Company of Heroes PC

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Sep 13, 2006
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1127 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 24, 2016
    9
    I picked this game a long time ago as a bundle with the DLC for cheap but that was probably the best money I've spent on a video game ever. The multiplayer balance was off at times but you were still able to find games without people abusing bs. Single player was great, yeah its not the most realistic WW2 game out there but imo it had a great balance between realism and gameplay. In allI picked this game a long time ago as a bundle with the DLC for cheap but that was probably the best money I've spent on a video game ever. The multiplayer balance was off at times but you were still able to find games without people abusing bs. Single player was great, yeah its not the most realistic WW2 game out there but imo it had a great balance between realism and gameplay. In all honesty I dont recall any RTS coming close to this title in terms of fun I had playing it, ever... Expand
  2. Dec 27, 2015
    8
    Company of Heroes, without a doubt is THE definition of an RTS.It combines the excellent sound,visceral,nerve wracking gameplay of Call of Duty 2 with the overhead view of an RTS. The only problem ive had with it is that the system settings a bit too high for those with a low computer. I have a 1.7 Ghz,512 Dual RAM and 64 ATi Radeon Mobile 9200 and COH bogs down alot.But the gameplay isCompany of Heroes, without a doubt is THE definition of an RTS.It combines the excellent sound,visceral,nerve wracking gameplay of Call of Duty 2 with the overhead view of an RTS. The only problem ive had with it is that the system settings a bit too high for those with a low computer. I have a 1.7 Ghz,512 Dual RAM and 64 ATi Radeon Mobile 9200 and COH bogs down alot.But the gameplay is soooo good that the graphical problems are ALL forgotten. Company of Heroes,you dont own it...it owns YOU! Expand
  3. Sep 10, 2015
    9
    I have played a lot of RTS (Close Combat, Star Craft, Warcraft I-III, World in Conflict, to name a few), Company of Heroes is the most polished and innovative that I have played. As many have noted the graphics in this game are top notch. The frantic and non-stop action of the game requires a great deal of thought rewarding both the quick and the intelligent. If you enjoy RTS's, you willI have played a lot of RTS (Close Combat, Star Craft, Warcraft I-III, World in Conflict, to name a few), Company of Heroes is the most polished and innovative that I have played. As many have noted the graphics in this game are top notch. The frantic and non-stop action of the game requires a great deal of thought rewarding both the quick and the intelligent. If you enjoy RTS's, you will love this game Expand
  4. Aug 2, 2015
    10
    Company of Heroes is probably, (if not already considered), the greatest real-time strategy game of all-time. A must-play for any fan of the genre. Truly a masterpiece.
  5. Jul 13, 2015
    10
    A jewel of an RTS. Easily one of the BEST ever made. both defense and offense and immensely fun, challenging, and intense. The community is so active, and helpful, especially for a game that's nearly 8 years old. The graphics are very good, the FPS is so smooth, the gameplay seamless, easy to learn and control. Each faction ( 4 in total with DLC, 2 in base game) grants unique units andA jewel of an RTS. Easily one of the BEST ever made. both defense and offense and immensely fun, challenging, and intense. The community is so active, and helpful, especially for a game that's nearly 8 years old. The graphics are very good, the FPS is so smooth, the gameplay seamless, easy to learn and control. Each faction ( 4 in total with DLC, 2 in base game) grants unique units and abilities, and tactics you MUST follow to succeed in a battle. none of the factions play alike one another. Which brings me to my final in this review. This game never gets old. It is not repetitive. every battle is different. from where you set up, to when you go for a flank or an assault. I can't get enough of this game. And you won't either. Expand
  6. Jul 8, 2015
    10
    company of heroes is from the best games in the world it was at it age . I really recommend it very much its really a nice game and it become old but still people playing it and there is a 2nd game of it which its coh2.
  7. Jun 13, 2015
    10
    I have been playing a lot of strategy games over the last 20 years-

    This is the best. Its a true strategy masterpiece that combines cerebral / work ethic output so well. The only game better was the short lived COH online which included insertion of special hand picked units If you don't have COH and COH Opposing fronts get it before it fades into non existence because this is
    I have been playing a lot of strategy games over the last 20 years-

    This is the best. Its a true strategy masterpiece that combines cerebral / work ethic output so well.

    The only game better was the short lived COH online which included insertion of special hand picked units

    If you don't have COH and COH Opposing fronts get it before it fades into non existence because this is as good as it gets.
    Expand
  8. Apr 25, 2015
    10
    Still playing this game, after almost 7 years. Wow, that really says something. This is by far my favourite game on my PC, and oldest. Stellar Campaign, fun multi player, various game modes, and decent DLC's. Great game.
  9. Feb 16, 2015
    10
    Company of Heroes is one of the best RTS game in the world. its realistic graphics and system is very good until now. i'm still playing it in 2015!!!!!
  10. cbe
    Dec 29, 2014
    10
    Great game, determinately worth playing! The single player campaign is hard, but non unfair. High re-playability! I wish all single-player games were this good.
  11. Oct 12, 2014
    10
    This game is amazing! Still playin' Autry and Hebecrevon Missions over and over and over again!
    Still playin' in 10/12/2014! 8 Years!
    Relic, amazing job!
  12. Sep 12, 2014
    8
    Campaign somewhat a bore nothing new not challenging but the gameplay is just amazing, multiplayer is where its at. This game shines in multiplayer it's so challenging and strategical with quite a bit of options on how you want to build you're army and Graphics are ok nothing spectacular the physics are also nice. Very high replay value and super fun with friends or just competitive play.Campaign somewhat a bore nothing new not challenging but the gameplay is just amazing, multiplayer is where its at. This game shines in multiplayer it's so challenging and strategical with quite a bit of options on how you want to build you're army and Graphics are ok nothing spectacular the physics are also nice. Very high replay value and super fun with friends or just competitive play.
    Best RTS plain and simple.

    Worth $50
    Expand
  13. May 30, 2014
    9
    It's been 8 years since its release but everytime I want to find myself engulfed in WW2 asmosphere I still find this game one of the best choices. The campaign is well-written, the 2 armies are all-around balanced and the skirmish battles are nicely-done. Except for sometimes units engage each other in very very close quarter but they still keep shooting at each other, which is quiteIt's been 8 years since its release but everytime I want to find myself engulfed in WW2 asmosphere I still find this game one of the best choices. The campaign is well-written, the 2 armies are all-around balanced and the skirmish battles are nicely-done. Except for sometimes units engage each other in very very close quarter but they still keep shooting at each other, which is quite hilarious you would wonder why they won't stop shooting and go on melee mode all the way, but still... One of the best decisions I've ever made getting this game in 2006. Expand
  14. May 29, 2014
    10
    ITS MASTERPIECE.
    never seen better WW game...its a complete game in every sense, filled with gripping combat , effect and lovely world... Still holds it position as best strategy..love this game.
  15. Apr 9, 2014
    10
    Company of Heroes is the best video game that I have ever played, and in my opinion it is the chess of video gaming. I am still playing it regularly in 2014.

    It is an absolute shame that COHO- Company of Heroes Online, was cancelled in late beta, because it is the only thing going that could derail this juggernaut. A diamond. Stairway to Heaven. A golden retriever. A sexy lady. An
    Company of Heroes is the best video game that I have ever played, and in my opinion it is the chess of video gaming. I am still playing it regularly in 2014.

    It is an absolute shame that COHO- Company of Heroes Online, was cancelled in late beta, because it is the only thing going that could derail this juggernaut. A diamond. Stairway to Heaven. A golden retriever. A sexy lady. An object of man made perfection.

    COH also has the most graphic and realistic violence in the most ageless graphics of all war games. The voice acting, sound effects, and graphics are sublime. There is infinite depth in its complex array of play modes. Rest in Peace Brian Wood, you made the game to stand the test of time and honor its subject matter.
    Expand
  16. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    Best RTS i have ever played, and one of the best WW2 game also. Technically great from sounds to graphics. Something unseen before that. Game play now that's where it shines. I won't try to explay how it works, but simply said the tactics are what really matters, sure with huge amount of man power anyone can win a game, but what usually happens is someone who uses all those little thingsBest RTS i have ever played, and one of the best WW2 game also. Technically great from sounds to graphics. Something unseen before that. Game play now that's where it shines. I won't try to explay how it works, but simply said the tactics are what really matters, sure with huge amount of man power anyone can win a game, but what usually happens is someone who uses all those little things like cover, flanking, using strengts of every unit and so on. Just great RTS Expand
  17. Feb 25, 2014
    9
    PRO's:

    Gorgeous visuals with a competent game engine. A gorgeous soundtrack and brilliant sound design. A massive modding community that is still making original content for a game close to 8 years since its release. Varied factions that all play in remarkably different ways. Hundreds of strategies, different methods of play, a still active multiplayer community. The sequel drew
    PRO's:

    Gorgeous visuals with a competent game engine.
    A gorgeous soundtrack and brilliant sound design.
    A massive modding community that is still making original content for a game close to 8 years since its release.
    Varied factions that all play in remarkably different ways.
    Hundreds of strategies, different methods of play, a still active multiplayer community.
    The sequel drew back in old players after everyone realized how mediocre it was.
    Its Warhammer 40K on steroids and who doesn't like Warhammer?

    CON's:

    Their have been some pretty mind numbingly stupid patches made for the expansion.
    The expansions were not very good compared to the original.
    Some things are mostly fixed, but a lot is still broken since the attempt years ago was made to balance all the factions pretty much at once.
    Its starting to look a little long in the tooth visually.
    The multiplayer community is full of some pretty huge ego maniacal fellas that don't play nice with newer players.
    The automatches can be a dangerous breeding ground for contempt amongst those who are new to the game.
    The modding communities are always heading for different camps, with the intent of making the game more "realistic" or more "balanced," but they never really settle on more "fun."
    Some of the concepts are so far removed from reality that some people might prefer entirely different games such as the "Men of War" games.
    Multiple scathing and somewhat stupid historical inaccuracies that should've never been in the game.
    Tank battles are more arcade-like than any tank battles from actual reality.
    If you were content enough with Warhammer 40K and those expansions- you may have already played this game for the most part- only without the World War II aesthetic or theme.
    Expand
  18. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    Amazing game that raised the bar for RTS. Great balance for multilayer with fun maps and multiple game modes one of which is a MOBA with WWII tanks! Sega will not update the matchmaking system which is sad because this game has better balance than CoH2.
  19. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    I have played many an RTS in my life, and I must say, this is the best one by some distance! Recommend it and the expansions (Opposing Fronts, Tales of Valor) to any RTS lovers out there!
  20. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    This is a fantastic real-time strategy game no one should miss. Impressive graphics that successfully portrays the brutality of battles is what i love most about the game, which simply makes me want to keep playing and playing it although it has been 4 years since i started enjoying the game
  21. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    Great game, although I never got into the competitive multiplayer because I was busy with Age of Empires 3 at the time. The graphics, sounds and visual effects were just stunning and the combat feels very realistic. The online is still up and running and quite alive (through Steam) for anyone looking for a new RTS to play competitively.
  22. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    Nothing...I mean absolutely Nothing comes close to this Brilliant and wonderfully creative RTS in our lifetime!! It's 2013 and there are more games coming out with unbelievable graphics and physics, but this is one truly GREAT war-time game trilogy that will NEVER be over-matched or overlooked FOREVER!!!
  23. Oct 27, 2013
    8
    Don't get me wrong... this is a really well made game. Especially considering I write this review after 7 years of its release. It has however few annoying issues. First, the AI of your own troops is basically non-existing. Especially in fast-paced maps controlling every minor detail of your troops becomes simply frustrating. Also, the base building doesn't really fit well to this game.Don't get me wrong... this is a really well made game. Especially considering I write this review after 7 years of its release. It has however few annoying issues. First, the AI of your own troops is basically non-existing. Especially in fast-paced maps controlling every minor detail of your troops becomes simply frustrating. Also, the base building doesn't really fit well to this game. Fixed amount of troops plus triggered reinforcements would have worked better than some artificial troop limit that gets maxed out in worse possible times. Expand
  24. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    The game is fascinating. I don't know if the Stormtrooper in reality, could camouflage like in the game. One can device many tactics for the various units. For instance, camouflage a sniper, and disable free fire. Then camouflage the Stormtrooper unit, or two Stormtrooper units with panzershrecks, and put them in a position, where they are behind the sniper, and have the sniper scout forThe game is fascinating. I don't know if the Stormtrooper in reality, could camouflage like in the game. One can device many tactics for the various units. For instance, camouflage a sniper, and disable free fire. Then camouflage the Stormtrooper unit, or two Stormtrooper units with panzershrecks, and put them in a position, where they are behind the sniper, and have the sniper scout for the Stormtrooper units. The Stormtrooper units will fire the panzershrecks, beyond visual range, and in camouflage. Expand
  25. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    Best Strategy of ALL TIME!!! Bar-none. This is my favorite game of all time. It pains me that they have stopped updating it for it's lower, less-successful, less-enjoyable brother COH 2... This game is awesome and I still play online today Fall 2013. So what are you waiting for! Go buy this game on steam for super cheap and have a ton more fun than COH 2. They got it right the first time
  26. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    Probably the Greatest RTS game of all time. Very addictive and very well made. I have enjoyed many hours of playing this awesome game. The online experience is excellent and the campaign is very good too. 10/10
  27. Aug 31, 2013
    9
    I'm not a great strategy, but loving me is like CoH, beautiful graphics, great video transfer, a long campaign, smart opponents, can only praise is a great word. I recommend to everyone.
  28. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    This game is soooo good i even made an account on here to write a review on it :D

    10/10 and im still playing it in 2013, also i thing this is better than the second
  29. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Where to even start with this game. This game is just amazing. I can only imagine how much money the developers spent for making this game. It has a physics engine, destructible buildings, amazing sound and graphics, and to even some extent destructible terrain. When it comes to this games, I personally have called it the greatest game of all time. It is really hard to find something wrongWhere to even start with this game. This game is just amazing. I can only imagine how much money the developers spent for making this game. It has a physics engine, destructible buildings, amazing sound and graphics, and to even some extent destructible terrain. When it comes to this games, I personally have called it the greatest game of all time. It is really hard to find something wrong with this game. Expand
  30. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Best RTS ever!

    I started playing COH back in 2006 when it first came out and now in 2013 I'm still playing it. I just finished a skirmish about ten minutes ago and I thought I'd pay this game it's over due respect and take the time to write my user review on Metacritic. The first time I played COH I was at my friend Larry's house checking out the work he did in his living room. In
    Best RTS ever!

    I started playing COH back in 2006 when it first came out and now in 2013 I'm still playing it. I just finished a skirmish about ten minutes ago and I thought I'd pay this game it's over due respect and take the time to write my user review on Metacritic. The first time I played COH I was at my friend Larry's house checking out the work he did in his living room. In the background I noticed COH on Larry's rig. I saw a Panzer 4 rolling up the road from the south base toward the north base (Larry's base) in the 2 player map Angoville. I asked Larry what it was and he offered me a chance to try it. I sat down and chose the Easy CPU Wehrmacht vs American's (not like I had a choice of different enemies back then, just which side axis vs allies). I got my tail kicked so bad early on that Larry had to jump in and fight his way back in control of the map. Once Larry had it under control he let me take a few Sherman tanks into the Wehrmacht base and finish it off. I was instantly hooked, not only because it was the hardest most complex RTS I'd ever played but because I love to blow up and the graphics were great. I immediately went out and purchased the game.

    The campaign storyline was great in the original game and both expansions, it truly makes the player feel that they are in the 40's creeping around in Europe looking for Gerry. Playing as the American's when the game first came out drove me to learn more about WW2 history. I found myself reading articles on the net and watching the history channel every time a WW2 show was on. I started calling my Grandfather over and over again to hear stories about what he did during WW2. He was in the Navy and very proud of his role in the South Pacific; it didn't take much to get the stories out of him. COH created an obsession for teaching myself the history of WW2 that hasn't died since I started playing the game. I'm still totally fascinated with WW2 and I credit the motivation I found to teach myself what I did to this game. It will some day be a cult classic game if it isn't already.

    The game play is excellent! The objective is to capture and control as many fuel, manpower and munitions points on the map as you can while kicking the snot out of your enemy; the more points you capture the more manpower, fuel and munitions you earn as income which you can use to purchase units, buildings and upgrades to help your army win the skirmish. Strategy is huge in this aspect of the game, tou can cut off your enemies' supply line by capturing key points thus earning you an income advantage. What parts of your territory you defend and how successfully you defend it and or how you advance and capture is crucial to success.

    AI Enemies learn how to exploit your strategy and will try different things to defeat you if you play against the computer over and over again. Every time I reformat my hard drives and reinstall windows there is a noticeable difference in the AI's strategy; it's much easier to defeat the AI at first but over time it learns to put up a better fight and the game becomes harder to win. At the time COH Opposing fronts came out I began playing skirmish matches like I was training to compete vs the Hard AI computer in a gaming tournament. The Hard American AI became so familiar with my strategy during that time that I was actually looking forward to a reformat just to relieve some of the pressure the AI was putting on me.

    Your infantry units can take cover behind map details, rock walls, bushes, trees, abandoned or destroyed vehicles are all different examples of cover. Different types of "cover" are rated one of four ways, a green shield is the best cover, a yellow shield is good cover, no shield is no or poor cover, and a red shield is negative cover, the shields will be displayed over your infantry depending on the type of cover or lack there of they are using. Cover greatly effect the survivability of your infantry units. When you make contact with an evenly matched enemy if your troops are in better cover your troops will win the melee. Most infantry units can be upgraded to carry a different weapon or tool. Weapon and tool upgrades are bought with munitions. Some infantry units have the ability to spend munitions to gain an advantage in battle in the form of a grenade or a panzerfaust.

    With vehicles where you hit a vehicle can do more or less damage as well as what type of weapon you're using on the vehicle. If you use a machine gun or a rifle on a light vehicle you will do moderate damage, as the vehicles become heavier all the way up to a heavy tank the damage will become less and eventually do nothing when against tanks. Although having a tank is an advantage vs infantry they can be defeated by infantry units if the units are equipped with the tools to deal with the tanks. Most units can be upgraded with munitions.

    In conclusion it's a great game buy it if you don't already own it.
    Expand
  31. Jul 9, 2012
    0
    This is an awesome RTS. Company of heroes is the most realistic WWII game I have ever played. All of the Weapons and Vehicles are historically accurate. The graphics and the sound effects are great. Company of heroes is territory based yet it still plays like an "Age of Empires" or "Warcraft III", but it is one of the only RTS games I have seen that can be territory based, but still fastThis is an awesome RTS. Company of heroes is the most realistic WWII game I have ever played. All of the Weapons and Vehicles are historically accurate. The graphics and the sound effects are great. Company of heroes is territory based yet it still plays like an "Age of Empires" or "Warcraft III", but it is one of the only RTS games I have seen that can be territory based, but still fast and not extremely complicated. CoH only has 2 different playable armies which is one of the only down sides, but that's why I bought "CoH: Tales of Valor" which unlocks the British and the Panzer Elite armies. I personally believe this is one of the greatest RTS games of all time. Collapse
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. PC Gamer
    96
    Company of Heroes should be on the must-play list of every RTS fanatic out there, even those tired of WWII settings. It's just that good. [Oct. 2006, p.70]
  2. PC Gamer UK
    94
    This is the finest WWII strategy game I've played. Hell, I'm having real trouble thinking of any strategy game that's this spectacular, this intense, this fun. [Oct 2006, p.70]
  3. 94
    The transformation from a idyllic little town into a heap of crushed buildings and burned out husks of vehicles can be shocking. Seeing and hearing major explosions that cause bodies (and bits of bodies) to fly across the screen along with rubble from a nearby building simply puts you more into the battle than any RTS in memory.