Conquest of Elysium 3 Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Conquest of Elysium 3 is an old school fantasy strategy game. You explore your surroundings conquer locations that provides the resources you need. Resources needed vary much depending on what character you are, e.g. the high priestess need places where she can gather human sacrifices, theConquest of Elysium 3 is an old school fantasy strategy game. You explore your surroundings conquer locations that provides the resources you need. Resources needed vary much depending on what character you are, e.g. the high priestess need places where she can gather human sacrifices, the baron needs places where tax can be collected and where iron can be mined. These resources can then be used for magic rituals and troop recruitments. The witch can use fungus to summon a catoblepas whose gaze can annihilate an entire row of enemies per turn. The demonologist can summon powerful demon lords, but only if he is brave because the likelihood of a demon lord attacking his summoner is quite high. In short the main thing about this game is the amount of features and special abilities that can be used. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Feb 23, 2012
    80
    I don't mind in the least the game's modest production values, but I do wish that Illwinter was more hip to certain modern game design principles, like how to play us out of a game.
  2. May 30, 2012
    80
    A strangely serene and evocative game, lying somewhere between strategy and chaos. For the resourceful and imaginative player. [June 2012, p.54]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. May 24, 2012
    10
    Great game. Random worlds and very different character classes give great replayability. You should try out Dominions 3 too which is the moreGreat game. Random worlds and very different character classes give great replayability. You should try out Dominions 3 too which is the more serious strategy game. Expand
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    9
    If you want Nethack as a strategy look no further. This is just as absurdly difficult and in depth. It has an excellent level of replayabilityIf you want Nethack as a strategy look no further. This is just as absurdly difficult and in depth. It has an excellent level of replayability and good multiplayer functionality. I don't think it's for everyone however. Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    Fantastic Area Control Tactical RPG game in the vein of Heroes of Might and Magic 3. Graphics are from a far earlier era. Many game mechanicsFantastic Area Control Tactical RPG game in the vein of Heroes of Might and Magic 3. Graphics are from a far earlier era. Many game mechanics will seem unfamiliar at first. Provides an amusing challenge if you like roam around summoning magic-users to head up armies of strange creatures. Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    What a great rough diamond. I love playing around with the various, very different classes. The mythologies are mold-breaking, and theWhat a great rough diamond. I love playing around with the various, very different classes. The mythologies are mold-breaking, and the different sides all play very very differently. This is one that keeps you playing for a long time, great bargain. With a bit more work on graphics, balance, and interface this could be turned from very good to great. (The random wandering enemies can get a bit tiresome, and AI is not bad but tends to put itself too much in harm's way and not defend against wandering foes, and the sides could all use just a few more options.) I've definitely gotten my money's worth here, and I expect to come back frequently to this one. Expand
  5. Feb 22, 2015
    6
    I was hoping for something close to Warlords, an old-time fantasy strategy game (been waiting something like 10 years for Warlords 5... ComeI was hoping for something close to Warlords, an old-time fantasy strategy game (been waiting something like 10 years for Warlords 5... Come on, come on...). This game is close, and a fine strategy game with a few problems.

    Deer should not pose a threat. Just sayin'. There are too many wild neutrals wandering about, and dedicating heroes to mopping them up from my inner territories is more of an annoyance than a strategic challenge. I like that it keeps me from just clearing out my interior, but it would be nice if I could just move a few units and attack without recruiting a general.

    While there are a good number of different races to choose from, the actual units you can produce within any given one of them is sadly lacking. I would have preferred half as many races with twice as many unit choices for each.

    The ranked combat system is good, as is its use of spells and special abilities. Adds something nice to the "line up and kill each other one-at-a-time" systems I was used to in these kinds of games. Definitely an improvement and probably what this game does best.

    Starting up was not terribly forgiving. It's incredibly easy to lose in the first few turns if you don't know what you are doing and a deer with murder in its eyes happens to wander into your unguarded capital. Judging how strong your army is against another is difficult, and I miss the days of an adviser telling me how my three archers will fare against six dragons with a simple shift-click.

    Overall, I'd still rather be playing Warlords 3 if Warlords 3 could run on any computer that wasn't old enough to vote and die for its country. The annoyances in this game will keep me from dedicating any time to it, but it was a nice reminder of old glory days. I'd love to see this genre land a solid title again. Some day. Some day.
    Expand
  6. Apr 12, 2013
    1
    There doesn't seem to be much to this game. You recruit units. Your villages are attacked and taken over by deer. Sometimes you see a rivalThere doesn't seem to be much to this game. You recruit units. Your villages are attacked and taken over by deer. Sometimes you see a rival player (AI) moving across the map. You click end of turn a lot. I tried the game, I really did, but it just didn't grab me. There was no challenge; it was just about moving units across the board. Disclaimer: I only spent about four hours playing before I gave up. Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    Interface is awful. It didnt allow me to test the game properly, just because it's disgusting - no any intuitive controls. You cant justInterface is awful. It didnt allow me to test the game properly, just because it's disgusting - no any intuitive controls. You cant just understand what is happening on the screen. It's awful, it's a pity there is no 15 minutes money back in steam as in google play. (for pc games ofc better 2 hours or smthng like that) Expand

See all 9 User Reviews