User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 89
  2. Negative: 11 out of 89

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Cry of Fear was an audacious Half-Life 1 mod that turned into a full fledged game for release on Steam about a year after the release. In short, this game is great. This game contains a gripping story of a young man named Simon who is lost in himself and struggling to survive when monsters appear. Cry of Fear contains a single player campaign that claims to take about eight hours time, but for my first playthrough I was about 12-16 hours of gametime. The gameplay is like most survival horror games, but you are limited, you don't have a briefcase like Resident Evil 4. you do have a backpack and your pockets but you cannot carry everything, forcing you to make sacrifices on what you want to carry and what you NEED to carry, this aspect helps produce more tension when trying to figure out, should I keep this gun even though I have one clip? Or take the melee weapon and key and continue on? The controls work well, and it's not clunky or difficult, except one section of the game which required platforming and was my sole problem with the game.

    Cry of Fear's atmosphere is great, the dark corridors, the creepy forests to a tight packed school, the environments are varied and have a great way of getting you in the mood and into the game. Another aspect of the atmosphere in sound, Cry of Fear has not only a wonderful soundtrack with scary, dark tracks to beautiful melodies, but the sound in the game. Whether they are foot steps around the corner edging closer or bumping on the walls or a scream in the distance, Cry of Fear definitely full fills the scare factor.

    On the topic of features, Cry of Fear has a good lengthed single player campaign, not like a Slender game that takes about 20-40 minutes, this game takes hours. There is also another secret campaign after beating the first, then a completely separate co-op campaign, and multiple custom campaigns along with a custom campaign and map creator that is intuitive and easy to use. Not to mention Cry of Fear's "Suicide Mode" which is basically survival, you kill enemies to decrease the amount of time on the clock to reach zero and survive, it's difficult, but fun and you can do it with friends.

    All in all, Cry of Fear is an amazing package, you get so much content and a wondrous game that was made very well for such a small team, Team Psykskallar did a great job, and did I mention this game is absolutely free on Steam? Go play and have fun! 9/10
    Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Cry of Fear is a horror game developed by Team Psykskallar. It has a good storyline. Good game mechanics .The atmosphere is dense. The jumpscares were there at the right time. I like the sound effects and the music. About 8-10 hours of gameplay. Good replay value .I find that some of the monsters get quite annoying later in the game. The graphics doesn't stand up to todays standards, but that is easily forgotten. It's one of those horror games that you will remember for quite some time. IT'S ALSO FREE ON STEAM! Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    Free games already gain a huge score for that purpose, but few free games have such an original and thrilling game as Cry of Fear. It was made as a psychological horror game, based of the Source Engine and by god; is it fantastic. The atmosphere, pacing and scares of this game are better than some of the recent entries in AAA horror games like Silent Hill Downpour or FEAR 3. If you can, purchase Cry of Fear and you won't regret it; apart from wetting yourself. Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    I remember buying Half-life just so I could play this mod (but now its a free standalone). Amazing graphics (for half life), amazing story, amazing endings, amazing setting and good gameplay. Also, it's how I got my username! Polisbil and Kaniner.
  5. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    One of the scariest game I ever played. The atmosphere is stressful, the monsters are creepy. If you liked Amnesia, there is a good chance you will like this game. I cant believe this game is free! On a less positive note, it can be hard to find your way sometimes, the level design has some flaws and the platform part can be very frustrating. But this don't affect the general experience of this brilliant game (as long as you play it in the dark with headphones on of course). The devs did an amazing work. Expand
  6. Apr 12, 2014
    9
    Cry of Fear is a Half-life 1 mod made into a full game and put on steam via greenlight. Do not let the graphics of this game fool you, This game will have your heart racing before you even encounter the first enemy. It uses ambiance to put the player on edge perfectly. If you prefer to have something jump out at you and make you scream like a little girl this game also has many jump scares. Its difficult enough to keep the player interested, but not so hard it makes you want to rip your hair out. This game also features a Coop campaign that allows up to 4 players, while shorter than the main story line the fear factor is still there. If your into story this game does have a good story line, enough to keep the player interested in how the story will proceed, but doesn't bore the player with it either. Being free this game is well worth the money if your feeling a bit too safe about walking in the hallways of your own house. Expand
  7. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    Cry of fear is a terrifying yet still beautiful masterpiece. The atmosphere is perfect. The story is good (and sad at some point) It has some really beautiful moments (even for game with such a bad graphic) Cry of fear is more than a horror game... Its an art game. The only negative thing about the game is the high amount of bugs.

    but all in all... Cry of fear is an amazing piece of
    art. GO PLAY IT NOW! Expand
  8. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    Cry of Fear is one of the best horror games i've ever played!The scenario is amazing,the atmosphere of the game makes you scared,the audio is creepy,but the graphics are bad.The Team Psykskallar did a great job and i love the game.
  9. Aug 13, 2013
    9
    Cry of Fear is a modification for Half-Life 1, and receives the highest praise I can give to a horror game. It is absolutely horrifying. Play this in the dark with headphones and you will scream, I guarantee. The story is light, but not bad; the game has a good length of about 8-10 hours on the easiest difficulty, and MUCH longer on the harder difficulties. The shooting is fun, but nothing spectacular... but that is a small complaint to make. The only major problems I could find with the game is 1. The graphics are dated...but you can hardly judge it for that since it is only a mod. 2nd and final; is the inventory system is a little confusing, but these are only a few issues in an otherwise horrifying and excellent mod! Expand

There are no critic reviews yet.