Counter-Strike: Condition Zero Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1548 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Counter-Strike: Condition Zero (CS:CZ), a tactical action game, challenges you to compete with and against cunning AI opponents in mission-based campaigns spread across the globe. As squad leader of an elite counter-terrorist operative, use specialized maneuvers and weapon skills to completeCounter-Strike: Condition Zero (CS:CZ), a tactical action game, challenges you to compete with and against cunning AI opponents in mission-based campaigns spread across the globe. As squad leader of an elite counter-terrorist operative, use specialized maneuvers and weapon skills to complete over 20 new missions, each containing numerous objectives. Drop into challenging scenarios -- from harsh jungle environments to severe arctic terrains, from unforgiving deserts to dangerous international city streets. Rescue hostages. Escort VIPs to safety. Locate and defuse bombs. This collection of entirely new episodes challenges your ability to think quickly and strategically! CS:CZ advances the award-winning Counter-Strike series by introducing single-player action and special enhancements for online play. Powered by an enriched Half-Life engine, CS:CZ introduces new game technologies including highly-detailed models, atmospheric enhancements such as snow and rain, and many more dynamic special effects. [Sierra] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. Half Life fans would love to know that there is also a Half Life 2 CD with exclusive footage. Let me say, *drool*.
  2. Game Informer
    78
    The problem is that neither the physics nor the graphics have aged particularly well; if you're looking for a next-gen FPS, this is not it. It is, however, a decent update to one of the best titles of yesterday. [Apr 2004, p.108]
  3. PC Gamer
    72
    Underlying all the advances made in bot technology and the updated maps, Condition Zero is still fundamentally a five-year-old game...but this standalone package should satisfy both the Counter-Strike-curious and the broadband impaired. [Jan 2004, p.90]
  4. A slight update to an already classic game that doesn’t make you forget about the original.
  5. It's a strong package that suffers partly because we were promised so much in the first place, partly because so much of it is available online for free, and partly because the new stuff is exactly the sort of thing Valve would have released for free in times gone past.
  6. 60
    What was supposed to be a revelation, a next generation of sorts, has become instead a disappointing follow-up to a beloved game. [Mar 2004, p.68]
  7. Predictably poor. Proof that every gaming franchise has its limits.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 246
  1. JonH
    Mar 5, 2010
    10
    I loved this game, but the story mode can be boring sometimes. I'm glad I got it.
  2. Steam
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    Counter-Strike:Condition Zero is the best game online because it is easy to use for all the computers since it don't need so many Counter-Strike:Condition Zero is the best game online because it is easy to use for all the computers since it don't need so many requirements as other games, this way many mas users are going to have an easy access to play this fabulous game in line. It is also one a revolution in this of the games online since the change of graph is very well-known between(among) the Condition Zero and the first Counter-Strike and its alone realism overcome by the Counter-Strike: Source. This game also can be played of a player by if you want to play the way history. Expand
  3. ChaseR.
    May 7, 2006
    10
    Very good game, it has the graphics, Nades cant go through walls, some spam spots are tooken away, makes the game more about skill then more Very good game, it has the graphics, Nades cant go through walls, some spam spots are tooken away, makes the game more about skill then more of randomness, I do love 1.6 and i am current main in it but if anything, this game is the middle of 1.6 and counter strike source, if your looking for something better then 1.6 as in graphics and stuff and a game that doesnt take up as much resources as counter strike source but makes it go into same gameplay i reccomend cz, it is the perfect game. The only game i can think of that will beat this is the new mod coming out called pro mod but thats about it. As in competition its not to hard but since its in the second season of CAL it will get more competitive, i have been cal-i for condition zero so yes i know much about it, but its fun over all, great community everything is good about it. Expand
  4. MatthewA.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Let me just say, this game probably won't please people who can play Counter-Strike 1.6/source online, however for people who don't Let me just say, this game probably won't please people who can play Counter-Strike 1.6/source online, however for people who don't have a fast enough internet connection, or just wanna practice, this is the game. Also, the addition of a new terrorist model on multiplayer is an everlasting lure for those who love not being able to see how good they look. A definite must buy. Expand
  5. LorenzoS.
    Oct 22, 2007
    9
    Best online gaming, new maps downloads, clan recruitment,everything u need to have fun with a group of people. so what if single player is Best online gaming, new maps downloads, clan recruitment,everything u need to have fun with a group of people. so what if single player is the same as 1.6. just an all around fun game. Expand
  6. EricH.
    Jan 22, 2008
    8
    A good shooting game but there are some things I don't like it, like when you throw the flashbang grenade and it blinds you even if you A good shooting game but there are some things I don't like it, like when you throw the flashbang grenade and it blinds you even if you are not turned to it.The magnum sniper rifle too, if you are running, and you shoot somewhere with the scope it doesn't hit where you wanted, even when you're running, it should not happened.There are other things, but I don't want to comment. Here's my opinion. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    May 5, 2004
    0
    It took valve 3 or something years to take an already made game and add bots to it......

See all 246 User Reviews