Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    The Republic takes Crusader Kings II into a new dimension, where money is the most important “value”. This expansion is a necessary step for the gameplay evolution and a good opportunity to play the game one more time.
  2. Feb 27, 2013
    85
    CK2 is gaining a devoted following for its atmosphere and depth of gameplay. This expansion adds to both, so is a welcome addition. If you like CK2, you'll be well-served spending the 10 bucks this expansion costs.
  3. Feb 18, 2013
    80
    The Republic adds some good content to Crusader Kings II, focusing on trading and internal plots. It's definitely worth its price.
  4. Feb 4, 2013
    79
    It’s a welcome addition to the Crusader Kings family, but The Republic can’t quite overthrow its liege game’s throne.
  5. Jan 27, 2013
    85
    The Republic is a great niche add-on. If Paradox continues to work on Crusader Kings 2 in this vein, eventually fans will be able to create a medieval grand strategy of their dreams by mixing and matching its expansions.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    Deceivingly addictive and surprisingly educational. Very similar to other Paradox Games. I've lost many hours to playing this. You will findDeceivingly addictive and surprisingly educational. Very similar to other Paradox Games. I've lost many hours to playing this. You will find it hard to put this game down! Full Review »
  2. Feb 15, 2013
    7
    You can now actually play a republic instead of having to "cheat" by a console save/load method. The question is, was it worth it? IYou can now actually play a republic instead of having to "cheat" by a console save/load method. The question is, was it worth it? I personally like the expansion, as it gives a couple more hours of playing and CKII is a decent game that's sure. But I can't help the feeling that this should be an integral part of the game since the very beginning, not a 10 euro expansion. Sure, you get some new game mechanics and a whole new style of running an empire of your own but it's still the same game. So if you love the game, go for it as you won't regret it. If you just like it, save the money for something else. Full Review »
  3. Jan 19, 2013
    8
    It brought me back to Crusader Kings II one more time. The Merchant Republics offer a new twist on the game. If you love and still play CKIIIt brought me back to Crusader Kings II one more time. The Merchant Republics offer a new twist on the game. If you love and still play CKII you should get this. Full Review »