms of fun I had playing it, ever... Expand
  71. Nov 28, 2015
    7
    Another RTS from Relic and another RTS that is different from Command & Conquer / Starcraft / Warcraft gameplay. It is similar to Dawn of War and Ground Control. Action is everywhere and graphics is very good even today, especially when you put in some texture mods and activate some effects by sweetFX and NVidia Detonator. The physics is great, one of the best I ve ever saw. The beginningAnother RTS from Relic and another RTS that is different from Command & Conquer / Starcraft / Warcraft gameplay. It is similar to Dawn of War and Ground Control. Action is everywhere and graphics is very good even today, especially when you put in some texture mods and activate some effects by sweetFX and NVidia Detonator. The physics is great, one of the best I ve ever saw. The beginning is really 10/10, but...

    The setting is WW2 and again Normandy, Carentan, evil Nazis, hero USA... We had this settings 23d8rt3459d times and it is boring. And if you know Band of brothers...it gets even more boring and just propaganda. In my view the gameplay is simple, there are not many different strategies, so the game is more tactical.It reminds me a bit to World in Conflict, that is better in my view. In CoH are only few units, so after some missions the game starts to be boring. The KI is unrealistic, because they dont recapture the strategy points effectively, but it is good, otherwise every mission would take too much time. The KI cheats a bit, because it can view the whole map and go directly to the weak points. The UI is much too big too and I cant find any UI Mod. Surely not a great game
    Expand
  72. Oct 27, 2013
    8
    Don't get me wrong... this is a really well made game. Especially considering I write this review after 7 years of its release. It has however few annoying issues. First, the AI of your own troops is basically non-existing. Especially in fast-paced maps controlling every minor detail of your troops becomes simply frustrating. Also, the base building doesn't really fit well to this game.Don't get me wrong... this is a really well made game. Especially considering I write this review after 7 years of its release. It has however few annoying issues. First, the AI of your own troops is basically non-existing. Especially in fast-paced maps controlling every minor detail of your troops becomes simply frustrating. Also, the base building doesn't really fit well to this game. Fixed amount of troops plus triggered reinforcements would have worked better than some artificial troop limit that gets maxed out in worse possible times. Expand
  73. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    Best Strategy of ALL TIME!!! Bar-none. This is my favorite game of all time. It pains me that they have stopped updating it for it's lower, less-successful, less-enjoyable brother COH 2... This game is awesome and I still play online today Fall 2013. So what are you waiting for! Go buy this game on steam for super cheap and have a ton more fun than COH 2. They got it right the first time
  74. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    The game is fascinating. I don't know if the Stormtrooper in reality, could camouflage like in the game. One can device many tactics for the various units. For instance, camouflage a sniper, and disable free fire. Then camouflage the Stormtrooper unit, or two Stormtrooper units with panzershrecks, and put them in a position, where they are behind the sniper, and have the sniper scout forThe game is fascinating. I don't know if the Stormtrooper in reality, could camouflage like in the game. One can device many tactics for the various units. For instance, camouflage a sniper, and disable free fire. Then camouflage the Stormtrooper unit, or two Stormtrooper units with panzershrecks, and put them in a position, where they are behind the sniper, and have the sniper scout for the Stormtrooper units. The Stormtrooper units will fire the panzershrecks, beyond visual range, and in camouflage. Expand
  75. Dec 27, 2015
    8
    Company of Heroes, without a doubt is THE definition of an RTS.It combines the excellent sound,visceral,nerve wracking gameplay of Call of Duty 2 with the overhead view of an RTS. The only problem ive had with it is that the system settings a bit too high for those with a low computer. I have a 1.7 Ghz,512 Dual RAM and 64 ATi Radeon Mobile 9200 and COH bogs down alot.But the gameplay isCompany of Heroes, without a doubt is THE definition of an RTS.It combines the excellent sound,visceral,nerve wracking gameplay of Call of Duty 2 with the overhead view of an RTS. The only problem ive had with it is that the system settings a bit too high for those with a low computer. I have a 1.7 Ghz,512 Dual RAM and 64 ATi Radeon Mobile 9200 and COH bogs down alot.But the gameplay is soooo good that the graphical problems are ALL forgotten. Company of Heroes,you dont own it...it owns YOU! Expand
  76. Aug 17, 2016
    5
    At first the game seems amazing, but then you realise that the game stops in advancement and all you do is the same thing again and again. The game doesnt have enough units in both variety and numbers. Because of this the game feels like a demo instead of a full scale war game. Im a very careful player so i advance slowly. Therefore i lose very fiew soldiers so when im maxed out in units,At first the game seems amazing, but then you realise that the game stops in advancement and all you do is the same thing again and again. The game doesnt have enough units in both variety and numbers. Because of this the game feels like a demo instead of a full scale war game. Im a very careful player so i advance slowly. Therefore i lose very fiew soldiers so when im maxed out in units, the resorces becomes useless to me. And that kills at least one purpose of the game. I want to be able to defend more than two areas at once but i cant because how restricted the game is. It looks great, it sounds great but it is very shallow. Weapons and canons i pick up cant be dropped so there is no way i can get a fresh new assault squad unless i kill some of my other men. Its half fininshed with important game mechanics left out. Expand
  77. Apr 24, 2017
    9
    1 – GENERAL

    Company of Heroes it's a RTS that plays on WWII scenario. I love to study and play games from this dark period of our history, so my impressions are always a bit biased in games like this one. This game was released in 2006 and it's impressive how a game almost 11 years old still holds on quite well. Graphics are still on par with today games, and just the cutscenes are
    1 – GENERAL

    Company of Heroes it's a RTS that plays on WWII scenario. I love to study and play games from this dark period of our history, so my impressions are always a bit biased in games like this one.

    This game was released in 2006 and it's impressive how a game almost 11 years old still holds on quite well. Graphics are still on par with today games, and just the cutscenes are already dated.

    Sounds were very well chosen and all the effects seem quite real, and the game it's quite immersive right from the start.

    The storyline is one of the best aspects of the game. Fortunately the usual plot of conquering a base and that's it does not happen here. Most of the time you have to secure a road, capture strategic points, prevent the enemy retreat. All missions seems alike with reality, and I love that.

    2 – GAMEPLAY

    If you want to play the game properly then start by mapping your keyboard and do not play like me, only with mouse. Despite not being the most micromanagement related RTS, you still have a lot of actions to do at the same time. The fact that they never overwhelm you, giving you a lot of time to spend thinking only in the real action is perfect.

    In this game the resources are the strategic points scattered along the map. Each one of those with different values. Even if you capture a point you have to connect it to your base, or you will not receive that resource.

    Each mission is long and you are free to choose your approach. The mission briefing plays a major role here, saying the primary and secondary objectives that you should accomplish in each map.

    I've played the entire first campaign and it's respective missions and I have a blast doing it.

    My major issue in campaign mode is the behavior of the enemy AI. They seem to always choose defensive stance, and most of the times they will not endanger your base.

    Fortunately in skirmish mode that is different.

    Multiplayer is still active, and most of the players know what they are doing, so if you are new to the game you will probably have a hard time competing with them.

    3 – CONCLUSION

    I am not a good RTS player, but I cannot stop loving this games. CoH is simply a joy to play. No bugs or glitches, full destroyable scenarios, a lot of units to choose from, a very well written storyline with lots of replay value. This game it's still great from today's standards. If you want to buy it, it's easy to find it on a sale, so just be patient and wait a bit.
    Expand
  78. Aug 19, 2017
    10
    Greatest RTS of all time, still standing almost 11 years after launch. Superb graphics, increidlbe sound design, destructible environment that actually impacts tactics, asymmetrical factions with very rich and complex tactics...
  79. Dec 10, 2017
    10
    This and Great Battles of WWII Stalingrad are the best RTS games , compared to Coh2 , here you need to be smart and have excellent strategy to win, just buy it
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. PC Gamer
    96
    Company of Heroes should be on the must-play list of every RTS fanatic out there, even those tired of WWII settings. It's just that good. [Oct. 2006, p.70]
  2. PC Gamer UK
    94
    This is the finest WWII strategy game I've played. Hell, I'm having real trouble thinking of any strategy game that's this spectacular, this intense, this fun. [Oct 2006, p.70]
  3. 94
    The transformation from a idyllic little town into a heap of crushed buildings and burned out husks of vehicles can be shocking. Seeing and hearing major explosions that cause bodies (and bits of bodies) to fly across the screen along with rubble from a nearby building simply puts you more into the battle than any RTS in memory.