Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1756 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Counter-Strike: Global Offensive features new maps, characters, and weapons and
    delivers updated versions of the classic CS content.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Aug 24, 2012
    95
    It may lack some of the community niceties, beloved maps (Assault, anyone?), and little features of past games, but Global Offensive delivers on the promise of a faithful, polished, and better looking Counter-Strike for whoever wants it. Even if the community doesn't meet the golden standard of 1.6 and Source, CS:GO will remain a multiplayer classic for those willing to put in the time to learn the maps and weapons.
  2. Aug 23, 2012
    90
    CS: GO stands as a glowing reminder that quality game design is rewarded in longevity and variety. Valve has not only updated the shooter but has completely outclassed its contemporaries. This is Counter-Strike, whatever the format you choose to play it on, and there isn't a higher recommendation than that.
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    90
    At the end, what matters is not if CS:GO is innovative or more of the same than CS: Source, what counts is if it's fun. And CS:GO couldn't be better in this regard.
  4. Aug 24, 2012
    84
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Sep 7, 2012
    80
    When it comes down to it, Counter-Strike: Global Offensive may follow the same old formula of gameplay seen in previous versions of Counter-Strike, but it's still a well-rounded tactical shooter. It may not try anything drastically different or revolutionize the series by taking it in a new direction, but there's still enough there to appeal to newbies and hardcore fans alike.
  6. Aug 28, 2012
    80
    Modern shooters do their job well, but Counter-Strike is the series that helped build the scene. At $15, Global Offensive is a great extension to that legacy.
  7. Aug 27, 2012
    60
    Global Offensive takes no chances and it's hard to tell who it was made for. Source and 1.6 players will feel at home with the tried and true CS mechanics and traditional game modes, but GO gives them few reasons to migrate, other than flashy graphics on a few of the old maps. Conversely, newcomers to the series will find Counter-Strike's steep learning curve rather discouraging.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 417
  1. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    I love this latest iteration of CS!
    Been playing the game for over ten years non stop.
    I still love 1.6 even but GO is actually very good. A
    I love this latest iteration of CS!
    Been playing the game for over ten years non stop.
    I still love 1.6 even but GO is actually very good. A very nice refresh of this classic.
    Expand
  2. May 30, 2013
    10
    Anger, frustration, humiliation, and just... pure RAGE online with other people who know the maps better than you and get killed OVER 30Anger, frustration, humiliation, and just... pure RAGE online with other people who know the maps better than you and get killed OVER 30 TIMES! I LOVE IT! Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    This is the best Counter Strike TO DATE. They added two forms of gun game, excellent graphics, fun gameplay, a better buying menu + more guns!This is the best Counter Strike TO DATE. They added two forms of gun game, excellent graphics, fun gameplay, a better buying menu + more guns! Defiantly worth the $15 (cheap!) Expand
  4. Oct 11, 2014
    9
    The best entry in the counter-strike franchise. Every month or so they add new features to improve the core gameplay, such as differentThe best entry in the counter-strike franchise. Every month or so they add new features to improve the core gameplay, such as different colored markers for your teammates on the minimap, the ability to see their weapons above their heads in spawn, the ability to throw grenades different lengths, etc. If you can handle the problems innate with any competitive online shooter (dickhead teammates, latency issues and the occasional hacker) then you'll love it, especially if you put some time in to getting good.

    Overall the most fun and satisfying competitive shooter I've ever played by far.
    Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    I will start out by saying that I didn't play any of the previous CS games before this one. But I find that the game is very enjoyable. It oneI will start out by saying that I didn't play any of the previous CS games before this one. But I find that the game is very enjoyable. It one of those games that you can pick up after a hard day and find some relaxation in (if you can relax playing shooters). Constant game updates mean that new things are always being added. It is also fairly cheap ($15), and you can get a lot of gameplay out of it. The game balance is also pretty good, meaning that one side (Terrorists or Counter-Terrorists) does not have an advantage in terms of weapons that can be bought. This game does have things that need to be learned, especially if you are coming from a CoD background. Expand
  6. Aug 21, 2012
    6
    It's an improvement over the original CS in terms of accessibility and game modes, but make no mistake, it's still the same game with a newIt's an improvement over the original CS in terms of accessibility and game modes, but make no mistake, it's still the same game with a new coat of paint. This is either a good or bad thing depending on how you felt about CS in the first place, but I will say that it's showing its age. Expand
  7. May 20, 2015
    0
    This game isn't worth buying even though it's really cheap. For me, it's the worst game. This is my opinion and I don't care about you haters.This game isn't worth buying even though it's really cheap. For me, it's the worst game. This is my opinion and I don't care about you haters. There are many people who are hacking the game and making it worse. Expand

See all 417 User Reviews