Counter-Strike: Source PC

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9840 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 5, 2010
    6
    Hardcorest of hardcores. I don't think there's a place for new players in this game. It's a test of speed and reaction. Most of maps are really nice and easy-to-learn. But i hated this game's community. At least three curse words in every sentence. If you play too good, you are declared a cheater and get kicked out of the server, if you play bad - team yells at you.
  2. May 5, 2011
    5
    Counter-Strike: Source
    Average User Score: 9.0
    10 Counter-Strike: Source Image this is a classic as we all know but overrated and those that play this 10 year old game should stay where they are. css is a loud mouth community of really good shooters (or possibly cheaters) because they are like internet jocks that like to taunt anybody who is level 1. there is no room for noobs in css so i
    Counter-Strike: Source
    Average User Score: 9.0
    10
    Counter-Strike: Source Image
    this is a classic as we all know but overrated and those that play this 10 year old game should stay where they are. css is a loud mouth community of really good shooters (or possibly cheaters) because they are like internet jocks that like to taunt anybody who is level 1. there is no room for noobs in css so i always discourage anyone new to fps games to stay away from css. it is a decent game but the community back when i played was filled with hackers who aimbot you coming around corners. was so ruined by hacks it might be better now but who knows. either way it set the benchmark for tactical game play so i give it 5 stars,
    Expand
  3. Dec 18, 2011
    6
    If you hate CS:S, it's because you love CS 1.6.
    If you hate CS, it's because you play CoD.
    But anyway, there are good things, and bad things about this game. First of all, the game's concept is good. The fact that when you die, you don't respawn, make it slightly more realistic. The game's concept hasn't changed at all since CS 1.6, which I am really glad of. I'm glad that Valve decided
    If you hate CS:S, it's because you love CS 1.6.
    If you hate CS, it's because you play CoD.
    But anyway, there are good things, and bad things about this game. First of all, the game's concept is good. The fact that when you die, you don't respawn, make it slightly more realistic. The game's concept hasn't changed at all since CS 1.6, which I am really glad of. I'm glad that Valve decided not to put in a cheesy story mode into a game that is meant to be for multiplayer, and perfecting your reflexes.
    However, this game can get horribly buggy at times. Reason? Well, sometimes you are right in front of your opponent, and shooting them heaps of times, but the game thinks that the bullets missed and the opponent doesn't lose HP, and they realise you're there and shoot you and you die. This happens to me about 20% of the time.
    Now if you thought that was bad, there's more. There has been an update to CS to try and make the AWP 'less overpowered', and sometimes, like written above, you shoot the opponent, what used to be a one-hit kill, became a miss. Quick-scoping screws up the accuracy, only scoping once screws up the accuracy, and when you miss, it's almost as if the game is screwing with you, and it makes you rage most of the time.
    However, overall, this game is very fun to come back to every now and then, and the CS franchise probably won't be ending any time soon (hoping that CS:GO won't be disappointing).
    As for the price, it could be a little overpriced. I got it on a sale, for $5, which is definitely worth it, but since the regular CS game can get a little boring without any kinds of mods, I reckon $10 or $15 is more of a reasonable price.
    The achievements are fun to get, though some of them can take a while (example: Kill 1000 people with the awp, or example: kill 10,000 enemies).
    I hate how in games like this, many of the achievements are to kill a whole tonne of enemies.
    Despite everything that I have said above, I would still recommend this game for everyone except people who hate FPSes.
    All CS needs now is a CS 2.0. That is what the CS franchise is lacking at the moment.
    Expand
  4. Nov 30, 2011
    6
    Undisputedly solid gaemplay mechanics, controls and strategy. Plenty of modded servers online as well as offline bots. What fascinates me is how the actual game itself- the round based gameplay- gets boring too quickly. Everything becomes too predictable because the maps are so linear. I spent barely any time playing the actual game and more time exploring mods and deathmatches and newUndisputedly solid gaemplay mechanics, controls and strategy. Plenty of modded servers online as well as offline bots. What fascinates me is how the actual game itself- the round based gameplay- gets boring too quickly. Everything becomes too predictable because the maps are so linear. I spent barely any time playing the actual game and more time exploring mods and deathmatches and new maps. Of course there are plenty of intense moments but even if this is the case, there's never anything new. You've seen everything there is to see before the gmae starts. Yes it's a good thing so that inexpereinced players can jump in and play, but I feel that with the recent updates Valve could have added new game modes instead of just adding achievements, stats tracking (a bit late for that after 6 years the game had been out) and the updated game engine. To really enjoy this game how it should be played you need to either play at a LAN party with people you know just for fun or if you play online make sure you're on a decent server. There's so many intolerant players that are arrogant and have no respect for newcomers. What's most difficult is finding servers to suit your ksill level. One full of noobs becomes boring, as does getting headshotted immediately by pros who shoot at the floor with AK47 and somehow kill you. It's definitely not a game that you just go out, buy, play and enjoy. Expand
  5. TrentJarrell
    Jan 8, 2007
    6
    The game USED to be a really good game. Until it switched to Steam. And Steam trying to add all of these new updates and all it does is make the game worse. Ex. Hit Reg/Dmg Boxes/And getting stuck on things that arnt even there. Besides all of that it is a really gg.
  6. Sep 27, 2012
    7
    I purchased this game about 3 weeks ago. I can for sure say that it is a fun, action-packed FPS. However, there is a much larger emphasis on staying alive than in a COD Free For All or a COD Team Deathmatch, which makes it much more hardcore. Note: these people have been playing it for years. I have spent over 50 hours on the game and I do not even compare to the experts (I can barelyI purchased this game about 3 weeks ago. I can for sure say that it is a fun, action-packed FPS. However, there is a much larger emphasis on staying alive than in a COD Free For All or a COD Team Deathmatch, which makes it much more hardcore. Note: these people have been playing it for years. I have spent over 50 hours on the game and I do not even compare to the experts (I can barely break even K/D ratio). CS:GO is a more noob friendly game (albeit not as friendly as something like COD or TF2). Also, CS does not have Free for all mode, so it isn't as chaotic as a small FFA map with 30 players on COD, however GunGame (Arms Race in CS:GO) becomes chaotic as there is no respawn time-- IMO very fun. Honestly I think CSS is better than CS:GO, but it is really personal preference (I think COD fans would like GO better). Expand
  7. Dec 10, 2011
    5
    I've briefly tried out this game at my friend's house, and it was decent. The game is engaging; you can buy, customize weapons, plant bombs, and just go raging all over (and die). However if you are noob this game will be very hard to play; like "AA3" there are no respawns and it's all really a cycle of kill-shoot-kill. If you're a obsessive valve gamer or a critic who loves the fps genreI've briefly tried out this game at my friend's house, and it was decent. The game is engaging; you can buy, customize weapons, plant bombs, and just go raging all over (and die). However if you are noob this game will be very hard to play; like "AA3" there are no respawns and it's all really a cycle of kill-shoot-kill. If you're a obsessive valve gamer or a critic who loves the fps genre I might recommend the game. But remember; you will drop the game in a few hours. Expand
  8. DanielJohansson
    Jul 1, 2007
    5
    my game dosent work i buyed it but after i have installed and start the game im just coming to a damn shop and it says that i must buy it. but i have played it with my coussin he have it to and for him it works and he don't now why my game is like it is , but liked it, but it don't works so, and if someone nows how i can fix it so please send an -mail to tt95-hockey@hotmail.com
  9. ArkadiyIssayev
    Feb 20, 2008
    7
    This game is super and has a good graphic! But it my favorite game. All i hate is hackers. i want this game to be protected by hacks! I like some mods it good but it not hack at all it just make you gun look different! If you want to see the model or to make for you too, here the link http://www.fpsbanana.com/skins/games/2 it hard to understand for you maybe! Enjoy it!!! It my favoriteThis game is super and has a good graphic! But it my favorite game. All i hate is hackers. i want this game to be protected by hacks! I like some mods it good but it not hack at all it just make you gun look different! If you want to see the model or to make for you too, here the link http://www.fpsbanana.com/skins/games/2 it hard to understand for you maybe! Enjoy it!!! It my favorite game too! I love those people who make this games! I want to thanks to those people too!! Expand
  10. meandhim
    May 14, 2006
    6
    Great graphics, gameplay was lost from CS 1.6, the more upgrades the worse the game seems to get... Sort the hitboxes and make it harder to use AWP/Scout etc and it could be 9/10.
  11. Nov 1, 2011
    5
    Counter Strike is a good multiplayer shooter. You probably will find hours of fun if you enjoy online shooter game. The mechanics of the game is simple but works well. Players purchase weapons and accessories with money they have received. Money is received in portions determined by the server each round plus bonuses for the following: team win, kills, completed objectives, and otherCounter Strike is a good multiplayer shooter. You probably will find hours of fun if you enjoy online shooter game. The mechanics of the game is simple but works well. Players purchase weapons and accessories with money they have received. Money is received in portions determined by the server each round plus bonuses for the following: team win, kills, completed objectives, and other miscellaneous factors. The game does offers a great depth of strategy for each individual player and teamwork is fairly important in it. The major failure of the game is it's one of the most hacked games ever. Because the the engine is open-source, modders creates lots of hacks to automatically aim their weapons for them. But right now they probably already moved to team fortress 2, so the game is still worth to pick up. Expand
  12. Nov 14, 2011
    5
    i know im pretty late but seems as many people still play this game im going to put my review in, i picked it up from steam becasue a freind urged me i should and i wish i hadent, it seems people just play it becasue its counterstrike and the only reason its still alive is becasue people have modded it and tweaked it so much, it may be the most played fps in the world but it definatelyi know im pretty late but seems as many people still play this game im going to put my review in, i picked it up from steam becasue a freind urged me i should and i wish i hadent, it seems people just play it becasue its counterstrike and the only reason its still alive is becasue people have modded it and tweaked it so much, it may be the most played fps in the world but it definately isnt the most fun Expand
  13. Jun 25, 2015
    5
    I laugh a lot when i see that this **** page says that the ccs is better than the cs go,css better than cs:go JAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJA
  14. WesleyyL.
    May 6, 2006
    7
    I don't like you have to wait for a next round to begin if your dead... Just when you're warmed up you get out of your ritthim cuz of the waitin'
  15. ManiF.
    Jun 2, 2006
    7
    on my PC the newest cs-update has caused a bad game performance!
  16. JamesK.
    May 26, 2007
    7
    Good graphics, solid platform and server browsing. Gameplay is solid enough, at its core its the same, but then engine lends itself to poor hit detection. The rampant hacking and immature nature of the community bring the experience down. Overall a good, quick online shooter that lacks in depth.
  17. StevenC.
    Apr 25, 2008
    5
    It's bad because it doesn't have the aspects of the 1.6 game, it's thrown off a lot from the first game so it isn't really good at all.
  18. DanG
    May 18, 2009
    6
    Been playing since 07, and the game is pretty fun, only thing is that a lot of the shots that should have landed are wayy off, and the random sprayer bullets are the ones that land headshots. Its an ok game and worth a try, but don't be surprised when that shot you made that should have been a headshot didn't land, and instead the sprayer from across the map headshots you.
  19. TeodorIkonomov
    May 21, 2006
    5
    The Best Game Ever
  20. TomReynolds
    May 7, 2006
    6
    The game in itself is pretty decent, but the cheaters and hackers and mismatched weapons can ruin a game in one round.
  21. NikoM.
    Aug 23, 2006
    7
    Great game, i would give it a 9-10 but there are so much little bugs like hitboxes etc.
  22. Caddy
    Oct 5, 2007
    7
    This game offers excellent time wastage, giving good players excitement and fun. If your new, stick to it because in a few months you might start enjoying it as well. Very dissapointed with the Physics engine, bouncing off barrels and cabinets, not to mention being able to campin in one. I find the game is extremely laggy and registering my shots is unbearably painfull. Flashbangs blind This game offers excellent time wastage, giving good players excitement and fun. If your new, stick to it because in a few months you might start enjoying it as well. Very dissapointed with the Physics engine, bouncing off barrels and cabinets, not to mention being able to campin in one. I find the game is extremely laggy and registering my shots is unbearably painfull. Flashbangs blind you when they land 10ft behind you, Headshots are more rampant than the hostages Ai, maybe camping slaps should be improvised to allow minimal time wastage due to those extreme players who love to awp... or just p90 one position. I now enjoy this game becuase I have played it so much, but I was very close many times to just deleting it and watching tv. Anti cheat is good, Anti hack is better, raciscm and derogitry remarks should be banable and inexcusable. Out of the many fps shooters I have played, this one is fantastic, yet it can still leave me very, very dissapointed. I'm glad I purchased it though. Expand
  23. AndrewMacKay
    Mar 5, 2007
    7
    Good game. HL2 engine makes it. Very little has actually been changed from 1.6, and what has changed isn't necessary better. Flashes are very poor from a competitive standpoint. Awp and Deagle have been made better comparatively when they were fine in 1.6 (surprise! everyone's favorite.) The character models are much more slugish when they run, and when they are shot, they areGood game. HL2 engine makes it. Very little has actually been changed from 1.6, and what has changed isn't necessary better. Flashes are very poor from a competitive standpoint. Awp and Deagle have been made better comparatively when they were fine in 1.6 (surprise! everyone's favorite.) The character models are much more slugish when they run, and when they are shot, they are unphazed by it. Source is defintely one of the best games out there now, but could use just a bit of balancing that would make it a leagues above. Expand
  24. Novi4ekNone
    Mar 6, 2007
    7
    good game
  25. NathanV.
    Jul 5, 2007
    7
    Good game, decent graphics, but quite a few cheaters and physics flaws that dampen the games full potential, if some more bugs were fixed it be an easy 10.
  26. YiuC.H.
    Aug 9, 2007
    7
    Although superb graphics and the gameplay from counter-strike is retained, the game movements in counters-strike source is not as smooth as counter-strike, where animations and movements are rather stiff, and the realism in graphics could be a drag for some slower PCs and for online play.
  27. FredK.
    Sep 12, 2007
    6
    Good GFX and fun if not very simple gameplay and can be very enjoyable. If your new to the FPS genre then this will surfice but there is alot of better options out there that are less frustraitng. but If you can't tolerate campers, hackers, excesively loud music, 13 year old kids, pornographic sprays, flashbang spam, the AWP, The Desert Eagle, terrible hitboxes and the need to Good GFX and fun if not very simple gameplay and can be very enjoyable. If your new to the FPS genre then this will surfice but there is alot of better options out there that are less frustraitng. but If you can't tolerate campers, hackers, excesively loud music, 13 year old kids, pornographic sprays, flashbang spam, the AWP, The Desert Eagle, terrible hitboxes and the need to download something every time you join a server then this game is probably not for you. Expand
  28. JoepH.
    Oct 4, 2008
    6
    Allthough it's nothing bad, the pace is a bit too slow. CS 1.6 was fun, fast and encouraged normal gameplay. CSS however, punishes rushing and fast play. With everyone camping till the last minute, and than suddenly killing each other with 5 shots (if you shoot more your aim is gone), the fun was gone for me.
  29. AlanV.
    Mar 17, 2008
    6
    A poor, poor update to an amaizing game. Known as "CS for n00bs", any real CS player will be disappointed at the core physics changes, such as weapons that are too accurate or inaccurate, over or under powered, and maps that are simply lack the old counter strike feel. Put your big boy pants on and go old school with the pros!
  30. OupsV.
    Jun 1, 2008
    6
    Good FPS, unfortunately this game begin to be quite old and Team fortress 2 is a way better.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 90
    The game looks more beautiful than ever, with structures that feel weighty and solid and little visual touches throughout. The flash-bangs look fantastic.
  2. Valve has done a sterling job of moving a flagship franchise over to a new engine. Whilst the gameplay guts come over correct and intact, (which may disappoint some), Counter-Strike: Source is an even more engrossing and captivating experience, capable of sapping hours of your time, and even the worst "1337 g33zers" abusing voice chat can't spoil the fun you'll have with it.
  3. Counter-Strike: Source is, once you've gained a knack for it, the most consistently rewarding and surprising team-based shoot-'em-up available on the PC today. It's been dressed up nicely for its relaunch in 2004, but it wasn't broken, and Valve hasn't fixed it.