Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. The gameplay, audio, and visuals provide for a great gaming experience, but without a multiplayer mode, the game lacks major replay-ability.
  2. 79
    It's rare that a game with average sound, graphics and an uncooperative control system can still be enjoyed for hours at a time anyway.
  3. Underneath its tarnished exterior is a game that's surprisingly engaging and intense. [Feb 2004, p.83]
  4. If Desert Storm 2 has one flaw, it's that there are only ten maps and these usually channel the player down avenues rather than provide ample playgrounds for strategic experimentation. [Nov 2003, p.100]
  5. Ultimately, this offers little over the first Desert Storm other than a new campaign and several engine tweaks but given the game's setting, there's precious little more you could ask of it. [Oct 2003, p.126]
  6. Nothing groundbreaking, but if its fun with guns you’re after then few current squad based titles provide it better than this.
  7. At least the PC version is easier to play, thanks to the wider array of control options offered by the keyboard and mouse.
  8. For those expecting massive advancements or a radical departure from the original, this will come as a disappointment. A more honest, realistic assessment would be to treat this as a mission pack, and for those who do just want more of the same, you'll come away a satisfied customer.
  9. Throw in the occasional bugs that cause your soldiers to get stuck in corners or run in place, and you may think twice before signing on for this tour of duty. [Feb 2004, p.85]
  10. One of those half-baked ports of a console game that someone figured might squeeze a few bucks out of PC owners. [Feb 2004, p.77]
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. ZethG.
    Nov 2, 2004
    8
    Personally I love war game but this isnt what I expecting but the weapons and level were pretty cool, I love stuff like that.
  2. BadriN.
    Mar 15, 2004
    4
    Pros: Powerful tanks with powerful weapons Nice damage modelling Cons: Insurmountable inventory Awkward FPS camera Fidayeen opponents Pros: Powerful tanks with powerful weapons Nice damage modelling Cons: Insurmountable inventory Awkward FPS camera Fidayeen opponents Non-existent saves Terrible soundtrack Weirdo characters A lesson in pain Full Review »
  3. SteveD.
    Jan 10, 2004
    8
    I bought the game and was glad, the loney problem was not a lot of missions, i thought u would have been able 2 choose ur weapons b4 u go andI bought the game and was glad, the loney problem was not a lot of missions, i thought u would have been able 2 choose ur weapons b4 u go and do the missions and more new weapons like the m60, m16(not just the m16a203)m14 ,m4a1 ,fashbangs,cs gas ,and gas masks and i think it would be better 4 an extra squad 2 be included like the french .and 4 the uniforms 2 be better. Full Review »