User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9912 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    7
    I purchased this game about 3 weeks ago. I can for sure say that it is a fun, action-packed FPS. However, there is a much larger emphasis on staying alive than in a COD Free For All or a COD Team Deathmatch, which makes it much more hardcore. Note: these people have been playing it for years. I have spent over 50 hours on the game and I do not even compare to the experts (I can barelyI purchased this game about 3 weeks ago. I can for sure say that it is a fun, action-packed FPS. However, there is a much larger emphasis on staying alive than in a COD Free For All or a COD Team Deathmatch, which makes it much more hardcore. Note: these people have been playing it for years. I have spent over 50 hours on the game and I do not even compare to the experts (I can barely break even K/D ratio). CS:GO is a more noob friendly game (albeit not as friendly as something like COD or TF2). Also, CS does not have Free for all mode, so it isn't as chaotic as a small FFA map with 30 players on COD, however GunGame (Arms Race in CS:GO) becomes chaotic as there is no respawn time-- IMO very fun. Honestly I think CSS is better than CS:GO, but it is really personal preference (I think COD fans would like GO better). Expand
  2. RanchyMcSwiftBurger
    Jan 19, 2010
    4
    Annoying and Boring as hell. Now at first when I played this game I was getting killed by every single player on the server. After dieing about 12 times I realised something. That this sucked erect monkey scrotum. Even if I was sad enough to waste at least 3 months learning how to get good at this it would still be boring as hell. I tryed out the bots aswell and they were ok I guess but Annoying and Boring as hell. Now at first when I played this game I was getting killed by every single player on the server. After dieing about 12 times I realised something. That this sucked erect monkey scrotum. Even if I was sad enough to waste at least 3 months learning how to get good at this it would still be boring as hell. I tryed out the bots aswell and they were ok I guess but still boring as hell. And then I discovered the custom maps and how awfully made they were. And its obvious that valve didnt spend to much work on the v_models because you could see right fucking through them. I cant belive I wasted 14,99 Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2011
    5
    I've briefly tried out this game at my friend's house, and it was decent. The game is engaging; you can buy, customize weapons, plant bombs, and just go raging all over (and die). However if you are noob this game will be very hard to play; like "AA3" there are no respawns and it's all really a cycle of kill-shoot-kill. If you're a obsessive valve gamer or a critic who loves the fps genreI've briefly tried out this game at my friend's house, and it was decent. The game is engaging; you can buy, customize weapons, plant bombs, and just go raging all over (and die). However if you are noob this game will be very hard to play; like "AA3" there are no respawns and it's all really a cycle of kill-shoot-kill. If you're a obsessive valve gamer or a critic who loves the fps genre I might recommend the game. But remember; you will drop the game in a few hours. Expand
  4. Mar 4, 2012
    4
    i got counter strike source because it was recommend by a friend and he really wanted me to have this game he gave me a 50 % voucher for it so i got it. when i tired a normal server i rage quited so quickly because it is mainly search and destroy which if fine unless you just get flashed banged 50 times a round. then i found the light at the end of the tunnel. it had a team deathmatchi got counter strike source because it was recommend by a friend and he really wanted me to have this game he gave me a 50 % voucher for it so i got it. when i tired a normal server i rage quited so quickly because it is mainly search and destroy which if fine unless you just get flashed banged 50 times a round. then i found the light at the end of the tunnel. it had a team deathmatch server which is better but it has no total score limit, it is basicly who can spawn trap each other first. the other good server i found was a zombie server and this was very good because there was normal a big boss which would take a thousand bullets before it got bored and flew away. overall if there was no tdm or zombie servers i would rate it a 2 at the highest. Expand
  5. SantaClause
    Dec 22, 2006
    0
    Zero points couse steam. i have spending time two days, try to setup steam and css. First, i had to format my all hard drives couse steam´s updating system not workin at all... i have high speed internet connecton (800 kb/s), still steam downloading css updates only about 5 - 6 kb/s. Why, why... i´m so angry... fucking steam, great css, even i cannot play css, couse steam... !!!
  6. MikeD
    Jun 2, 2008
    1
    This game is terrible...an absolute waste of time and money. Buy COD4 and play online.
  7. TerenceC.
    May 23, 2006
    0
    This is one of the worst games ever, partly because all it is is the original Counter Strike with better graphics and less maps. Another flaw is that on almost every server in my experience there have been abusive idiots that have said some offensive comments just for using autosnipers and magnum sniper rifles.
  8. Anon
    Jun 10, 2007
    0
    Let's face it, CS:S was never meant to be a realistic game. Headshots can be made 9 or more times in a row, one man with a Famas can kill an entire team, and the AWP is ridiculously powerful - a .50 cal is not needed in most FPS games. Physics are crazy - bodies catapult out of windows through grenade blasts and bodies are flung back when the players are shot. The maps are linear. Let's face it, CS:S was never meant to be a realistic game. Headshots can be made 9 or more times in a row, one man with a Famas can kill an entire team, and the AWP is ridiculously powerful - a .50 cal is not needed in most FPS games. Physics are crazy - bodies catapult out of windows through grenade blasts and bodies are flung back when the players are shot. The maps are linear. Awful game, and 1.6 is much better value for money. Expand
  9. SamuelMartin
    Aug 2, 2009
    1
    This game failed at improving counter-strike as the competitive game it should be. It lacks the feel and the competitiveness that goldsrc counter-strike has. The graphics don't make up for it (heck, they don't even update css to the latest source engine version). Hopefully the guys at cspromod will make a better job.
  10. JamesP.
    Jul 25, 2006
    1
    The engine is too choppy. mainly because the game was designed around a graphics engine not a physics engine. The game just doent feel right. It looks nice, just runs very bad. one of the worse fps games to date.
  11. DanielJohansson
    Jul 1, 2007
    5
    my game dosent work i buyed it but after i have installed and start the game im just coming to a damn shop and it says that i must buy it. but i have played it with my coussin he have it to and for him it works and he don't now why my game is like it is , but liked it, but it don't works so, and if someone nows how i can fix it so please send an -mail to tt95-hockey@hotmail.com
  12. ArkadiyIssayev
    Feb 20, 2008
    7
    This game is super and has a good graphic! But it my favorite game. All i hate is hackers. i want this game to be protected by hacks! I like some mods it good but it not hack at all it just make you gun look different! If you want to see the model or to make for you too, here the link http://www.fpsbanana.com/skins/games/2 it hard to understand for you maybe! Enjoy it!!! It my favoriteThis game is super and has a good graphic! But it my favorite game. All i hate is hackers. i want this game to be protected by hacks! I like some mods it good but it not hack at all it just make you gun look different! If you want to see the model or to make for you too, here the link http://www.fpsbanana.com/skins/games/2 it hard to understand for you maybe! Enjoy it!!! It my favorite game too! I love those people who make this games! I want to thanks to those people too!! Expand
  13. meandhim
    May 14, 2006
    6
    Great graphics, gameplay was lost from CS 1.6, the more upgrades the worse the game seems to get... Sort the hitboxes and make it harder to use AWP/Scout etc and it could be 9/10.
  14. RobertB.
    Jun 7, 2006
    0
    Absolutely terrible gameplay, very monotonous.
  15. bdog
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    CS source fuckin OWNZ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Gun game, aim shotty deagle 5 fy_battlefield, props to echo gamin server and 24/7 high times server love it . 20 out of 10 my vote blaze it
  16. joshmassih
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    pretty cool game, one of the best fast pace shooting games out there right now. It also gives the ability for a half-decent computer to kill a killer rig. Mainly depending on the player. Where as some games are rigged due to graphics lag, basically... the game preforms well for everyone.
  17. JamesR.
    Oct 7, 2008
    4
    There are much better multiplayer shooters out there. Guns don't feel right like they do in other games like the brill rainbow six vegas. It just was no fun and you can tell it originated from a half life mod. This is just my opinion and i have heard many who have enjoyed this game. There are good points to the game but there are not many, buy team fortress 2 instead.
  18. DantoS
    May 5, 2008
    9
    Pretty Immersive Game, Great Community, Innovative Mods(Being A Mod Itself, Inspiring Others To Create Their Slice Of Half Life Madness) Gets Boring For Me But Thats Why There Are Other Games Out There Hehe.
  19. OlivierF.
    May 8, 2006
    10
    verry nice game good gameplay and good graphics.
  20. YermakirumY.
    May 9, 2006
    10
    Very good game.
  21. sdfasasdfasd
    Aug 2, 2006
    10
    great game. for the people who said there are a lot of hackers are just retards. they are just mad cause they suck. there are rarely any hacker. ive been playing since it first came out and so far ive encountered about 4 hackers. and thats from playing for about 2 years. and for people who say there arent enough servers, JESUS!. how retarded can u be. it averges at over 25,000 servers.great game. for the people who said there are a lot of hackers are just retards. they are just mad cause they suck. there are rarely any hacker. ive been playing since it first came out and so far ive encountered about 4 hackers. and thats from playing for about 2 years. and for people who say there arent enough servers, JESUS!. how retarded can u be. it averges at over 25,000 servers. opposed to most games that average at 500. most of the negative comments are from people who suck at the game and r just mad. Expand
  22. BrendanD
    Aug 2, 2006
    10
    Many 1.6 fanboys will tell you that this game cannot compare to the likes of such a game- but they are highly mistaken. This is by far the best online shooter out there. Never before have I had so much fun playing a game. The graphics are stunning, the engine is super-realistc, and no one dislikes the feel of destroying a n00b and saying "GG UNINSTALL".

    This game is a must-have.
  23. AndrewBorisenco
    Jan 21, 2007
    9
    Easy to teach. But you needn't to be clever toplay very good. If you want to play in it very good you mast only play. You mast not to think. It is only counter-strike 1.6 . And it had not intresting new things. Bat cs1.6 is old game and it and it couldnot live a lot of time . When cs 1/6 will be died (not soon),css will be alive!
  24. JamesL
    Jan 22, 2007
    10
    I enjoy killing people on this game. it relieves mytension and stress of having to kill real life people, it great, you can shoot dudes, even your own team and you dont get in trouble from the police, you can plant bombs n blow stuff up, and the most the police will do is send out pesky counter terrosits to try to blow you to bits, but everyone knows you can just camp spawn at t's onI enjoy killing people on this game. it relieves mytension and stress of having to kill real life people, it great, you can shoot dudes, even your own team and you dont get in trouble from the police, you can plant bombs n blow stuff up, and the most the police will do is send out pesky counter terrosits to try to blow you to bits, but everyone knows you can just camp spawn at t's on dust 2 and own them all as they run through the door to the left of spawn. sweet game, i also enjoy hiding in the bushes in office and then jumping out and 1 shot killing the whole enemy team with the pump shotty.. or in the cabinnet thats sweet too... cheers Expand
  25. manumort
    Feb 24, 2007
    8
    j'aime bien ce jeux car c'est réaliste,beaucoup d'armes sont proposés mais desfois on ne s'amuse pas du tout car quand un serv est peuplé de hite,a peine le temps de s'acheter ses armes et hop!headshot donc il faudrait des serveurs de niveau différents pour pouvoir progresser enfin vive les noob et a +
  26. JamesC.
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    The top of top FPS. The graphics are truely stunning and when you make the big switch from 1/6 to Source you are absoulutly shocked. As for hitboxes, which i have read about below, the hitboxes are fine, like most games - the better connection between all the players allows bullet registration to be smoother. 1.6 runs less bandwidth allowing reg to be better than source. As for people The top of top FPS. The graphics are truely stunning and when you make the big switch from 1/6 to Source you are absoulutly shocked. As for hitboxes, which i have read about below, the hitboxes are fine, like most games - the better connection between all the players allows bullet registration to be smoother. 1.6 runs less bandwidth allowing reg to be better than source. As for people complaining about headshots, go to a low skill level server - the game is ranked up and the addicts to the game will just spin and own you in the head. Hackers can be a HUGE problem, but Valve gave full server control so you can help yourself aswell as them making bans. Valve has said to ban 20,000,000 accounts per week on this game, so just because you cant see it - they do end up owning the hackers. Hackers get put a on a delay ban so they dont know what hack it was they got banned for. Overall BEST FPS on the market, great HL2 mod and seriously shocked the world that a mod could become so good. Running the best engine (HL2) and with upcoming mods like Insurgency - HL2 is the god of engines. Quake 4 and UT3 players miss out on this skilled game! Expand
  27. EliHoch
    Apr 8, 2009
    10
    CS: Source is easily in the top three games I've ever played. It has no single-player mode which means that you don't get bored after you beat it. There are so many maps and so many mods that it'll amuse you for months or even years! It's a great game: Get It!!!
  28. BlazingArrow
    Nov 3, 2006
    9
    VERY FUN GAME. But don't be caught in the illusion that it is a GOOD game, cause it is not. If you want hardcore CS, play 1.6 or CZ, but if you want the fun of your life, I highly recommend this game. Besides, a video game is for fun, right? :P
  29. Furr;)Mauro
    Jun 22, 2006
    9
    This game is nice :D.. I like the graphics and i think you should not blame the source engine. This engine works well in games as HL2 DM so why won't it here? I like the many maps, mods, and especially the many n44bs there are to be pwned xD
  30. DrewDawson
    Jul 1, 2006
    10
    THIS GAME IS TEH BEST MULTIPLAYER GAME EVER! the reason it is, is because its so commpetitive and people actually care and play as a fucking team. Also i like it because of all teh leagues and clans and stuff out there for the game. BUY THIS GAME ITS THE BEST GAMING EXPERIENCE EVER!!!
  31. PedroM.
    Jul 18, 2006
    10
    the best game of first person shot.
  32. AdrianV.
    Jul 18, 2006
    10
    Greatest Onlineshooter of all time!
  33. NotReal
    Aug 10, 2006
    1
    Horrible Graphics worst FPS of all time, people in the game are immature and rude. I give it 1/10 the game is just horrible.
  34. JohnJandou
    Aug 24, 2006
    10
    First i been playing 1.6 the graphics just made me sick then i was liek i need the upgraded version my cuzin introduced me to source no im playing 24/7 im a amazed with the graphics no just cause my video card i really say couple times u play this game you will be hooked if u like online action games trully
  35. jd
    Oct 11, 2007
    4
    Hm I enjoyed 1.6 quite a lot before eventually deciding to also purchase source so as play with a good friend of mine. When playing by myself I always find myself switching back to 1.6. It feel as if the old game has been raped. Why? There's nothing that's been improved from the smooth-running, skill-desiring 1.6 unless you like the new graphics (which I personally findHm I enjoyed 1.6 quite a lot before eventually deciding to also purchase source so as play with a good friend of mine. When playing by myself I always find myself switching back to 1.6. It feel as if the old game has been raped. Why? There's nothing that's been improved from the smooth-running, skill-desiring 1.6 unless you like the new graphics (which I personally find horrendeous). In 1.6 I still consider myself a newbie after 4 years of play (I do work and have a social life) and get real excited when once in a while you have a great score.. In source, it's nothing to do with skill, just spray and you'll shoot head.. Never a need for a "new" cs! Rape of the best game ever created! Back to 1.6! Ban css! Expand
  36. bobsmith
    Nov 30, 2007
    0
    This game was the best game ever!!!!!!!!!!!...untill steam ruined it! best game i ever played, but I cant play the game because of the service of steam. is says: preparing to launch counter strike:scource, but then nothing. ive contacted steam and have never heard back. if anyone has a solution, please tell me!!!! game is a 10, steam is a 0
  37. noonecares
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Don't listen to the people who gave it 0s and 3s. This game has alot more amazing things than cs 1.6 or any other cs game. Levels are ALOT more detailed than the other version and less boxier. You can tell Valve spent a great deal on this. Hackers and cheaters/botters are rarely on because of admins and hosts. Headshots can be only made by a true marksman, hacker/botter, or by justDon't listen to the people who gave it 0s and 3s. This game has alot more amazing things than cs 1.6 or any other cs game. Levels are ALOT more detailed than the other version and less boxier. You can tell Valve spent a great deal on this. Hackers and cheaters/botters are rarely on because of admins and hosts. Headshots can be only made by a true marksman, hacker/botter, or by just pure luck. I love the snipers new zoom crosshairs because they seem clearer and easier to aim with (More life like). To close this up, get the game. Don't listen to the negatives, they are probably BIG n00bs that can't aim a F***ing ak and that blame it on hackers and botters. PS- those little kids are pretty good you will find, but they can get annoying time to time. Expand
  38. GaryKirkland
    Mar 31, 2007
    3
    Good game, poor players. they constant bunny hopping and exploitive playing of most "players" of this game takes away any fun that may have been there for people with a life. the lack of realism is this games main downfall. and its main strong point for the people not skilled enough to play real FPS games
  39. Michelgrandpa
    Jul 7, 2007
    1
    fucked up game wats this fucking recoil IT SUCKS OMG... you cant even shoot someone fucking crap shit

    AND NOW YOU CANT PLAY THE GAME wtff... dude common yeh sorryr the game is unavalble at the moment please try later fuck you i got a day free and even cant play fucking CRAP GAME AND STEAM SUCKS!!!!!!!!
  40. ruilago
    Feb 20, 2008
    2
    I play this game and i feel among this years that this comunity is very bad, along with the fact that at the begining of the game their font code was robeed and is at the web for anyone yo wanna buy it, and valve2 anticheat system is so por makes this game a cheating paradise, when you buy this game cheats are among the pack, lol, and in the web to all, thanks once more for another gameI play this game and i feel among this years that this comunity is very bad, along with the fact that at the begining of the game their font code was robeed and is at the web for anyone yo wanna buy it, and valve2 anticheat system is so por makes this game a cheating paradise, when you buy this game cheats are among the pack, lol, and in the web to all, thanks once more for another game like this, it will be the last multiplayer online i will ever buy again till someone present a true anticheat, regards Expand
  41. JamesR
    Apr 20, 2008
    1
    Not worth the money, Game looks horrible bad gameplay, not fun at all.
  42. BobbyMilenkov
    Nov 16, 2006
    10
    Once i started cs (about 4 years ago) i still can't stop playing it ,cs is my drug and i think i do not know what will happen if i don't play more than 3 days and about cs:source , well i think this is the gratest FPS made till now , i'd never get bored with cs:s thats something i'm sure of.
  43. BillH.
    Nov 21, 2006
    4
    Frustrating to learn from day one, but addicting, beautifully rendered with enjoyable rag doll physics if improbable. Horribly balanced gameplay, some weapons are one hit one kill weapons, while others are inexplicably ineffective. Valve has recently patched the game with updates that limit the options you have when setting up your own games. They've also altered the weapon Frustrating to learn from day one, but addicting, beautifully rendered with enjoyable rag doll physics if improbable. Horribly balanced gameplay, some weapons are one hit one kill weapons, while others are inexplicably ineffective. Valve has recently patched the game with updates that limit the options you have when setting up your own games. They've also altered the weapon procuement system of the game to make it all but impossible to enjoy a quick 20 minute game as it takes that long to have enough money to buy your preferred armament. It had a lot of potential, but has slowly degraded with continual updates that limit options and methods of gameplay, rather than enhance them. Expand
  44. BegalJ.
    Nov 23, 2006
    4
    It's such a great game but steam is the worst thing in the world, so is DWP take that stuff off it's horrible. The game gets so buggy with all these crap updates you bring, just make more maps/maps to bring to cal one day.
  45. MarcComeau
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    id say its a 9/10 the new updates suck steam sucks they need to ditch um they bringing it down the dynamic pricing is the stupidest thing ive ever seen thank god u dont need to put it on server u can take off source is the most addicting game ive ever played counter strike has no problems just steam f*cks it up
  46. brandonc
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    I have played cs 1.6 and the sparks looked like the game was meant for 7 or 8 year olds while css delivers to a wider range of age groups and gamers. I love this game more than anyother including F.E.A.R. and Half Life 2. If you are a hardcore gamer who likes strategy 1st person shooters you will love this too!!

    p.s. one major flaw i.e. AWP!!!!
  47. JamesMcManus
    May 11, 2006
    9
    One of the best damn games i hav ever played the only game topping it was oblivion and that was only because of the graphics but Sorce is an awsome game topping almost every game i hav ever played i love it because of the realism of the recoil and OH GOD I JUST LOVE THIS GAME
  48. Lost_pebble
    May 11, 2006
    10
    This game is just fuckin bitchin to the fulliest i mean you have to get the hang off it but it is great it's rad when you get to the point when you just own dude's then you have oppertunity's to move up in the game skill wise plus be in a community
  49. tomhepplewhite
    May 21, 2006
    10
    Counter strike: Source is the best game i've played on because of the graphics and everything else but the thing it that you get so .. addicted to it like cocaine apart from most of us don't take it (JOKE) but it is still the best and thats why i like it
  50. LukeM.
    May 28, 2006
    0
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  51. Th|zzelleWash|ngton
    Jun 23, 2006
    10
    This game is AWESOME. Best pc game ive played. All these bitches that complain about little things just SUK THE FAT 1!!! I have a cheap dell and get 40-50 frames per second and still am better than most people. There r hackers but not many. Plus there r alot more on 1.6 and they get banned quickly anyway. Hitboxes might be fucked but its the same for every1. if u cant hit any1 u must blowThis game is AWESOME. Best pc game ive played. All these bitches that complain about little things just SUK THE FAT 1!!! I have a cheap dell and get 40-50 frames per second and still am better than most people. There r hackers but not many. Plus there r alot more on 1.6 and they get banned quickly anyway. Hitboxes might be fucked but its the same for every1. if u cant hit any1 u must blow hobos. Physics is not anything to complain about.if u cant go over something go around it. 1.6 FUKEN SUKS THE BIG ONE. all u pussies that play 1.6 how can u stand the super nintendo graphics.Damn the game is shitty.COUNTER STRIKE SOURCE RULES, 1.6 IS FOR BITCHES AND HACKERS. All u that complain over physics or frames per second or gameplay GET A FUKEN LIFE!!!!!! Expand
  52. JustinMacalintal
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    I've remember playing this game for the first time and that was in the middle of 1999, the year when this mod for HL1 was first released. It was already excellent back then. N7 yrs later, now with better technology, better graphics, it's still the most played online fps in the world.
  53. ZackNacke
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    BOOM HEAD SHOT!!
    this PC game is awsome i love the way the bodys land in some times and with the zombie maps it makes it even better great graphics and everything i may be 13 abd u think "shouldent u be playing halo 2 or something" well....no halo 2 sucks and i hope CSS it.
    keep those head shot comein :)
  54. stna
    Jan 11, 2008
    1
    NO IT IS NOT A "cool" game ... WTF man ? the difference between SOURCE AND 1.6 is HUGE .... and .... for the record ... THE players are more hard to see .. graphics are .. nice ... but ... U MUST STARE AT THE MONITOR TO SEE THE PLAYERS ... IT IS NOT GOOD ... what is wrong with you people ? ? ARE YOU BLIND ? ?
  55. JonathanR
    Apr 15, 2009
    0
    Counter-Strike: Source is a terrible knockoff of the original Counter-Strike and is definitely not worth buying. The graphics of Counter-Strike: Source may be slightly more polished than that of its predecessor, the original Counter-Strike, however you will tire of the game quickly and easily as every other aspect of the game sucks beyond all belief. The game is a joke in the professional Counter-Strike: Source is a terrible knockoff of the original Counter-Strike and is definitely not worth buying. The graphics of Counter-Strike: Source may be slightly more polished than that of its predecessor, the original Counter-Strike, however you will tire of the game quickly and easily as every other aspect of the game sucks beyond all belief. The game is a joke in the professional gaming community so if you want to make a living off of professional gaming, the original Counter-Strike is the way to go and not this version. The game has terrible game play, extremely over hyped graphics and physics which in reality aren't that great and border on crap, and the game is just overall a terrible, dysfunctional knockoff of the original and hit game Counter-Strike. You wouldn't catch me dead playing this over Counter-Strike. This game is a 0/10 with no doubt in my mind. Expand
  56. steve
    Apr 15, 2009
    0
    This game was made so that people who played the old game could switch over and we all bought it with expectations of it being good but the makers didnt really care about the player and they ended up producing a game that was not ready to be released.
  57. YuraT.
    Apr 17, 2009
    0
    No comment
  58. CoopC
    Apr 17, 2009
    0
    Worst rip off of Counter-Strike 1.6 and a mockery to cs's competitive edge. With overly detailed maps and odd player model hitboxes, Counter-Strike: Source leaves the me saying, "WTF?"
  59. BraddanH
    Apr 17, 2009
    0
    this game isnt as great as the original. it has better graphics, yes, but the physics and all that sucks balls sack.
  60. JasmineC
    Nov 16, 2009
    0
    Headshots are too easy. hitbox system is fail-frigging tacular. The fact you have to lead in anything under a multi-mile long distance shot is astoundingly unrealistic. And yet, in Counter Strike Source you will find yourself leading practically at point blank range. I have never in my entire life seen a more horrible hitbox system than CS:S. The map graphics are decent. Anything else is Headshots are too easy. hitbox system is fail-frigging tacular. The fact you have to lead in anything under a multi-mile long distance shot is astoundingly unrealistic. And yet, in Counter Strike Source you will find yourself leading practically at point blank range. I have never in my entire life seen a more horrible hitbox system than CS:S. The map graphics are decent. Anything else is meh. In addition, too much frigging waiting, combined with too many one hit kills = RAGE. Headshotting someone with a stray machine-gun bullet is funny as hell, until it happens to you. In general this game is extremely frustrating and not so much noob friendly as it noob unfriendly and cheap douchebag friendly. Expand
  61. Dec 11, 2010
    0
    I have been playing since the beta versions of Counter-Strike, and I have to say, I'm very disappointed with this release, why you ask? Because everything they have done has ruined the game which made Counter-Strike 1.6 a phenomenon, graphics aside, game play is just not the same, they've changed all the recoil patterns and re textured all the weapons, I only bought this to play CS:Pro ModI have been playing since the beta versions of Counter-Strike, and I have to say, I'm very disappointed with this release, why you ask? Because everything they have done has ruined the game which made Counter-Strike 1.6 a phenomenon, graphics aside, game play is just not the same, they've changed all the recoil patterns and re textured all the weapons, I only bought this to play CS:Pro Mod which is 1.6 gameplay style with Source Graphics. Just horrible. Expand
  62. Dec 31, 2010
    4
    This game isnt that good.The first thing is its almost impossible for new players to learn how to get good online second its basically pointless.There is no rank system so you just go around shooting
    people i got really bored of this fast.
  63. Nov 1, 2011
    5
    Counter Strike is a good multiplayer shooter. You probably will find hours of fun if you enjoy online shooter game. The mechanics of the game is simple but works well. Players purchase weapons and accessories with money they have received. Money is received in portions determined by the server each round plus bonuses for the following: team win, kills, completed objectives, and otherCounter Strike is a good multiplayer shooter. You probably will find hours of fun if you enjoy online shooter game. The mechanics of the game is simple but works well. Players purchase weapons and accessories with money they have received. Money is received in portions determined by the server each round plus bonuses for the following: team win, kills, completed objectives, and other miscellaneous factors. The game does offers a great depth of strategy for each individual player and teamwork is fairly important in it. The major failure of the game is it's one of the most hacked games ever. Because the the engine is open-source, modders creates lots of hacks to automatically aim their weapons for them. But right now they probably already moved to team fortress 2, so the game is still worth to pick up. Expand
  64. Feb 27, 2011
    3
    My online FPS history started with the original UT and later UT3. Both excellent yet strategically void games. Then I tried CS:S for a while, only to conclude that it is simply a broken game: Barely any strategy going on, dominated by aim grunts and rather backward balancing (better players get more weapons and armor?!). But then I hit upon DoD:S and have several hundreds hours of playMy online FPS history started with the original UT and later UT3. Both excellent yet strategically void games. Then I tried CS:S for a while, only to conclude that it is simply a broken game: Barely any strategy going on, dominated by aim grunts and rather backward balancing (better players get more weapons and armor?!). But then I hit upon DoD:S and have several hundreds hours of play time on it now. It feels like CS:S to some extent, but the player base is generally more mature, it's almost perfectly balanced, and encourages strategy and thought a lot more. I was awful at DoD:S for quite a while, but at least I wanted to keep playing during that time, where CS:S continuously managed to make me angry. It's a pity that DoD:S never got the wide market appeal that it deserves, even though the game is excellent without it too of course. Expand
  65. Mar 3, 2011
    4
    This game is mediocre at best. The problem isn't boring gameplay, but rather horrible flaws. The hit detection is simply terrible, and people just tell you to put this and that into console to fix it or simply tell you your aim sucks. Nothing that i've tried works to fix it. I even once spectated someone shoot an enemy in the LEG and had it count as a headshot. In addition, the weapons areThis game is mediocre at best. The problem isn't boring gameplay, but rather horrible flaws. The hit detection is simply terrible, and people just tell you to put this and that into console to fix it or simply tell you your aim sucks. Nothing that i've tried works to fix it. I even once spectated someone shoot an enemy in the LEG and had it count as a headshot. In addition, the weapons are terribly unbalanced. 99% of all players use from a small selection of the best guns and anyone who uses anything different will usually get stomped. And finally, the community is just terrible. If you're better than someone, you're accused of cheating. If you're worse than someone, you're mocked. There are some nicer groups out there that have good sportsmanship, but they're rare.

    I do have to give the game some credit though; The graphics are good, and when the hit boxes aren't bugging, the game can actually be somewhat fun. Overall, the game itself isn't bad, it's just broken. Broken enough to make it more frustrating than fun. I bought it, played it for a few hours, then just gave up. The only lasting thing it has brought me in the long run is textures and models for Garrysmod, which isn't really worth 20 bucks. I'd say if you're REALLY interested in the game and must insist on getting it, at least wait until it's on sale, that way if you regret buying it, you won't regret it quite as much.
    Expand
  66. May 6, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game used to ROCK. But valve is always trying to make this game even better by updating all its content. This game doesn't make any sense since 2010. Valve, continue the bad work and you are going to see many players quitting and nobody buying this game. UNFORTUNATELY. Expand
  67. Jun 13, 2011
    2
    Quite possibly the most OVERRATED game of all time.

    This game defies all logic to me as to how this game got this high amount of positive reviews from anybody. Even if all the problems I'm going to list can be fixed, other games, like the Modern Warfare series for example, have already done the same thing CS:S has been doing and much better. The points below are here to summarize my
    Quite possibly the most OVERRATED game of all time.

    This game defies all logic to me as to how this game got this high amount of positive reviews from anybody. Even if all the problems I'm going to list can be fixed, other games, like the Modern Warfare series for example, have already done the same thing CS:S has been doing and much better. The points below are here to summarize my gripes about this game and my overall experience.

    -The menuguncharacter selection system is uselessbroken.-
    When you first enter a servermap, you will get the usual welcome screen followed by a generic shadow board showing if you want to join the Counter-Terrorist (CT) or Terrorist (T) side. The only thing you will want to see on this page is whether you're on one of the 2 ONLY game modes in the game, Bomb Defense or Hostage Rescue.

    Character selection is just very generic character models including 1 out of place SNOW terrorist who you will never use in the majority of maps. (You can't use them for movie making either, they don't have face bonesposing, something standard in every Valve game.)

    After choosing a character, you'll immediately go into the game, BUT FIRST you have to buy your weapons. How? Pressing the B button in the short amount of time when the round starts in the small spawn or you can't buy anything. Each time you select a weapon, the menu closes, so if you have to get a bunch of equipment, be prepared to to go into it A LOT. You can't make money either unless you kill other players or complete objectives, making it difficult to acquire moneyweaponsvests.

    Much of the notes spread throughout the Menus aren't important at all and will just be a waste of time to read.

    Even those who love this game will say not to bother with the menus and just start binding keys to buy weapons, a very tedious job.

    -Difficult as hell You're not the target audience!-
    This game was made for the obsessive compulsive, tourney-league players you hear about.

    The guns are difficult to use with hitboxes, bullet paths, and cross-hairs never being where you think they might be. No joke, I had to double check replays, spectating, and forums to find out that to get a headshot with the AK-47, YOU HAD TO AIM ABOVE AND TO THE RIGHT OF SOMEONES HEAD BY A FOOT. I'm not making this up, a lot of people are having problems trying to find out WHERE to shoot there guns, even CS:S fans having arguments on how to use them.

    They can shoot straight, but your cross-hairs are fairly useless with a lot of bullets shooting outside the box if you fire too many rounds.

    Free tip, "always take out the combat knife for maximum speed..." Why? Who knows.

    There is no such thing as team work in any server. You're on your own.

    Standing still is ill-advised unless you're sniping since EVERY HIT YOU TAKE SLOWS DOWN YOUR SPEED BY HALF.

    No health re-filling of any kind either; no medkits, regen, or buyable upgrades. Once you die, you're dead for the round, which can take several minutes to complete.

    Both game modes are essentially the same, they're the "Hard-core Search and Destroy"Arena-type mode you see very few people playing on any other video game and usually played by the 'l33t skills' type of people who can headshot across a map with a pistol.

    Majority of the maps look like crap, like no one even bothers to fill or design most of them with objects to make things pop out and interesting to be in. Some should say "Map Design by Minecraft!"

    -It gets worse-
    THIS GAME HAS A TON OF HACKERS!

    To put this in perspective, I have 1100 hours in Team Fortress 2 and found 8 obvious hackers. In CS:S, I found 5 highly suspicious players, 3 confirmed, and A ENTIRE SERVER OF PEOPLE HACKING IN 8 HOURS! Skyward bunny hopping, aim-bots, speed hacks, they're the norm. It's no wonder when you have a game made for Tourney players being hacked so much, too many people suck and don't care about the Steam account ban.

    The population of the game is between ages of 8 - 20 and is the most annoying type of people you could find. Turn off the headset so your ears won't bleed too.

    There is no such thing as team work or help in any public server, you're on your own

    -The upside?-

    Some maps don't looks bad for there age.

    Gun models look okay.

    ...Very difficult to even come up with anything nice to say.
    -Conclusion- This game is **** awful. Avoid Counter-Strike: Source like the plague and you'll be a happier person in life for doing so. There is almost no redeeming value in this game. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!
    Expand
  68. Sep 14, 2011
    1
    What can i say? It's counter-strike... where the stupid annoying words that every idiot can't ever stop saying such as "Noob, nub" ect and "Pwn" were invented. Where wall hacks and aimbots were pioneered. Where jerk offs and clans that treat violent video games like its Church or Bible study to censor profanity even though there is blood all over the walls. It gets a 1 because this TitleWhat can i say? It's counter-strike... where the stupid annoying words that every idiot can't ever stop saying such as "Noob, nub" ect and "Pwn" were invented. Where wall hacks and aimbots were pioneered. Where jerk offs and clans that treat violent video games like its Church or Bible study to censor profanity even though there is blood all over the walls. It gets a 1 because this Title paved the way with its great gameplay for modern FPSs, but with it came the Clans, Cheaters and Trolls. Gameplay is one thing for a game... its community is another. Expand
  69. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    Oh yes good ole CSS, Get down and dirty swat style or go and plant a bomb and blow yourself up to find yourself in the afterlife with 40 virgins(yeah right...). this game is a classic what can i say if you didn't play it back in the day you missed out and its too late to appreciate its glory.
  70. Oct 16, 2011
    0
    Since the update (2010) this game sucks hard ! fix the hitbox, fix the ragdoll and fix the r_aspectration omg ! WE WANT THE OLD CS:S BACK ! thanks and the 0/10 is for you valve. Thanks.
  71. Dec 27, 2011
    3
    the shooting mechanics are good, but the plot and chracter development are absolutely minimal, which i didnt think was valves style. alot of the plot doesnt make any sense, really poor effort there :(
  72. Nov 14, 2011
    5
    i know im pretty late but seems as many people still play this game im going to put my review in, i picked it up from steam becasue a freind urged me i should and i wish i hadent, it seems people just play it becasue its counterstrike and the only reason its still alive is becasue people have modded it and tweaked it so much, it may be the most played fps in the world but it definatelyi know im pretty late but seems as many people still play this game im going to put my review in, i picked it up from steam becasue a freind urged me i should and i wish i hadent, it seems people just play it becasue its counterstrike and the only reason its still alive is becasue people have modded it and tweaked it so much, it may be the most played fps in the world but it definately isnt the most fun Expand
  73. Jan 14, 2014
    4
    A boring, repetitive, multiplayer-only shooter which has spawned a terrible community. The gameplay mechanics are cheap and create a game that just isn't worth your time.
  74. Nov 17, 2011
    2
    The game is okay as long as you are mentally retarded. This game is the definition of boring. In it's entirety it doesn't even face any competitive means nor the vibe of unlocking something new. I wouldn't want to compare Battlefield 3 to such a mediocre game, but I have to since they both share the boring gameplay. A gamer doesn't want to stick with the same boring crap throughout theThe game is okay as long as you are mentally retarded. This game is the definition of boring. In it's entirety it doesn't even face any competitive means nor the vibe of unlocking something new. I wouldn't want to compare Battlefield 3 to such a mediocre game, but I have to since they both share the boring gameplay. A gamer doesn't want to stick with the same boring crap throughout the entire game, they want something new. That is why Call of Duty is the best and I have no idea why people would still play this horsecrap. Expand
  75. Aug 6, 2012
    4
    Allright, this comes from a HC Gamer i have bunch of bucnh of games on steam etc im only PC gamer. Yes you see 4/10. One of my first games was cs 1.6 on PC like when i was 8--10 years old. This game is so HC and unforgiving and hard :S! Really way too bad crosshairs etc i dont like it at all. Im tired of many FPS's these days already like BF3. But this is just too HC.

    Only thing is that
    Allright, this comes from a HC Gamer i have bunch of bucnh of games on steam etc im only PC gamer. Yes you see 4/10. One of my first games was cs 1.6 on PC like when i was 8--10 years old. This game is so HC and unforgiving and hard :S! Really way too bad crosshairs etc i dont like it at all. Im tired of many FPS's these days already like BF3. But this is just too HC.

    Only thing is that with mods or maps it can be fun :)! ze, zm, surf, jb(NotForMe) are good fun ways to chill :)! ze being my favourite and its fun. But normal CSS? Too HC, you need to be crazy player if u want to succeed.
    Expand
  76. Jul 6, 2012
    0
    Counter Strike: Source is a very over rated game. It holds nothing special from any other shooter. The only reason I play it is because of surf. The game play is so repetitive and gets boring very quickly. I played it a lot and thought it was fun at first, but after a while it just got boring. There is nothing special to it. The mods are so much more fun than the actual vanilla game.Counter Strike: Source is a very over rated game. It holds nothing special from any other shooter. The only reason I play it is because of surf. The game play is so repetitive and gets boring very quickly. I played it a lot and thought it was fun at first, but after a while it just got boring. There is nothing special to it. The mods are so much more fun than the actual vanilla game. Idiots play the zombie game mode. It's completely unfit for a zombie game mode. Garry's Mod is much better suited for it or an actual ZOMBIE GAME. Jail break is fun, but it gets repetitive. I don't see what's so fun about this game. The only fun parts are created by the users. Without the users, this game would be nothing. There would be hardly any maps, no other game modes, ect. The shotgun is over-powered as hell. It's ridiculous how much damage it does with distance. You can be 20 ft. away from someone and it only takes one shot to kill you at full health. This game is decent at best. Expand
  77. Jan 3, 2013
    0
    This game is terrible,a simply pure bad game,headshot headshot headshot hackers everywhere,walk to a corner,i got headshotted again,the only reason to buy it is the jailbreak mode and the zombie mode,also the gmod textures
  78. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    This is a hardcore PC game and thats why I like it its still one of the still truly hardcore games ever and it looks better and is better than the first one so if you have a PC it is one of the best multiplayer games on the PC and there are loads of mods and its still very popular
  79. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    I hated this game so much. I played it for a couple of hours just trying to get use to the bulky and slow controls. Then once I found out how to finally control my character and play the game well I found it to unrealistic and dumb. I read some reviews and some said that the game is very realistic. I shot a guy with 7 rounds from a 9mm he didn't die. Plus not being able to aim down yourI hated this game so much. I played it for a couple of hours just trying to get use to the bulky and slow controls. Then once I found out how to finally control my character and play the game well I found it to unrealistic and dumb. I read some reviews and some said that the game is very realistic. I shot a guy with 7 rounds from a 9mm he didn't die. Plus not being able to aim down your sights unless you have a sniper rifle. What kinda of fps is this. People say that this game is great for team work and is just a great game overall when I'm constantly being yelled at for not doing good, but then when I learn the stupid controls and actually do amazing I'm called a cheater and still be called names. The community is worse than any other fps I have ever played. The terrible game play does not help either. Your options are move, jump, squat and shoot. What I can't even lay down. I've play iPad games better than this. In all honesty this game is a total piece of crap and is not worth spending your time trying to figure out how it works while being yelled at by your team mates and called some of the worst things and told to go do some very inappropriate stuff. Like blanking my dead father log. Yes I was told to do this by every player in a server, in many different ways. This game should be discontinued. Expand
  80. Jun 25, 2015
    5
    I laugh a lot when i see that this **** page says that the ccs is better than the cs go,css better than cs:go JAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJA
  81. Jun 22, 2016
    7
    An iconic multiplayer FPS of the "oughts", my most played game between the age of Tribes 2 and that of Team Fortress 2. I would not say it's aged well, but the diversity of mods and occasional quality of life updates have ensured it's lasting playablity.
  82. Sep 5, 2017
    9
    REVIEW BASED ON
    > Countless hours in

    COMMENT
    My personal favourite iteration of the franchise

    GAME SHAKER
    - The sometimes absurd hitboxes

    PROS
    + The modding scene
    + The graphics powered by the Source engine
  83. Sep 11, 2017
    10
    Counter-Strike: Source is considered to be one of my favorite first-person shooter's in general. In this game, you can play as either the Counter-Terrorists (CTs), or Terrorists (Ts). Some maps will be based on a certain objective: Defuse a bomb (or plant it), or rescue hostages. Like every other Counter-Strike game, you have a "Buy" menu in which you can use virtual cash to buy weapons,Counter-Strike: Source is considered to be one of my favorite first-person shooter's in general. In this game, you can play as either the Counter-Terrorists (CTs), or Terrorists (Ts). Some maps will be based on a certain objective: Defuse a bomb (or plant it), or rescue hostages. Like every other Counter-Strike game, you have a "Buy" menu in which you can use virtual cash to buy weapons, such as pistols, shotguns, machine guns, assault rifles, snipers, and equipment like grenades and flashbangs. Alright, enough explaining. I'm going to move on to why I enjoy this game. First of all, I am a HUGE fan of the Counter-Strike series. I've put in countless hours of playing it on an old PC, but who cares if the PC is old, because it can still run great games such as this. The gameplay is excellent. The maps/environments are well-detailed, and the graphics are revolutionary for it's time. Audio quality sounds nice. Overall, this game is a must-buy for hardcore gamers out there. Expand
  84. LewisS
    Jan 6, 2010
    9
    Counter strike source is a good game that people could play for hourse but it is not that good...It is just not as addictive as it could be..
  85. ChrisG.
    May 25, 2006
    10
    This game is such an improvement over 1.6, the physics and graphics are much better than that of its predissesor. There are some new maps too which will keep you busy for hours.
  86. RasmusP.
    May 30, 2006
    9
    One of the better firstperson shooters on the market... Exiting, a lot of players and most of all, excellent graphics and models!
  87. MichaelD.
    May 31, 2006
    10
    This game is sick... Its no wonder why Counter Strike has been the #1 online first person shooter for teh past 5 years or so.
  88. PierreC.
    May 5, 2006
    10
    Un jeu trop trop bien, auquel le tps de jeu fais une majeure partie de l'éxperience. a very good game, and the time of play is vey important to be the best.
  89. ZachB.
    May 6, 2006
    10
    Great Game, Good Graphics, Low System Requirments. Only thing that sucks is the servers lag lately with the new updates.
  90. DanielDixey
    May 6, 2006
    10
    I love this game, so original and much better than 1.6
  91. BenR.
    May 6, 2006
    10
    The best online multiplayer ever, no doubts or questions! The feel of it and the realism are nearly perfectly balanced and matches can become totally absorbing. I am addicted and even after many hours of playing it, you just can't get sick of it. Wow! The best game out atm.
  92. DrussWaylander
    May 6, 2006
    10
    What is wrong with those companies? Have they ever actually played CSS? CSS is one of the greatest games of all time. Great graphics, great gameplay, endless possibilities with plug-ins, it has it all.
  93. -=[SK][JohnnyBravo]=-
    May 6, 2006
    10
    CS:S is the best and most fantastic online-game I ve ever seen! Amazing gameplay, superb graphics! THE ONE AND ONLY!!!!! Nice regards to all CS:S gamers!!!!
  94. CsPlayer
    May 6, 2006
    10
    it has lost the Cs feel....''but'' its a revolotion in Cs, Its like Half-Life2-CS and all ho has playd HL2dm knows that it has nice graffs so i think TRY THE GAME!
  95. WesleyyL.
    May 6, 2006
    7
    I don't like you have to wait for a next round to begin if your dead... Just when you're warmed up you get out of your ritthim cuz of the waitin'
  96. Miron
    May 6, 2006
    8
    i love this game counter strikes are the best shooters ever and always will be (i hope). the only thing that brings this game down is its limited capacity of online play. sometimes you shoot someone in the head and it doesnt kill em. this only happens a few times though so i cant complain. works like a dream with linkup though the game rocksm/(o_o)m/
  97. TimB.
    May 7, 2006
    10
    Cs:s ist das beste game der verganngenheit und naher Zukunft. Cs:s ist das beste game das ich kenne und ich bin mir sicher das der nähste taktische ego-schooter auch von steam kommt und auch in der Zeit die herausragende Spitze sein wird. Steam macht weiter so !! .:|STEAM FOREVER|:.
  98. AndrewG.
    May 7, 2006
    10
    The best multiplayer game ever made, and now made better. Go ValvE!
  99. Novi4ekNone
    May 7, 2006
    10
    good game
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 90
    The game looks more beautiful than ever, with structures that feel weighty and solid and little visual touches throughout. The flash-bangs look fantastic.
  2. Valve has done a sterling job of moving a flagship franchise over to a new engine. Whilst the gameplay guts come over correct and intact, (which may disappoint some), Counter-Strike: Source is an even more engrossing and captivating experience, capable of sapping hours of your time, and even the worst "1337 g33zers" abusing voice chat can't spoil the fun you'll have with it.
  3. Counter-Strike: Source is, once you've gained a knack for it, the most consistently rewarding and surprising team-based shoot-'em-up available on the PC today. It's been dressed up nicely for its relaunch in 2004, but it wasn't broken, and Valve hasn't fixed it.