Company of Heroes PC

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Sep 13, 2006
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1110 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 29, 2014
    10
    ITS MASTERPIECE.
    never seen better WW game...its a complete game in every sense, filled with gripping combat , effect and lovely world... Still holds it position as best strategy..love this game.
  2. May 16, 2012
    10
    Quite simply, a member of the select few games that have ever warranted a perfect ten or thereabouts. Undoubtedly one of, if not the best, real-time strategy games ever made. Roll on, number two!
  3. Jun 7, 2012
    9
    Genre defining game, still standing strong in 2012. The amount of detail on every facet of the game, from audio, to animations, to game play is simply amazing

    Some of the connected features are a bit outdated by today standards, but that's to the expected. And with the latest patches installed, this game comes close to a very good balance between the 4 factions available with the
    Genre defining game, still standing strong in 2012. The amount of detail on every facet of the game, from audio, to animations, to game play is simply amazing

    Some of the connected features are a bit outdated by today standards, but that's to the expected. And with the latest patches installed, this game comes close to a very good balance between the 4 factions available with the expansions.

    There are still glitches here and there (units getting stuck in collisions) due to the physics engine used, but the fact that all unit damage is governed by a random factor can make some moments of it the most frustrating or the greatest game moves ever played :).

    Replays are being uploaded and commented on youtube and there is a hardcore community built around it with mods and the works.

    And let's not forget 2013 will bring us Company of Heroes 2... Well, if THQ doesn't go under in the meanwhile.

    All in all, this game has to be played by everyone who is even remotely interested in RTS. I mean, the first mission of the American campaign is a beach assault in Normandy!
    Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    This is a must buy if you ever thought of yourself as a RTS.gamer. Relic took the genre to another level much like Westwood Studios did several times before. I was realy impressed with the sound and environment destruction in the game. That is something I feel no other title in this genre have been able to match. It would be weird if you did not trash the whole map with these big weaponsThis is a must buy if you ever thought of yourself as a RTS.gamer. Relic took the genre to another level much like Westwood Studios did several times before. I was realy impressed with the sound and environment destruction in the game. That is something I feel no other title in this genre have been able to match. It would be weird if you did not trash the whole map with these big weapons so were is the destruction in other games. They are surely missing this realy big part of an actual war.

    Some thoughts taken from my experience in the first Company of Heroes:
    # AI would need to be improved alot cause there were issues with it that made fighting and doing advanced maneuvers a real pain.
    # Multiplayer/LAN were the big thing in this game cause I have always been a player that would want to compete with others. There are big problems with how they have programed the networking. The players without high ping will be set on hold so you cant take action when waiting for the one who is having problems. This is just experienced as latency.
    They also have alot of server problems that still haunt me even now 2012 when the game have had some time to get over these growing pains.
    # Controls would need a overhaul so I can select units easier and not risk to select my whole army cause of their big hitboxes.
    Expand
  5. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    One of the best RTS of 2012!!!! 6 year's old and this game is still amazing and it's not dead! Seriously people like me are still playing after 6 year's!!!! I can't wait to see what COH2 has to offer..... This game was and is still great!
  6. Sep 12, 2014
    8
    Campaign somewhat a bore nothing new not challenging but the gameplay is just amazing, multiplayer is where its at. This game shines in multiplayer it's so challenging and strategical with quite a bit of options on how you want to build you're army and Graphics are ok nothing spectacular the physics are also nice. Very high replay value and super fun with friends or just competitive play.Campaign somewhat a bore nothing new not challenging but the gameplay is just amazing, multiplayer is where its at. This game shines in multiplayer it's so challenging and strategical with quite a bit of options on how you want to build you're army and Graphics are ok nothing spectacular the physics are also nice. Very high replay value and super fun with friends or just competitive play.
    Best RTS plain and simple.

    Worth $50
    Expand
  7. Aug 1, 2012
    9
    I bought this game on sale from Steam, not expecting too much, but was pleasantly surprised. The game featured fairly good graphics, physics, and game mechanics and seemed well-balanced. I especially enjoyed the environmental cover system, which adds an additional tactical layer to any place you fight. The single-player campaign (which is all I played) was pretty good: the story was okayI bought this game on sale from Steam, not expecting too much, but was pleasantly surprised. The game featured fairly good graphics, physics, and game mechanics and seemed well-balanced. I especially enjoyed the environmental cover system, which adds an additional tactical layer to any place you fight. The single-player campaign (which is all I played) was pretty good: the story was okay and the levels were mostly fun. As with many games with build limit systems, it does get frustrating at times to be forcibly outnumbered and to have to defend large areas with relatively few troops, but there are ways to counter this (I personally enjoyed building elaborate defensive lines across my territory using turrets, fences, etc.). Overall I would strongly recommend this game to any RTS fan, and if you catch it on sale, you can't beat the value. Expand
  8. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    One of the best strategygames out there, despite it being 6 years old. It is for those who dont want to spend most of the time building houses and farms but to focus on the action while micromanaging your units to take strategic points on the map to recieve resources. It is also graphically impressing even today with detailed units and enviroments and a good physics engine. The campaign isOne of the best strategygames out there, despite it being 6 years old. It is for those who dont want to spend most of the time building houses and farms but to focus on the action while micromanaging your units to take strategic points on the map to recieve resources. It is also graphically impressing even today with detailed units and enviroments and a good physics engine. The campaign is really great with many missions if you include the two expansions (which are cheap today) and the multiplayer and skirmish-mode is hard to let go. Expand
  9. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    This is one of the Best Strategy Games i ever played, even in 2012 i'm still playing it, just because its that great! Really looking forward to the sequel
  10. Aug 3, 2012
    9
    Although this can be challenging to new players, Company of Heroes offers an experience like no other.
    You play as the US Army in the campaign, and must play to ensure the success of the D-Day invasions. The game is however completely brought to life in the Multi player mode. Here you can play as either the US Army, or the Nazi Wermacht. Each faction has it's own 'doctrines', which
    Although this can be challenging to new players, Company of Heroes offers an experience like no other.
    You play as the US Army in the campaign, and must play to ensure the success of the D-Day invasions. The game is however completely brought to life in the Multi player mode. Here you can play as either the US Army, or the Nazi Wermacht. Each faction has it's own 'doctrines', which allows you to have certain units.

    The US Army, for example, has the Airborne Company, which allows you to parachute in elite infantry, and even Anti-Tank guns. On the other hand, the Nazi's can pick the Blitzkrieg Doctrine, which allows the player to call in Elite Stormtroopers and Stug IV Tanks, allowing you to smash into enemy lines, for a final push to victory.

    The unit pool is very broad, with many upgrades for your units. For example, Nazi Grenadiers can be upgraded to have MG42 light machine guns, capable of ripping enemy infantry to shreds, or even Panzerschreck Rocket Launchers, to give you the upper hand over enemy armour.

    This game is worth every penny, so this game gets 9/10!
    Expand
  11. Aug 5, 2012
    9
    Company of Heroes is one of the best (or maybe the best?) RTS games ever made. Beautiful graphics, gameplay and scenarios make this game look like it was released just last month. But it wasn't, it's 6 years old and I'm still playing it.
  12. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    An RTS with great depth. Number of units, fast pace and unit diversity makes this game a real RTS jewel. I 've never seen another RTS that represents land warfare with so much fidelity. Taking cover behind a wall, flanking an MG, hitting a tank's weaker rear armor, advancing behind a smokescreen, laying barbed-wire and placing a mine smartly are some of the things you don't see together inAn RTS with great depth. Number of units, fast pace and unit diversity makes this game a real RTS jewel. I 've never seen another RTS that represents land warfare with so much fidelity. Taking cover behind a wall, flanking an MG, hitting a tank's weaker rear armor, advancing behind a smokescreen, laying barbed-wire and placing a mine smartly are some of the things you don't see together in an RTS and used to be features of FPS genre 'till CoH's release. The game features a Campaign (US faction only which is nicely done, still scripted) which serves well as a tutorial to the game's mechanics, Skirmishes against AI opponents which from one point on seems easy cause of the AI limitations. The game really shines when it comes to online play against other players. The variety of things a human player can do and the variety of your response options are so many than you 'll be amazed. The only "bad" thing is that the learning curve is quite steep and the player community quite experienced after so many years since release which can be intimidating for a new player. Still, if you cope with this, learn from your own mistakes and admit that you 'll count many defeats before saying you know how to play then you have a great game at your hands. Graphics are very good, still amazing after so many years, and sound is great and vital to your battlefield performance. I would recommend it to everyone who likes RTS. Personally, before CoH I 've played many RTS extensively, after CoH I only play CoH and Total War games. Even more recent RTS (like SCII) seems too simplistic for me to bother playing! Expand
  13. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    Greatest RTS ever made, period. I grew up playing turn based strategy and RTS games, and without thinking twice, this game is the best RTS I've ever played (I played pretty much every RTS worth playing in the past 15 years). This game gave me the same chills that Total Annihilation gave me when it came out, it was everything that I was expecting from an RTS, and a little more. The game isGreatest RTS ever made, period. I grew up playing turn based strategy and RTS games, and without thinking twice, this game is the best RTS I've ever played (I played pretty much every RTS worth playing in the past 15 years). This game gave me the same chills that Total Annihilation gave me when it came out, it was everything that I was expecting from an RTS, and a little more. The game is very solid, with good graphics, AMAZING sound effects, and a great physics engine. The part that makes this game so good however, is the actual strategy design of the game. This is pure strategy in real time, not only positioning, but also planning, decision making, control of units and most importantly reaction to your enemy's decisions. This gave is not as unforgiving of lack of APM or fast reaction times with the mouse, like most other RTSs. The most important part of the game is strategy, planning and positioning, rather than having a perfect mouse/hand skills. The amount of depth of the game is also astonishing. There is more to understand and learn about infantry mechanics alone in this game than most other RTSs have in their entire game. I really can't think of any cons, while of course the AI could be improved, personally I think the AI in this game does a whole lot more than most RTSs out there. Conclusion: This is definitely a legend in RTSs, it's strategy at its finest, and while it's not really fast phased, the amount of depth and strategy involved in it makes it seem to be frantic if you really get into it. The graphics, sound effects and physics of the game compliment perfectly the gameplay mechanics, and the concept matches very well the art of the game. Overall this game impressed me since the very first moment I played it, and it holds BY A LOT the #1 spot as RTS for me. Expand
  14. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    By far one of the best RTS games out there period. There is a reason qualified gaming sources (Critics) didn't score this game below 80%. Any gamer who gave it less than 5 is just that "any gamer". They either couldn't get past the learning curve or understand the balance of the game. It is developed to show the reality of World War 2 while providing a fun, balanced playable game.By far one of the best RTS games out there period. There is a reason qualified gaming sources (Critics) didn't score this game below 80%. Any gamer who gave it less than 5 is just that "any gamer". They either couldn't get past the learning curve or understand the balance of the game. It is developed to show the reality of World War 2 while providing a fun, balanced playable game. Complaints about AI have either been exaggerated or are simply based on bad info. The fact there are complaints that the AT Gun does not swivel when positioned poorly and/or flanked is what makes this a strategy game. You need to be able to micro your forces and aim your weapons yourself. If the AI did that for you then flanking would be useless and there would be no need for a player at all. You could just click begin match and sit back and watch. I assume most low scores come from gamers who do not want to have to click on a single unit more than once. What do they expect this game to be simply build, point and watch it destroy the enemy. That is why the call it Real Time Strategy. This game has so much depth it does take some time to get used to. Expect to have to immerse yourself in the game and spend some serious time learning the hard and soft counters of each unit and what to do versus certain opposing strategies. While I find it more enjoyable than Men of War it is a different classification of WW2 RTS than Men of War. MoW is based on total realism. Company of Heroes is based on balanced game play. For instance the King Tiger can be overwhelmed and circled by lesser tanks and Anti-Tank weapons. That is part of the game. Some users commented on the fact the King Tiger was not able to take on lesser enemies with superior strategy. That is what balanced game play is all about. Every unit has a counter and can be defeated with the right strategy. My vote for game of the century goes to Company of Heroes. Even in 2012 it still has a strong online multi-player lobby and has been well supported by the developers. The last balance patch 2.602 was done with community participation and success in 2011. There are currently claims of rampant cheating (mostly by a few who cannot accept loss and point to complex 2v2 or bigger matches) but this is something I have not seen myself for sure in any of my thousands of 1v1 auto matches. Expand
  15. May 17, 2013
    8
    I have to admit, I've only played this game for about two hours so far, but I can easily say it's one of the best real-time strategy games I've seen. Being a huge fan of Star Wars: Empire at War, I picked this title up as part of the Humble Bundle, expecting it to be similar to that game. It was, except this one's a lot more graphically-detailed with more gameplay elements.
  16. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    This is easily the best game ever made. I bought all versions beginning from 2006 and played extensively on multiplayer. I have played more than 3000 games in multiplayer and still playing every now and then. The multiplayer is very good because it does match quite well the other players skill to yours so there is normally quite a challenge in every game. The game is balanced very wellThis is easily the best game ever made. I bought all versions beginning from 2006 and played extensively on multiplayer. I have played more than 3000 games in multiplayer and still playing every now and then. The multiplayer is very good because it does match quite well the other players skill to yours so there is normally quite a challenge in every game. The game is balanced very well between the factions. I mainly play 2 vs 2 classic and I love it. I can't play 1 vs 1 anymore because I get so angry when I lose to someone so it is better to have someone beside you when losing :)

    Very good game, still after 6 years the graphics are very much worth it. I would buy it again and waiting anxiously for COH#2.
    Expand
  17. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    This game sucked up a year of my life and I don't regret it. I still love booting it up even now. A perfect PC Strategy Game. GET IT GET IT GET IT.
  18. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best RTS out there even today, it's totaly unique. It's so fun to play with friends, or even against random players. I would HIGHLY recomend this game to anybody looking for a great RTS game. Expand
  19. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Where to even start with this game. This game is just amazing. I can only imagine how much money the developers spent for making this game. It has a physics engine, destructible buildings, amazing sound and graphics, and to even some extent destructible terrain. When it comes to this games, I personally have called it the greatest game of all time. It is really hard to find something wrongWhere to even start with this game. This game is just amazing. I can only imagine how much money the developers spent for making this game. It has a physics engine, destructible buildings, amazing sound and graphics, and to even some extent destructible terrain. When it comes to this games, I personally have called it the greatest game of all time. It is really hard to find something wrong with this game. Expand
  20. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    Simply the best RTS ever made, can't wait for COH2. Graphics are still amazing after 6 years, the gameplay is so great and overall it's the deepest RTS ever made with a fast paced gameplay :)
  21. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Best. Game. Ever Really, i've played it for 98 hours in total. you MUST try it out. And if you have doubts, you'll be surprised
  22. Dec 15, 2012
    8
    That was good RTS, good game, nice campaign and great graphic, for this day in 2012 this is good game for play with friends :)
    For Single and multi, must have!
  23. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    One of the best RTS of all time, still fun to play. The only downsides are lack of map and faction variety in the vanilla version. COH still holds up in 2013 and there hasn't been a game that's challenged its place at the top of the RTS world.
  24. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    I haven't played a war strategy game this good since C and C. If you want immerse yourself in the heat of all out war then this game delivers. Great fun, both playing the campaign or pitting your whits against people on line. Cant wait for the next one. Already pre ordered. The expansions don't really bring much more to the game other than extra teams. Still an excellent Game though. BuyI haven't played a war strategy game this good since C and C. If you want immerse yourself in the heat of all out war then this game delivers. Great fun, both playing the campaign or pitting your whits against people on line. Cant wait for the next one. Already pre ordered. The expansions don't really bring much more to the game other than extra teams. Still an excellent Game though. Buy it and try it. Expand
  25. May 9, 2013
    9
    Absolutely fantastic game that restored my faith in the gaming industry.
    Very balanced gameplay, every unit has its purpose and none are completely useless. "Battering-Ram"-tactics will get you completely destroyed and a lot of thought went into the tactical gameplay features.
    Presentation is solid and outdated graphics really don't hurt the overall enjoyment. I love the fact that you
    Absolutely fantastic game that restored my faith in the gaming industry.
    Very balanced gameplay, every unit has its purpose and none are completely useless. "Battering-Ram"-tactics will get you completely destroyed and a lot of thought went into the tactical gameplay features.
    Presentation is solid and outdated graphics really don't hurt the overall enjoyment.
    I love the fact that you can employ actual strategies. There is no "works every time"-strategy or building order that will guarantee a win. You can accomplish most missions in a variety of ways.
    The entire game has only 3 weak spots imho:
    a) KI ist solid, but makes a few unnecesarry mistakes i.e. Anti-Tank weapons don't turn around when attacked from the back or sometimes infantry has the accuracy of Imperial Stormtroopers
    b) Depending on your system, loading times are pretty long
    c) A Pause-Function in Single-Player would have made the game a bit less stressful, since the AI can give multiple orders simultaneously which puts a human player at a disadvantage without a pause mode
    Expand
  26. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    This game Is an AMAZING game. I literally can wait for COH 2! The game play the sound affects are just insane Its very addictive and Its one of those games i could play for whole day maybe more non stop. AMAZING GAME! I recommend this too every gamer out there it never gets old even in 6 years
  27. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Best RTS ever!

    I started playing COH back in 2006 when it first came out and now in 2013 I'm still playing it. I just finished a skirmish about ten minutes ago and I thought I'd pay this game it's over due respect and take the time to write my user review on Metacritic. The first time I played COH I was at my friend Larry's house checking out the work he did in his living room. In
    Best RTS ever!

    I started playing COH back in 2006 when it first came out and now in 2013 I'm still playing it. I just finished a skirmish about ten minutes ago and I thought I'd pay this game it's over due respect and take the time to write my user review on Metacritic. The first time I played COH I was at my friend Larry's house checking out the work he did in his living room. In the background I noticed COH on Larry's rig. I saw a Panzer 4 rolling up the road from the south base toward the north base (Larry's base) in the 2 player map Angoville. I asked Larry what it was and he offered me a chance to try it. I sat down and chose the Easy CPU Wehrmacht vs American's (not like I had a choice of different enemies back then, just which side axis vs allies). I got my tail kicked so bad early on that Larry had to jump in and fight his way back in control of the map. Once Larry had it under control he let me take a few Sherman tanks into the Wehrmacht base and finish it off. I was instantly hooked, not only because it was the hardest most complex RTS I'd ever played but because I love to blow up and the graphics were great. I immediately went out and purchased the game.

    The campaign storyline was great in the original game and both expansions, it truly makes the player feel that they are in the 40's creeping around in Europe looking for Gerry. Playing as the American's when the game first came out drove me to learn more about WW2 history. I found myself reading articles on the net and watching the history channel every time a WW2 show was on. I started calling my Grandfather over and over again to hear stories about what he did during WW2. He was in the Navy and very proud of his role in the South Pacific; it didn't take much to get the stories out of him. COH created an obsession for teaching myself the history of WW2 that hasn't died since I started playing the game. I'm still totally fascinated with WW2 and I credit the motivation I found to teach myself what I did to this game. It will some day be a cult classic game if it isn't already.

    The game play is excellent! The objective is to capture and control as many fuel, manpower and munitions points on the map as you can while kicking the snot out of your enemy; the more points you capture the more manpower, fuel and munitions you earn as income which you can use to purchase units, buildings and upgrades to help your army win the skirmish. Strategy is huge in this aspect of the game, tou can cut off your enemies' supply line by capturing key points thus earning you an income advantage. What parts of your territory you defend and how successfully you defend it and or how you advance and capture is crucial to success.

    AI Enemies learn how to exploit your strategy and will try different things to defeat you if you play against the computer over and over again. Every time I reformat my hard drives and reinstall windows there is a noticeable difference in the AI's strategy; it's much easier to defeat the AI at first but over time it learns to put up a better fight and the game becomes harder to win. At the time COH Opposing fronts came out I began playing skirmish matches like I was training to compete vs the Hard AI computer in a gaming tournament. The Hard American AI became so familiar with my strategy during that time that I was actually looking forward to a reformat just to relieve some of the pressure the AI was putting on me.

    Your infantry units can take cover behind map details, rock walls, bushes, trees, abandoned or destroyed vehicles are all different examples of cover. Different types of "cover" are rated one of four ways, a green shield is the best cover, a yellow shield is good cover, no shield is no or poor cover, and a red shield is negative cover, the shields will be displayed over your infantry depending on the type of cover or lack there of they are using. Cover greatly effect the survivability of your infantry units. When you make contact with an evenly matched enemy if your troops are in better cover your troops will win the melee. Most infantry units can be upgraded to carry a different weapon or tool. Weapon and tool upgrades are bought with munitions. Some infantry units have the ability to spend munitions to gain an advantage in battle in the form of a grenade or a panzerfaust.

    With vehicles where you hit a vehicle can do more or less damage as well as what type of weapon you're using on the vehicle. If you use a machine gun or a rifle on a light vehicle you will do moderate damage, as the vehicles become heavier all the way up to a heavy tank the damage will become less and eventually do nothing when against tanks. Although having a tank is an advantage vs infantry they can be defeated by infantry units if the units are equipped with the tools to deal with the tanks. Most units can be upgraded with munitions.

    In conclusion it's a great game buy it if you don't already own it.
    Expand
  28. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    This game is soooo good i even made an account on here to write a review on it :D

    10/10 and im still playing it in 2013, also i thing this is better than the second
  29. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    Probably the Greatest RTS game of all time. Very addictive and very well made. I have enjoyed many hours of playing this awesome game. The online experience is excellent and the campaign is very good too. 10/10
  30. Apr 9, 2014
    10
    Company of Heroes is the best video game that I have ever played, and in my opinion it is the chess of video gaming. I am still playing it regularly in 2014.

    It is an absolute shame that COHO- Company of Heroes Online, was cancelled in late beta, because it is the only thing going that could derail this juggernaut. A diamond. Stairway to Heaven. A golden retriever. A sexy lady. An
    Company of Heroes is the best video game that I have ever played, and in my opinion it is the chess of video gaming. I am still playing it regularly in 2014.

    It is an absolute shame that COHO- Company of Heroes Online, was cancelled in late beta, because it is the only thing going that could derail this juggernaut. A diamond. Stairway to Heaven. A golden retriever. A sexy lady. An object of man made perfection.

    COH also has the most graphic and realistic violence in the most ageless graphics of all war games. The voice acting, sound effects, and graphics are sublime. There is infinite depth in its complex array of play modes. Rest in Peace Brian Wood, you made the game to stand the test of time and honor its subject matter.
    Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. PC Gamer
    96
    Company of Heroes should be on the must-play list of every RTS fanatic out there, even those tired of WWII settings. It's just that good. [Oct. 2006, p.70]
  2. PC Gamer UK
    94
    This is the finest WWII strategy game I've played. Hell, I'm having real trouble thinking of any strategy game that's this spectacular, this intense, this fun. [Oct 2006, p.70]
  3. 94
    The transformation from a idyllic little town into a heap of crushed buildings and burned out husks of vehicles can be shocking. Seeing and hearing major explosions that cause bodies (and bits of bodies) to fly across the screen along with rubble from a nearby building simply puts you more into the battle than any RTS in memory.