Company of Heroes PC

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Sep 13, 2006
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1110 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkS.
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    This is the one of the best RTS games I have ever played. From the destructible environments, to the stellar audio, this game is technically superior to anything else on the store shelves. While your infantry is getting taken out by a garrisoned Axis unit, call in a Howitzer strike. Watch as the spray of earth sprays in the air and listen to the little pieces as they rain back down to the This is the one of the best RTS games I have ever played. From the destructible environments, to the stellar audio, this game is technically superior to anything else on the store shelves. While your infantry is getting taken out by a garrisoned Axis unit, call in a Howitzer strike. Watch as the spray of earth sprays in the air and listen to the little pieces as they rain back down to the ground. Game play is excellent, however do not expect to build up a massive army and sweep through the map. Turtle your units in this game and you're dead. ("Won't win this war by standin' around!") I rarely, and I mean rarely, play online, but gave this one a spin last night. I actually had fun, it was easy to get connected and there was no lag even though half the group was showing poor performance, (6 Players). Our side had our asses handed to us, but it was a good time. The only minor quibbles that I have are the long load times and the lack of a quick save feature. I gave it a 10 only because the game deserves more that a 9, and I don Expand
  2. AnonymousMC
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    I've played the multiplayer beta, and the demo. Aside from the minor bugs that are always present in betas and demos, the game is excellent, definitely my favorite RTS, and probably my favorite game ever. And it hasn't even been released yet! Yet, there are 3 problems that I have seen so far, 1 of which should be fixed by it's release date: 1: It has the worst title ever. 2:I've played the multiplayer beta, and the demo. Aside from the minor bugs that are always present in betas and demos, the game is excellent, definitely my favorite RTS, and probably my favorite game ever. And it hasn't even been released yet! Yet, there are 3 problems that I have seen so far, 1 of which should be fixed by it's release date: 1: It has the worst title ever. 2: It travels on the path of WW2, which is not only a very beaten path, but has been walked on so much, that it is an entirely flat and featureless path. 3: The game is pretty imbalanced in favor of the Allies. Seriously, try getting a howitzer sometime.... Yet, in spite of these (somewhat minor) problems, it continues to be an awesome game. In interest of not creating a massive wall of text filled with praise for this game, this review will spontaneously end now. Expand
  3. Czar
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    This is an amazing experience. They have turned the old tired rts base building concept and made it new again. INstead of feeling like "the tanks arrived becuase I built a tent". I feel like the tanks are here so a support tent has been errected. Maybe that is just me. The pause button is your friend - use it. You are able to use real tactics in this game - a small force can take out a This is an amazing experience. They have turned the old tired rts base building concept and made it new again. INstead of feeling like "the tanks arrived becuase I built a tent". I feel like the tanks are here so a support tent has been errected. Maybe that is just me. The pause button is your friend - use it. You are able to use real tactics in this game - a small force can take out a superior force if you use sound tactics. Expand
  4. BadB.
    Oct 2, 2006
    9
    Lets get the bad stuff outta the way first - some loong load times, and the camera control could be easier (is there ANYONE ever got camera control and angles right?) - now forgot all that and let the pace and beauty take over. Try this - unpack the game, load up and hit the start button; miss out basic training and go straight to the first skirmish mission; orient yourself a little, work Lets get the bad stuff outta the way first - some loong load times, and the camera control could be easier (is there ANYONE ever got camera control and angles right?) - now forgot all that and let the pace and beauty take over. Try this - unpack the game, load up and hit the start button; miss out basic training and go straight to the first skirmish mission; orient yourself a little, work out how to build some units, scout about a bit etc. kick back and take in the pretty scenery... Har har - you're in for a shock greensleeves - frantic, frenetic, fearsome... buy it now, even if you hate RTS. Expand
  5. PaulC.
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    I don't like giving games 10 - and this is the first game I remember giving 10 to on Meta...but it's worth it. I still ove the backdrop (WWII) and the sense of actually affecting the run of battle in a real way, your actions aren't just "tank rush" or "mass defense"..they will not work in this game, thoughtful combining of firepower in attack and carefully chosen positions I don't like giving games 10 - and this is the first game I remember giving 10 to on Meta...but it's worth it. I still ove the backdrop (WWII) and the sense of actually affecting the run of battle in a real way, your actions aren't just "tank rush" or "mass defense"..they will not work in this game, thoughtful combining of firepower in attack and carefully chosen positions in defense are vital - as is the requirment to continually adapt - 'cause the AI is among the best ever. For squad level - this one reigns supreme. Well done Relic (So what the hell was "The Outfit" all about then ??) Clarker Expand
  6. DavidW.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    One of the best RTS of 2006, beautifully structured gameplay! And awesome graphics.
  7. oppi83
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    Beautiful gameplay, graphics to be amazing even by warperiod.
  8. Suurboojumi
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    Very solid production from Relic. This is one of the best strategy games ever. Not a perfect 10, but still way better than 9.Winning in this game actually takes planning and instead of just building huge massses of cannon fodder. One of the few complaints i have, there is only Allied campaign, which is over too soon, but all in all definitely worth of buying. And I choose carefully which Very solid production from Relic. This is one of the best strategy games ever. Not a perfect 10, but still way better than 9.Winning in this game actually takes planning and instead of just building huge massses of cannon fodder. One of the few complaints i have, there is only Allied campaign, which is over too soon, but all in all definitely worth of buying. And I choose carefully which games I buy. Expand
  9. JoeM.
    Jul 30, 2007
    10
    Absolutely stunning. By far the best RTS I've played in years. Believe the hype, this game delivers. Well balanced, immersive gameplay, interesting new tactical and strategic elements, and it even lives up to the often aspired to but seldom achieved goal of making the action the focus, and not the resource gathering/base building. Do NOT believe the absurd negative reviews (a 1?! Absolutely stunning. By far the best RTS I've played in years. Believe the hype, this game delivers. Well balanced, immersive gameplay, interesting new tactical and strategic elements, and it even lives up to the often aspired to but seldom achieved goal of making the action the focus, and not the resource gathering/base building. Do NOT believe the absurd negative reviews (a 1?! Seriously, are you on drugs, or merely bitter?) that some have given. Or at the very least, read them for content. Some thought they were buying yet another WWII first person shooter (as if the world needed another), and others are curmudgeony tabletop gamers who are cranky that the developers took game mechanics and balance into consideration first, and trivial details like the horizontal movment limits of an M-4 Sherman's main gun were secondary. If you need to learn about history, you obviously don't go to an RTS for it (unless you're some sort of idiot). Read a book, or at the very least tune in to a documentary. If you're coming to CoH looking for an outstanding and genre defining real time strategy game...then you've come to the right place! Expand
  10. MadsJ.
    Aug 1, 2007
    9
    Uber RTS! High quality gaming, SFX and GFX.. Go get it right now! And I'll cya online;-).
  11. JasonC.
    Sep 2, 2007
    9
    Ok,i like it,but there are some isssues that need addressing. the game campaign only have 16 maps,and sadly no more,can you make more campaign maps,also skirmish maps as well more 1v1 and 2v2 maps,other then that i am happy what i have, in regards of making building ect that part of defence ect....its a stra game not a get in there and kill it all asap @jon.d
  12. MattL.
    Feb 4, 2008
    9
    This game is very complex, and if you want to move into the online gaming grounds you'll have to prepare yourself to lose a few times without even making a dent. Many people have come to expect to play the game, and it to be a point a click. Unfortunately for them, it's not. Every unit has a purpose, and IF USED CORRECTLY is a formidable foe throughout the entire game, rather This game is very complex, and if you want to move into the online gaming grounds you'll have to prepare yourself to lose a few times without even making a dent. Many people have come to expect to play the game, and it to be a point a click. Unfortunately for them, it's not. Every unit has a purpose, and IF USED CORRECTLY is a formidable foe throughout the entire game, rather than these "Get most tech, win" games. The only thing that holds it back are online connectivity issues, which have mostly been resolved. The majority of people you'll be hearing complaints from are those that didn't bother to read the game's minimum specifications, and those that expect it to be like any other "move squad, attack squad" RTS. It's not, you have to constantly think as the game is more a battle of intelligence than anything else. And in that respect the game is so far unique. Expand
  13. JakeS
    Apr 2, 2010
    10
    Purely, one of the single best games to ever be created. From the gorgeous, stunning scapes and graphics to the realistic FX, to the clever and brilliant music that you will be dying to hear again and again. The way this game captures the look and feel of driving a semi-truck makes me all giddy inside. Hands down, better than the Ocarina of Time, better than Halo, better than Super Mario Purely, one of the single best games to ever be created. From the gorgeous, stunning scapes and graphics to the realistic FX, to the clever and brilliant music that you will be dying to hear again and again. The way this game captures the look and feel of driving a semi-truck makes me all giddy inside. Hands down, better than the Ocarina of Time, better than Halo, better than Super Mario 64 this wins Game of all Eternity. Expand
  14. RobE.
    Oct 11, 2006
    9
    All the positives that everyone else said are true. The only thing keeping it from being perfect is length (too short, at 15 missions), and weak AI. Only on a couple of the defensive missions did I feel like I was really under attack.
  15. P.M.
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    Amazing game, incredible grahics and unveleivable gameplay. The best part is the use of tactical moves such as flanking.
  16. AndrewF.
    Oct 27, 2006
    10
    As put by many magazines, COH is simply the pinnacle of RTS gaming. If you have a good computer it's worth the visuals alone; howitzers throw troops 40 meters into the air (or at least parts of them), tanks have chunks of armor blown off sometimes rendering them immobile and of course my favourite part of COH's visual style: all cover is dynamic meaning if one of your squads is As put by many magazines, COH is simply the pinnacle of RTS gaming. If you have a good computer it's worth the visuals alone; howitzers throw troops 40 meters into the air (or at least parts of them), tanks have chunks of armor blown off sometimes rendering them immobile and of course my favourite part of COH's visual style: all cover is dynamic meaning if one of your squads is hiding behind some barrels and an mg opens up on them, well the barrels splinter and collapse leaving that squad venerable. Amazing things like that compliment the gameplay all too well. Speaking of the gameplay at first it feels a little akward controlling large amounts of troops, but after a couple games it only gets better (get those hotkeys down). speaking of gameplay COHs biggest strength is the majority of online battles rely on combat and very little base management (at least 85%), meaning the key to victory is map control. Lastly I have this to say about the sound FX, amazing, again the best ever done for any RTS (if not onscreen artillery echoes in the backround, mg's sound incredible as they chew up the ground and the allies). Well thats it, now go buy it if you are a fan of RTS's. And I should also point out that it runs well on less powerful machines as well, and the visual sacrafice is really not that much. Expand
  17. GeorgeW.
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    I cannot stress enough how excellent this game is. The visuals, audio and gameplay all excel over others in the genre. In many ways, it's a combination of the best elements of Act of War, Dawn of War and COD. The control and squad systems are well-designed, making controlling your army a simple task. The AI is unusually smart and adaptive, capable of easily flanking your forces and I cannot stress enough how excellent this game is. The visuals, audio and gameplay all excel over others in the genre. In many ways, it's a combination of the best elements of Act of War, Dawn of War and COD. The control and squad systems are well-designed, making controlling your army a simple task. The AI is unusually smart and adaptive, capable of easily flanking your forces and defenses, using cover and heavy support weapons effectively. The use of a full physics engine really makes this a unique experience. Fighting through european cities with AT guns, tanks and motars results in destroyed buildings and caters. Destroyed vehicle parts and building rubble provide cover, whilst holes blown into the sides of buildings become places from which your infantry can fire. The only problems of note are the high system requirements needed to drive the fantastic visuals and physics, and the rather low limits placed on the number of units you can have. This is not like C&C - you cannot put hundreds of tanks onto the field and hope to win. At any one time, you may have as many as 6 or 7 tanks and several infantry units. However, this limit does enforce more reliance on strategy rather than spam, and it makes the limited use of the larger (and very tough) Tiger tanks much more enjoyable. Expand
  18. RS
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    Awesome game.
  19. mobius
    Oct 9, 2006
    10
    Is Ron H reviewing the same game that everybody else is,

    Sure we can all run about shooting nazis in a on the rails of a great FPS, but if you want to be able to control whole platoons of Rangers,Engineers Machine gunners,mortor teams, sherman tanks roket launchers airstrikes, recon units then i would play what i consider the best WWII stratagy game available, the lv of detail that is
    Is Ron H reviewing the same game that everybody else is,

    Sure we can all run about shooting nazis in a on the rails of a great FPS, but if you want to be able to control whole platoons of Rangers,Engineers Machine gunners,mortor teams, sherman tanks roket launchers airstrikes, recon units then i would play what i consider the best WWII stratagy game available, the lv of detail that is available when you zoom right in with a great redraw distance makes the game such a joy to watch and play.
    Expand
  20. BrianY
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    After one day of Beta testing all I can say is wow! This game is a logical step in the right direction for the developers who brought us the wonderful Warhammer Dawn of War games. The best way I can describe it is throw into a melting pot all the past WW2 RTS games and blend them all together into what a WW2 RTS should be and you will have Company of Heroes. The variety of units andAfter one day of Beta testing all I can say is wow! This game is a logical step in the right direction for the developers who brought us the wonderful Warhammer Dawn of War games. The best way I can describe it is throw into a melting pot all the past WW2 RTS games and blend them all together into what a WW2 RTS should be and you will have Company of Heroes. The variety of units and details of the graphics will keep this game interesting for a long time to come. Expand
  21. AwaisI.
    Sep 12, 2006
    9
    Company of Heroes, without a doubt is THE definition of an RTS.It combines the excellent sound,visceral,nerve wracking gameplay of Call of Duty 2 with the overhead view of an RTS. The only problem ive had with it is that the system settings a bit too high for those with a low computer. I have a 1.7 Ghz,512 Dual RAM and 64 ATi Radeon Mobile 9200 and COH bogs down alot.But the gameplay is Company of Heroes, without a doubt is THE definition of an RTS.It combines the excellent sound,visceral,nerve wracking gameplay of Call of Duty 2 with the overhead view of an RTS. The only problem ive had with it is that the system settings a bit too high for those with a low computer. I have a 1.7 Ghz,512 Dual RAM and 64 ATi Radeon Mobile 9200 and COH bogs down alot.But the gameplay is soooo good that the graphical problems are ALL forgotten. Company of Heroes,you dont own it...it owns YOU! Expand
  22. BeqirB.
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    This is a best that I even heard anytime in my life thanks with regard.
  23. JonDoe
    Sep 26, 2006
    9
    Not your bog standard RTS or WW2 game. At first as a avid RTS gamer, I found it hard to get into with the slightly higher pace of gameplay than normal RTS but once you get the hang of it the game is just a enjoyment to play. Good sound along with oustanding graphics for a RTS puts this head and sholders above any other real time stratagy game out there.
  24. TheGuy
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    I hate it when idiots say "not innovative" about RTS games... why don't we hear is about FPS games where every single game is to find someone and kill them? Grow up and stop being so critical... "it's not realistic enough wah wah wah" you know why? Because all realistic RTS games SINK like a rock because they AREN'T fun. Do yourselves a favor and play this game, I'veI hate it when idiots say "not innovative" about RTS games... why don't we hear is about FPS games where every single game is to find someone and kill them? Grow up and stop being so critical... "it's not realistic enough wah wah wah" you know why? Because all realistic RTS games SINK like a rock because they AREN'T fun. Do yourselves a favor and play this game, I've played about 300 hours worth of this treat since open beta and am not tired yet. Expand
  25. B.MacBryce
    Sep 29, 2006
    9
    The camera could be a little further from the action and it takes a while to get used to the frantic pace. After you get your microing sorted out, it really comes to life. The graphics are amazing and there are a lot of tactical options. I didn't care too much for the campaign mode but it's a good tutorial for the game and the needed micro skills. The implementation of the Full The camera could be a little further from the action and it takes a while to get used to the frantic pace. After you get your microing sorted out, it really comes to life. The graphics are amazing and there are a lot of tactical options. I didn't care too much for the campaign mode but it's a good tutorial for the game and the needed micro skills. The implementation of the Full Spectrum Warrior-esque features (surpression, pinning, flanking) is a lot of fun during the early game while the late benefits from weaker units still being able to destroy the most powerful tanks when micro'ed properly. I'd rather have a Rome Total War setup without buildings but it doesn't dominate the game too much. And I don't even like RTS normally. Expand
  26. NickW.
    Sep 4, 2006
    10
    Excellent game. Evenly balanced. Actually has physics. I can't think of anything in this game that isn't good!
  27. JohnW.
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    I think it's a spectacular game. Graphics, tough AI, intensity of the combat and everything getting blown apart is awesome.
  28. BrandonW.
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    The gameplay is incredible. For all you people that complained on here previously about not being able to play as the axis...umm there's multiplayer. With custom mods out there that are good overall and fantastic custom maps, the online gameplay will give you and your friends hours and hours of entertainment.
  29. BenjaminC.
    Apr 9, 2007
    10
    One of (if not) the best RTS game out to date. Great graphics, sound, presentation, but most of all, GAMEPLAY! Only having two armys may be a problem to some people but it also promotes using both armys equaly online. When the expansion, CoH: Oposing Fronts is released this game will become aonther classic like SC, TA, WC, ect. 4 armys it will be more competitive than ever. Pick this up One of (if not) the best RTS game out to date. Great graphics, sound, presentation, but most of all, GAMEPLAY! Only having two armys may be a problem to some people but it also promotes using both armys equaly online. When the expansion, CoH: Oposing Fronts is released this game will become aonther classic like SC, TA, WC, ect. 4 armys it will be more competitive than ever. Pick this up if you don't have it! Expand
  30. RazLeBoL
    May 15, 2007
    10
    One of the best game I played in ages! And I am not even a fan of the RTS genre. So well done and requires thinking instead of massing units. It encourages usage of your brain instead.
  31. Novi4ekNone
    Sep 14, 2007
    10
    good game
  32. JoshuaA.
    Sep 4, 2007
    10
    The best part about CoH is the attention to detail. Having troops realistically seeking cover, rolling on the ground, having chunks of earth being blown off of the map, it just makes you feel really there.
  33. DerekS.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    Amazing graphics, and hours of fun playing time!
  34. RussG
    Oct 6, 2008
    10
    The only strategy game I have every played that actually required thinking over just farming units and blobbing around the map. I have tried many strategy games, but this one is the best. While some people have trouble with the game and rate it poorly, it is because they didn't know how to play the game. This is a game that requires a lot of skill and knowledge before you get good at The only strategy game I have every played that actually required thinking over just farming units and blobbing around the map. I have tried many strategy games, but this one is the best. While some people have trouble with the game and rate it poorly, it is because they didn't know how to play the game. This is a game that requires a lot of skill and knowledge before you get good at it. For example, many people get frustrated when they don't know the controls to drive a vehicles backwards. Also, you can drive a vehicle into a wall to make a place for a machine gun. Buildings and cover can be destroyed completely. The game is the best balance of realism and fun I have ever played in a game. Expand
  35. JesseO.
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    I actually installed Windows again (I'm a crazy Linux nut) just for this game. It is quite simply the best "RTS" game I've ever played.
  36. IanC
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    Company of heroes is one of the most enjoyable game I have ever played, and that's without its expansion. The AI is astounding in my opinion, making combat decisions to better keep themselves alive. The cover system is very flexible and interesting, and lastly, the accuracy and presentation of the units in the game is near god-like. I highly recommend purchasing this game!
  37. SamF.
    Jun 29, 2008
    8
    CoH is a good game all in all. I think alot of people just get frustrated with the game because it is so demanding, intense and requires attention to detail. But I think thats the point of a game. It has reallly good graphics and sound. Can people also stop talking about there being no planes because there is if you pick an air commando and its suppposed to be an infantry based game CoH is a good game all in all. I think alot of people just get frustrated with the game because it is so demanding, intense and requires attention to detail. But I think thats the point of a game. It has reallly good graphics and sound. Can people also stop talking about there being no planes because there is if you pick an air commando and its suppposed to be an infantry based game anyway, hence the micromanagment. Expand
  38. Torinir
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    One of the best RTS games of all time. A testament to the quality products that Relic is capable of developing.
  39. DickA
    Apr 18, 2009
    10
    CoH pretty much set the standard for RTS games post 2006. At its conception, its mix of intuitive and deep unit cover, intelligent unit AI, a great interface and outstanding graphics blew away previous entries into the genre. CoH was as a big step forward for the genre as Command and Conquer or Dune. It was the perfect mix of gameplay, history and balance. With patches, the game's AI CoH pretty much set the standard for RTS games post 2006. At its conception, its mix of intuitive and deep unit cover, intelligent unit AI, a great interface and outstanding graphics blew away previous entries into the genre. CoH was as a big step forward for the genre as Command and Conquer or Dune. It was the perfect mix of gameplay, history and balance. With patches, the game's AI is now absolutely outstanding, and still features a strong online community. Plenty of variety in maps, built in mission editor, the game simply features everything you could want in an RTS, complete with the expected attention to quality relic can provide. Expand
  40. kimnørgaard
    Apr 23, 2009
    9
    great game i Recommend every RTS players to buy it. the reason i gave it a 9 is that the system requirments... it recommends: 3.0 ghz intel P4. 1GB ram. Nvidia geforce 6800 256mb or better. I have 2,2 ghz amd athlon 64x2 2GB ram nvidia 7200gs 256mb. so i throught i could run it maxed out. but i have to run it on low settings....the system requirments is really a big lie...
  41. AlR.
    Jul 24, 2009
    9
    An excellent revision of the squad-based RTS genre, and a fitting blend of realism and gameplay conceits to maximize fun. The ability to use and upgrade civilian buildings into forward bases and make use of cover is brilliant. The power to call on allied forces from off-map is true-to-life and genre appropriate. The sheer flexibility of the infantryman as the backbone of the Army is in An excellent revision of the squad-based RTS genre, and a fitting blend of realism and gameplay conceits to maximize fun. The ability to use and upgrade civilian buildings into forward bases and make use of cover is brilliant. The power to call on allied forces from off-map is true-to-life and genre appropriate. The sheer flexibility of the infantryman as the backbone of the Army is in full display, a welcome change from the crippling overspecialization rampant in many titles. The use of a territory control model for resourcing is excellent, as it ties economic and defensive strategy together as a package. I do have to say that buying it on Steam is a good way around the torrent of patches and updates at install, but it does mean waiting for the full download to play. Expand
  42. ObjR.
    Oct 1, 2006
    9
    Pretty good game. Reminds me of Dawn of War. The only drawback is that it runs horribly on lower end PCs like mine.
  43. HenriV.
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    Best RTS ever played. Inovative gameplay, great graphics and sound. Totally destructible environment ... never seen before. This game is really intense.
  44. KneelB4ZOD
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    Pure and simple, if you like gaming, add this to your shelf. I would like to point out that WHAM! gaming officially sucks a fat one for this last critique. I mean cmon, way to F### up guys. Who rags on a game with a rating of 75, when 20 or more bigger critics give the game a 90 - 100 (there were like ten 100's!!!). 20+!!!!!!!!!! Dude, you guys are the laughing stock of the gamingPure and simple, if you like gaming, add this to your shelf. I would like to point out that WHAM! gaming officially sucks a fat one for this last critique. I mean cmon, way to F### up guys. Who rags on a game with a rating of 75, when 20 or more bigger critics give the game a 90 - 100 (there were like ten 100's!!!). 20+!!!!!!!!!! Dude, you guys are the laughing stock of the gaming world; I should have your jobs u SOB's.... Game revolution, i didn't expect that kind of idiocy from you. to tha point::::::::: This game has a few classic RTS flaws, but simply dominates every single game of its genre. In my book, this is the 4th best RTS WW2 game ever created (thus far). Expand
  45. Benlikeimgonnasay
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    I think its safe to say that WHAM! gaming critics officially suck a fat fucking dick. Seriously, when 20 or more critics rate a game at 90 and above, and you gave it a 75.... wow, way to fuck up eh?

    to tha point, this game has classic RTS flaws, but flat out dominates competition. This is a must buy. Seriously, who the fuck ever heard of Wham! gaming, i hate you faggots.
  46. SanZ.
    Oct 27, 2006
    8
    Visceral and quite possibly one of the most intense and exciting RTS i'd ever played. This is very different from all other rts in the market right now, and emphasizes alot more on tactics and how you fully utilize the strengths of your units. Its not about turtling and massing your troops and over-running your opponents in a single swoop (aka C&C). to A B: DO NOT compare this with Visceral and quite possibly one of the most intense and exciting RTS i'd ever played. This is very different from all other rts in the market right now, and emphasizes alot more on tactics and how you fully utilize the strengths of your units. Its not about turtling and massing your troops and over-running your opponents in a single swoop (aka C&C). to A B: DO NOT compare this with Red Alert.it is in no way like any of the C&C games, in fact, it would be an insult to CoH. You're not supposed to mass anything, which forces you to utilize your resources and units more effectively. And also, the emphasis is on tactical and strategic combat, NOT base building and harvesting of resources. I think this game is just not for you A B. I would have rated this a 9 but the tank pathfinding bugs are way too glaring to be ignored. Online matching and ranking systems are still bugged as well. Expand
  47. ShahrulN.
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    The very definition of strategy gaming! I have never played an RTS game where I felt so much for my little toy men. Buy it! You will never regret it.
  48. ErnestC.
    Dec 8, 2006
    10
    It may just be the last WW2 RTS game you ever need to play. Any other WW2 game that will come out after this will be undoubtedly compared to COH and fail.
  49. Tt
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    Best game I've ever played. Very fast paced, especially for an RTS.
  50. JoMamma
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    Insane Graphics. One of the best games I have ever played. I've had a little trouble with multiplayer and the campaign was a little too short for my liking, but the great level designs and replay value due to the medals earned by completing secondary objectives and the abundant skirmish maps that can be replayed over and over with different outcomes make up for that completely
  51. HenryK.
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    Certainly most of the innovate RTS games hitting the shelves this year.
  52. CoryP.
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    Uh, this game is the best RTS in years. period.
  53. DirkD.
    Sep 13, 2006
    8
    Well, it's certianly NOT as realistic as the Close Combat games (buy the upcoming Theatre of War if you want that...I will be!), but it's far and away the best RTS game out there to date.
  54. JoeMaiz
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    Simply the best RTS/WW2 game. If you liked the Close Combat series, then you must get CoH. Get attached to your troops as you fight your way thru Europe's battles in WW2. Every unit has a strenght and a weakness, so its a fine balance in every fight. Using the map resources, you use them to create new units and also to upgrade your current ones, such as a flame thrower or throw a Simply the best RTS/WW2 game. If you liked the Close Combat series, then you must get CoH. Get attached to your troops as you fight your way thru Europe's battles in WW2. Every unit has a strenght and a weakness, so its a fine balance in every fight. Using the map resources, you use them to create new units and also to upgrade your current ones, such as a flame thrower or throw a grenade. Graphics are super, as details like wheelmarks, tracers and smoke are amazing. Overall, a well done and a must have for RTS and WW2 fans alike. Expand
  55. KevinB.
    Sep 14, 2006
    9
    Best RTS since Close Combat and Total Annihilation. It should tell you something when you realize it's the best RTS since 1999... The game is nearly flawless. Resource management is a natural part of aggressive tactics and requires zero micro management. Territorial control and supply lines are great additions. The fact that Infantry units aren't mere cannon fodder is a Best RTS since Close Combat and Total Annihilation. It should tell you something when you realize it's the best RTS since 1999... The game is nearly flawless. Resource management is a natural part of aggressive tactics and requires zero micro management. Territorial control and supply lines are great additions. The fact that Infantry units aren't mere cannon fodder is a testament to the level of detail given to this game. Throw in quality cinematics to go with a great campaign mode that presents all sorts of variations... yea... go buy it or else you'll be wasting your $50 on something else. Too bad it's yet ANOTHER WWII game... Expand
  56. Mobius
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    If you have played Warhammer Dawn of War then you will find that company of heros playes almost excatly the same with the exception of better graphics better atmosfear and better maps.
  57. MartinC.
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    Best strategy game in many years, I have lately been looking for a good strategy game and this game is that game. It caught me by surprise, it's a real gem. I just finished the first mission and liked the chaotic and realistic feal of the game.
  58. S-T-S
    Sep 16, 2006
    9
    Indeed, this is good RTS. Many talk about Close Combat being realistic.. I think Combat Mission series is THE most realistic WWII game to date (granted that it's turn based, but when you press go it moves all players at once, so its kinda mixed RTS and turn based). It says something about Combat Mission, when even antitank weapon damage is calculated from the angle it was shot. Indeed, this is good RTS. Many talk about Close Combat being realistic.. I think Combat Mission series is THE most realistic WWII game to date (granted that it's turn based, but when you press go it moves all players at once, so its kinda mixed RTS and turn based). It says something about Combat Mission, when even antitank weapon damage is calculated from the angle it was shot. Troops have wery realistic morale and efficiency based on how close leaders are. And the tactics play far more important role than in any game i have seen. Expand
  59. DaveA.
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    This is a Game that made me play it for near 2 days straight. "Company Of Heroes" sounded like just another ww2 shootemup. I'm glad the offered a demo, once you pick it up, you won't put it down. Rember how cool Red Alert was when it Came out? Well this is cooler. I have never enjoyed a Real Time Strategy game as much as this before, and the pace is so frenetic it can be nerve This is a Game that made me play it for near 2 days straight. "Company Of Heroes" sounded like just another ww2 shootemup. I'm glad the offered a demo, once you pick it up, you won't put it down. Rember how cool Red Alert was when it Came out? Well this is cooler. I have never enjoyed a Real Time Strategy game as much as this before, and the pace is so frenetic it can be nerve wracking! Chaotic and cool! Expand
  60. LauriS.
    Sep 18, 2006
    8
    By no means a bad game it still feels like dawn of war: winter assault with WW2 units and awesome graphics. Owners of less powerful rigs and people seeking realism beware.
  61. LouisL.
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    Simply amazing. So far, the only truly great strategy games have been not set in WWII, and this game changes that. I've avoided WWII RTS games for a while because the idea of good for that genre is just that, good, but this game is amazing. It puts all other WWII RTS games to shame and many non WWII RTS games to shame. Sitting at your base is not an option due to the resourse Simply amazing. So far, the only truly great strategy games have been not set in WWII, and this game changes that. I've avoided WWII RTS games for a while because the idea of good for that genre is just that, good, but this game is amazing. It puts all other WWII RTS games to shame and many non WWII RTS games to shame. Sitting at your base is not an option due to the resourse gathering method. The entire game is made to make Offense and fighting the only way to win. It rewards aggressive play, but not reckless play and it really forces you to multi task and play the frontlines. The tactics used such as rear armor hits makes powerful units feel like more than jacked up weak units and the Company Commander abilities make only 2 factions feel like the WWII equivilant of 2 races with 3 factions each. Like in a fantasy themed game, the races (Axis and Allies) dfiffer in general play mechanics while the different Commander Paths feel like different Civilizations in a Historical RTS within those races (like in Rise of Nations or Age of Empires) and I'm surprised nobody ever thought of multiple levels of organization before. Overall, this is one of the greatest RTS games ever made and if you like RTS games, you owe this game a shot, or if you didn't like RTS games because you felt sitting back and building your base was boring, you also owe this a shot. Expand
  62. AndrewZ.
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    All I can say is amazing.
  63. ChrisJ
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    Spectacular - the first WWII RTS I've enjoyed, Company of Heroes is beautifully put together.
  64. DaveR.
    Sep 22, 2006
    9
    Yes it's an RTS - it even says exactly that on the box, it follows RTS conventions If it didn't it wouldn't be an RTS. It is NOT realistc at the expense of gameplay. There are games that force you to micromanage your troops underwear requirement from the quartermaster and even their facing under fire "Please turn and face the guys shooting at you" This game doesn't Yes it's an RTS - it even says exactly that on the box, it follows RTS conventions If it didn't it wouldn't be an RTS. It is NOT realistc at the expense of gameplay. There are games that force you to micromanage your troops underwear requirement from the quartermaster and even their facing under fire "Please turn and face the guys shooting at you" This game doesn't -and as a GAME - it's all the better for it. For those who want that - I can suggest the "Combat Mission" games - a fine game with an average turn time for a company size operation of about three and a half weeks. Where even the most retentive "Uber" general can micro manage every last aspect of there troops Play that and realise that no commander would ever do that in real life "gamey features" Durr "It IS a game" There is no resource gathering in the usual sense (you have to take resource points which then give you manpower / fuel or ammo depending on type) I think of that as your HQ allocating resourcs depending on your units geographical footprint and usefullness (which is what generally happens) MG's with short ranges do irk me, but haviing played Flashpoint, being shot from a mile away with no idea who or how is not really everyones gaming "cup of tea" and despite beig realistic - also seems very arbitrary and not linked in any way to your skill as a gamer. This game is action packed fun with a good measure of thought required (the skirmish modes are damn hard) Clarker Expand
  65. TheMan
    Sep 24, 2006
    10
    Very fun, very good graphics, and a awesome campaign mode. Some things do magically appear, and the gun ranges are a little bogus, but other than that the game can be reall realistic.
  66. RossA.
    Sep 25, 2006
    9
    Sounds, animations, atmospheres, environments, potential for strategic variation, importance of individual squadron control, unit special abilities, intelligent AI, even an engine that can scale down on 3 years+ old computers and still run smoothly. While comments such as Mick N's: "Drivel [...], absolutely horrid," are usually counter-productive, he does make the valid points that a Sounds, animations, atmospheres, environments, potential for strategic variation, importance of individual squadron control, unit special abilities, intelligent AI, even an engine that can scale down on 3 years+ old computers and still run smoothly. While comments such as Mick N's: "Drivel [...], absolutely horrid," are usually counter-productive, he does make the valid points that a few things are blindingly traditional (health bars, unrealistic obtaining of upgrades) and could use a little spark. But what makes me give this game a 9 is that, while this game is executed very well, Relic does not innovate enough on their previous RTS, 40k, to justify giving them a 10. However, this game is superbly crafted. The only aspect that its missing is something that differentiates it from 40k outside of the setting. Expand
  67. DM
    Sep 26, 2006
    10
    I some what laugh at the few comments as to COH being generic or the same old RTS formula dressed up. Fortunately these people are in the minority and I suspect are Devs for competitors. The truth is there is many, many new and innovated game play mechanics to COH, the destructible environments, the suppression and pinning of squads, the territory control, and more. These combined to I some what laugh at the few comments as to COH being generic or the same old RTS formula dressed up. Fortunately these people are in the minority and I suspect are Devs for competitors. The truth is there is many, many new and innovated game play mechanics to COH, the destructible environments, the suppression and pinning of squads, the territory control, and more. These combined to create a dynamic and tactical game. Where one well placed Machine gun nest and sniper can hold up and pin four squads or two Anti tank guns lying in ambush can devastate your Armour rush. Since WW1 military commanders have known Artillery is the queen of the battle field and COH is no different, as one well timed strike can smash a spear head. So go ahead Nick B, mass up units and run a cross the map, see what happens, you obviously haven Expand
  68. Marty
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    I NEVER take the time to vote on a game...but THIS...this is THE best RTS to date. Period. GREAT GRAPHICS...AMAZING gameplay...EXCEPTIONAL AI. What more can you ask for. Even the sounds are fantastic. Don't even hesitate on this one.
  69. SpencerL.
    Jan 1, 2007
    9
    Gets a little hard to quickly. Otherwise a really awsome game. You can get so close to the action you can actually only see a little of the guy and his gun.
  70. NavB.
    Jan 16, 2007
    9
    I bought this game during the holidays and have been playing the campaign mode and i must say this game is really awesome. The level of difficulty is somewhat higher in this game compared to other RTS games but i think that's the part that makes it that much more fun for me. The graphics and physical are really good along with level of detail in general. I have played the multiplayer I bought this game during the holidays and have been playing the campaign mode and i must say this game is really awesome. The level of difficulty is somewhat higher in this game compared to other RTS games but i think that's the part that makes it that much more fun for me. The graphics and physical are really good along with level of detail in general. I have played the multiplayer as well quite a few times now and really enjoyed that as well. I would say this is a must have game for any RTS fan. I am looking forward to the expansion for this which will hopefully add more units and factions. Expand
  71. BjörnH.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    The very best strategy game ever! The combat feels so real and there is good space for strategy and tacticts. Haven't enjoyed a strategy game based on old school base building since C&C: Red Alert.
  72. BillyE.
    Oct 27, 2007
    9
    Very realistic by RTS standards, great graphics, great sound. This game is nearly perfect. The only thing I hated was the vehicle AI. It would create the necessity to micromanage and that isn't always a viable choice when your in an intense battle. To typical idiotic comments made below about the realism; join a freaking war if you want true realism.
  73. J.Hair
    Feb 20, 2007
    8
    It's not as overrated as Warhammer, which consists mostly of amassing as many units as possible to eliminate opponents.
  74. JBW.
    Feb 4, 2007
    8
    I gave this game an 8 because the graphics, physics, and sound are all awsome, they could not be better, the firefights can be huge and absolutely amazing to watch and play, and the destructible environments only adds to this. The only problem that I had was that you had to do everything, your troops would not act on their own.
  75. R.Hill
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    Ok for all of those negative reviews lets get some things straight here... The game is similar to Dawn of War but NOT the same thing. Company of Heroes is a fast paced, intense, TACTICAL game. Dawn of war is more about spamming mass units and attacking in big waves. I tried Faces of War (which people seem to compare Company of Heroes to), it
  76. UK_John
    Apr 16, 2007
    9
    This is a solid 9. It would have been a 10 if there was the German campaign to defend as well as the American campaign to attack. The graphics, the sound the AI, all is excellent. This is fast paced gaming, A way to find your units just a little quicker would have been welcome, but really, this is the best WWII RTS Game out there by a long long way!
  77. Wehrmacht132
    May 14, 2007
    10
    This game is unbelievable ... all in- the best strategy game of all time.
  78. TimY.
    May 24, 2007
    10
    Great presentation and polish. It's hard to find a game these days with this much work put into it. Unrealistic in some aspects, but these are small complains to an otherwise great game.
  79. DomE.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    Great game. been just playing the skermish, everything works well love how everything gets destroyed some glitches but nothing serious wot so ever found it in a bargin bucket as well!!
  80. JasonM.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    This is by far the best quality RTS I have ever played. Tons of fun, and the expansion is due this fall!!! The game is available on STEAM now too. If you don't know about STEAM it lets you download the game to any PC at any time, so if you reinstalled your OS or upgraded your PC you don't need to track down those scratched DVD's or anything. Highly recommend CoH!
  81. C.H.
    Jul 30, 2007
    10
    Just got it on Steam, game kicked ass, great single player campaign.
  82. ChrisH.
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    I feel safe in saying that this is the pinnacle of the tactical RTS. It offers two great different, but balanced, factions, loads of units, amazing presentation, and incredible sound. I love how the resource points replace the ore miners and tiberium harvesters of old and create a frantic struggle for resources that keeps the action going for the entire game. That's not to say I I feel safe in saying that this is the pinnacle of the tactical RTS. It offers two great different, but balanced, factions, loads of units, amazing presentation, and incredible sound. I love how the resource points replace the ore miners and tiberium harvesters of old and create a frantic struggle for resources that keeps the action going for the entire game. That's not to say I don't like the old system (CnC3 is one of my favourites!) but it's nice to play something different, especially when it's as well-done as CoH. The amazing presentation goes hand in hand with the intense action. As you maneuver your tank down tight French streets, it'll take down road signs, rubble, and even sides of buildings caught in its path with its engine humming as it goes on its way. Infantry will be in cover, seemingly safe, only to have their safe place blown a way by a terrifying-sounding heavy machine gun. Both the sound and the graphics are top-notch, but unfortunately take at least a somewhat decent PC to run. Still, if you can run it, you won't want to put it down. Expand
  83. MarkJ
    Nov 1, 2008
    10
    The best RTS game I have ever played since Command and Conquer Gold. It's replay value is endless, much like some FPS games have (RTCW); and with a high end graphics card like the GTX 290 you will be amazed at the realism in the physics and particle effects that dazzle your screen, not to mention the clear crisp sounds of MG fire every 20 seconds that keeps you thinking about the The best RTS game I have ever played since Command and Conquer Gold. It's replay value is endless, much like some FPS games have (RTCW); and with a high end graphics card like the GTX 290 you will be amazed at the realism in the physics and particle effects that dazzle your screen, not to mention the clear crisp sounds of MG fire every 20 seconds that keeps you thinking about the battlefield. Expand
  84. MikeH.
    Feb 16, 2008
    9
    The visual effects are stunning not to mention the gameplay it is like gold coated chips.
  85. ArchangelM.
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    Fantastic gameplay,superior graphics,no pixalation, no popups, top of the line in warcraft, spending 22 years in the marines and entering service back in 73, id say this has all the action of a real conflict,and the only thing missing was bodybags,the initial sequence at the beach was so lifelike and so very devastating, amazing work, and the control choices could include joystick, other Fantastic gameplay,superior graphics,no pixalation, no popups, top of the line in warcraft, spending 22 years in the marines and entering service back in 73, id say this has all the action of a real conflict,and the only thing missing was bodybags,the initial sequence at the beach was so lifelike and so very devastating, amazing work, and the control choices could include joystick, other then that id rate it 100. Expand
  86. JonV
    Jul 20, 2008
    9
    I only gave this a 9 beacuse of the requirements. I had a 2-year old computer with nVidia Geforce 7600, and it filled out the recommended requirements but it could'nt play it on medium. but on my new computer the game is absolutely great. Thou it does remind of dawn of war, the games are completly different from each other. Even if you do'nt like RTS, you should buy this game.
  87. ElliottC
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    This games graphics have awed me since the game came out. The tanks look, feel, and control like tanks. Infantry are inteligent and look for their own cover, and manuever for combat effectiveness. The terrian is maliable like a real WWII battlefield. The sound effects are unreal, the graphics compliment the sound. The military strategy and economic goals are smartly created. This game has This games graphics have awed me since the game came out. The tanks look, feel, and control like tanks. Infantry are inteligent and look for their own cover, and manuever for combat effectiveness. The terrian is maliable like a real WWII battlefield. The sound effects are unreal, the graphics compliment the sound. The military strategy and economic goals are smartly created. This game has set precident to future RTS games need to be. A++ Expand
  88. LouisM.
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    Having played this game for years, I can safely say that it is the best RTS game I have ever played. The graphics are outstanding for the genre, the gameplay is superb, and the learning curve is by no means steep. I've recommended this game to many friends who all have enjoyed it, and I'll continue to recommend it. It is worth every penny.
  89. MangeB
    Jan 14, 2009
    10
    This game i still right at the top a couple of years later and the devs are still working on new patches, maps and balance tweaks. I've spent several hundreds of hours with it. While the campaign doesn't last more than 15-20 hours or so (I forgot), in online play it never gets booring. Since the four main factions (including the follow up opposing fronts) in turn have three tech This game i still right at the top a couple of years later and the devs are still working on new patches, maps and balance tweaks. I've spent several hundreds of hours with it. While the campaign doesn't last more than 15-20 hours or so (I forgot), in online play it never gets booring. Since the four main factions (including the follow up opposing fronts) in turn have three tech trees each, even repeated play on the same map usually turns out differently depending on player strategy and the flow of each game. Whats more, the game can now be found dirt cheap. An amazing bargain for a game that kicks ass and will last for a long time to come. Out of this game and the follow up opposing fronts, this one is definitely the better one, but you may want to get the other one too for the ability to play as all four factions online. Expand
  90. MicahS
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    Best RTS game i have ever played, just bought the whole combo pack for $35, best $35 ever spent, i was a little wary because i am more of a FPS kinda guy but this game is intense enough to pull me into it!
  91. MartinD
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    Company of heroes is easily one of the best RTS games of all time and excels in all areas. Relic continues to provide support by releasing balance patches and graphics updates and is one of the few developers who listen to the community and provide balance updates based on the feedback they recieve. If you haven't played COH yet your missing out.
  92. LysanderS
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    One of the best games i've ever played. I'll keep this short. While there's bugs, mentioned by others, such as infantry specifically moving AWAY from the sandbags you've stationed them to use as cover, and other small annoying bugs like this, it's still and AMAZING game. You really can't miss out on this. You can zoom in and alternate your view to get a great One of the best games i've ever played. I'll keep this short. While there's bugs, mentioned by others, such as infantry specifically moving AWAY from the sandbags you've stationed them to use as cover, and other small annoying bugs like this, it's still and AMAZING game. You really can't miss out on this. You can zoom in and alternate your view to get a great look at the gorgeous visuals, you have full controll over everything on the battlefield, it's just so fantastic. Multiplayer lobbies can be a real bish though... Expand
  93. RashM
    Mar 1, 2009
    10
    Most impressive and revolutionary RTS Ever. The first RTS games, Warcraft 1 and Dune, defined the genre. Since then every game has merely copied these two with no real innovation - starcraft is a shining example of this and sc2 promises to be no different. CoH is far more than the boring stats vs stats combat. It is a very cerebral, highly tactical strategy game. It skill fully maneuvers Most impressive and revolutionary RTS Ever. The first RTS games, Warcraft 1 and Dune, defined the genre. Since then every game has merely copied these two with no real innovation - starcraft is a shining example of this and sc2 promises to be no different. CoH is far more than the boring stats vs stats combat. It is a very cerebral, highly tactical strategy game. It skill fully maneuvers away from all the criticisms of the RTS genre (as pointed out by actual military strategists and turn-based strategy game players). It defines a innovative new strategy game that can be hailed as the greatest revolution in RTS since Warcraft 1 made its debut in 1994. Despite its excellent design and depth, it engages from the start, as one makes the first fumbling steps into the game. The game has remarkable polish: excellent graphics, color schemes and incredible sound to add to the inspiring atmosphere. It transforms the computer into a 1944 battlefield. A new bar has been set rather high for future games in the RTS genre. Expand
  94. Jacob
    May 13, 2009
    10
    I have played this game since it first came out. I came across it by luck. Now with all of the expansions out, this game appeals to single and multi player enthusiasts. The AI in the troops is a great aspect, the dimensions you have to cover in this game mean that you cannot get a super weapon and win. You have to play to win each time. For first time strategist it is a fun play and for I have played this game since it first came out. I came across it by luck. Now with all of the expansions out, this game appeals to single and multi player enthusiasts. The AI in the troops is a great aspect, the dimensions you have to cover in this game mean that you cannot get a super weapon and win. You have to play to win each time. For first time strategist it is a fun play and for veteran gamers it is the complete conjunction of action strategy and fun. Expand
  95. BeaLavont
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    I can't believe you people who rate this game so low because it lacks features NO OTHER GAME ON EARTH HAS!!! DUH??!! "Infantry cant jump over walls"..what RTS is out there that this is possible? I mean you comparing this game to a game that DOES NOT EXIST... learn to critique my friends...this RTS compared to past ones is a MASTERPIECE.. simply the best there is now...jeez
  96. Iven
    Nov 25, 2006
    10
    Amazing Graphics. Very fast paced, especially for an RTS. Visceral and quite possibly one of the most intense and exciting RTS I've ever played.
  97. JamesW.
    Oct 21, 2006
    10
    Unreal - World War 2 might have been done to death by a myriad of FPS games out there. Sincere congrats to Relic for breathing life in to a stale story genre with an absolutely STERLING RTS worthy of many accolades; it has everything you'd expect from a game destined to become reckoned as "great" - atmosphere, polish, balance and suspense. The satisfying 'thud' of distant Unreal - World War 2 might have been done to death by a myriad of FPS games out there. Sincere congrats to Relic for breathing life in to a stale story genre with an absolutely STERLING RTS worthy of many accolades; it has everything you'd expect from a game destined to become reckoned as "great" - atmosphere, polish, balance and suspense. The satisfying 'thud' of distant artillery with the growl and grind of approaching tanks adds an unbelieveable level of involvement when you are left in control of a few squads of Rifleman to hold a town against impossible odds... But it's very possible to hold the line, and that is why they call it "company of heroes". Thanks for a great game, Relic. You're a credit to the gaming industry. Expand
  98. XBlackFuryX
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    Really an awfull game, best RTS ever ( i guess ), enjoyable gameplay, lots of great vehicles, and there isnt lots of 152mm artillery fucking your base like in FOW. The AT guns, Tanks, Mgs, minefields and other traps by enginners make it a great strategy game even at defense and atack.. And General J., do you really think that all soldiers have AT grenades ? Why dont you try to researchReally an awfull game, best RTS ever ( i guess ), enjoyable gameplay, lots of great vehicles, and there isnt lots of 152mm artillery fucking your base like in FOW. The AT guns, Tanks, Mgs, minefields and other traps by enginners make it a great strategy game even at defense and atack.. And General J., do you really think that all soldiers have AT grenades ? Why dont you try to research Stick Bombs on barracks ? IT are real, not lots of AT grenades. Expand
  99. Mike
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    I hated the demo! I didn't understand what all the hype was about. And a month later, I bought the game, becasue all the good reviews got to me. I started playing this game, and I was amazed in how excellent the gameplay is! The demo doesnt even scratch the surface of how excellent this game is!
  100. CorinneLau
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    I'm not a veteran RTS player but this one is just amazing! It's a lot of fun and looks spectacular, I keep wanting to play more games. There seems to be a lot of depth possible and skill to master, I'm getting there!
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. PC Gamer
    96
    Company of Heroes should be on the must-play list of every RTS fanatic out there, even those tired of WWII settings. It's just that good. [Oct. 2006, p.70]
  2. PC Gamer UK
    94
    This is the finest WWII strategy game I've played. Hell, I'm having real trouble thinking of any strategy game that's this spectacular, this intense, this fun. [Oct 2006, p.70]
  3. 94
    The transformation from a idyllic little town into a heap of crushed buildings and burned out husks of vehicles can be shocking. Seeing and hearing major explosions that cause bodies (and bits of bodies) to fly across the screen along with rubble from a nearby building simply puts you more into the battle than any RTS in memory.