User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9926 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanielJohansson
    Jul 1, 2007
    5
    my game dosent work i buyed it but after i have installed and start the game im just coming to a damn shop and it says that i must buy it. but i have played it with my coussin he have it to and for him it works and he don't now why my game is like it is , but liked it, but it don't works so, and if someone nows how i can fix it so please send an -mail to tt95-hockey@hotmail.com
  2. ArkadiyIssayev
    Feb 20, 2008
    7
    This game is super and has a good graphic! But it my favorite game. All i hate is hackers. i want this game to be protected by hacks! I like some mods it good but it not hack at all it just make you gun look different! If you want to see the model or to make for you too, here the link http://www.fpsbanana.com/skins/games/2 it hard to understand for you maybe! Enjoy it!!! It my favoriteThis game is super and has a good graphic! But it my favorite game. All i hate is hackers. i want this game to be protected by hacks! I like some mods it good but it not hack at all it just make you gun look different! If you want to see the model or to make for you too, here the link http://www.fpsbanana.com/skins/games/2 it hard to understand for you maybe! Enjoy it!!! It my favorite game too! I love those people who make this games! I want to thanks to those people too!! Expand
  3. meandhim
    May 14, 2006
    6
    Great graphics, gameplay was lost from CS 1.6, the more upgrades the worse the game seems to get... Sort the hitboxes and make it harder to use AWP/Scout etc and it could be 9/10.
  4. WesleyyL.
    May 6, 2006
    7
    I don't like you have to wait for a next round to begin if your dead... Just when you're warmed up you get out of your ritthim cuz of the waitin'
  5. ManiF.
    Jun 2, 2006
    7
    on my PC the newest cs-update has caused a bad game performance!
  6. JamesK.
    May 26, 2007
    7
    Good graphics, solid platform and server browsing. Gameplay is solid enough, at its core its the same, but then engine lends itself to poor hit detection. The rampant hacking and immature nature of the community bring the experience down. Overall a good, quick online shooter that lacks in depth.
  7. StevenC.
    Apr 25, 2008
    5
    It's bad because it doesn't have the aspects of the 1.6 game, it's thrown off a lot from the first game so it isn't really good at all.
  8. DanG
    May 18, 2009
    6
    Been playing since 07, and the game is pretty fun, only thing is that a lot of the shots that should have landed are wayy off, and the random sprayer bullets are the ones that land headshots. Its an ok game and worth a try, but don't be surprised when that shot you made that should have been a headshot didn't land, and instead the sprayer from across the map headshots you.
  9. TeodorIkonomov
    May 21, 2006
    5
    The Best Game Ever
  10. TomReynolds
    May 7, 2006
    6
    The game in itself is pretty decent, but the cheaters and hackers and mismatched weapons can ruin a game in one round.
  11. NikoM.
    Aug 23, 2006
    7
    Great game, i would give it a 9-10 but there are so much little bugs like hitboxes etc.
  12. Caddy
    Oct 5, 2007
    7
    This game offers excellent time wastage, giving good players excitement and fun. If your new, stick to it because in a few months you might start enjoying it as well. Very dissapointed with the Physics engine, bouncing off barrels and cabinets, not to mention being able to campin in one. I find the game is extremely laggy and registering my shots is unbearably painfull. Flashbangs blind This game offers excellent time wastage, giving good players excitement and fun. If your new, stick to it because in a few months you might start enjoying it as well. Very dissapointed with the Physics engine, bouncing off barrels and cabinets, not to mention being able to campin in one. I find the game is extremely laggy and registering my shots is unbearably painfull. Flashbangs blind you when they land 10ft behind you, Headshots are more rampant than the hostages Ai, maybe camping slaps should be improvised to allow minimal time wastage due to those extreme players who love to awp... or just p90 one position. I now enjoy this game becuase I have played it so much, but I was very close many times to just deleting it and watching tv. Anti cheat is good, Anti hack is better, raciscm and derogitry remarks should be banable and inexcusable. Out of the many fps shooters I have played, this one is fantastic, yet it can still leave me very, very dissapointed. I'm glad I purchased it though. Expand
  13. TrentJarrell
    Jan 8, 2007
    6
    The game USED to be a really good game. Until it switched to Steam. And Steam trying to add all of these new updates and all it does is make the game worse. Ex. Hit Reg/Dmg Boxes/And getting stuck on things that arnt even there. Besides all of that it is a really gg.
  14. AndrewMacKay
    Mar 5, 2007
    7
    Good game. HL2 engine makes it. Very little has actually been changed from 1.6, and what has changed isn't necessary better. Flashes are very poor from a competitive standpoint. Awp and Deagle have been made better comparatively when they were fine in 1.6 (surprise! everyone's favorite.) The character models are much more slugish when they run, and when they are shot, they areGood game. HL2 engine makes it. Very little has actually been changed from 1.6, and what has changed isn't necessary better. Flashes are very poor from a competitive standpoint. Awp and Deagle have been made better comparatively when they were fine in 1.6 (surprise! everyone's favorite.) The character models are much more slugish when they run, and when they are shot, they are unphazed by it. Source is defintely one of the best games out there now, but could use just a bit of balancing that would make it a leagues above. Expand
  15. Novi4ekNone
    Mar 6, 2007
    7
    good game
  16. NathanV.
    Jul 5, 2007
    7
    Good game, decent graphics, but quite a few cheaters and physics flaws that dampen the games full potential, if some more bugs were fixed it be an easy 10.
  17. YiuC.H.
    Aug 9, 2007
    7
    Although superb graphics and the gameplay from counter-strike is retained, the game movements in counters-strike source is not as smooth as counter-strike, where animations and movements are rather stiff, and the realism in graphics could be a drag for some slower PCs and for online play.
  18. FredK.
    Sep 12, 2007
    6
    Good GFX and fun if not very simple gameplay and can be very enjoyable. If your new to the FPS genre then this will surfice but there is alot of better options out there that are less frustraitng. but If you can't tolerate campers, hackers, excesively loud music, 13 year old kids, pornographic sprays, flashbang spam, the AWP, The Desert Eagle, terrible hitboxes and the need to Good GFX and fun if not very simple gameplay and can be very enjoyable. If your new to the FPS genre then this will surfice but there is alot of better options out there that are less frustraitng. but If you can't tolerate campers, hackers, excesively loud music, 13 year old kids, pornographic sprays, flashbang spam, the AWP, The Desert Eagle, terrible hitboxes and the need to download something every time you join a server then this game is probably not for you. Expand
  19. JoepH.
    Oct 4, 2008
    6
    Allthough it's nothing bad, the pace is a bit too slow. CS 1.6 was fun, fast and encouraged normal gameplay. CSS however, punishes rushing and fast play. With everyone camping till the last minute, and than suddenly killing each other with 5 shots (if you shoot more your aim is gone), the fun was gone for me.
  20. AlanV.
    Mar 17, 2008
    6
    A poor, poor update to an amaizing game. Known as "CS for n00bs", any real CS player will be disappointed at the core physics changes, such as weapons that are too accurate or inaccurate, over or under powered, and maps that are simply lack the old counter strike feel. Put your big boy pants on and go old school with the pros!
  21. OupsV.
    Jun 1, 2008
    6
    Good FPS, unfortunately this game begin to be quite old and Team fortress 2 is a way better.
  22. AdrianP.
    Jan 9, 2009
    7
    I think its a 7 because tbh its a really good game but it can have a lot more stuff added into it. This game would be perfect if it had some features like the ones in a game called warrock (im not saying all) but like the ability to prone and ability to lean so its harder to shoot someone sounds pretty cool. Hopefully they come out with a new cs thats similar but adds in new features and I think its a 7 because tbh its a really good game but it can have a lot more stuff added into it. This game would be perfect if it had some features like the ones in a game called warrock (im not saying all) but like the ability to prone and ability to lean so its harder to shoot someone sounds pretty cool. Hopefully they come out with a new cs thats similar but adds in new features and even perhaps new guns. Expand
  23. NicholasP
    Apr 15, 2009
    6
    First of all the netcode creates so many ridiculous interpolation moments where other players models are being show clientside several ms behind where the server records them, the game just doesn't sync everything well at all. Any area where someone is watching an entrance the player 'peeking' into the entrance has a huge advantage because they will see the person watching First of all the netcode creates so many ridiculous interpolation moments where other players models are being show clientside several ms behind where the server records them, the game just doesn't sync everything well at all. Any area where someone is watching an entrance the player 'peeking' into the entrance has a huge advantage because they will see the person watching before the player watching sees them, most of the time the 'peeking' player will already have time to stop and be ready to shoot before the watching person sees them. The models were made larger and the maps were filled with extra junk laying around, like barrels which are randomly placed everywhere along with many other little objects. This makes the game feels really cluttered and makes it easier to 'frag', half the time you can enter an area and have no need to aim because the models fill up the space. The 'updated' flashbangs are random in that you cant dodge them consistently which takes a lot from the game. Smoke grenades are explotable because in certain areas you can see shadows through them but not from the other side which is another flaw. Not to mention that the slow blooming of the smoke makes the game easier for the players watching the smoked area. The model movement speed especially walk speed is slowed down, which also makes the game easier. A combination of the larger models and tightly cramped map areas allows for a lot of random lucky bullets to headshot people when a player is running around spraying. Overall css is just a dumbed down, 'pretty', version of cs. I would recommend sticking with cs1.6 which is so much more of a polished and challenging game. Expand
  24. ChrisS
    Jul 3, 2009
    7
    CS:Source is a fun game, spectacular graphics.. But-Physical object are bugged (ex: Stand on a physical barrel you'll fall into it and the barrel will tip over.) NOOBS CAN PLAY THIS GAME WELL! Just a quick heads up if you're not a quick shot or a good one some noob will probably "run & spray" and take you down, or they'll crouch and the horrible recoil and spray in this CS:Source is a fun game, spectacular graphics.. But-Physical object are bugged (ex: Stand on a physical barrel you'll fall into it and the barrel will tip over.) NOOBS CAN PLAY THIS GAME WELL! Just a quick heads up if you're not a quick shot or a good one some noob will probably "run & spray" and take you down, or they'll crouch and the horrible recoil and spray in this game will cause them to pop your head.. Other than those few things, I pretty much love the game I mean I do play it competitively, although it always seems to make me mad that the random sprayer pops my dome 7/10. Expand
  25. Jamesb
    Mar 28, 2010
    7
    Graphics are pretty good. the rego or hitbox sucks really bad and it really needs to be fixed. Theres a alot of other ppl that go WTF when they miss when they was on the dot for a headshot. I think the counter strike source hacks make the game how it should be , like the aimbot and no recoil and u hit where ur aiming. Fuc game but its really unrealistic and hard to hit where u want. I Graphics are pretty good. the rego or hitbox sucks really bad and it really needs to be fixed. Theres a alot of other ppl that go WTF when they miss when they was on the dot for a headshot. I think the counter strike source hacks make the game how it should be , like the aimbot and no recoil and u hit where ur aiming. Fuc game but its really unrealistic and hard to hit where u want. I give it a 7. Expand
  26. Joel
    Nov 1, 2006
    5
    Mediocre shooter. Flashy graphics, outdated ragdoll and physics effects, and the worst ballistics/netcode I've ever contended with. I'd have an easier time picking things off with a Sten MK. II in reality. Yet, it remains to be one of the more popular games of its time.
  27. BenJ.
    Oct 17, 2006
    6
    It is a great game, but it is full of bugs, hitboxes dont work etc. I think I speak for most of the compeditive 1.6 players when I say that they have ruined the game, the physics are incomplete and at times an annoyance, the maps have been changed, walls are no longer spamable and it looks as tho valve is not going to improve these things. I highly doubt that source will make it to It is a great game, but it is full of bugs, hitboxes dont work etc. I think I speak for most of the compeditive 1.6 players when I say that they have ruined the game, the physics are incomplete and at times an annoyance, the maps have been changed, walls are no longer spamable and it looks as tho valve is not going to improve these things. I highly doubt that source will make it to competitions like cpl and wsvg because the compeditive side has been removed. Expand
  28. JohnYu
    Oct 24, 2006
    7
    All is fine except for the headshot box is bigger than the broadside of a barn.
  29. NiGhTmArEL33T
    May 12, 2006
    5
    I agree that its a great game, but it would have been greater if it didnt demand so much from your computer. With that i mean that you almost have to buy an "High-End computer" so be satisfied enough. I still enjoy CS 1.6 as much as i did about 4 years ago or so. But they both are great games. NiGhTmArE [SWEDEN)
  30. CraigK.
    May 18, 2006
    6
    Just dosent deliver enough excitement. Also dosent lan as well as i would like. DOD is much better in both aspects.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 90
    The game looks more beautiful than ever, with structures that feel weighty and solid and little visual touches throughout. The flash-bangs look fantastic.
  2. Valve has done a sterling job of moving a flagship franchise over to a new engine. Whilst the gameplay guts come over correct and intact, (which may disappoint some), Counter-Strike: Source is an even more engrossing and captivating experience, capable of sapping hours of your time, and even the worst "1337 g33zers" abusing voice chat can't spoil the fun you'll have with it.
  3. Counter-Strike: Source is, once you've gained a knack for it, the most consistently rewarding and surprising team-based shoot-'em-up available on the PC today. It's been dressed up nicely for its relaunch in 2004, but it wasn't broken, and Valve hasn't fixed it.