Cortex Command PC

Cortex Command Image
Metascore
44

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 115 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mine precious gold from the deformable pixel terrain in order to buy more and better ships, soldiers, weapons, digging tools, and deployable defenses. Use these assets to defend your disembodied brain and bankrupt your opponent! Old-school 2D sidescroller pixel graphics coupled with anMine precious gold from the deformable pixel terrain in order to buy more and better ships, soldiers, weapons, digging tools, and deployable defenses. Use these assets to defend your disembodied brain and bankrupt your opponent! Old-school 2D sidescroller pixel graphics coupled with an extremely detailed physics simulation makes for a mix of nostalgia and surprising gameplay. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Dec 4, 2012
    65
    Despite some issues with the price and the struggling about understanding the mechanics behind it, Cortex Command is simply a good retro-looking game.
  2. Oct 16, 2012
    60
    Cortex Command is brilliant, but unfortunately still incomplete. The strong community is trying to fix the many problems the games has, but as of now it still not enough. For almost twenty euros we can recommend the game only to the most patient gamers.
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    50
    Playing Cortex Command breaks my heart. With online multiplayer, improved AI, more scenarios and a more fleshed out campaign it could be something truly great, but for now it's just a number of cool ideas and great looks grafted onto noticeably repetitious level design and sub-optimal local multiplayer.
  4. Oct 28, 2012
    50
    After a decade of Cortex Command development we've lived to see its "final" version. That alone is a cause to rejoice. Unfortunately, you will be merry until the very moment when you find out the game is still a semi-finished product with a hint of great gameplay.
  5. Oct 25, 2012
    40
    In a way, Cortex Command seems like it's asking for a lot of concessions because, for the most part, it still feels like an unfinished game.
  6. Nov 15, 2012
    40
    Occasionally entertaining, but plagued by AI bugs and hamstrung by a clunky user interface. Less than the sum of its parts.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    Dec 2, 2012
    30
    An unfinished game that requires much more attention before it can realise its incredible promise. [Dec 2012, p.82]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 57
  2. Negative: 14 out of 57
  1. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    This is up there in my top 10 games. There is nothing like this in gaming. Give this game 2 hours of your dedicated time, and you will playThis is up there in my top 10 games. There is nothing like this in gaming. Give this game 2 hours of your dedicated time, and you will play for 300+ hours and then... get some mods... Wow another infinite amount of hours right there. All of the best games take time to get used to, if you do not agree with this statement, stick to AAA titles which have been dumbed down at the cost of gameplay. A true gem. Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2015
    10
    ПОЧЕМУ ТАКИЕ ПЛОХИЕ ОЦЕНКИ ТО,РЕБЯТКИ ! Игра очень крутая ! Я вас не понимаю....
    ===========================
    ПОЧЕМУ ТАКИЕ ПЛОХИЕ ОЦЕНКИ ТО,РЕБЯТКИ ! Игра очень крутая ! Я вас не понимаю....
    ===========================
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    This is a great game, if you ask me. It seemed a bit tricky at first but after a gameplay video on youtube I felt quiet comfortable in CortexThis is a great game, if you ask me. It seemed a bit tricky at first but after a gameplay video on youtube I felt quiet comfortable in Cortex Command. It got robots, disembodied brains walking around in robots, walking turrets, stationary turrets, bunker building and lots of different factions with their own soldiers and weapons. The basics of Cortex Command: For the campaign mode you have a set number of brains from the beginning, human brains which are stored in a glass bowl and these brains controls minions. You must protect these brains at each site, sites which you must control. Until you have gained control of a site you must do your best to protect the brain, for instance dig it deep down in the ground and have it mine gold while down there. The gold you dig out is used for buying more units, these units you must use to defend your brain and attack your opponent(s) brain(s). When you control a site you can then start building a bunker for your brain at that site to protect it. I would like to dive in to building my own bunker complex but until now I have just used the AI to auto build it. The AI usually do a decent job at this. There are also some scenarios which can be played and from what I understand you can find even more scenarios on the net. You can also get custom factions and weapons for the game. As far as I know the developer has made it easy for modders to add content to the game, some of this can be done with the build in editors. To be honest I have been playing campaign mode most of the time and I have not really spend much time exploring other options in the game, apart from a couple of hours with the scenario "Bunker Breach". It is a fresh and innovative addition to my game library. See a couple of gameplay videos and consider it if this sounds like something that's down your ally :-) Expand
  4. Apr 22, 2014
    8
    I've been playing this game for almost 10 years now. I've bought it several times during that time and frankly, it was worth the price in it'sI've been playing this game for almost 10 years now. I've bought it several times during that time and frankly, it was worth the price in it's unfinished state back then and it's worth it in it's unfinished state right now. Expand
  5. Jan 11, 2014
    7
    Minecraft got a 93 while this got a 44? Bah. Hypocrisy at it's finest.

    This game has been playable on any machine for me. Sure, considering
    Minecraft got a 93 while this got a 44? Bah. Hypocrisy at it's finest.

    This game has been playable on any machine for me. Sure, considering it is designed for single core machines, it is a lot slower than it should be, but multi-core processors were a big thing in the early 2000s or late 1990's, and weren't available commercially. When you design an engine, it is really hard to go back and fix it. In fact, to be able to support a multi-core processor, you need to completely redesign the engine. They are a pain to have a program utilize.

    As for gameplay, the metagame gets old really fast, but I find lots of the senario battles are fun, as you can find different ways to solve a problem. The game truly depends on user generated content, but, then again, so do a huge amount of the crap indie games out there.

    I can accept bad graphics in this case, as each pixel can be physics object, therefore, HD gameplay would make the lag worse than it already is.

    As for multiplayer, there was a mod adding multiplayer, but it was not the easiest thing to make, or update. I would

    As for the developer insulting and leaving the community, there are reasons. Justifiable reasons. You treated him as if he was a corporate entity. You expected everything to be fixed on the spot. He made the game to make the game, not to listen to your **** It's his game after all, your choice if you wanted to buy it. Also, he has a job, and a life.

    The learning curve is a bit like, I dunno, a challenge? The amount of games who are actually hard is incredibly small. Don't expect to be able to pickup and play like COD, this is a RTS, not some silly run around shooting people and swearing over the internet. (Ok, maybe it is silly.)

    I would say play it before you buy it. If you like it, you can then buy it, and fool around. If you can't figure it out, you didn't waste any money.
    Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2014
    5
    this game is fun but as said in IGN review it is a bunch of cool ideas tied together , no on-line? I am ok whit that but whit out a goodthis game is fun but as said in IGN review it is a bunch of cool ideas tied together , no on-line? I am ok whit that but whit out a good campaign and more missions it have the punctuation that it deserve. Expand
  7. Feb 8, 2014
    0
    The game was releases unfinished. It was under the promise that it will be finished. Since over one year, there has not been a single patch orThe game was releases unfinished. It was under the promise that it will be finished. Since over one year, there has not been a single patch or even a word from the developer. He took the money and ran.

    The game has numerous game breaking bugs that can be classified as show stoppers. Given the price of 20$ for this game, this is simply unacceptable.
    Expand

See all 57 User Reviews