Cortex Command Image
Metascore
44

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 86 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mine precious gold from the deformable pixel terrain in order to buy more and better ships, soldiers, weapons, digging tools, and deployable defenses. Use these assets to defend your disembodied brain and bankrupt your opponent! Old-school 2D sidescroller pixel graphics coupled with an extremely detailed physics simulation makes for a mix of nostalgia and surprising gameplay. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Dec 4, 2012
    65
    Despite some issues with the price and the struggling about understanding the mechanics behind it, Cortex Command is simply a good retro-looking game.
  2. Oct 16, 2012
    60
    Cortex Command is brilliant, but unfortunately still incomplete. The strong community is trying to fix the many problems the games has, but as of now it still not enough. For almost twenty euros we can recommend the game only to the most patient gamers.
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    50
    Playing Cortex Command breaks my heart. With online multiplayer, improved AI, more scenarios and a more fleshed out campaign it could be something truly great, but for now it's just a number of cool ideas and great looks grafted onto noticeably repetitious level design and sub-optimal local multiplayer.
  4. Oct 28, 2012
    50
    After a decade of Cortex Command development we've lived to see its "final" version. That alone is a cause to rejoice. Unfortunately, you will be merry until the very moment when you find out the game is still a semi-finished product with a hint of great gameplay.
  5. Oct 25, 2012
    40
    In a way, Cortex Command seems like it's asking for a lot of concessions because, for the most part, it still feels like an unfinished game.
  6. Nov 15, 2012
    40
    Occasionally entertaining, but plagued by AI bugs and hamstrung by a clunky user interface. Less than the sum of its parts.
  7. Dec 2, 2012
    30
    An unfinished game that requires much more attention before it can realise its incredible promise. [Dec 2012, p.82]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 47
  2. Negative: 14 out of 47
  1. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    This is up there in my top 10 games. There is nothing like this in gaming. Give this game 2 hours of your dedicated time, and you will play for 300+ hours and then... get some mods... Wow another infinite amount of hours right there. All of the best games take time to get used to, if you do not agree with this statement, stick to AAA titles which have been dumbed down at the cost of gameplay. A true gem. Expand
  2. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    This game is brilliat!Like ol good times returnes.Awsone multiplayer who based not in this 1 hour-scripts,mixed with hi-poly models with scenario for morons.Must have on steam who sick from Modern Moron Game Developing Unstopoble conveyor.Best Indie game iv ever see.... Expand
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    This is a great game, if you ask me. It seemed a bit tricky at first but after a gameplay video on youtube I felt quiet comfortable in Cortex Command. It got robots, disembodied brains walking around in robots, walking turrets, stationary turrets, bunker building and lots of different factions with their own soldiers and weapons. The basics of Cortex Command: For the campaign mode you have a set number of brains from the beginning, human brains which are stored in a glass bowl and these brains controls minions. You must protect these brains at each site, sites which you must control. Until you have gained control of a site you must do your best to protect the brain, for instance dig it deep down in the ground and have it mine gold while down there. The gold you dig out is used for buying more units, these units you must use to defend your brain and attack your opponent(s) brain(s). When you control a site you can then start building a bunker for your brain at that site to protect it. I would like to dive in to building my own bunker complex but until now I have just used the AI to auto build it. The AI usually do a decent job at this. There are also some scenarios which can be played and from what I understand you can find even more scenarios on the net. You can also get custom factions and weapons for the game. As far as I know the developer has made it easy for modders to add content to the game, some of this can be done with the build in editors. To be honest I have been playing campaign mode most of the time and I have not really spend much time exploring other options in the game, apart from a couple of hours with the scenario "Bunker Breach". It is a fresh and innovative addition to my game library. See a couple of gameplay videos and consider it if this sounds like something that's down your ally :-) Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2012
    7
    This game is really fun when played occasionally, I have a few problems with it: Bugs, Ressource demand(although that might be my computer), Lack of content, AI could be smarter, etc etc etc.

    I gave it a 7 because there are 2 things that practically overpower the bad stuff, First of all, I really enjoy building the bunkers, sometimes I spend an hour building an insane base to just close the game since I don't feel like fighting and then there's simply the fact that I had so much fun with the game, there's so many epic moments that make me smile for the next hour that I just play it for that.

    This is with mods though, game is something else entirely when you add mods, it's still fun without them though.
    Expand
  5. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    Is this a good game? Yes. Is it everything it said it'd be? Hell no. I don't understand the reviews of 0 and 1, because despite it's flaws, it's a fun game. Although it does get very boring after the first hour. No matter how large you make the campaign, I always end up doing the same things for attack and defense. For defense, simply place four AntiAir bots around the map and the enemy will never be able to land. For attacking, drop in a single trooper, dig down underground to the enemy brain's safe room, dig through the walls, and blam: Game Over, You Win, Please Insert Coin to Play Again.

    What's more, the game has some very inexcusable flaws. First and foremost, I'm told that I can hit Alt + Enter to go to Fullscreen mode. Except I can't do that. A lot of the game's art work features units like large two-legged mechs, but they aren't actually in the game. If the game was eleven years in the making, they must've spent ten of those years sitting around trying to think of a witty name.

    Over all, I'd recommend waiting a while for the developers to get their act together and pump more assets into the game before you buy it. It's going for just under
    Expand
  6. Sep 29, 2012
    4
    I find the premise of this game very interesting. Build a bunker to defend your brain and control several "bots" to defend, mine and attack. I want to like it a lot more but the game is far from a polished product. The new campaign button will even warn you that the game lacks polish. Too bad the developer didn't tell people that before taking their money.

    The game play itself is painfully slow. I am a patient person, but the speed at which bots move is unbearably slow. It becomes almost painful to hold down the key/button to make your bot walk all the way across your bunker. Most of what you do is make the bots walk to where they need to be so this is a real problem. Bot movement is very goofy. I am still not sure if this was an intentional design choice as you are supposed to remote controlling these bots. The physics were just off in a lot of situations. Several of my bots stuck to walls or fell off the edge of the map, never to be seen again.

    I have heard that the developer is still working on the game actively. If there are improvements made this score could jump higher. But as-is this is not worth $20. There are so many better indie games out there for a lot less. I would wait until the developer has made an effort to fix this mess before trying it.
    Expand
  7. Feb 8, 2014
    0
    The game was releases unfinished. It was under the promise that it will be finished. Since over one year, there has not been a single patch or even a word from the developer. He took the money and ran.

    The game has numerous game breaking bugs that can be classified as show stoppers. Given the price of 20$ for this game, this is simply unacceptable.
    Expand

See all 47 User Reviews