Counter-Strike: Global Offensive Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2721 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Counter-Strike: Global Offensive features new maps, characters, and weapons and
    delivers updated versions of the classic CS content.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Aug 24, 2012
    95
    It may lack some of the community niceties, beloved maps (Assault, anyone?), and little features of past games, but Global Offensive delivers on the promise of a faithful, polished, and better looking Counter-Strike for whoever wants it. Even if the community doesn't meet the golden standard of 1.6 and Source, CS:GO will remain a multiplayer classic for those willing to put in the time to learn the maps and weapons.
  2. Aug 23, 2012
    90
    CS: GO stands as a glowing reminder that quality game design is rewarded in longevity and variety. Valve has not only updated the shooter but has completely outclassed its contemporaries. This is Counter-Strike, whatever the format you choose to play it on, and there isn't a higher recommendation than that.
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    90
    At the end, what matters is not if CS:GO is innovative or more of the same than CS: Source, what counts is if it's fun. And CS:GO couldn't be better in this regard.
  4. Aug 24, 2012
    84
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Sep 7, 2012
    80
    When it comes down to it, Counter-Strike: Global Offensive may follow the same old formula of gameplay seen in previous versions of Counter-Strike, but it's still a well-rounded tactical shooter. It may not try anything drastically different or revolutionize the series by taking it in a new direction, but there's still enough there to appeal to newbies and hardcore fans alike.
  6. Aug 28, 2012
    80
    Modern shooters do their job well, but Counter-Strike is the series that helped build the scene. At $15, Global Offensive is a great extension to that legacy.
  7. Aug 27, 2012
    60
    Global Offensive takes no chances and it's hard to tell who it was made for. Source and 1.6 players will feel at home with the tried and true CS mechanics and traditional game modes, but GO gives them few reasons to migrate, other than flashy graphics on a few of the old maps. Conversely, newcomers to the series will find Counter-Strike's steep learning curve rather discouraging.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 2, 2015
    10
    The best aspect of 'Counterstrike' is how with each new release, the gameplay remains the same as it was back when everyone was still playingThe best aspect of 'Counterstrike' is how with each new release, the gameplay remains the same as it was back when everyone was still playing on dial up connections and crappy white and beige CRT monitors, while still offering modern day graphics and updated game engines. Now, having a game where the core gameplay never changes might actually sound like a terrible thing for games to do these days, like with the 'Call of Duty' franchise for instance, but with 'Counterstrike' it's exactly what you want. It's not that the developers are lazy or no longer posses the skills to be creative, it's the fact that this game is so loved, so already perfect, that anything other than aesthetic updates would be a crime against humanity.

    Other than that, what else is there to really say about 'Counterstrike' that hasn't already been said? It's the game that got millions of 90's kids to harass their parents for faster modems and better video cards. It's the game that kept myself and many of my friends up over countless nights all because the server '24/7 Militia' was a real thing that existed. It's the game that coined the term 'spray and pray'. It's the game that played perfectly fine on 56K modems way before cable internet even existed. You get the idea. Counterstrike is great and if you haven't played it yet, you probably should. I for one know that I'll never get the sound of 'Counter Terrorists' and 'Terrorists Win' out of my mind, and I'm totally okay with that.
    Expand
  2. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    Best game in a line of Counter Strike, a mixture of the two most popular online shooter in a wonderful game. Graphics by excerpts 2012 fine. IBest game in a line of Counter Strike, a mixture of the two most popular online shooter in a wonderful game. Graphics by excerpts 2012 fine. I hope this game players are connected both games Counter Strike: Source and Counter Strike 1.6 Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    This is the best Counter Strike TO DATE. They added two forms of gun game, excellent graphics, fun gameplay, a better buying menu + more guns!This is the best Counter Strike TO DATE. They added two forms of gun game, excellent graphics, fun gameplay, a better buying menu + more guns! Defiantly worth the $15 (cheap!) Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2012
    8
    I give this an 8 for the following reasons, and may or may not go into deeper detail to some of them.
    -Counter Strike 3 [basically,
    I give this an 8 for the following reasons, and may or may not go into deeper detail to some of them.
    -Counter Strike 3 [basically, considering Source as 2]
    -Newer weapons to make more balance
    -Per-Weapon monetary awards, basically making that jerk camper with an AWP in the corner not get much, versus someone getting up close and personal and using SKILL to kill someone with, say, an MP7 or XM1014.
    -Rebuilt maps, all the classics have gotten a total re-work, making them feel new again.
    -Music! Some pretty tense music to build the atmosphere as you shift-walk through a corridor, never knowing what jerk is around the corner
    -Included gungame, removes the client-side bugs and exploits which make gungame in source not fun.
    -Price. $15 for this? Sold. I wouldn't pay much more than that, mind you, but this seems to be a fair price for the game we all know and love to be totally upgraded and generally made better.

    Cons, of course, need to be added.

    -Well, lack of NEW content is surprising. I was hoping for the zombie mode or something to be included, and with the 12 years they've had, i'm sure it could've been snuck in somewhere. As long as it doesn't become a pay-DLC addon, i'll be happy.

    Overall, 8/10. It's perfectly priced and worth every penny. A good game.
    Expand
  5. Aug 22, 2012
    7
    To start out: I have mainly played quake/ut style games since '96 and while I've dabbled in CS through LANs and such back in the day, myTo start out: I have mainly played quake/ut style games since '96 and while I've dabbled in CS through LANs and such back in the day, my interest was very weak. Mainly because the game is very slow paced and favors 2 tactics: mobbing and camping down a thin avenue of approach. This combined with bullet spray mechanic when moving makes aggression a weak and stupid tactic. I don't like playing this style game, but gave it a chance when valve released cs:s. Again, the same, but bullet spray and poor hit detection seemed amplified and I gave it up fairly quickly. Now we have CS:GO. To begin, the game is gorgeous and has more infrastructure to it than any CS before. It DOES have matchmaking which is annoying, but there is also the option to play dedicated so who cares? The bullet spray is either tighter or the netcode better, I dunno which. Overall it's still the same gameplay. The purchase interface is wanky, but most players will bind the relevant options and never use it anyway. If you love CS of any flavor, there is no reason you won't like this one. On the other hand, if you think CS gameplay is stale and want to see it mixed up so that aggression and and precision are rewarded rather than penalized, look elsewhere. This is classic CS with a beautiful engine on top. I think the game is a 4 gameplay wise, but I give it a 7 as most people reading this are probably CS players, and I think it's an accurate representation of what a CS player would award this game. Expand
  6. Aug 21, 2012
    5
    Quite simply, this feels like a reskin of CS:S. Sure some backend stuff may have changed but to me as a player, it feels the same. This leavesQuite simply, this feels like a reskin of CS:S. Sure some backend stuff may have changed but to me as a player, it feels the same. This leaves the game in an awkward sort of limbo between old and new with fancy graphics that, if anything, make the outdated gameplay stand out more than ever. This may be hard to picture, so I will liken it to this: imagine your dad rocking up to your birthday party, dressed like all your friends. The cover can only last so long which is, in this case, until the moment after you buy the game and play your first match.

    If you really love CS, but for some reason cannot play CS:S without improved graphics, get this. If you are new to the series, don't buy it or you will just end up feeling lost, hurt and confused like that first girl at the party to approach your dad.
    Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2017
    0
    Отвратительная игра, графика уровня игр 2006 года, покупка текстур, геймплей никак не изменился за 18 лет. Переоцененный кусок мусора, пожалелОтвратительная игра, графика уровня игр 2006 года, покупка текстур, геймплей никак не изменился за 18 лет. Переоцененный кусок мусора, пожалел о потраченных деньгах. С Battlefield никогда не сравнится. Expand

See all 562 User Reviews