Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 130 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Contrast is a 2D/3D puzzle platformer in which you can shift between the striking 3D fantasy world and the mysterious 2D shadowscape.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    80
    With a very well made atmosphere, a good storyline and a high quality Jazz soundtrack, Compulsion Game's title takes the player in a very seductive world. But the true strong point of the game is in its addictive gameplay, the possibility to shift between 2D and 3D serves both the game and the story by providing us with a peep of the real world, seen through a game of shadows. Without being flawless, Contrast manages to be a very good platform game that will win the hearts of most gamers for sure.
  2. Nov 15, 2013
    70
    Contrast is a nice puzzle game with an amazing art direction but not so amazing gameplay. The dualism between light and darkness is nice, as the setting, a noir grotesque version of the ‘20s, but the game itself lacks on the technical side, and, after a while, even the puzzles become boring.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    70
    If you cannot think outside the new game genres, try at least some unusual combination with the current ones. That's the message of the artistic arcade game Contrast. It's a character-driven piece of work where two gaming styles along with their atmospheres unite. However, it's lacking both in richer content and more enjoyable controls to reach excellence.
  4. Nov 15, 2013
    60
    When it works, Contrast is a beautifully executed vaudevillian tale of sadness and intrigue, but when it doesn’t, the frustrating glitches and awkward controls will drive you mad.
  5. 60
    Simple, yet poetic game of shadows and light, which would benefit from a little more polish, so it wouldn’t grate on its players’ nerves. [Issue#237]
  6. Nov 26, 2013
    60
    Contrast is a game with a beautiful mood, great music and a lovely film noir-inspired visuals. The plattforming and gameplay is mediocre, with few and short highlights.
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    45
    Many of Contrast’s individuals parts are beautiful, special, funny and even a little profound. Viewed as a whole though, with a little distance, the end result is confusing and difficult to look at. Contrast is rushed, messy, and, just like that, it’s done.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Waited 2 years for this game and i loved playing it. Soundtrack is great. Hope there will be a DLC available soon, cause the game has onlyWaited 2 years for this game and i loved playing it. Soundtrack is great. Hope there will be a DLC available soon, cause the game has only stunning 5 hours of playtime. Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    Contrast is amazing! Really incredible art, emotionally engaging story, and seriously fun shadow mechanic make this game something of aContrast is amazing! Really incredible art, emotionally engaging story, and seriously fun shadow mechanic make this game something of a rarity. I can't express how underrated I think this game actually is. Granted there are minor technical hiccups and the game is short, but it was also made by a really small independent team, and none of the glitches I encountered were game breaking. All in all highly recommended! Collapse
  3. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    This is a great game with moderately challenging puzzles. The texture and art style made me droll, as it is fantastic. The dialogue was alsoThis is a great game with moderately challenging puzzles. The texture and art style made me droll, as it is fantastic. The dialogue was also great making me really bond with the characters. The story line and game concept blew my mind, and I truly believe it will blow yours as well. I can not stop listening to the sound track either. The only downfall the game has is that it is only five short but amazing hours long, depressing me that it is over. Over all this game is just simply brilliant. I highly recommend it. It will blow your mind. Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2014
    8
    Due to low PC setting (because i didn't get a good pc though), i can honestly say Contrast is really great puzzle game. But i did hopeDue to low PC setting (because i didn't get a good pc though), i can honestly say Contrast is really great puzzle game. But i did hope game-play would be longer but the game's story still very good and sound, design, etc. I think Contrast deserves 8/10 Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2013
    7
    This is a good game overall. The soundtrack is fantastic. The 3D 2D silhouette switching works well for the most part, and some of theThis is a good game overall. The soundtrack is fantastic. The 3D 2D silhouette switching works well for the most part, and some of the puzzles are good. Graphics art style is excellent and very atmospheric. Voice acting is pretty good and contains some professional actors (Elias Toufexis, Bruce Dinsmore & Vanessa Matsui, etc).

    I would have given it 80-85%, but sadly it gets only 70% due to a number of game-breaking bugs (mostly clipping collision detection issues, ie, getting stuck in the floor after jumping down from a height or an object in the wall (especially in some areas of the circus). It's not broken as in "you can't finish it", but expect to reload a few times in one or two areas if you bump into the "wrong" thing. It's a shame as the game has a "fresh" feel to it, is very atmospheric and would have been superb had it been released bug free.
    Expand
  6. Dec 21, 2013
    6
    This game got my attention during a Steam sale.

    It is hard to explain what I like and dislike about this game without spoiling your
    This game got my attention during a Steam sale.

    It is hard to explain what I like and dislike about this game without spoiling your personal experience exploring this world. It is an interesting combination of the 3D and 2D worlds.
    The story is very surprising and well embedded into the mysterious world you are about to discover, but at some point you might miss the motivation of your character ("Dawn") to follow the little girl "Didi" around and do anything she tells you to, wondering if you end up in some maniac world domination plan okay, scratch that....

    The game is about 4 hours nice, artistic and sometimes innovative gameplay. Controls sometimes feel half-baked, making some puzzles harder than they need to be (like you know what to do but you keep falling of the edge over and over again).

    If it wasn't for the cheaper steam sale, this story had been to short for the regular 15€.
    Expand
  7. Nov 16, 2013
    2
    I was quite enjoying the game for the first 30 minutes until I shifted somewhere I apparently wasn't supposed to and got stuck literally inI was quite enjoying the game for the first 30 minutes until I shifted somewhere I apparently wasn't supposed to and got stuck literally in the middle of a wall. After recovering from save the game forgot to give me back the "luminaries" I collected to the point making progress impossible.
    What is it with game companies lately? I understand its a small independent developer and cannot afford a proper QA department but just get one of your children to play through and get rid of at least the obvious critical bugs before releasing.
    Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Trailers