Company of Heroes PC

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Sep 13, 2006
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1165 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    I have played a lot of RTS (Close Combat, Star Craft, Warcraft I-III, World in Conflict, to name a few), Company of Heroes is the most polished and innovative that I have played. As many have noted the graphics in this game are top notch. The frantic and non-stop action of the game requires a great deal of thought rewarding both the quick and the intelligent. If you enjoy RTS's, youI have played a lot of RTS (Close Combat, Star Craft, Warcraft I-III, World in Conflict, to name a few), Company of Heroes is the most polished and innovative that I have played. As many have noted the graphics in this game are top notch. The frantic and non-stop action of the game requires a great deal of thought rewarding both the quick and the intelligent. If you enjoy RTS's, you will love this game. Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    The best RTS ever made, without question - no game, not even simulators like Theatre of War approach the depth and variety of CoH. One of the few games that gives you such options in battle, and is the only RTS where you can truly use and manipulate terrain and neutral world structures to turn the tide of battle. Use a howitzer to create a heavy cover point for advancing infantry? YouThe best RTS ever made, without question - no game, not even simulators like Theatre of War approach the depth and variety of CoH. One of the few games that gives you such options in battle, and is the only RTS where you can truly use and manipulate terrain and neutral world structures to turn the tide of battle. Use a howitzer to create a heavy cover point for advancing infantry? You bet. Build your own cover? Sandbags coming right upt. That hedgerow blocking your advance? Not if my demolition pack has anything to say.

    No RTS game approaches the sheer variety, depth and brilliance of CoH. I've been playing since release and it still amazes me the new strategies and environmental tactics that pop up.

    A master work of game design, no RTS fan should miss it.
    Expand
  3. JakeS
    Apr 2, 2010
    10
    Purely, one of the single best games to ever be created. From the gorgeous, stunning scapes and graphics to the realistic FX, to the clever and brilliant music that you will be dying to hear again and again. The way this game captures the look and feel of driving a semi-truck makes me all giddy inside. Hands down, better than the Ocarina of Time, better than Halo, better than Super Mario Purely, one of the single best games to ever be created. From the gorgeous, stunning scapes and graphics to the realistic FX, to the clever and brilliant music that you will be dying to hear again and again. The way this game captures the look and feel of driving a semi-truck makes me all giddy inside. Hands down, better than the Ocarina of Time, better than Halo, better than Super Mario 64 this wins Game of all Eternity. Expand
  4. MartinD
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    Company of heroes is easily one of the best RTS games of all time and excels in all areas. Relic continues to provide support by releasing balance patches and graphics updates and is one of the few developers who listen to the community and provide balance updates based on the feedback they recieve. If you haven't played COH yet your missing out.
  5. MicahS
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    Best RTS game i have ever played, just bought the whole combo pack for $35, best $35 ever spent, i was a little wary because i am more of a FPS kinda guy but this game is intense enough to pull me into it!
  6. MArkMcK
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    I've been hooked on this game since it was in beta. It is IMHO the best RTS ever made.
  7. Torinir
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    One of the best RTS games of all time. A testament to the quality products that Relic is capable of developing.
  8. LysanderS
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    One of the best games i've ever played. I'll keep this short. While there's bugs, mentioned by others, such as infantry specifically moving AWAY from the sandbags you've stationed them to use as cover, and other small annoying bugs like this, it's still and AMAZING game. You really can't miss out on this. You can zoom in and alternate your view to get a great One of the best games i've ever played. I'll keep this short. While there's bugs, mentioned by others, such as infantry specifically moving AWAY from the sandbags you've stationed them to use as cover, and other small annoying bugs like this, it's still and AMAZING game. You really can't miss out on this. You can zoom in and alternate your view to get a great look at the gorgeous visuals, you have full controll over everything on the battlefield, it's just so fantastic. Multiplayer lobbies can be a real bish though... Expand
  9. erikf
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    Great game. Enough to keep you on the edge of your seat, from building to building, check point to check point, Normandy to Berliin.
  10. MARIOK
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    The greatest RTS since STARCRAFT .I really love the details of COH that is its strongpoint. The graphics are top notch and the sound too.Gameplay is fast and tactical COHs physics perfectly .Anyone who has a pc buy it, you wont regret it
  11. AlR.
    Jul 24, 2009
    9
    An excellent revision of the squad-based RTS genre, and a fitting blend of realism and gameplay conceits to maximize fun. The ability to use and upgrade civilian buildings into forward bases and make use of cover is brilliant. The power to call on allied forces from off-map is true-to-life and genre appropriate. The sheer flexibility of the infantryman as the backbone of the Army is in An excellent revision of the squad-based RTS genre, and a fitting blend of realism and gameplay conceits to maximize fun. The ability to use and upgrade civilian buildings into forward bases and make use of cover is brilliant. The power to call on allied forces from off-map is true-to-life and genre appropriate. The sheer flexibility of the infantryman as the backbone of the Army is in full display, a welcome change from the crippling overspecialization rampant in many titles. The use of a territory control model for resourcing is excellent, as it ties economic and defensive strategy together as a package. I do have to say that buying it on Steam is a good way around the torrent of patches and updates at install, but it does mean waiting for the full download to play. Expand
  12. Jacob
    May 13, 2009
    10
    I have played this game since it first came out. I came across it by luck. Now with all of the expansions out, this game appeals to single and multi player enthusiasts. The AI in the troops is a great aspect, the dimensions you have to cover in this game mean that you cannot get a super weapon and win. You have to play to win each time. For first time strategist it is a fun play and for I have played this game since it first came out. I came across it by luck. Now with all of the expansions out, this game appeals to single and multi player enthusiasts. The AI in the troops is a great aspect, the dimensions you have to cover in this game mean that you cannot get a super weapon and win. You have to play to win each time. For first time strategist it is a fun play and for veteran gamers it is the complete conjunction of action strategy and fun. Expand
  13. kimnørgaard
    Apr 23, 2009
    9
    great game i Recommend every RTS players to buy it. the reason i gave it a 9 is that the system requirments... it recommends: 3.0 ghz intel P4. 1GB ram. Nvidia geforce 6800 256mb or better. I have 2,2 ghz amd athlon 64x2 2GB ram nvidia 7200gs 256mb. so i throught i could run it maxed out. but i have to run it on low settings....the system requirments is really a big lie...
  14. DickA
    Apr 18, 2009
    10
    CoH pretty much set the standard for RTS games post 2006. At its conception, its mix of intuitive and deep unit cover, intelligent unit AI, a great interface and outstanding graphics blew away previous entries into the genre. CoH was as a big step forward for the genre as Command and Conquer or Dune. It was the perfect mix of gameplay, history and balance. With patches, the game's AI CoH pretty much set the standard for RTS games post 2006. At its conception, its mix of intuitive and deep unit cover, intelligent unit AI, a great interface and outstanding graphics blew away previous entries into the genre. CoH was as a big step forward for the genre as Command and Conquer or Dune. It was the perfect mix of gameplay, history and balance. With patches, the game's AI is now absolutely outstanding, and still features a strong online community. Plenty of variety in maps, built in mission editor, the game simply features everything you could want in an RTS, complete with the expected attention to quality relic can provide. Expand
  15. RashM
    Mar 1, 2009
    10
    Most impressive and revolutionary RTS Ever. The first RTS games, Warcraft 1 and Dune, defined the genre. Since then every game has merely copied these two with no real innovation - starcraft is a shining example of this and sc2 promises to be no different. CoH is far more than the boring stats vs stats combat. It is a very cerebral, highly tactical strategy game. It skill fully maneuvers Most impressive and revolutionary RTS Ever. The first RTS games, Warcraft 1 and Dune, defined the genre. Since then every game has merely copied these two with no real innovation - starcraft is a shining example of this and sc2 promises to be no different. CoH is far more than the boring stats vs stats combat. It is a very cerebral, highly tactical strategy game. It skill fully maneuvers away from all the criticisms of the RTS genre (as pointed out by actual military strategists and turn-based strategy game players). It defines a innovative new strategy game that can be hailed as the greatest revolution in RTS since Warcraft 1 made its debut in 1994. Despite its excellent design and depth, it engages from the start, as one makes the first fumbling steps into the game. The game has remarkable polish: excellent graphics, color schemes and incredible sound to add to the inspiring atmosphere. It transforms the computer into a 1944 battlefield. A new bar has been set rather high for future games in the RTS genre. Expand
  16. JackL
    Feb 26, 2009
    10
    The best RTS ever played, Even from what we've seen of Dawn of war 2 cannot match Company of heroes, and with yet another incoming expansion pack adding more machines and campaigns to this box of carnage, It can only get better, Physics is fantastically implemented, AI is fantastic, the squad act not just through morale but simple common sense that many other modern games lack even The best RTS ever played, Even from what we've seen of Dawn of war 2 cannot match Company of heroes, and with yet another incoming expansion pack adding more machines and campaigns to this box of carnage, It can only get better, Physics is fantastically implemented, AI is fantastic, the squad act not just through morale but simple common sense that many other modern games lack even now! Graphics are among the finest to be seen in RTS history, the only other graphical details I've seen that are better would be the new Empire Total war. Relic has grabbed the RTS genre by the throat tore its previous ideas from it's grubby hands and put something far better in it's place. Expand
  17. MangeB
    Jan 14, 2009
    10
    This game i still right at the top a couple of years later and the devs are still working on new patches, maps and balance tweaks. I've spent several hundreds of hours with it. While the campaign doesn't last more than 15-20 hours or so (I forgot), in online play it never gets booring. Since the four main factions (including the follow up opposing fronts) in turn have three tech This game i still right at the top a couple of years later and the devs are still working on new patches, maps and balance tweaks. I've spent several hundreds of hours with it. While the campaign doesn't last more than 15-20 hours or so (I forgot), in online play it never gets booring. Since the four main factions (including the follow up opposing fronts) in turn have three tech trees each, even repeated play on the same map usually turns out differently depending on player strategy and the flow of each game. Whats more, the game can now be found dirt cheap. An amazing bargain for a game that kicks ass and will last for a long time to come. Out of this game and the follow up opposing fronts, this one is definitely the better one, but you may want to get the other one too for the ability to play as all four factions online. Expand
  18. davisa
    Dec 20, 2008
    10
    This game is exiting if i am so glad i got it i recommend this game highly if i could do it all over again i think i would in this game u can get a bunch of real vehicles and infantry like halftrak tanks jeeps and infanty like rangers medics enginneers ifelt like iwas really a WW2 commander most fun game ive bought in years if u like shooting games, strategy, science ficion or andy other This game is exiting if i am so glad i got it i recommend this game highly if i could do it all over again i think i would in this game u can get a bunch of real vehicles and infantry like halftrak tanks jeeps and infanty like rangers medics enginneers ifelt like iwas really a WW2 commander most fun game ive bought in years if u like shooting games, strategy, science ficion or andy other type of game this is all of them combined plz plz do yourself a favor and buy this faboulous game best ever! Expand
  19. Seb
    Nov 16, 2008
    9
    A brilliant game in all respects. Pros: - Excellent graphics, physics and audio. - (Very) destructible environments and excellent atmosphere. - Impressive selection of units from the era. - Long single player campaign with good replay value due to medals, various difficulties. - Great multiplayer support including rankings, chat lobbies and friends list. - Cinematic and engaging A brilliant game in all respects. Pros: - Excellent graphics, physics and audio. - (Very) destructible environments and excellent atmosphere. - Impressive selection of units from the era. - Long single player campaign with good replay value due to medals, various difficulties. - Great multiplayer support including rankings, chat lobbies and friends list. - Cinematic and engaging storyline. - Can provide an enjoyable challenge to both the novice and experienced gamer alike. Cons: - AI could do with some tweaks / improvements in rare situations. - If only it had a co-op campaign mode... Expand
  20. MarkJ
    Nov 1, 2008
    10
    The best RTS game I have ever played since Command and Conquer Gold. It's replay value is endless, much like some FPS games have (RTCW); and with a high end graphics card like the GTX 290 you will be amazed at the realism in the physics and particle effects that dazzle your screen, not to mention the clear crisp sounds of MG fire every 20 seconds that keeps you thinking about the The best RTS game I have ever played since Command and Conquer Gold. It's replay value is endless, much like some FPS games have (RTCW); and with a high end graphics card like the GTX 290 you will be amazed at the realism in the physics and particle effects that dazzle your screen, not to mention the clear crisp sounds of MG fire every 20 seconds that keeps you thinking about the battlefield. Expand
  21. RussG
    Oct 6, 2008
    10
    The only strategy game I have every played that actually required thinking over just farming units and blobbing around the map. I have tried many strategy games, but this one is the best. While some people have trouble with the game and rate it poorly, it is because they didn't know how to play the game. This is a game that requires a lot of skill and knowledge before you get good at The only strategy game I have every played that actually required thinking over just farming units and blobbing around the map. I have tried many strategy games, but this one is the best. While some people have trouble with the game and rate it poorly, it is because they didn't know how to play the game. This is a game that requires a lot of skill and knowledge before you get good at it. For example, many people get frustrated when they don't know the controls to drive a vehicles backwards. Also, you can drive a vehicle into a wall to make a place for a machine gun. Buildings and cover can be destroyed completely. The game is the best balance of realism and fun I have ever played in a game. Expand
  22. BillN
    Sep 11, 2008
    10
    Simply the best RTS ever made to date. COH features the perfect blend of an 'arcade' and a realistic RTS. You dont have to think too much about what upgrades/stats/abilities to add as they are kept to a minimum, which in the heat of battle you don't really have time for. To get the best experience with COH you must play online. Nothing beats testing out a new strategy and winning.
  23. LouisM.
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    Having played this game for years, I can safely say that it is the best RTS game I have ever played. The graphics are outstanding for the genre, the gameplay is superb, and the learning curve is by no means steep. I've recommended this game to many friends who all have enjoyed it, and I'll continue to recommend it. It is worth every penny.
  24. ElliottC
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    This games graphics have awed me since the game came out. The tanks look, feel, and control like tanks. Infantry are inteligent and look for their own cover, and manuever for combat effectiveness. The terrian is maliable like a real WWII battlefield. The sound effects are unreal, the graphics compliment the sound. The military strategy and economic goals are smartly created. This game has This games graphics have awed me since the game came out. The tanks look, feel, and control like tanks. Infantry are inteligent and look for their own cover, and manuever for combat effectiveness. The terrian is maliable like a real WWII battlefield. The sound effects are unreal, the graphics compliment the sound. The military strategy and economic goals are smartly created. This game has set precident to future RTS games need to be. A++ Expand
  25. JonV
    Jul 20, 2008
    9
    I only gave this a 9 beacuse of the requirements. I had a 2-year old computer with nVidia Geforce 7600, and it filled out the recommended requirements but it could'nt play it on medium. but on my new computer the game is absolutely great. Thou it does remind of dawn of war, the games are completly different from each other. Even if you do'nt like RTS, you should buy this game.
  26. SamF.
    Jun 29, 2008
    8
    CoH is a good game all in all. I think alot of people just get frustrated with the game because it is so demanding, intense and requires attention to detail. But I think thats the point of a game. It has reallly good graphics and sound. Can people also stop talking about there being no planes because there is if you pick an air commando and its suppposed to be an infantry based game CoH is a good game all in all. I think alot of people just get frustrated with the game because it is so demanding, intense and requires attention to detail. But I think thats the point of a game. It has reallly good graphics and sound. Can people also stop talking about there being no planes because there is if you pick an air commando and its suppposed to be an infantry based game anyway, hence the micromanagment. Expand
  27. IanC
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    Company of heroes is one of the most enjoyable game I have ever played, and that's without its expansion. The AI is astounding in my opinion, making combat decisions to better keep themselves alive. The cover system is very flexible and interesting, and lastly, the accuracy and presentation of the units in the game is near god-like. I highly recommend purchasing this game!
  28. ArchangelM.
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    Fantastic gameplay,superior graphics,no pixalation, no popups, top of the line in warcraft, spending 22 years in the marines and entering service back in 73, id say this has all the action of a real conflict,and the only thing missing was bodybags,the initial sequence at the beach was so lifelike and so very devastating, amazing work, and the control choices could include joystick, other Fantastic gameplay,superior graphics,no pixalation, no popups, top of the line in warcraft, spending 22 years in the marines and entering service back in 73, id say this has all the action of a real conflict,and the only thing missing was bodybags,the initial sequence at the beach was so lifelike and so very devastating, amazing work, and the control choices could include joystick, other then that id rate it 100. Expand
  29. MikeH.
    Feb 16, 2008
    9
    The visual effects are stunning not to mention the gameplay it is like gold coated chips.
  30. JesseO.
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    I actually installed Windows again (I'm a crazy Linux nut) just for this game. It is quite simply the best "RTS" game I've ever played.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. PC Gamer
    96
    Company of Heroes should be on the must-play list of every RTS fanatic out there, even those tired of WWII settings. It's just that good. [Oct. 2006, p.70]
  2. PC Gamer UK
    94
    This is the finest WWII strategy game I've played. Hell, I'm having real trouble thinking of any strategy game that's this spectacular, this intense, this fun. [Oct 2006, p.70]
  3. 94
    The transformation from a idyllic little town into a heap of crushed buildings and burned out husks of vehicles can be shocking. Seeing and hearing major explosions that cause bodies (and bits of bodies) to fly across the screen along with rubble from a nearby building simply puts you more into the battle than any RTS in memory.