Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1723 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Counter-Strike: Global Offensive features new maps, characters, and weapons and
    delivers updated versions of the classic CS content.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Aug 24, 2012
    95
    It may lack some of the community niceties, beloved maps (Assault, anyone?), and little features of past games, but Global Offensive delivers on the promise of a faithful, polished, and better looking Counter-Strike for whoever wants it. Even if the community doesn't meet the golden standard of 1.6 and Source, CS:GO will remain a multiplayer classic for those willing to put in the time to learn the maps and weapons.
  2. Aug 23, 2012
    90
    CS: GO stands as a glowing reminder that quality game design is rewarded in longevity and variety. Valve has not only updated the shooter but has completely outclassed its contemporaries. This is Counter-Strike, whatever the format you choose to play it on, and there isn't a higher recommendation than that.
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    90
    At the end, what matters is not if CS:GO is innovative or more of the same than CS: Source, what counts is if it's fun. And CS:GO couldn't be better in this regard.
  4. Aug 24, 2012
    84
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Sep 7, 2012
    80
    When it comes down to it, Counter-Strike: Global Offensive may follow the same old formula of gameplay seen in previous versions of Counter-Strike, but it's still a well-rounded tactical shooter. It may not try anything drastically different or revolutionize the series by taking it in a new direction, but there's still enough there to appeal to newbies and hardcore fans alike.
  6. Aug 28, 2012
    80
    Modern shooters do their job well, but Counter-Strike is the series that helped build the scene. At $15, Global Offensive is a great extension to that legacy.
  7. Aug 27, 2012
    60
    Global Offensive takes no chances and it's hard to tell who it was made for. Source and 1.6 players will feel at home with the tried and true CS mechanics and traditional game modes, but GO gives them few reasons to migrate, other than flashy graphics on a few of the old maps. Conversely, newcomers to the series will find Counter-Strike's steep learning curve rather discouraging.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 82 out of 410
  1. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    I love this latest iteration of CS!
    Been playing the game for over ten years non stop.
    I still love 1.6 even but GO is actually very good. A
    I love this latest iteration of CS!
    Been playing the game for over ten years non stop.
    I still love 1.6 even but GO is actually very good. A very nice refresh of this classic.
    Expand
  2. May 30, 2013
    10
    Anger, frustration, humiliation, and just... pure RAGE online with other people who know the maps better than you and get killed OVER 30Anger, frustration, humiliation, and just... pure RAGE online with other people who know the maps better than you and get killed OVER 30 TIMES! I LOVE IT! Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    This is the best Counter Strike TO DATE. They added two forms of gun game, excellent graphics, fun gameplay, a better buying menu + more guns!This is the best Counter Strike TO DATE. They added two forms of gun game, excellent graphics, fun gameplay, a better buying menu + more guns! Defiantly worth the $15 (cheap!) Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2014
    9
    Coming from consoles over to PC shooters, I was expecting the same generic click-bang-dead games that I played on console. Counter-strikeComing from consoles over to PC shooters, I was expecting the same generic click-bang-dead games that I played on console. Counter-strike blew me away, such an immersing, strategic and intense shooter for competitive play. Expand
  5. Dec 22, 2013
    8
    This is a great game, people who aren't familiar to the Counter Strike game will have difficulty playing this game. The graphics are not theThis is a great game, people who aren't familiar to the Counter Strike game will have difficulty playing this game. The graphics are not the best but they are good, and the game is fun to play, the only thing I don't understand about this game is why people spend 400$ on a virtual knife, it's just a game! All together, this is an amazing game that I think everybody that like FPS games should play. Expand
  6. Aug 21, 2012
    6
    It's an improvement over the original CS in terms of accessibility and game modes, but make no mistake, it's still the same game with a newIt's an improvement over the original CS in terms of accessibility and game modes, but make no mistake, it's still the same game with a new coat of paint. This is either a good or bad thing depending on how you felt about CS in the first place, but I will say that it's showing its age. Expand
  7. Jan 1, 2015
    0
    It's like they took CS Source and tried to gear it to the most retarded people alive. It's basically a console version of CS Source. Do notIt's like they took CS Source and tried to gear it to the most retarded people alive. It's basically a console version of CS Source. Do not buy this game. Buy CS Source. Expand

See all 410 User Reviews