Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1907 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Counter-Strike: Global Offensive features new maps, characters, and weapons and
    delivers updated versions of the classic CS content.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Aug 24, 2012
    95
    It may lack some of the community niceties, beloved maps (Assault, anyone?), and little features of past games, but Global Offensive delivers on the promise of a faithful, polished, and better looking Counter-Strike for whoever wants it. Even if the community doesn't meet the golden standard of 1.6 and Source, CS:GO will remain a multiplayer classic for those willing to put in the time to learn the maps and weapons.
  2. Aug 23, 2012
    90
    CS: GO stands as a glowing reminder that quality game design is rewarded in longevity and variety. Valve has not only updated the shooter but has completely outclassed its contemporaries. This is Counter-Strike, whatever the format you choose to play it on, and there isn't a higher recommendation than that.
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    90
    At the end, what matters is not if CS:GO is innovative or more of the same than CS: Source, what counts is if it's fun. And CS:GO couldn't be better in this regard.
  4. Aug 24, 2012
    84
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Sep 7, 2012
    80
    When it comes down to it, Counter-Strike: Global Offensive may follow the same old formula of gameplay seen in previous versions of Counter-Strike, but it's still a well-rounded tactical shooter. It may not try anything drastically different or revolutionize the series by taking it in a new direction, but there's still enough there to appeal to newbies and hardcore fans alike.
  6. Aug 28, 2012
    80
    Modern shooters do their job well, but Counter-Strike is the series that helped build the scene. At $15, Global Offensive is a great extension to that legacy.
  7. Aug 27, 2012
    60
    Global Offensive takes no chances and it's hard to tell who it was made for. Source and 1.6 players will feel at home with the tried and true CS mechanics and traditional game modes, but GO gives them few reasons to migrate, other than flashy graphics on a few of the old maps. Conversely, newcomers to the series will find Counter-Strike's steep learning curve rather discouraging.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 90 out of 437
  1. Jun 28, 2015
    10
    I played a lot in Counter Strike 1.6 and it's rly similar to it, so when CS:GO was released i bought it instantly. I love that game,I played a lot in Counter Strike 1.6 and it's rly similar to it, so when CS:GO was released i bought it instantly. I love that game, especially matchmaking mode its sth what is a point in that game :) Expand
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    Something for new and old CS players. The new game modes and skill-based matchmaking mean there is something for everyone, and coming into theSomething for new and old CS players. The new game modes and skill-based matchmaking mean there is something for everyone, and coming into the game is not nearly as punishing as previous incarnations of CS. Already a large amount of maps and extra game-modes in the community servers in addition to Valve's official content.

    Updates coming every 2 weeks, for free!
    Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    This is the best Counter Strike TO DATE. They added two forms of gun game, excellent graphics, fun gameplay, a better buying menu + more guns!This is the best Counter Strike TO DATE. They added two forms of gun game, excellent graphics, fun gameplay, a better buying menu + more guns! Defiantly worth the $15 (cheap!) Collapse
  4. Aug 23, 2014
    9
    What is there to say? This is the old, addictive multiplayer game remade in high quality visuals.

    New modes such as arms race and
    What is there to say? This is the old, addictive multiplayer game remade in high quality visuals.

    New modes such as arms race and demolition are a fun addition to the game.
    New weapons such as the PP-Bizon, MAG-7 and incendiary grenades are fun to use - and offers

    much more deeper thought of strategy.

    Even now, CS(CS:GO) remains fun and addictive as a game where players can simply "jump in for a quick funtime" with bots or friends in a LAN or over the Internet. This is far more better than playing COD clones.
    Expand
  5. Aug 8, 2014
    8
    Nova versão bastante melhorada. Gostei bastante. Só acho que falta uma campanha para jogar solo e os times possuírem mais integrantes, acheiNova versão bastante melhorada. Gostei bastante. Só acho que falta uma campanha para jogar solo e os times possuírem mais integrantes, achei pouco apenas com 5 pessoas (muita influência de dota 2).

    Nota: 8/10
    Expand
  6. Aug 24, 2012
    6
    I'm giving this game a 6/10 because it feels incomplete. There's only 16 maps in the game currently, and Assault isn't one of them, which isI'm giving this game a 6/10 because it feels incomplete. There's only 16 maps in the game currently, and Assault isn't one of them, which is kinda like making a Mario game and leaving out Luigi. Matchmaking is another huge problem in this game. I often party up with 4-6 people (to noobstomp ofc) and matchmaking always tries to join full servers or servers with inadequate slots for our party. Then we always have to remake and this happens all the time. CS1.6 is still better than GO atm, but GO is definitely a step up from Source. Valve has a long way to go if they want to make it a classic because this game still feels like a beta. Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2015
    0
    Ban for bad internet connection, ban for kids shooting you in the team, ban for some problems with a computer, ban for some suddenly appearedBan for bad internet connection, ban for kids shooting you in the team, ban for some problems with a computer, ban for some suddenly appeared business instead of cs, ban ban ban ban. Its very stupid. I payed my money and have a ban at this game for 7 days. I payed for playing.Then new ban next day unbanned. Extremely stupid game policy. Sometimes I think its a simulator of North Korea. Expand

See all 437 User Reviews