Company of Heroes PC

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Sep 13, 2006
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1033 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ClausA
    Oct 16, 2008
    4
    I agree 100% with Raffaele. The "AI" is particularly frustrating - AT units will happily take a beating from their flanks and do nothing except complain about it. Actually swinging around and engaging the aggressor seems beyond their abilities. Tanks, as well as AT units, will often drive right into their targets and engage them at point blank range rather than at a safe(r) distance. I agree 100% with Raffaele. The "AI" is particularly frustrating - AT units will happily take a beating from their flanks and do nothing except complain about it. Actually swinging around and engaging the aggressor seems beyond their abilities. Tanks, as well as AT units, will often drive right into their targets and engage them at point blank range rather than at a safe(r) distance. Graphics are very good and the sound effects are amazing, but the unit AI is an exercise in frustration, especially in singleplayer skirmish mode (I don't care about online play). I don't understand how anyone can give this game a rating above 4, sorry. I'm uninstalling it while typing this. Expand
  2. NickB
    Sep 22, 2006
    3
    Reasonable enough, but isn't vastly different from what we've seen before. Don't let the hype around it fool you, this is just dawn of war with a WW2 setting. The action happens at such a pace where it's just a case of getting as many men/vehicles across the battlefield at one point, and tactics go out of the window. It doesn't 'force' intelligent play.
  3. KennethM.
    Jan 30, 2007
    0
    Faces of war is vastly superior. This is just dawn of war with WWII skins, right down to only having one campaign.
  4. Feb 8, 2012
    0
    One of the WORST!!! Games i have ever played... just a bad camera position, far too close to get a good overview, especially because you have to micro your soldiers all the time!! all of your units... they get nothing done and often do things first after the 3rd or 4th direction. They are unable to find the shortest way and some times just run in with enemy fire instead of attacking, veryOne of the WORST!!! Games i have ever played... just a bad camera position, far too close to get a good overview, especially because you have to micro your soldiers all the time!! all of your units... they get nothing done and often do things first after the 3rd or 4th direction. They are unable to find the shortest way and some times just run in with enemy fire instead of attacking, very unuseful for a mortar for example. The online don't run anyway and there is no support... i am scared of THQ giving their name for such a crap. If you want do something good, don't buy this! Expand
  5. JohnJ.
    Jan 22, 2007
    4
    Repetetive, no axis campaing, unrealistic in so many aspects, few unit choices, poorly executed A.I, physics..where are they?, sound effects is the only good thing along with graphics but that not much since the rest of the game is no good.
  6. MickN.
    Sep 21, 2006
    1
    Drivel. Absolutely horrid, bog standard RTS clickfest replete with the hackneyed RTS conventions such as little green health bars, resource gathering in the middle of a battlefield, tanks magically growing dozer blades or machineguns before your very eyes, machineguns with a max range of 100 feet... The list of idiotic, "gamey" features is endless. It's Warhammer 40K, Dawn of War Drivel. Absolutely horrid, bog standard RTS clickfest replete with the hackneyed RTS conventions such as little green health bars, resource gathering in the middle of a battlefield, tanks magically growing dozer blades or machineguns before your very eyes, machineguns with a max range of 100 feet... The list of idiotic, "gamey" features is endless. It's Warhammer 40K, Dawn of War redone with WWII skins. Garbage. Pure garbage. Expand
  7. RonH.
    Oct 2, 2006
    1
    Game Sucks, maybe I was looking for that rush I got from COD2. Immersed intantly in action, I played this for a half hour and never got to use a weapon I guess I thought it was a FPS, if your into strategy I guess you might give it a shot but if you want the kind of action like COD2 Do not buy it, another wasted 50 bucks any one want this game before I chuck it.
  8. AugustusT.
    Oct 28, 2006
    4
    Amazing Graphics, and Novel play do not a good game make. While this has an incredible amount of finely tuned behaviors that provide an illusion of realism, it's still very fictional and poorly abstracted. Great for the RTS fan, but not so great for the historical fan. VS AI play, to get burried in a mountain of armor is completely unfun, all the Armor and Anti Armor is ludicrously Amazing Graphics, and Novel play do not a good game make. While this has an incredible amount of finely tuned behaviors that provide an illusion of realism, it's still very fictional and poorly abstracted. Great for the RTS fan, but not so great for the historical fan. VS AI play, to get burried in a mountain of armor is completely unfun, all the Armor and Anti Armor is ludicrously represented: Case in point PAK 40s (And allied guns too) don't kill or even stop allied tanks, even a basic tank can simply drive out of its arc of fire (while taking 2 or so direct hits) and kill it from the side as the crew try to manually rotate it, Crocodile Shermans are ridiculously obscure (There were only 4 in the war) but are prominent in the game. They CAN'T fire their 75mm gun, only using the flamethrower, and can't hurt armor at all, not even open topped ostwinds at short range in Urban maps. Infantry cant hurt tanks and light vehicles, in a meaningful way, they cant even assault the open top ones... Grenades and sticky bombs are upgrades... Retreating infantry units suddenly turn nearly invincible... The only recourse to destroying tanks is really other tanks. A silly game about tanks, and the Germans get a blitzkrieg special power,... More tanks. Retreating infantry units suddenly turn nearly invincible... No Air Power... Engineers cant clear German tank traps... German tanks drive over allied tank traps (that look like German Welded Dday beach obstacles)... Infantry cant even cross a simple fence or jump a low wall... Some maps include innaccesible objectives... Cumbersome, frustrating, unhistorical and not intuitive. Ignorant RTS fans will love it, historical players look elsewhere! Expand
  9. AmitD.
    Jan 28, 2007
    4
    Despite my love for Relic (solely based on the hugely entertaining Homeworld)..ALL their following games have been very high on "next gen" stuff (Impossible Creatures animal melding) OR CoH's destructible maps..etc. CoH's is just another "draw a rectangle over your troops and send them in X/Y direction" RTS... Anyone interested in playing a REALLY physics based RTS should try Despite my love for Relic (solely based on the hugely entertaining Homeworld)..ALL their following games have been very high on "next gen" stuff (Impossible Creatures animal melding) OR CoH's destructible maps..etc. CoH's is just another "draw a rectangle over your troops and send them in X/Y direction" RTS... Anyone interested in playing a REALLY physics based RTS should try out Soldiers or the recent Faces of War. These 2 Best way RTS's totally blow CoH all over the place with their physics based engine. Neither are CoH's gfx all that good when compared to FoW's nor does the physics based gameplay come EVEN close to that experienced in FoW. All the talk about a great single player campaign is nothing but a mediocre drudge through the same D Day attack and the follow up. Sure the marketing buzz made it appear as if Relic was dong something really different to the RTS genere....but ultimately it's nothing but a run of the mill point and click RTS. Expand
  10. MikeW.
    Sep 17, 2007
    0
    Its just not realistic, whats with you people? Can we please get away from unit damage/power bars? If a units hit its either killed or damaged & not able to repaired on the spot! In the real world a commander fights with what is available to him, he has to look after his men & equipment not just build a new tent that will produce fresh solders. Micromanaging all this resource nonsense and Its just not realistic, whats with you people? Can we please get away from unit damage/power bars? If a units hit its either killed or damaged & not able to repaired on the spot! In the real world a commander fights with what is available to him, he has to look after his men & equipment not just build a new tent that will produce fresh solders. Micromanaging all this resource nonsense and building units is total rubbish! Close Combat 1,2,3,4,5 and the new Cross of Iron from Matrix Games are the way forward, although i must admitt they could do with being made more pretty to look at like Company of Heroes. Expand
  11. RaffaeleS.
    Jan 27, 2008
    1
    Very sad game. Coming straight from playing Homeworld 2 (a couple years ago), all three Dawn of War Expansions (which were reasonable and decent games to themselves that I enjoyed) I purchased this game with high expectations that were soon destroyed. I find that the gameplay, game interface and AI took a sharp nose dive since DoW. Many annoying and fatal errors with basic units and Very sad game. Coming straight from playing Homeworld 2 (a couple years ago), all three Dawn of War Expansions (which were reasonable and decent games to themselves that I enjoyed) I purchased this game with high expectations that were soon destroyed. I find that the gameplay, game interface and AI took a sharp nose dive since DoW. Many annoying and fatal errors with basic units and overall gameplay. Infantry Squads told to stand behind cover randomly decide to pop out of it completely and get destroyed. MG Squads randomly choose which windows they garrison and can be easily picked off due to poor angles of some. Snipers are one hit kill factories though are worthless in a tower since the enmy can clearly see your garrisoned buildings before a shot is fired. The fog of war in this game is unrealistic (being able to see behind walls/trees) thus you have time to avoid ambushes or see what is coming and retreat before a shot is ever fired. Tanks when told to retreat, instead of simply reversing will instead do a U-turn in front of enemy Tanks and AT guns... Axis experience system is purchased while Allied is earned... The list goes on, the balance issues are compounded in the expansion pack and the very laggy online play (even when the high ping players are filtered out or kicked). During very important micro manage battles when a unit does not respond or register your command its game over since once the front line is lost along with most of the key resources the battle is already over (unless you take advantage of many exploits of certain units and doctrine abilities). No matter how pretty the graphics/sound they can never salvage poor gameplay. Expand
  12. KennyY.
    Oct 15, 2007
    3
    Its just not realistic at all!! only thing left is great graphic and sound effect!
  13. MikeL.
    Dec 26, 2006
    4
    Tell you what, this game blows, hard. Sure it's fun if you like melting all the traditional elements of starcraft and other age old rts games with a realistic setting and semi realistic (and god awful at times) gameplay. Now, it is an achievement in its own right, as most games are, and it is not THAT bad to play, but to say it is the epitome of greatness is just wrong. The game Tell you what, this game blows, hard. Sure it's fun if you like melting all the traditional elements of starcraft and other age old rts games with a realistic setting and semi realistic (and god awful at times) gameplay. Now, it is an achievement in its own right, as most games are, and it is not THAT bad to play, but to say it is the epitome of greatness is just wrong. The game fails to be what it has been hyped as in all levels., Someone care to tell consumers where the revolutionary elements are? A company tree..pfft, been there done that (generals) and if you ask me it just makes it even more unrealistic. Resource points, try dawn of war (a great game)... physics? Pfft, faces of war's physics blow this piece of garbage straight out of the way, especially when set to detail. Plus, i'd say many games this year beat it for graphics easily, and it takes a monster of a computer to run this game with nice graphics. Overall, it was presented as a godlike game, and without mods it turns out to be an unrealistic 'allied superheroes' game with spam and micro taking any and all thinking in the "strategy' section. Relic, good try, but please make a game that is either realistic, or unrealistic, not a mix. Expand
  14. Sep 25, 2011
    0
    Einfach nur schlecht, alleine der Realismusfaktor ist sowas von mies und dann noch der miese Basisaufbau lässt sehr zu wünschen übrig, aber was mich am meisten stört ist das erobern von Munitions "Fahnen" oder Benzin "Fahnen", was soll das ? Das hat apsolut nichts mehr mit dem Zweiten Weltkrieg zu tun, sondern ist einfach einEinfach nur schlecht, alleine der Realismusfaktor ist sowas von mies und dann noch der miese Basisaufbau lässt sehr zu wünschen übrig, aber was mich am meisten stört ist das erobern von Munitions "Fahnen" oder Benzin "Fahnen", was soll das ? Das hat apsolut nichts mehr mit dem Zweiten Weltkrieg zu tun, sondern ist einfach ein Stupides Gameplay, da machen es viele andere Spiele besser, man hätte die ECO wirklich besser machen können. Und dann auch noch die mini Armeen, was ja nicht mehr Armeen sind sondern eher eine kleine Gruppe an Leuten, auch wieder hier geht jedes WW2 Feeling Flöten.

    Einzige was mir sehr gut gefallen hat waren die Soundeffekte, zb wenn in der Ferne, sich Leute beschieÃ
    Expand
  15. Feb 1, 2013
    2
    I am completely bewildered by all the high ratings given this game. Obviously all these people have never played a real quality RTS before. This game was sold in parts. This game doesn't hold a candle to the C+C series. Generals Zero Hour pure gutstomps this game into the dirt. Limited unit types, limited buildings, no research poor AI and one could go blind from trying to play itI am completely bewildered by all the high ratings given this game. Obviously all these people have never played a real quality RTS before. This game was sold in parts. This game doesn't hold a candle to the C+C series. Generals Zero Hour pure gutstomps this game into the dirt. Limited unit types, limited buildings, no research poor AI and one could go blind from trying to play it everything is so small. If you want a real RTS you would do better to go get yourself a copy of C+C Generals Zero Hour and skip this dog. Expand
  16. Jan 27, 2015
    2
    As I stated in my Company of Heroes 2 this eschews good RTS for gratifying the Idiocracy wave of gamers. Getting rid of real resource management makes the game more similar to Men of War; except CoH (both of them) suck compared to MoW at the tactical level. The complete lack of realism in the game also is a buzzkiller for any WW2 fan. Had they done something similar to their Dawn of WarAs I stated in my Company of Heroes 2 this eschews good RTS for gratifying the Idiocracy wave of gamers. Getting rid of real resource management makes the game more similar to Men of War; except CoH (both of them) suck compared to MoW at the tactical level. The complete lack of realism in the game also is a buzzkiller for any WW2 fan. Had they done something similar to their Dawn of War RTS games (not that DoW RPG wannabe RTS crap=DoW2) then this might have been a decent series. This game is best left to the insta-gratification console generation. More and more games have been getting dumbed down and require little brains, this series is an example of that. There are far better games out there that require much more intelligence and provide real gameplay. I'm afraid with this game all hope is lost for real RTS games made for adults instead of teenagers. Expand
  17. Feb 24, 2015
    0
    MikeW.
    Sep 17, 2007
    0 Its just not realistic, whats with you people? Can we please get away from unit damage/power bars? If a units hit its either killed or damaged & not able to repaired on the spot! In the real world a commander fights with what is available to him, he has to look after his men & equipment not just build a new tent that will produce fresh solders. Micromanaging all
    MikeW.
    Sep 17, 2007
    0
    Its just not realistic, whats with you people? Can we please get away from unit damage/power bars? If a units hit its either killed or damaged & not able to repaired on the spot! In the real world a commander fights with what is available to him, he has to look after his men & equipment not just build a new tent that will produce fresh solders. Micromanaging all this resource nonsense and building units is total rubbish! Close Combat 1,2,3,4,5 and the new Cross of Iron from Matrix Games are the way forward, although i must admitt they could do with being made more pretty to look at like Company of Heroes.
    Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Company of Heroes should be on the must-play list of every RTS fanatic out there, even those tired of WWII settings. It's just that good. [Oct. 2006, p.70]
  2. This is the finest WWII strategy game I've played. Hell, I'm having real trouble thinking of any strategy game that's this spectacular, this intense, this fun. [Oct 2006, p.70]
  3. 94
    The transformation from a idyllic little town into a heap of crushed buildings and burned out husks of vehicles can be shocking. Seeing and hearing major explosions that cause bodies (and bits of bodies) to fly across the screen along with rubble from a nearby building simply puts you more into the battle than any RTS in memory.