CrimeCraft PC

  • Publisher: Vogster
  • Release Date: Aug 25, 2009
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 120
  2. Negative: 47 out of 120
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    Crimecraft did alot of things right and alot of things wrong. Having put nearly 1000 hours into the game over the course of a few years I can tell you that the game was better a few years ago before Vogster butchered it trying to lessen player turn out by dumbing down the difficulty and complexity of the game. Anyone who played orginally will solemnly admit this to you. That being said,Crimecraft did alot of things right and alot of things wrong. Having put nearly 1000 hours into the game over the course of a few years I can tell you that the game was better a few years ago before Vogster butchered it trying to lessen player turn out by dumbing down the difficulty and complexity of the game. Anyone who played orginally will solemnly admit this to you. That being said, the actually gameplay itself has not changed much and is still alot of fun to go back to now and then. This was the first shooter/match game I played that had a social lobby in it and I believe all shooters should follow suit. Expand
  2. Millertime
    Sep 4, 2009
    2
    Don't waste your time or money. This game comes close to being good, and actually was fun for me for about a week. I hit level 22 in that week, of a max 50. Because of the pre-order headstart and the fact that I didn't get in the game for a few days after retail release, I was behind the curve on leveling, even playing frequently. With other players reaching the top levels it Don't waste your time or money. This game comes close to being good, and actually was fun for me for about a week. I hit level 22 in that week, of a max 50. Because of the pre-order headstart and the fact that I didn't get in the game for a few days after retail release, I was behind the curve on leveling, even playing frequently. With other players reaching the top levels it has become obvious that the PvP in this game is not skill based as promised, but based on character level and equipment as in most MMOs. Your weapons are already less effective than what a high level character has access to, this is made worse by higher level characters being able to stack damage resists to further widen the gap. This wouldn't be such an issue if there were level divisions in PvP, but the only divisions are 1-6 and 7-50, so once you reach level 7 you will randomly matched against players of all levels. This is extremely furstrating as you just get killed over and over regardless of how well you play, because you can shoot someone in the back several times and they live to turn around and one-shot you due to the level gap. Levelling up is painful as the PvE is pretty much broken, and only offers two modes. PvP is faster to level up, IF you do well in a match. Unfortunately it's getting harder to do well in PvP as the average player level increases. In a week or two it will be extremely brutal to newbies, and the player numbers are already very low. Can you believe 300 players online at peak times, for a game that's been out just about two weeks? Expand
  3. AndreaM
    Dec 7, 2009
    3
    A nice concept running on a great engine like the Unreal Engine 3 is, ruined by technical issues and a repetitive gameplay where you repeat the same quest over and over and earn so little that your time seem completely wasted. And now there is a free account, yes it's obviously a trial (where you can't craft, can't join guilds/gangs, ...) but when the entire game is based A nice concept running on a great engine like the Unreal Engine 3 is, ruined by technical issues and a repetitive gameplay where you repeat the same quest over and over and earn so little that your time seem completely wasted. And now there is a free account, yes it's obviously a trial (where you can't craft, can't join guilds/gangs, ...) but when the entire game is based on PVP quest and without a premium account you can't kill anyone because they have overpowered items ... it's worse than you might think... It's a game in a beta stage, i think that they are making gamers pay for a beta. That's my experience on CrimeCraft. Expand
  4. MikeL
    Oct 30, 2009
    5
    it's not an awful game. It's not broken or ill-managed or carelessly developed. The graphics are around an 8.8 compared to current games, the animation is top notch, the sound design works very well; all of the game mechanics work really well. So, what's wrong with it? This game is what would happen if Planetside and World of Warcraft had a "child" and it grew up and became it's not an awful game. It's not broken or ill-managed or carelessly developed. The graphics are around an 8.8 compared to current games, the animation is top notch, the sound design works very well; all of the game mechanics work really well. So, what's wrong with it? This game is what would happen if Planetside and World of Warcraft had a "child" and it grew up and became a chartered accountant, taking after both of them, but lacking all of the inspiration and fun that made his parents so likable and a success. I played this game for a few weeks and then moved on out of boredom, it's just not very fun, there is no variety at all. You can choose to play PvP or PvE but grinding in PvE is monotonous, and you never really get anywhere, the npcs level with you so only the best equipped players are successful in PvE. The skills they offer are boring and under-powered so PvP is decided mostly on who has the bigger gun. Most games consist of two people; people with Heavy Machine Guns who just hold down the fire button the whole time, or snipers who find their favorite spot and camp the whole game away; the game is balanced so those two strategies are the most effective, with grenade launchers in third. All in all there are only maybe 25 different maps, probably less and each of them is about the size of a standard Call of Duty MP map. All other things besides, the auctions, crafting, gangs etc. The core game play just isn't that fun, it doesn't have anything that makes me want to come back to it later. Expand
  5. StephenG.
    Oct 4, 2009
    9
    Obviously, Whoever Jared is hasn't actually played the game. I payed $50 and have 2 months free game time. It's $10 a month to play after that. So, his only complaint after which, he rated it a 0 is a lie. You get two months free when you purchase it at full price. Now, the MMO content is a lot of fun. You can create anything from the clothes you wear to the modifications of the Obviously, Whoever Jared is hasn't actually played the game. I payed $50 and have 2 months free game time. It's $10 a month to play after that. So, his only complaint after which, he rated it a 0 is a lie. You get two months free when you purchase it at full price. Now, the MMO content is a lot of fun. You can create anything from the clothes you wear to the modifications of the guns that can be created. The PvP is a blast, and I keep coming back for more... and I've been playing for over a month. I don't really feel as if I'm grinding for levels, as I do with other MMOs, but my character is advancing and becoming better. I honestly think this is one of the best games I have played in a long time. I have only come along two problems with the game, one of which the developers can do nothing about, and that is a bunch of whiny people playing the game. The only real complaint I have come across is that I think a passive skill shouldn't have to be equipped, but I guess that's arguable. Anyway, there's tons of stuff to be crafted, a persistent Auction House with fluctuating prices, and tons of Third Person Shooter action to be had... All for $50 for two months of free play online and only $10 thereafter. What more can you ask for? Expand
  6. MPM.
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    This game has loads of potential and a very fun and addicting combat system. The interface between the city/lobby and the action is smooth and things look great. I have to comment on "Jared J," who gave the game a 0 because he never learned to read. The 1st 2 months do not cost 19.99. The first 2 months are free, and included in the price of the game, which is now like 30-40 bucks. After This game has loads of potential and a very fun and addicting combat system. The interface between the city/lobby and the action is smooth and things look great. I have to comment on "Jared J," who gave the game a 0 because he never learned to read. The 1st 2 months do not cost 19.99. The first 2 months are free, and included in the price of the game, which is now like 30-40 bucks. After the 2 months you pay 9.99 or 4.99 (with less functions). Strong game with a good future. Expand
  7. AnonymousMC
    Sep 18, 2009
    10
    This game is definatly on my list, the reason I give it a 10/10 without even playing is the fact that the videos and comments are exeptional and this game deserves what it gets although I found that the only thing wrong is paying monthly but then again, a lot of good games don't come free.
  8. JackK.
    Oct 3, 2009
    8
    This game is -not- as awful as most folks say it is. Yes, it's a little tough to get into. Yes, the devs put it out there with a downright hubristic money-making scheme. No, it's not worth paying full-price plus subscription PLUS cash shop money. I think that this game's major downfall is that they tried to pull too much cash out of a notoriously tightwaddy community; PC This game is -not- as awful as most folks say it is. Yes, it's a little tough to get into. Yes, the devs put it out there with a downright hubristic money-making scheme. No, it's not worth paying full-price plus subscription PLUS cash shop money. I think that this game's major downfall is that they tried to pull too much cash out of a notoriously tightwaddy community; PC gamers don't like paying for things they could have for free, and in CrimeCraft's case, the game was not compelling enough to make a real impact on gamers' wallets. It is, however, going free to play. This, I believe, will be a major turning point for CrimeCraft; I hope they pull things up again, as they certainly deserve a shot at getting along now that they've realized their most crippling mistake. Expand
  9. BeckyS
    Aug 29, 2009
    9
    The controls of this game are pretty easy to get used to. The graphics are unreal and the ammount of weapons is a definite plus. Shooting and player movement is excellent. Forming your gang is an easy process, and communicaiton within the game is great. I am kicking my brother's butt every day, HAHA. I think he's about to leave my gang and create his own. Definetely worth every penny.
  10. MookieB
    Sep 10, 2009
    4
    Poor game - gets stale in a matter of days. Why they expect anyone to pay for a retail box, monthly fee, and micro-transactions is beyond comprehension. There has been a maximum of 350 users online in PEAK times, on the one and only server. This game will not last to see 2010, save your money and time.
  11. Jimmy
    Nov 13, 2009
    2
    This game is going free 2 play.. but it is still pretty crappy. I'm guessing the hacks will set in when it goes F2P as no one will care if they use aimbots at that point. The original money scam was pretty bad.. I think they've figured that part out already though. I would compare this game to Battlefield Heroes, but I think BF:H is a bit better and priced more realistically for This game is going free 2 play.. but it is still pretty crappy. I'm guessing the hacks will set in when it goes F2P as no one will care if they use aimbots at that point. The original money scam was pretty bad.. I think they've figured that part out already though. I would compare this game to Battlefield Heroes, but I think BF:H is a bit better and priced more realistically for the content it offers. Expand
  12. ErickN
    Dec 14, 2009
    3
    Now i play a lot of games, this one by far was such a dissappointment. Its supposed to be a persistent mmo but well it isnt very persistent. the graphics are decent, nothing top notch but acceptable. the gameplay though is wat kills the entirety of the game. everythin is based on PvE or PvP, for those who do not know wat that it, you pretty much load into the game, walk to certain people Now i play a lot of games, this one by far was such a dissappointment. Its supposed to be a persistent mmo but well it isnt very persistent. the graphics are decent, nothing top notch but acceptable. the gameplay though is wat kills the entirety of the game. everythin is based on PvE or PvP, for those who do not know wat that it, you pretty much load into the game, walk to certain people who will put you into another loading screen where there is a short list of multiplayer options such as team death match, snatch, or co-op. then you lay for a few minutes to just be put into another loading screen, the missions you recieve consist of gettin so many kills or talking to people, its not very exciting. and dont think im one of those people whom did not give the game a try. i got my character to lever 30 and said the hell with it. you'll have better luck spending your money on saints row or gta4. atleast those games have fun missions and very well played out multiplayer Expand
  13. BrockW
    Oct 8, 2009
    0
    I fell that this was the worst MMOG I have ever played. I gave it a good go but after a month of playing it felt more like a bad FPS with unblanced wepones and no players. The crafting was unrewarding and loot just sucked. I ended my eve subscribtion to try this game becuse it was a FPS MMOG but i found larger games in CS and Call of Duty WAW and btw the leveling is a lot better in WAW I fell that this was the worst MMOG I have ever played. I gave it a good go but after a month of playing it felt more like a bad FPS with unblanced wepones and no players. The crafting was unrewarding and loot just sucked. I ended my eve subscribtion to try this game becuse it was a FPS MMOG but i found larger games in CS and Call of Duty WAW and btw the leveling is a lot better in WAW and i don't have to pay monthly for it. I wish i could get my money back for the month i didn't play at least. Expand
  14. BeckS.
    Aug 25, 2009
    8
    Games pretty tight. Controls are solid. Feeling like I'm a little weak but i got a few levels between me and the guys I'm fightin so it's cool. Looks promising.
  15. PeterE
    Aug 27, 2009
    9
    I was hesitant to pick up this game at first, but I found that it is really a very fun and enjoyable experience. There is much to do in "Sunrise City" nd a lot of the people that were playing in the game were older, instead of the typical snot-nosed tweens that love to play 1st/3rd person games, swearing and calling people names. I liked the fact that CrimeCraft seems to have drawn an I was hesitant to pick up this game at first, but I found that it is really a very fun and enjoyable experience. There is much to do in "Sunrise City" nd a lot of the people that were playing in the game were older, instead of the typical snot-nosed tweens that love to play 1st/3rd person games, swearing and calling people names. I liked the fact that CrimeCraft seems to have drawn an older crowd. I also think that the graphics in the game are top noihe for a PC game. Granted the specs to run the game are high, the fact that the characters are all dynamically lit and run around the environment so smoothly is really cool. I was happy to pick up CrimeCraft and I'm excited to see what they do with the game over the next two months. If dramatic improvements are made during the two months trial period that comes with the game, I'll be playing this one for a long time. Expand
  16. NaydenH
    Aug 29, 2009
    9
    I bought this game, and while loading, read up on some reviews, finding most of them to be very negative. After playing the game I can tell that all of the negative comments I read so far were seemed untrue.. The graphics are exceptional, and the gameplay is great. PvP is awesome, and even PvE is cool, which is saying a lot, cause I hate playing bots, but the AI is actually pretty good. I bought this game, and while loading, read up on some reviews, finding most of them to be very negative. After playing the game I can tell that all of the negative comments I read so far were seemed untrue.. The graphics are exceptional, and the gameplay is great. PvP is awesome, and even PvE is cool, which is saying a lot, cause I hate playing bots, but the AI is actually pretty good. Maps are well thought out and the world is kind of cool. Customization is definitely there and extensive, and they've even been adding things steadily. At this point I believe that negative reviews come from people that have never played the game. Guys that like action and tough fight should definitely buy it and play it now. Join the fun! Expand
  17. TimD
    Sep 9, 2009
    9
    OK, First off this is a game for SHOOTER fans who are looking for a bit more than the run and gun shooter. This is not a game for the WOW crowd or any other standard MMORPG player. Now with that out of the way, Crime Craft is a very solid game that offers just the right amounts of RPG but doesnt sacrafice the Shooter aspect of the game. Anyone who has ever played DEUS EX will have a soft OK, First off this is a game for SHOOTER fans who are looking for a bit more than the run and gun shooter. This is not a game for the WOW crowd or any other standard MMORPG player. Now with that out of the way, Crime Craft is a very solid game that offers just the right amounts of RPG but doesnt sacrafice the Shooter aspect of the game. Anyone who has ever played DEUS EX will have a soft spot for this game. Being that this game is in its infancy it is expected that the game will have growing pains but this game plays so well and has so much potential for expansion that any complaints are minor in nature. Bottom line is that the success of this game will rest heavily in getting people to play it and then to support this game with alot of Downloadable Content. Expand
  18. DougL
    Oct 22, 2009
    5
    CrimeCraft looked promising. The videos, the artwork, the conceptual articles...they all portrayed a game that didn't come out in the final product. The game that subscribers actually got is somewhat compelling, in small doses. My biggest problem with the game was that the concept wasn't even nearly done. The world that the players live in is supposed to be somewhat CrimeCraft looked promising. The videos, the artwork, the conceptual articles...they all portrayed a game that didn't come out in the final product. The game that subscribers actually got is somewhat compelling, in small doses. My biggest problem with the game was that the concept wasn't even nearly done. The world that the players live in is supposed to be somewhat post-apocalyptic. Sure...I guess it is, when there're no players and a sparse dusting of NPCs in-world. The buildings look too nice, the advertising (which, if it gets the devs money...they deserve their pay too) is too well put together. It's almost as if it's a world just...without a digital infrastructure. And that's it. From the intro video (which is well done, to credit Vogster) players just get...confused. If they want to save the game, it could take a complete overhaul! Give players a game that's consistent with the art we see and is also in-line with the keywords upon which the game was marketed and we'll give you a little more time to smooth it out. Right now, it's just disappointing. I expected more. Expand
  19. JaredJ
    Aug 26, 2009
    0
    "Awesome!" That's what ran inside my mind when I saw this. I was able to enjoy a game that lets you create your own gang and other stuff that has not been done before outside of a flash game. After two hours of installing I was ready to play...I was not ready to hit play and be directed to a site asking me to pay ANOTHER $19.99 for two months of play! THIS IS ABSURED!! I refunded it "Awesome!" That's what ran inside my mind when I saw this. I was able to enjoy a game that lets you create your own gang and other stuff that has not been done before outside of a flash game. After two hours of installing I was ready to play...I was not ready to hit play and be directed to a site asking me to pay ANOTHER $19.99 for two months of play! THIS IS ABSURED!! I refunded it not even four hours after purchase. Do not purchase this, there are plenty of games online that are the EXACT same thing and they are free. Who wants to pay $49.99 for a game, THEN pay ANOTHER $19.99 for only TWO MONTHS OF PLAY!! THEN, IT'S $9.99 FOR EACH MONTH!! This is would have made a great Single Player game. Expand
  20. DarthN.
    Sep 18, 2009
    2
    Do not buy this game, it's a complete ripoff. First, it has zero content. Instances that are no better than free mods you'll find for Counter Strike Source, and it's a micro-payment game where you have to pay real world money for buffs that give you an edge in PVP. On top of that, it's a subscription game. It's a complete lose, front, middle and back.
  21. Jul 26, 2011
    0
    My name is Devin Waaland and i was a longtime player of crimecraft i have played since right after closed beta, just about 2 years of my life have gone into this game. I am a highly respected member of the community, I was a member of the players council. And i host a youtube channel with 50 + videos and over 25,000 views all for crimecraft. I have given my life to this game and tried myMy name is Devin Waaland and i was a longtime player of crimecraft i have played since right after closed beta, just about 2 years of my life have gone into this game. I am a highly respected member of the community, I was a member of the players council. And i host a youtube channel with 50 + videos and over 25,000 views all for crimecraft. I have given my life to this game and tried my hardest to encourage all players and help all players. Recently I was wrongfully banned from this game for ever...... for what u ask?? Cheating,Hacking ...... NOT AT ALL. I was banned for life for asking questions about the GM'S and how they are abusing there power all the time. They tried to hide my posts in the forums and tried to mute my in game chat. After trying many times and getting many warnings from them to stop. I listened to my heart and couldnt let it keep going on without saying something. It started with 1 post with no slander or wrong information it was full of actual facts and screenshots for proof of wrongdoings. Instead of letting the community voice there opinion they needlessly deleted all posts concerning gm moderation and tried to hide and surpress all evidence. I was not about to stand there an let this go on so i caused a stir as they called it in the community trying to let the people see the truth. Apperently they dont want the truth to be known so i was permimentaly banned from the game and continously needlessly muted. Here is a link to my rant video best explaining what has transpired in the past few days.

    ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=80ZirBy5J8g )

    U have no idea how it feels to love a game with your soul and it be ripped from u needlessly just for asking questions and wondering why i nvr got answers.
    Expand
  22. Jul 3, 2013
    5
    This could be a really nice game, unfortunately, it isn't. Every time I play this game it feels like something is lacking or that somethings are way out of place. The shooting is nice but the rest is very inconsistent. There are a lot of balance issues because of the premium stuff and the matchmaking is a bit weird...That's pretty much CrimeCraft in a nutshell: Inconsistent and weird...
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. The standard PvP gameplay can be a lot of fun, and the RPG elements are better than expected. But much of what is offered is available in most shooters with free multiplayer.
  2. There are fun moments to be had, but it feels like a combination of different games forced together. There isn't anything terribly unique about it, and frankly, it really needs more game play content outside of the instances.
  3. You'd think that a "persistent world next-gen shooter" would have a persistent world. What you get instead is a static universe filled with traditional non-player character vendors, crafting facilities, auction houses, and a distinct lack of adventure.