Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    80
    With a very well made atmosphere, a good storyline and a high quality Jazz soundtrack, Compulsion Game's title takes the player in a very seductive world. But the true strong point of the game is in its addictive gameplay, the possibility to shift between 2D and 3D serves both the game and the story by providing us with a peep of the real world, seen through a game of shadows. Without being flawless, Contrast manages to be a very good platform game that will win the hearts of most gamers for sure.
  2. Nov 19, 2013
    76
    The foundations are there and the premise is one of the most original we have seen in recent times, but it’s just not quite fleshed out enough.
  3. Nov 13, 2013
    75
    Contrast is a game full of heart, beauty, and at least a few excellent puzzles.
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    70
    If you cannot think outside the new game genres, try at least some unusual combination with the current ones. That's the message of the artistic arcade game Contrast. It's a character-driven piece of work where two gaming styles along with their atmospheres unite. However, it's lacking both in richer content and more enjoyable controls to reach excellence.
  5. Nov 17, 2013
    70
    While the story is good fun, and the mechanical conceits awesome, Contrast's puzzles just aren't as hard as they need to be.
  6. Nov 17, 2013
    70
    A charming adventure, a great experience, that feels somehow constrained by its length and, in some points, its controls. However, we think it's a game you should consider if you like what it has to offer.
  7. Nov 15, 2013
    70
    Contrast is a nice puzzle game with an amazing art direction but not so amazing gameplay. The dualism between light and darkness is nice, as the setting, a noir grotesque version of the ‘20s, but the game itself lacks on the technical side, and, after a while, even the puzzles become boring.
  8. Nov 15, 2013
    70
    Contrast is a bit of a hot mess -- kind of like the bumbling Johnny Fenris in its core. Rife with bugs and prone towards glitching in the worst possible ways, Compulsion Games' pretty little title can and will outrage. If you're willing to overlook the brokenness of its platforming, Contrast is dazzling in almost every other capacity.
  9. Nov 24, 2013
    65
    Contrast's plot is intriguing and very well told, but the game is way too short and inconsistent.
  10. Nov 20, 2013
    65
    Contrast has a couple of very nice ideas and a lot of style, but it feels underdeveloped and it doesn't live up to the expectations it sets up with its first few minutes. It deserves a chance if you like the setup and its mood, but don't expect too much from it.
  11. Nov 19, 2013
    65
    Keeping true to its name, Contrast immerses the player into a fascinating and well-characterized setting, forgetting however to deepen his rousing introduction. Not only on a narrative level, unfortunately, but even from the gameplay point of view.
  12. Nov 18, 2013
    65
    It is a pity: Contrast can count on a good story, an amazing setting, and some good 2D platform sessions, but lacks on puzzles, length and variety; all in all that situation delivers a certain sense of boring.
  13. 60
    Simple, yet poetic game of shadows and light, which would benefit from a little more polish, so it wouldn’t grate on its players’ nerves. [Issue#237]
  14. Dec 12, 2013
    60
    A different experience, not memorable, but it manages to hold our attention until the end. It’s worth it for its noir aesthetic, combined with a cabaret soundtrack and a clever mix of patterns of play, both in 2D, 3D alternation, as the variation between moments of platforms, and those in which we are put to mental test.
  15. 60
    It's all good and well, but what does it help if the controls are imprecise, glitches abound and the save system gets on your nerves?
  16. Nov 26, 2013
    60
    Contrast is a game with a beautiful mood, great music and a lovely film noir-inspired visuals. The plattforming and gameplay is mediocre, with few and short highlights.
  17. Nov 24, 2013
    60
    Like its name implies, Contrast is a game with a sharp difference between its highs and lows. There's a lot to like here, but it doesn't make it all that easy to do so.
  18. Nov 19, 2013
    60
    Contrast is a curious, fair attempt at a puzzle platformer with some neat ideas that make it somewhat enjoyable, but is a slightly frustrating experience that in the end won’t be remembered for its gameplay, but more for its world, visuals and sound.
  19. Nov 15, 2013
    60
    When it works, Contrast is a beautifully executed vaudevillian tale of sadness and intrigue, but when it doesn’t, the frustrating glitches and awkward controls will drive you mad.
  20. Nov 13, 2013
    60
    Contrast has a lot of heart, but its protagonist and environments lack some soul. It's not the best puzzle platformer you'll ever play, but it's far from the worst.
  21. Nov 25, 2013
    54
    Quotation forthcoming.
  22. Dec 31, 2013
    52
    Still, even with the most charming narrative, the clumsy and ultimately banal action leaves Contrast whistling in the dark. [Feb 2014, p.74]
  23. Nov 15, 2013
    50
    Contrast offers a nice story and a unique atmosphere, but nothing that is really advanced, artistically speaking. The basic idea of gameplay is quite good also, but the bugs ans awkward controls will frustrate the players most of the time.
  24. Nov 13, 2013
    45
    Many of Contrast’s individuals parts are beautiful, special, funny and even a little profound. Viewed as a whole though, with a little distance, the end result is confusing and difficult to look at. Contrast is rushed, messy, and, just like that, it’s done.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 125 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    7
    Great Game! Few in game bugs. Major problem bad controller support for Logitech F310 in reg Xbox mode.. Lame.

    I personally been waiting
    for this title since it was up for vote on Steam's Green Light. The game from start to finish pulled me along. I wanted to see what was next. Which I find keeps the game from getting boring. The world was beautiful. Side puzzles were a nice touch. Voice acting was great! Music Score was wonderful. With all that said! I did notice couple bugs. One that even caused me to restart from a previous save. Which didn't cause that much time loss. When you figure the time I spent on the game and time I had to deal with bugs. It was very minimal. Major problem I ran into was using my controller. I have a Logitech F310. All the controls were messed up. Movement Keys wouldn't work. Buttons were off by 1. Says hit Y you have to hit B. Hit A you need to hit X. Movement with the joystick forward and back were reversed. Switched the controller to X box mode. Lettered keys worked right but regular movement keys were not working. Only the Joystick controls. Which were working normally. Its disappointing to anyone who plays this game with a controller and not have it to work right. Other steam games I have played that had full controller support worked 100% with this controller. Hopefully they will fix the issue and make this a truly Full Controller support game. Until then I will have to knock off a few points for it. I would be interested in seeing Compulsion Games next Title. Hopefully they take notes and learn from Contrast so not to repeat the problems. Full Review »
  2. Nov 15, 2013
    8
    The game is a beautiful experience with a fantastic art direction and some fantastic areas of which the puzzles are built around. It is a flawed game though with a checkpoint system and no freedom to save where you wish, a somewhat lukewarm main protagonist in the little girl, the minor bugs and slightly disappointing controls. However with the imaginative puzzle design, imaginative worlds and incredibly 'high' highs I can't help but recommend this game to anyone who looks at the screenshots and thinks 'this looks' cool, it's short though at 3 hours so and maybe an hour more at most if you're looking for collectables. Full Review »
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    This game was an excellent puzzle/platformer with some very creative puzzles and very fun platforming sections. It asked the player to look at and use their environment in interesting ways and did not baby the player with excessive hints. The story element were quite good and the voice acting was also of a high quality. That being said this was by no means a perfect game. When I was trying to figure out a couple puzzles I managed to get myself stuck completely in the environment by trying some odd things and the rest of the physics in general could be kind of shaky. The game needs a bit more bug fixing as one time when I messed up a box puzzle and fell to my doom along with the box, said box failed to respawn and I had to restart the chapter. The biggest problem with the game is that it is far far too short. While the story definitely feels complete and gives a good feel of closure while answer most of the questions the game presents (with the rest being answered by the collection items), all the characters could have been better fleshed out and the themes could have been explored deeper without making the game drag as the pacing of gameplay to story was top notch. Despite all the flaws of the game I still think it was great fun and worth a play through for most people. I hope to see more from Compulsion and hope that they build on what made this game good and give a more full experience next time. Overall I would give this game an 8.5 but metacritic won't let me so I will bump it to 9. Full Review »