User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1307 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 19, 2012
    6
    I bought Crysis 2 just for the graphics, which are pretty amazing when you get DX11 and High-Res textures. But CryEngine 2 has a somewhat Unreal Tournament 3 kind of look which isn't promising. Lighting isn't as vivid as I expected either. In terms of gameplay, the single player campaign is very dull, bland and generically unfascinating, especially when compared to Far Cry. It's not bad, but not great or anything special at all. Multiplayer is more promising, offering a standard multiplayer but with "perks" which mostly act as nanosuit enhancements. It's a difficult and quite different multiplayer to CoD due to the nanosuit which has stealth, armor and nanovision. But if you wish you can play a gun-on-gun game which is EXTREMELY slow due to the stupid movement speed. The gunplay is pretty average however it is satisfying. Sniping isn't overpowered at least, but it is slightly underpowered due to the very slow rate of fire. There aren't many weapons too choose from, and it's not an overcomplicated multiplayer but not oversimplified like a free game either. Killstreaks are balanced since you have to go up to an enemy and pick up their tag to earn them. They are direct copy of CoD4; 3 gets you radar, 5 airstrike and 7 an attack helicopter. Overall the game excels in nothing but graphics. It's a pretty face but not particularly engaging or intense like Far Cry. However it isn't hideous so if you're after a visual treat then I highly recommend it. Expand
  2. Oct 27, 2013
    8
    While incredibly linear compared to the other games this shooter is still fantastic and a lot of fun. The changed setting of the city destroyed by alien invasion works exceptionally well.
  3. Feb 15, 2012
    7
    More linear that its predecessor but still enjoyable, even after being dumbed-down for console ports Crysis 2 still looks better than 90% of other games out there. It starts a little slow but once I got into it, it was lots of fun, if a little repetitive - you have two modes of play: shoot aliens or shoot hostile marines and, slight deviations in how you want to accomplish that - stealth or all guns blazing. Good for a weekend. Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2012
    8
    I so enjoyed this game from the opening sequence to the end credits. Finally being able to use the nano in such a fluid way was great fun. Looking forward to number 3.
  5. Feb 2, 2013
    10
    Game Chronicles was definitely right to give it 99. Crysis 2 is generally the best games of all time, about #5 EA made the abandoned city really stand out and nice settings give it away. For now the best Crysis.
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    7
    Solid 7, but not more. Gameplay is repetitive, and i still don't understand why it concentrates so much on Stealth Upgrades, trying to be Hitman. Story is nice. Many locales are recycled. My most disappointment is the shortness: it seems all console based games are aiming at a 10 hour gameplay. Thank you once again, Consoles.
  7. Dec 8, 2012
    4
    Crysis was a very good game, because it was the first of its genre to had its own style. A slow-paced genre combined with fast gameplay. Ok, it's the same on Crysis 2, BUT THAT'S THE POINT: Crysis 2 is just the same as Crysis, with DEGRADED graphics! Crysis 2 has nothing new and innovative from its predecessor. The game can be completed in a short time and the plot is not so good. Also, what is this DLCs story? Am I supposed to pay other money just to get some new weapons to the game? You have to release the game with all this stuff included with it, not with a separate package which costs even more money! Expand
  8. Jul 24, 2012
    7
    After playing the original Crysis, I expected a lot from this game and ended up disappointed. The problem isn't that Crysis 2 is bad game, but rather that it's just not that great, which makes it stack up poorly against it's predecessor. The graphics have been toned down to make them suitable for consoles, which makes them fairly unimpressive on a PC. Like the first game, this also suffers in the storyline/characters department: there is a big gap between these events and those of the first game (which is never made very clear), the new story is not all that compelling, and the characters are just as dull. What this games does right, however, is make you feel like you're in a hellish apocalyptic city, make you feel the extreme desperation of the crumbling human civilization. There are also some gameplay improvements, such as removable turrets (don't need that .50 cal machine gun now? rip it off the truck and carry it with you for later!), suit upgrades, and stealth melee kills. The nanosuit's powers have also been streamlined, which offers ups and downs: you no longer have to switch modes to move large objects or jump high, but they now drain suit energy faster. Overall, I think this game is worth playing. In my experience it took awhile for me to get into it, but once I did I found it plenty fun and really enjoyed the feeling of fighting alien armies in a crumbling NYC. Expand
  9. Apr 21, 2011
    8
    OK getting past all the hype was wrong with it? Dx11 not on release leaving it DX9 only for time being... as it stands the graphics on maximum are pretty nice indeed, more so on single player than multiplayer due to the wider range of the level sizes. The graphics are very smudged look does annoy me a lot, since no options to disable it to sharpen things up, making it look very console grade textures etc. Dx11 has been announce but not gonna hold my breath for a release date. Gameplay... well the single player campaign is definately one of the best on any FPS in many years, decent amount of levels (about 10 hours gameplay) and a good story, úber soundtrack, and they have improved the nano suit to make it less cumbersome to jump between modes. Multiplayer side of things have taken a bit of a step backward preferring to try be another COD clone with all the upgrade mods etc and it kind of works but doesnt feel a Crysis game and the levels are quite small and lacking vehicles completely... so basically single player the game is 10/10 multiplayer is 7/10... crysis wars did it a whole lot better. Expand
  10. Oct 20, 2013
    7
    A solid FPS which Graphically strong but lacks any real intuitive game play as well as something different. Worth playing if you enjoyed the first and still a solid experience.
  11. May 17, 2011
    2
    I didnt think Crysis 1 was classic but it was a nice tool for testing my rigs. So I got crysis 2. After all its a new engine, it must be better right? What a shock. The graphics are actually less developed than Crysis 1. It has less bugs but then that because its an Xbox game which has been dressed up as a pc game. No really memorable moments in this like there was in the first and generally it feels even more linear than it really is. I didnt get to the end. Got bored and uninstalled it. Very unsually for meI even threw away the media secure in the knowledge I wouldnt touch it again. Another console game probably aimed at a much younger audience. In the same way they rate games for adult content, there should be a warning to tell you your in for a more juvenille experience. Crysis 2 is the master of mediocrity. Expand
  12. Nov 1, 2013
    6
    The story is a mess and I never really felt engaged with it during the game, most of the mission are: get to this checkpoint, flick this switch, etc so nothing new.

    Each map section offers a number of possible ways to complete it, I mostly assassinated, silenced headshot and sniped until I was discovered (usually due to an assassination failing for no reason) and then letting rip. The
    other options usually left you over exposed or facing too many enemies at once.

    I think if I was to replay I might try to sneak past everyone but I bought this as a shooter not a stealth game. The thing that attracted me to the game was the ability rig a level with explosives, distract a soldier, set off the explosives, kick over cars rip off a M/C gun from a jeep and let rip into the remaining enemies but this type of dynamic play wasn't really possible (or at least not worth the risk and time).

    Part of the reason was the level design wasn't set up for this and the enemy AI spotted you for no reason. The balance of assassination vs the 'Tactical Options' was also pretty weak and unrewarding.

    The game does look good but I did find enemies walking in walls and other glitches, the enemy AI was also nothing special and as an example they would always go and stand over a dead body so a snipers dream.
    Expand
  13. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    I really dont know why so many people hates this game so much. Crysis 1 was more innovative, but Crysis 2 is not a bad game at all. Combat and game play is really awesome. Graphic is not bad. Stealth game play got buffed and story is really good.
  14. Aug 20, 2012
    5
    After loving Crysis few years ago I was really disappointed and shocked with this one :( I was expecting truly awesome game and didn't get nothing except decent graphics.

    1) Singleplayer is probably most boring ever. You walk around and every 10 seconds few enemies appear which you must shoot. And lika that for few hours. 2) Multiplayer is sometimes fun, but in competition with BF and
    other games don't have chance. With all that not really worth to play! Expand
  15. Oct 25, 2012
    1
    Got this for £8.98 last week. I was really looking forward to it after completing the first game but this game is very poor in comparison. Graphics are good (no better than 1 - but good) but the main issue here is that the freedom and tactical level has been completely wiped out. It's now as "on rails" as single player Call of Duty. If one of the main reasons you loved 1 was the freedom you had to do things "your way" - then this game is going to really disappoint you. Expand
  16. Sep 1, 2013
    3
    I loved it on console but on PC it feels like a console port its really not for PC the graphics are good but not processor punishing as Crysis and its not really a PC game
  17. Nov 19, 2013
    6
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2) (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (2/2) Visuals/Story (2/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (0/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (0/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  18. Mar 24, 2011
    8
    This is easily the worst game that Crytek has ever made, but its still miles ahead of the competition, so although I am disappointed that this game is not an amazing sprawling epic designed from the bottom up just for the PC, I still enjoyed the hell out of it for what it is. Textured detailing is not even close to Crysis 1 and Warhread, but this game is still better looking than most all other games out there, plus it does run very well. Game play is linear, which is a total fail for me, but if I want a huge sandbox to run around in I can just turn on Crysis 1 any time. I hope they return to their roots with a more open world style game next time, but if they don't make the best open world game, someone else will come along and do it for them eventually. I guess at this point we can say RIP to the Crysis franchise as we knew it, but it will return again somehow somewhere. My initial reaction was to be totally pissed off that they had dumbed down the franchise, but after playing the game and comparing it to everything else out there, there was just no denying that Crytek really did a great job on this game, plus the multi player is perfect and very fun. Compared to Crysis 1 this game is a 5, but relative to everything else thats come out lately, this game is a solid 10. For the consoles I would say this is the best console game of all time, so they must be really excited to get the bad taste of stale Halo out of their mouths. I will play this game through for each difficulty level, and then multi player a bunch, just like the other crysis games, but since this game is half as long as crysis 1 it will take me half the time, so thats a good thing I guess. Where is the DX11 support for this game?? for a pc game in this day and age to not at least have DX10 is an insult, that and the fact that the graphical fine tuning that every pc game since the beginning of time has had is gone, really is annoying, so for those reasons Crysis 2 I give you an 8, and not a 10. If you fix and patch this game I will give it a 10 :p

    recap
    love: story
    love: multi player
    love: game play
    love: the suit
    Hate: lack of texture detail
    Hate: lack of sandbox style game play
    Hate: lack of DX10/DX11 support
    Hate: lack of graphical control

    final score: 8
    Expand
  19. Feb 17, 2013
    8
    In short this is Crysis, dumbed down and shrunk down. That saying, less separate suit modes, mostly degraded graphics and very small environments, almost making it a corridor shooter. Why do I give it an 8? Well, because it's still Crysis, you still get to kill aliens (although different aliens, nothing in common with those of Crysis 1) while wearing quite a badass suit and save the world. Basically every aspect of the game is a bit worse than of the original the plot is separate from Crysis 1, with only a few references, the characters are bland and stereotypical and the AI is dumber. (expect aliens inspecting walls carefully or running in circles) Speaking about multiplayer, it changed its genre while the first one is Battlefield with Nanosuits, this one is Call of Duty with Nanosuits. Not like it's bad, but I got bored of it quite soon. And while dropping the bar set by the first Crysis, this still manages to be a good game, quite close to being a great one. High hopes on Crysis 3. Expand
  20. Mar 9, 2014
    4
    Let's just say goodbye to Crysis. Because this is not Crysis. It's something else. Let me guess: the people who created the original are retired or what? Dead?
  21. May 19, 2012
    9
    Let's see the awards for this game: The Best Technical Graphics of 2011, The Best semi-sandbox game of 2011. These two awards are deserved to Crysis 2, because It's an outstanding game that is semi-sandbox (you can go everywhere, but you need to follow the objectives). Technical graphics are stunning, and the physics is more realistic than ever. CryEngine 3 really did a great job for the graphics, and CryTek made an outstanding job by balancing single player and multiplayer. Expand
  22. Sep 9, 2012
    8
    Crysis 2 may be a great sequel, but It's a disappointment. Not because is bad, actually, Crysis 2 is great, but It have lost the "Crysis" feeling. However, It's pure fun. It haves some new cool things to do, like, climb buildings easily. And the new Nanosuit is fantastic. The graphics aren't memorable as Crysis's graphics, but, It technically shines with CryEngine 3. But, Crysis 2 disappoint me while not being a real "Crysis", and while it haves a dumb AI. I recommend this, but Crysis fans, such as me, may be disappointed. 85 out of 100 Expand
  23. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    Oddly enough, the game that I compare Crysis 2 with the most is F.E.A.R. In both games, you’re given ridiculously overpowered abilities that you use to take on lesser mortals. F.E.A.R. allowed you to slow down time in order to shoot all of your enemies, whereas Crysis provides you with a number of different options for taking out your enemies. The time-slowing powers in F.E.A.R. become a crutch as you constantly slow time in every confrontation in order to kill the bad guys. This becomes repetitive and dull. On the other hand, Crysis will have you using all of your abilities in different ways in many different encounters. The abilities are always exciting to use.
    As expected, the graphics are amazing. I was stunned at how beautiful the game looks, even though I’m playing it in 2013.
    The only downside to the game is the weak storyline. It was hard to follow and not very rewarding. However, I’ve certainly seen worse among the first-person genre.
    Expand
  24. May 22, 2011
    8
    Very good shooter. I had a totally different representation of this game before I played it.

    PLUS: engaging story & game universe, few different styles of gameplay to choose from, good audio, satisfying gameplay, game style

    MINUSES: too few weapons to choose from, repeated enemies can be boring after a while, lack of different gameplay (mini-games, boss fights..)
  25. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    I'm reviewing this game as a stand-alone title. As a successor to the original Crysis, and Warhead for that matter, I would give this game a lower score. Simply because of what's missing - scope and options. Crysis2, for my money looks great. Ok so there isn't card-busting level of detail, but for me it still looks visually very impressive. Computer AI still a bit dumb, to say the least, and so that is actually my biggest gripe. I'm not too fussed about losing the open world of the first Crysis, as if I want a big desrt island to play in, I would just play Crysis. Pointless moaning about a sequel because it isn't the same as the original, but I do agree that freedom of movement is a little bit restricted. Nevertheless, it's the action I'm after and the great thing about Crysis2 is that the pace keeps picking up and the campaign actually gets better as you progress. I tried the multi-player briefly, and suffice to say you won't want to buy the game for that. It works, but other online shooter titles have that element covered. No, if you want at least 12-16 hours or more of exciting FPS fun, then this is the best game in that category this year. In my opinion. Expand
  26. Mar 17, 2014
    6
    Mostly meh. Game is definitely worse than first part. Plot is so twisted so I believe even plot writers was confused with it. And how in the world you could ruin perfect water from Crysis1 ????
  27. Apr 8, 2011
    4
    This runs great on the xbox. Too bad it doesn't run half as well on my highly optimized, custom gaming pc. Seriously if an xbox can run this theres no reason my pc can't.
  28. Aug 31, 2012
    7
    I haven't got a single thing to complain about the graphical side. Maybe the art direction was a bit bland, but damn, it's pretty. Controls are great.
    It's still a stepdown from glorious Crysis, taking away the freedom and replacing it for a more linear experience.
    Get it on a sale.
  29. Aug 10, 2011
    8
    I disliked the Multiplayer in this game big time. Maps are too small, too many hackers, too much cheating, some weapons too weak, other weapons too strong, some setups too good, some setups too weak. There are just some thing about the MP that just makes me want to stop playing it, when I start a game. I don't like it.

    However, and here is the reason it gets an 8/10 instead of possibly
    5/10 or so. I REALLY liked the singleplayer campaign. I liked the story, I liked the gameplay, I liked the sound, the voice acting, the graphics are awesome (anyone who say they suck should go get glasses, seriously), the game is insanely well optimized (it will look awesome on just about any machine out there, and if you have the juice then you will get it to look even better). I am on my third playthrough of this game, it is THAT good. Expand
  30. Jul 4, 2011
    7
    I'm going to put this a blunt as possible: Graphics 10 -great Story 7 - it was OK not as good as Crysis and Crysis Warhead
    Mechanics 6 - things were moved around and a point system was added for extra perks.
    World 6 - not much to comment here you cant have a big world on a game in New York or can you...
    Weapons 7 - i like fantasy guns as much as the next person but this is real life
    scenario in New York and i wanna see actual military grade weapons especially the 1911,AR-15. Expand
  31. May 11, 2013
    9
    one of the best shooters ever!!! the game is really good and unique. the graphics are spectacular. this is one of the best looking games to date. the level desighn is also fantastic. the levels are big, letting you a lot of space to manuver and use different tactics. the size of the levels is perfect. its not linear, but its not as big as the levels in the first game not that the size of the levels in crysis 1 was bad. this game just finds a good balance between open world and linear.) the game also has a lot of spectacular action sequences ever. because the game isnt as open as in crysis 1, there is much more action. the action isnt boring mediocore call of duty action, this is much better action that shouldnt be missed. the story starts good but then it slows down a bit. after the first half of the game the story starts getting really epic and great and you really feel like you should do your objectives( im avoiding spoilers but the objectives are great). the game also has epic soundtracks and audio. the soundtracks are from the best i have ever heard. the sound desighn and sound effects are also top notch and sound really realistic and amazing!!!!!! the AI isnt so good. some times its great and smart but some times it has some problems.
    overall this is a super epic game!!!!!!!! again, this is one of the best shooters ever!!!!!! buy it!!!!!!!
    Expand
  32. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    Crysis 2 beats up its sequel It has scintillating graphics, mindblowing storyline, superb in game mechanics, minority of glitches and many more things. It was a nice experience playing this kind of first person shooters. I was totally stunned with its ending( best ending everrrr of a first person shooter
  33. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    A great singleplayer experience, with lots of replay value as well as multiplayer engrossed with nano-suited grace. One of the best looking games on consoles and on the PC which is notably sharper but not to overwhelming. A must purchase for this year.
  34. Feb 26, 2013
    5
    EA claims that Nanosuit vs. Aliens and PMC is the sequel of the legendary Crysis 1. We need a reboot now! Ofcourse without EA! Crytek please read this and start thinking about your future! Do you want to be a generic FPS mill? Get out of EA while people still care about your games!
  35. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    Brilliant game and with the latest update it easily becomes one of the best graphical games of our time!!!! Good story!!! Awesome gameplay!!! Cool guns and the best of all is that super suit!!!
  36. Jul 31, 2011
    4
    Fails to live up to the hype as well as the expectations from fans of the first game. Linear level designs, a half-assed system for upgrades, worse control scheme compared to the first game and also poor optimization for performance. The + points from the first game such as open-world and level choices were completely left out. Shame.
  37. Apr 8, 2011
    1
    Just another victim of massive consolization. Poor textures, tight locations, boring plot, horrible A.I..and weak gameplay, filled with dozens of bugs. It's rather Beta version, than polished product. Multiplayer is absolute disaster, same as technical support btw. Servers are laggy, infested with hackers, cheaters, aimbotters, pirates and other scums, running everywhere like fresh freed from cages. Total waste of precious time. Expand
  38. Dec 29, 2013
    7
    Not even half as good as the first game. Yet it's better than a lot of other FPS games I've played.
    The main thing I hate about this game is the awfully limited controls.
  39. Mar 23, 2011
    7
    This is only a slightly above average shooter with barely above average graphics. Sure the graphic are great, if you only compare it to a console. Games like The Hunter and BF3, games that were designed with the PC in mind, clearly blow this game out of the water in the graphics department. Truly a shame, as that was one of Crysis' most redeeming features. You can see the influence in other areas as well. Smaller maps, less players in multi player, cut prone feature. A lot of **** ended up getting cut or just tossed due to balancing around the console versions. It isn't that this is a really bad game or anything, just if you were expecting a sequel that took fps to a level like the original Crysis did, you will be disappoint. Expand
  40. Apr 23, 2011
    7
    This is a game that could have been much more than it was - but is still good. Pros: Beautiful graphics, excellent level design, good difficulty curve Cons: WTF did i just finish this game in 4 hours? WTF?! The ranged SCAR is so much better than the other weapons, there is no need to use them. The nanosuit powers are totally useless - i used only the first of each of the categories, and was fine.
    Obviously this is another EA game that they rushed out the door, instead of letting the developers design more levels. Pretty sad, because if this game was about 4x as long, and had more variety it would be amazing.
    Expand
  41. May 8, 2011
    7
    Started out great...but after doing the same gameplay loops over and over it turned into pretty repetitive and lost a lot of the interesting story elements if any. A lot of things were missing from this game, but without adding spoilers I will keep it simple. Overall its a fun game at best but feels forgettable by the end.
  42. May 13, 2012
    5
    Crysis 2 is yet another FPS trying to win purely based on its prior success (mass effect I'm talking about you). The storyline is somewhat entertaining but the play feels very lonely most of the times. An alien fight should be surrounded by teammates, not some crazy suit guy jumping around. The story is incredibly long for a normal FPS and I had to use a trainer for the last chapter because of the lack of content. There is no boss fight, no surprising guns, no turning-and-twisting - basically a shoot-and-run, high-textured waste of time. Also very disappointed with some of the enemies as they jump frustrate me A LOT because of unreasonable speed and armor. Maybe I'm not a fan of alien fiction; so I'm not going to red this rating. Expand
  43. Jul 29, 2013
    5
    I found Crysis 2 to be surprisingly linear, repetitive, boring. The middle part is basically killing the same two or three types of enemies over and over again for around six hours, without any variation in gameplay. It is by no means a match to its prequel, the much more enjoyable Crysis. Though it may have excellent graphics and good game mechanics, Crysis 2 suffers from rather dull gameplay, and a near to non existent story. Overall a disappointment for me. Expand
  44. Feb 9, 2014
    0
    yes a 0. quite literally a zero. how EA continue to sell this game on PC is beyond me. like many fools i picked this up in a sale, but oh wait. i need to log in to play. hmm not working. ok lets create an account, ok those details already exist, ok hit reset password. nope. site no longer exists.

    Dear EA. please do not sell games where your DRM for that game no longer actually works.
    you sold me a brick of a game. a game i cant even get into the main menu screen.

    i bet that this game is actually great, but no. you dun goofed. please EA. please please please stop punishing us good users who want to buy your stuff. lets go for a hat trick with that worst company award shal we.
    Expand
  45. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    [Crysis2 / Steam PC / Score 10] This is a great Action game with a genuine blend of pure stealth sequences followed by hectic Arena style run and gun. As a follow up story to Crysis&Warhead be advised that Crysis2 is a different game; not better or worse - just different. While the first games had much more open environments Crysis 2 shapes your path from one battle Arena to the next. Use of the Stealth suit with all of its functions is again the key to getting anything done and this is a lot of Fun. Two thumbs up to Crytek - I will play all of your games from now on. Released by Crytek / EA 2011.03 and played 18 months later. [DRM] Steam only and I did not have to create an account with EA [Story] As a soldier you battle the Aliens and the military-industrial complex mercs (yada yada yada) survive to save the day (you are the hero). The story details are cohesive and lightly engaging - and mostly do not get in the way of shootin : ) [Challenges] Move from one scenario to the next and experience the very well designed battle Arenas that provide many opportunities to play Your style of a fight - as long as you keep moving. Each weapon has its own mechanics and learning each one is part of the game; some are frustratingly slow - as is usual for higher powered weapons. AI is generally weak on attention span and quite forgiving when you stealth - but there are often so many opponents that you can be overrun. On normal difficulty I was reloading regularly - and that is ok....it forced me to learn and adapt. The game saves at waypoints and it works out just fine - it allows you to stay in the game and stops you from creep-saving. The HUD has a huge amount of information - daunting at first but very useful once you have the groove. The only RPG element is upgrading the stealth suit - and the most useful upgrades can be had for little experience. I did not upgrade the suit to its maximum and still got through the game OK - again the skill is really You mastering the suite of suit skills, the HUD and the timing. [Game time] 20 hrs. To really appreciate this game you will want to replay and try different tactics - and let me mention that you get to use your upgraded suit from the first play - Sweet! [Hollywood Production] Everything about this game is big Big BIG - audio, graphics and game mechanics. The combined information load is very high; I had to take breaks. I always play with headphones: The music was grandiose but not that remarkable - maybe that is personal to me. I was able to remap keys easily and they correctly showed up in the on-screen instructions. [Play Crysis2] if you are a seasoned FPS dog or you enjoyed the originals Crysis&Warhead. [MyPC] i7-2600K 3.4GHz / ASUS Z68 ProGen3 / 8Gig RAM / Radeon 6870 / W7 PRO SP1 / Samsung 275T @1920x1200 / G15 / ExpertMouse. [MyFavorites] [PC Win7] TheDreamMachine Crysis&Warhead&Crysis2 JustCause2 Rage [PC XP] DeuxExHumanRevolution&TheMissingLink DeadSpace1&2 Fallout3&NewVegas HalfLife1&2 Bordelands BatmanArkumAsylum AssassinsCreed1 Magicka RedFaction Portal1&2 FromDust MrRobot Sam&MaxSeasons1&2 CulpaInnata TheSecretOfMonkeyIsland DreamfallTheLongestJourney Syberia1&2 CrayonPhysicsDeluxe DefenseGridTheAwakening PlantsVsZombies Prototype Bioshock1&2 UnrealTournament3 Quake4 [360] AfroSamurai BrutalLegends [XBOX] HALO KOTOR1&2 Crackdown ArmedAndDangerous AggressiveInline BeyondGoodAndEvil DeadOrAlive1&2&3&ExtremeBeachVolleyball Psychonauts [AppleG4] DeusExMachina ReturnToZork Suspended UnrealTournament TombRaiderSeries [Born] 1964 Expand
  46. Mar 25, 2011
    7
    I love Crysis games for their open level design, and powerful suit that helps you creatively tackle the problems you face. It's polished and streamlined, but it doesn't hold your hand, or hold you back. Cries from PC enthusiasts that the series has been "consolefied" are untrue, but not unfounded. The level design and gameplay are just as sophisticated as ever, but at the time of release the PC version is lacking a couple basic expected features. For a game that so heavily advertises itself on it's fancy graphics, it's offensive that it would not include any modern DirectX support. It's graphics also fall short of expectations. Somehow the original Crysis looked far better. Despite all these disappointed and broken expectations, the game still has everything necessary to have a good time. Expand
  47. Mar 26, 2011
    0
    Crysis 2 on DX9 ... Maximum Fail!!!

    Scripted gameplay in place of the original Open Sandbox World of Crysis ... cripples replay value.

    A sad day for PC gamers. =(
  48. Apr 8, 2011
    9
    !Before i begin, let me state that i loved the original crysis too! This game is getting a 9 being viewed as a completely new entity, if i compare it to the original it gets a 5. As shooters go, this is a very tight, action packed and thrilling ride, the short campaign being the only let down for it. However, short as it may be, the campaign is fast paced, constantly keeping you on your toes. The nanosuit has been drastically changed, but for the better in my opinion, now suit modes are triggered by the touch of a button (at the expense of leaning left/right, which are essentially useless as long as you have a cloak anyway)
    The only remaining definite modes are armour and cloak, the rest are implemented into the suit's common usage (eg: max speed is your normal sprint, max strength kicks in only when you hold down melee, or jump). This may sound like a step backwards, but it actually allows for the game to feel much more free flowing and effortless.
    The AI is questionable, as alot of effort has been put into it to make it react in cool ways to certain things such as uncloaking in front of an enemy etc, however ive often run into situations where you shoot a guy and then everyone on the floor of the building you are in runs to the same doorway, only to be shot without you even tethering your aim.
    This doesnt always happen, but its a problem that should be fixed. Other than that the AI is very impressive and an improvement over the original.
    A visor function replaces your binocs in this game, which is handy as it suggests tactical options to assist you getting to your objectives.
    Nightvision is replaced with Nanovision, which is more like thermal goggles, useful for spotting camoflaged and cloaked enemies (especially online!).

    The campaign itself is rewarding to play through, and much more fluent than the original, but the game is considerably more linear to boot.

    !(the aliens in this game are about 90% less annoying too, and wont waste all your bullets)!

    The multiplayer offers considerably less than the previous title, and as stated by numerous others is essentially a cod:mw2 clone (in fact one map is practically THE SAME as a map on cod:mw2!), however if you are more into your run and gun FFA, TDM and CP type matches, this multiplayer might appeal more to you. The added bonus of the suit powers spices up the gameplay a good bit.

    In Conclusion, this game is a must have for any fps fan, however fans of the original who are looking for more of the same are going to be let down.
    If you disliked the original crysis, dont shoot this one down in flames, it's completely different, and more resemblant of cod4 and killzone 2 gameplay.
    I didnt realise how much fun kicking cars at aliens was until i played this game.
    Expand
  49. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    I have probably played through the original Crysis four times. Something about the exploration of that environment and the pitch perfect carnage is a rare find in the gaming landscape. Warhead did little to change the formula, but hey, it didn't changing. This game gets crucified for being linear and too similar to the call of duty model of the modern FPS. Except that each encounter is so damn exciting, I found a constant desire to keep chasing the endgame. Something I do miss, even if it is a trivial sort of thing - the unarmed tricks you could pull in crysis 1 (Speed dashing into a guard, bowling him over, or simply never firing a gun while on foot) are just about impossible in this game. This is a gun-heavy game, and I have come to terms with this new age. The giant mechs are just fantastic and taking them down is a challenge, especially on delta difficulty. I replayed this recently after picking up on steam for $10 and I REGRET NOTHING! Expand
  50. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Crysis 2 is a premium quality game. I am really enjoying it. DX 11 would be nice, but the whole package is so good that it still deserves high praise. With so many PC users downloading pirated versions of the original, I can see why they had to make something that catered to consoles as well as PC 's. I hope it sells gangbusters, because the developer and publisher really deserve to be rewarded for making a game that actually lives up to the hype. Crysis 2 seriously rocks! Expand
  51. Jun 15, 2011
    7
    Crysis 2 is a good shooter in many ways. Although the fun factor in these games is diminished for me lately, it still is an immersive, powerful experience with some truly great set pieces and optimized graphics that can run on even the most modest systems, such as my pretty good mid range gaming PC! The multiplayer is an added bonus that is fleshed out with plenty of game modes, and a few addictive things, but it is way too similiar to most Call of Duty games these days. The singleplayer is an example of why gamers expect way too much these days; just because the levels are easier to understand and not big boring jungles doesn't make it bad in any way. Crysis is boring for me, I'm sorry; Crysis 2 is not, as it is streamlined and easier to understand! Expand
  52. Mar 3, 2013
    8
    Cool linear shooter. Not taking the series in the right direction but really solid for an "A to B" game.

    GameGameGameGameGameGameGameGameGameGameGameGameGameGameGameGameGameGameGameGameGameGameGame
  53. Mar 28, 2011
    1
    I gave this game a 2 and that in itself was generous. 1st off it is a console port. 2nd it uses a 10 year old API DX9....DX9 for god sake~! The plot is just plain bad, the textures are terrible and the AI is buggy. If you like random spawns then buy this game you will love when a AI guard pops up behind you when he wasnt there 2 seconds ago.
    Even if there is a DX11 patch(lol ya right), it
    wont help the game that much.
    MAXIMUM FAIL
    Expand
  54. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    I like how strength and speed are now integrated with running and jumping and melee now. The graphics are ridiculous. I don't know how my computer is handling this without slowdown, but bravo Crytek.
  55. Apr 18, 2011
    7
    The single-player had good graphics, and was well written. The gameplay was more repetitive and linear than the first one, an obvious sign of how it was dumbed down for consoles. But overall, I was pleased the with single player game, which was surprisingly long for a shooter. The multiplayer was vastly inferior to such games as call of duty. I have been playing shooters online for 9 years now, and I have never been so disappointed by online play. Every level is wide open, which makes for no strategy. The same open levels where you just get shot from the side by 10 people from all sides who are cloaked. No strategy and skill involved, and deaths mean almost nothing. Aiming in underwhelming, as cross-airs are too slow for people's movement and myself as well as the killcams I looked at showed people just spraying (THROUGH IRONSIGHTS). After playing online for 3 days and gaining 2 levels, I have no want to go back to the same 4 levels or 3 uninspired game types. Buy for single player, but no for online. Expand
  56. Mar 31, 2011
    9
    I love it. Great graphics and game play. The story could be better, but it is a shooter, isn't it? One thing to notice is that it runs nicely on weaker machines as well. Of course, on my two NVidia 292 cards it really rocks!
  57. May 26, 2011
    5
    It's a shame after such a mind-blowing predecessor that Crytek go and take away everything that makes the first such a great game; the tiny maps, the CoD inspired multiplayer and the fact Crytek had the sheer audacity to give us an obvious console port - no Directx 11, console-grade graphics, lack of tweaking options, the lsit goes on. I gave it a 5 because despite all this the game is fun, great for a quick bit of action, it's just such a let down I can't bring myself to give it any higher. Expand
  58. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    Crysis 2 is one of the best fpp-shooter in my game list. This game is so beautyfull. Very good graphics is not all. Amazing gameplay, good story and many more.... This game is example for all fpp-shooters.
    My rate is 9,5/10.
  59. May 20, 2012
    5
    The game play mechanics in my opinion are much better then Crysis 2, but the story so far as I played feels like the boring and sickening Bioshock 2, you get a character that does not speak, which usually isn't a bad thing, some games can have that and make the game really good, like call of duty 4 modern warfare.

    But Bioshock 2 and Crysis 2 make it look like the character should say
    something or point something out, it just scratches at your mind when you're just thinking is "OH MY GOD JUST SAY SOMETHING", not that i want anything forced but what was wrong with Nomad speaking in Crysis 1? (original protagonist played) It wasn't amazing dialogue but it wasn't bad it was enjoyable that your character was communicating with people, and there is hardly anyone in this game to have any such as an interaction with, making the games overall direction feel shallow and boring, to me it's a better bioshock 2 only because the game play is better.
    The game play is good, in my opinion it's better than Crysis 1 because each suit function feels a bit more worked out, at least the stealth option is a big improvement, normally I just used it for running and hiding in the first game but now it has better function.
    But the game play can't and I repeat CAN'T overshadow the story of the game because the game play is just "good" not "excellent".

    So what we have here is a terrible story with good game play, it's a better Bioshock 2 in a nut shell.
    Expand
  60. Sep 22, 2013
    0
    This is the angriest I've been about a videogame in a long time. I bought the Humble Origin Bundle BECAUSE this game was in it. When I installed it, which took a while because the installer crashed once and froze about eight times, (I should have picked up on this foreshadowing, because the steam installer has literally never ever crashed for me.) I was treated to the main menu which DEMANDED I create an account before I play the game. I started the campaign up and was treated to a long live-action cutscene that probably would have made sense if I had played the first game (Which, for reasons beyond me, was not included in the bundle) before being treated to a long, semi-interactive cutscene with all manner of fancy water effects that made it lag like crazy. I opened the graphics menu to turn down the settings and this is where things REALLY fell apart. The settings, by default were at High. I opened the drop down menu to find the stupidest list of items I have ever seen in any list ever.

    High
    Very High
    Extreme
    Ultra

    What the... I don't... WHAT?! Those are my "options?" That's one Hell of a Hobson's choice. I mean really? At no point in this games development did anyone step forward and say "You know, usually you want to include some lower options for people WITHOUT computers from the future." What happened to that man, if he existed? Was he fired on the spot or just bludgeoned to death by his coworker's Alienware computers? I'm sorry, but when your game cruelly mocks anyone who isn't either in possession of a computer science degree or wealthy enough to afford the supercomputer made of diamonds and magic needed to get the processing power to run this "game," what the HELL is it doing in the "HUMBLE" bundle. See that word? It's called the HUMBLE origin bundle. If I had to pick a billion ways to describe Crysis 2, "Humble" would be pretty close to the bottom along with "Fun" and "Worth my time" and the only reason it would be on there at all is because I would run out of equally stupid adjectives.
    Then I made a mistake. I kept playing the game, figuring "Maybe this is like what Deus Ex HR did, where they turn the settings up real high in the beginning and adjust them based on how your computer responds" or something. My hopes were rewarded with another 5 minute cutscene, ANOTHER 5 minute cutscene, a 5 minute load time, and THEN, after around 25 minutes of playing the game, did I actually get to start playing the game. I wake up in a prison cell, take 3 steps, and watch another cutscene.

    And then the ACTUAL actual game begins, and I realize that I'm getting between 1 and 5 frames per second just to render a room full of garbage bags and dead bodies that both look equally plastic. I wander through the linear path of shelves for a little while before being asked to jump up onto a ledge. I press space, the game locks up, and I say "screw it" and try to exit. I say try because after a full two minutes of waiting, I was still trying to exit the game before I just opened a task manager and killed it. Apparently Crysis is a zombie game, because Task Manager tried to kill it and nothing happened. It just sat there displaying "90%"CPU usage" for a full extra minute before the game actually exited and when it did, I had to restart my computer anyway because it still showed up in the Processes tab and it was still hungrily munching away at my processing power.

    So maybe this is a good game. Maybe this is a great game. Maybe this is the most fun thing anyone will ever play ever. But that doesn't matter because the thing about a game is that to enjoy them, you kind of have to be able to PLAY THEM.

    You might say "Yeah but if you looked at the system requirements you should have known the game wouldn't run on that punch card machine you've got there." But here's the thing: I have an okay computer, and not only that, I've run games outside of my system requirements for one main reason:

    THEY LET ME TURN THE ****ING GRAPHICS DOWN
    Expand
  61. Feb 11, 2012
    5
    OK seriously i was expecting something like the return to lingshan or something like that, but really new york if crysis 3 is like this then this series is screwed ok the fist one and warhead where amazing 2 was good but nothing compared to the original also the aliens are completely different wtf is that ok seriously crytek......
  62. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    Let's get one thing straight: Crysis 2 is, in fact, more linear and less open world than Crysis. However, don't let this deter you from this amazing experience of a game. Many Crysis fans find Crysis 2 to be a disappointment, but that is primarily because they expected a game that would follow the same formula as the first Crysis. This is not the case, Crysis 2 changes its formula a bit and becomes a less open, more linear game. This is not necessarily a bad thing, it is just different. Crysis 2 still delivers beautifully in combat, storytelling, and graphics. You may have to look a little deeper than usual if you want to fully understand the story, but to some people (me included) that is part of the fun. Crysis 2 is not a better or worse experience than Crysis 1, it is just different. That being said, It will suite different people accordingly. So don't be surprised if you see Crysis 1 fans bashing Crysis 2 - this means nothing. They got a great game, they have just blinded themselves with frustration because they didn't get the exact game they were hoping for. Most of the negative reviews on here are just angry Crysis fanboys who probably made a Metacritic account for the sole purpose of telling everyone they hated this game. Don't take what they say seriously, they never gave the game a chance to begin with. Expand
  63. Mar 26, 2011
    9
    Great game no matter what people say, this is my opinion and they have theirs. The story line was GOOD, the character design, acting and etc was very good, the AI was generally good, but the multiplayer... That is a problem with this game. It feels like the game is unbalanced in some ways and you find yourself in the same position almost every-time; on the ground. The graphics are amazing, the cut-scenes were amazing and everything else in this game was amazing. I love how they brought back the "on the go" weapon/suit module customization. I say pick this game up if you like a good story line, don't mind the others who are mad because the free roam got taken out; It's still an awesome game. Expand
  64. Apr 7, 2011
    9
    Wow! A game where the streamlining actually makes sense!!! And works! The graphics are great. The nanosuit is intuitive. The AI is competent. The story could have used some fleshing out... but, it was still more solid than 99% of your usual FPS fare. The MP isn't anywhere near the standards set by CoD, YET... but the SP campaign craps on the enitre CoD franchise from a height of several miles... Best FPS since, well, the first Crysis! Looking forward to Crysis 3. Expand
  65. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    Seriously dont know what people are complaining about.
    Its so much harder to build city environment than a Jungle environment
    Story wise - its better than Crysis 1
    Gameplay is a bit worse since no open world
    Graphics suffer a lot due to consolization of the game
    Epic 10/10
  66. Apr 3, 2011
    4
    Pretty graphics, but lacking in everything else. Poor multiplayer, bad voice acting, unimpressive and cliche story. Decent singleplayer experience for a one-time playthrough but not worth the full price and definitely not the OMG AMAZING game the paid-off reviewers are making it out to be.
  67. Mar 28, 2011
    0
    Crytek: "Crysis 2 Is Developed For PC First, Not Consoles" is my ass. Good luck convincing the PC gamers of that. None of us buys it. It's DX9 only and it lacks the Quick Save feature. Crytek you expect me to believe that a game saying "Press start to continue.." is not a console port?
  68. Oct 26, 2011
    6
    I am so disappointed by the step down in quality and gameplay this game is from Crysis. Freedom? Gone. Tackling objectives in your way? Gone. Bullet physics are reminiscent of Call of Duty (i.e. no recoil), the game is now particularly linear (console limitations?) story is mediocre at best with cardboard characters and limited enemy variety. Couple with abysmal AI (Artificial Wut?), badly designed maps and horribly executed missions and you have a run-of-the-mill shooter with cloak tacked on. It lacks the freedom and creativity present in its predecessor. this is probably one of the most blatant ports I have ever seen and has been streamlined to basic Call of Duty simplicity. This is not the end Crysis deserved. Graphics don't make a game, gameplay does, and in this respect it is good and enjoyable. However it's replay-ability is lacking due to linear level design and the MP is just meh after a few hours. Expand
  69. May 3, 2013
    8
    As a sequel, the game isn't exactly what I expected it to be. The story, plot and others are great, but is not what we've been expecting. As a sequel to Crysis, I though the game will feature again Nomad in his next journey, but I got something totally unexpected. Crysis 2 is not a bad game, but it strongly feels like an independent game, rather than a sequel. From open-world to...well... linear gameplay from what I experienced, but is not bad, it certainly has great things, the new Ceph aliens and the CELL antagonist are looking, sound and behave very good.

    The game features as well brand new characters and villains, such as Nathan Gould, the evil CELL corporation, so it has potential, also the nanosuit's improvements are welcome, such as the upgrade modules, and also features new game play mechanics and weapons.

    The inclusion of the Manhattan Virus is interesting, and the goal to find a cure for it is great as well.

    The graphics and the level design are looking very good too, and the unexpected missions, surprises and ending really make it a memorable experience.

    But unfortunately, unlike it's predecessor, the game lacks any boss fights, which in the original where gorgeous, cinematic, and intense.

    So as a final verdict, the new Crysis is more linear, and misses to immortalize some stuff(such as boss fights I mentioned up, and others) to make it be more interesting, but the game even so has a good replay value, interesting story and characters, and game play.
    Expand
  70. Apr 1, 2011
    0
    Compared to Crysis 1 / warhead, Crysis 2 is a major disappointment . :(. The story dont match, scenery dont match, Terrible AI,, no advanced graphic option, no quick saves, no console, no sandbox. This is definitely console port :( . What happened to Helena, nomad and island? Crysis 2 would be a good game, if they name it somehow different. But believe me. Crysis is not crysis sequel. Its just a stupid console shooter. Expand
  71. Apr 9, 2011
    6
    Didn't play the first one, so can't really make a comparison. The lack of DirectX 11 support sucks, and getting this to work with crossfire required about 2-3 hours research, so there's that, but them's just small complaints that could have been overlooked if the game wasn't so pedantic and uninspired. More articulate peeps have elaborated on why this game fails to impress, so I'll just end it here with a quote that I feel sort of sums it all up: "I like turtles." Expand
  72. Nov 28, 2011
    8
    A game which, although not shown in the mechanical surprisingly playable, history and details, remains of the escensia of his predecessor in regard to graphics well above the average, an exquisite ambiance and the best OST the genre. Only for fans and graphic whores.
  73. Jun 10, 2012
    8
    The game gives you stunning new graphics (thanks to Cry Engine 3) and an astounding gameplay. Though the game lacks the vigor and feel of the original Crysis, it is still better than most of the the First Person Shooter games that have been recently released.
  74. Jun 19, 2012
    8
    Crysis 2 It's a great sequel, but not an excellent one. I really had a great experience with this game, but It could be so much better if the enemy artificial intelligence was better, and the multiplayer was slightly more rewarding. But, this sandbox game is really fun, but It could be better.
  75. Jun 14, 2011
    2
    First off, shame on EA for removing Crysis 2 from steam and making it origin and retail only.

    Secondly, write off any above 80 score for critics as paid-off. Now what do I think about Crysis 2? Well, I know for a fact that the graphics, which is what Crysis was all about to begin with, have been DOWNGRADED from the prequel to make it work on consoles. They didn't even bother making PC
    better. The PC version of Crysis 2 is a poor man's port. I started the multiplayer beta, and it said, "Push start to begin" along with telling me to adjust my "TV Brightness". This, is a pc game, my friends.

    The gameplay was heavily dumbed down from the original. Instead of having multiple powers, you only really have defense and stealth. Both are incredibly overpowered to where you can easily walk right past enemies as they shoot you. The stealth mixed with a silencer can let you kill enemies without uncloaking. That ruins the game, as you can just headshot everyone and walk away invisible.

    The multiplayer is Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3.

    There's nothing new here other than plagiarism and degrading what worked.
    Expand
  76. Nov 15, 2011
    3
    Crysis 2 cant go wrong ehh well they did its not crysis ai is soo stupid and spawn in you can get behind the spawn and just mow them down you go from room to room (when i say room i mean looks big looks open but its not ) its just go forward .
    they messed up the nano suite because of the consoles , no decent weapons.
    some cool set pieces followed buy brain dead ai they know you are
    comeing and know were the door you are coming out of when you get to the door they push the story on you constantly but who gives a **** its not a book or movie stop the aliens grfxs dx11 and high rez textures look grate shame its all in small lil rooms performance ya full tilt it will test you system but you will still have to play it crysis 1 is better looking considering the big maps with every thing going on crysis 1 for the win crysis 2 for the console sheep Expand
  77. Jan 27, 2012
    4
    First off, let me say I am a single-player gamer. As such, I have no idea how the multiplayer in Crysis 2 stacks up, so my score does not reflect it. Second, I am reviewing the PC version of Crysis 2. I donâ
  78. Nov 3, 2013
    7
    Although painfully uncreative, this game is pretty enjoyable. The graphics are superb and the gameplay is exactly what you would expect. Well, that's the problem. This game does NOT surprise in any way, shape or form. The story is full of overused clichés. I am so tired of high-budget games with this immense lack of creativity. After you finish this game you will feel like you've already played it a bunch of times. Because you have. Expand
  79. May 13, 2011
    9
    Crysis 1 was much better. Some of the new guns are great. On the other hand they made the nano suit weaker, it doesnt even compare to what it used to be. Now there are no more individual modes for speed and power. They merged those into the default mode and made the effects much weaker in the process. You cant turn on strength mode and throw an enemy 50 yards.. :( ...Throwing up prey and shooting them on the way down was one of my favorite things to do in C1.. The invisibility is not as good either, you can see the octogonal weave armor grid when its on. As well when you turn on armor lock the armor grid comes up on the screen obstructing the vission.. The online feels as if its streamlined perk wise just as COD. Online isnt as good either. It gets a nine souly for the single player. People that never played C1 will drop their jaws. C1 gamers will not be uninstalling C1 anytime soon Expand
  80. Apr 4, 2011
    6
    I think the fact that this is a console port has been pretty much covered. Very disappointing considering Crytek's previous releases. HOWEVER...I would suggest that if this was Crytek's first release, people would be giving it more of an 8-9 score. But, it isn't their first release so the low scores are warranted - you begin to have expectations for companies who put out games that are supposedly on the cutting edge. And if/when they come out with a dog, they're going to get blasted.

    Rather than going over what's already been said (which I completely agree with), I'd say my biggest beef is the length. After playing shooter/rpg games like Fallout: New Vegas and Borderlands where I've invested 60+ hours in them, 8 hours for a $60 dollar game (pre-order) is simply not worth it. And I'm not interested in the multi-player portion. Running around like a maniac competing with 13 year olds is not my idea of a good time. I would have preferred Crytek release two different games - one single-player campaign and the other multi-player and do each one right, rather than combing the two and they both end up half-baked.

    The game is a disappointment, but not a total loss. It does have some entertainment value - I'd just recommend waiting until that value hits the $20 mark in a sale bin before buying.
    Expand
  81. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    First of all, if this is the first time you've heard about this game, than you've probably heard that it is the sequel to 2007-8 Crysis and Crysis Warhead. If so, I invite you to buy both of those (you can probably get both of them nowadays on Ebay for about $10 bucks) and compare them to this game.When you do that you will see what I mean when I say that Crysis 2 is far from what is used to be. How far? Very far. So far in fact, that this game has absolutely nothing to do with the original in neither plot nor design. And for the most part, has nothing to do with the original in quality. This is a totally different game, in a sense that it is multiple steps behind the original Crysis. First of all the graphics are choppy and rectangular, there are no fine textures, shadows, or detail whatsowever. Trees will not fall when you shoot them, there are no weapon attachments, enhancements or can modify a weapon to your liking when you want to. There is no stealth, enemies charge you at all times, hidden or not, cloaked or not. There is lots of motion blur to cover up it graphic de evolution. AS for the new story, it is a mash up of post apocalyptic infected zombie movies, Call of Duty cliches, and your standard average first person shooter linear gameplay and story. The original story is gone, Prophet dies, but is not the original Prophet. No Aliens, instead alien virus infects humanity and they turn into zombies. Weapons resemble call of duty weapons, objectives resemble call of duty objectives, all you do is shoot your way through them, get there, shoot your way to the next, rinse, repeat...then game ends. No creativity, no art, no thinking.

    In short, what Crytek was once as a studio is dead, replaced by overzealous, greedy and gluttonous businessmen trying to make a quick buck with the least common denominator. This review ends here.
    Expand
  82. Mar 24, 2011
    5
    What this is: A standard tunnel run-and-gun FPS with some neat, albeit tired, gameplay mechanics and effects. Have the nice people at Crytek take your baby-hand to lead you down the road from point A to point B, point with auto-aim and press the "press-A-to-win" button. You've played this game a thousand times over -- it's a dumbed-down consolized bore. What this is not: A graphical boundry-pushing tour-de-force like its predessesor that offers an open world environment allowing you multiple avenues of completing a mission. To be clear, I played this game all the way through. It's not awful: just a disappointment that is not worth your time. Expand
  83. Apr 4, 2011
    7
    Eh, you know what? I kinda liked it. Crysis 2 is a pretty decent shooter. It's just not a very good Crysis game. Crysis should not be a linear corridor shooter with some powerups and scripted events every 10 seconds. That's the main issue so many people here have with this game; it's VERY unlike part 1. I for one didn't even like the first game(s). The graphics were stupidly good, but the AI was dull, the physics were honestly not that great and enemies falling down ragdoll style is horrible no matter what game it's in. Part 2 has nice graphics. Really. It does. Even on 'low' it looks very, very good. Whether it actually looks better than part 1, I'll leave up to people like tweakers or whatever. All I can judge with are my eyes, and they consider this game to be very pretty looking. Moving on; the AI still isn't good, the physics are... well, there are no real physics in this game since there's barely any destructability. They fixed the stupid ragdolls though. Shooting enemies actually seems to have an impact now, they die sort of realistically. It still looks really dumb when you throw them, though. Toss a soldier in the air and he won't even flap his arms, he'll just float up like a stiff board.
    Anyway, wrapping up. Crysis 2 is not great. It's not even good. It's decent. It looks pretty, plays smoothly even on older PCs and things you point your guns at generally die. What more do you want from a decent shooter?
    Expand
  84. Mar 28, 2011
    0
    it's a console port = FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL: FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL need i say more?
  85. Nov 12, 2013
    3
    When I first started playing C2, I was really wowed by the graphics and the environment. The destroyed city was really beautiful and I really enjoyed fighting the CELL troopers. However, as the game went on, I began wishing the game would hurry up and end. I was utterly bored and dissatisfied. Here's why.

    1. The graphics look awesome, but there's too much repetition. The first
    time I saw a crashed train, I thought it was cool. But later, I started thinking: How many crashed trains ARE there in this city? There were crashed trains EVERYWHERE. I noticed more and more that there was a LOT of that kind of repetition.

    2. I've come to the conclusion that they named this game Crysis 2 because they couldn't decide between the more accurate titles of "Left Mouse Button: The Game" and "W: The Game." Once you stop seeing CELL troopers and are faced with simply large numbers of rather stupid (increasingly armored) aliens, you have only two choices. You can armor up and shoot your way through. The problem is that it takes a tediously long time to shoot any aliens. I had aliens that could take two or three sticky grenades and still stay up, and some aliens would just soak up bullet. It was boring. The other alternative was to go stealth and sneak past them. And that doesn't always work because if they get too close, they can see you anyway. Sure, it adds tension, but I was disappointed to find that I wasn't really so stealth.

    3. The voice acting in this game is awful. Especially the guy who plays Lockhart with that fake southern accent. It was dumb. The acting was just dumb.

    4. The aliens were stupid. The AI was just awful. I saw aliens running around in circles. I had aliens walk RIGHT INTO oncoming fire. I saw aliens run into walls. I saw one alien repeatedly running into the same wall over and over.

    This game had so much potential, but so little follow through. Here's what would save this game:
    1. More varied environments. Crashed planes, bodies, actual traffic accidents instead of just a bunch of individually wrecked cars.

    2. destructible environment.

    3. REAL stealth

    4. Reduce the amount of damage it takes to kill aliens. Let me kill them faster. In fact: let them kill ME faster too so that I have more reason to keep to stealth and cover.

    5. Better voice actors who can act genuinely and without going over-the-top or using stereotypes.

    6. Better AI. Let the aliens use tactics, cover, proper movement etc.

    7. Make the overall story more engaging. Why are the aliens attacking? Maybe have some detective work to FIGURE OUT how to defeat the enemy instead of having one lame: "Pull this lever to kill all remaining aliens" nonsense.

    This game could have been a lot better.
    Expand
  86. Nov 5, 2012
    8
    Outstanding graphics, reallystic gameplay and finish. I dont have more good words for this game, the history is at least disapointed, boring, worst than the first game
  87. Mar 22, 2011
    7
    Surprisingly, an above-average singleplayer experience. Unlike the first Crysis, which started out great as a semi-openworld jungle adventure and kicked off into a horrible ice-covered alien-shooter, Crysis 2 proves a very solid and non-linear FPS. The game switches over from tropical paradise to apocalyptic NYC, and while that might sound more constrained, there are still many choices to be made on how to engage each situation. You can take your time and stealth past huge amount of enemies, or you can start a 5-minute firefight in the streets. The story (I won't spoil it), is also told in a much better manner. It's not groundbreaking, but it's better than the generic action-flick stuff we've getting recently.
    Technically, the game is, for the most part, much above the pack. The lighting and high-poly weapon models make an unrivaled realistic experience, and personally I find this game looks MUCH better than the blurry dark mess that is Killzone. Also, unlike many recent PC releases (DA2, Shogun 2) this game actually runs WELL, even under what people would consider "mid-range" hardware. It's about time game developers actually worried about optimization instead of just screenshot eye-candy. All that said, the game failed to "wow" me as much as the first Crysis did at launch, and in some cases I can still swear Crysis' jungle looks a little better. Maybe it's because of the huge sunset vistas in contrast to the towering (but somewhat plain) skyscrapers. Still, I can't fault the graphics here, they're great. The sound is also about average with modern FPS games, maybe slightly above.
    Where this game starts to fail a little is multi-player. Crytek stated they wanted to become a leading multiplayer title like Battlefield, CoD, or Halo, and apparently their method of choice was to make the multiplayer as much like Call of Duty as possible. It is a somewhat more interesting experience, what with scaling huge walls and smashing down from the sky, but the formula is almost exactly the same. Go off by yourself, run around, and hope you can see someone before they see you. I thought cloak would cause serious camping, but I was actually pleasantly surprised at how effective armor was in countering it. I might play it a little bit, but for the last 3 and a half years I've had my fill of CoD multiplayer. Seriously, it's nothing special.

    So, is it worth your money? If you want an awesome-looking game to impress your friends, yeah. If you want a nice action-packed Sci-Fi story, yeah. If you're only looking for the next game-changing multiplayer experience, don't bother, I highly doubt this will do much to the industry at all.
    Expand
  88. Apr 11, 2011
    2
    Game looks great (even tho PC-gamers mostly say that it should look much better) but that's not all what a great game needs.
    Combat would work nicely if AI was up to date. Also enemies shooting through walls should be fixed asap.
    Cutting the story with loading screens is very retro-style and very annoying. Soon as you start to feel like you're immersed into the story, the game cuts the
    action into a loading screen briefing. And the story itself is poorly written. Main character feels alive as a rock. No dialogue at all ( I'm conviced that the final words in the end are said by prophet).
    As a shooter.. there's better ones out there. Lots of them.
    As for story... Original Doom has more story than this (well, almost)
    And the Multiplayer.. What do you expect from a game that cannot do well in single player? Multiplayer is .. bleh. There's lot more better multiplayer games around. Maps are small and there's not much players in them. What happened to original crysis 32 player matches? Maybe it's because the game was made to work on Xbox?
    Not worth of your time and money unless you really liked Crysis and want to know what happened after the Lin Shang
    Expand
  89. Nov 18, 2011
    6
    Crysis 1 was great. too bad they dumbed this one down for consoles and ratcheted down the game play options. the open world is gone, things are now linear. they put up a facade of choices, but in the origional, you could attack a compound from north east west or south, crawl under the fence or blow it up, or jump it, or drive a vehicle through it. in this game you can : sneak in the designated sneaking tunnel/alley/lane, or gun it. Gone also is the fun of being a super soldier, I didn't feel that superiority I enjoyed in the first. The cloak had the fun sucked out of it, speed mode has been replaced with normal sprint, which for some reason still drains energy. and strength mode is always on, however it is far weaker. armor mode is there, and can be toggled but it is also the most boring and standard of the powers we once had. So essentially you are a somewhat above average soldier with a cloak and extra health. as opposed to the Juggernaut we were in crysis1. and for some reason, they made the aliens into bipedal creatures, making them only slightly different than normal humans. Graphics are good, nothing on crysis1. game is passable, but why they took so many giant steps back is puzzling. Expand
  90. Jul 1, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Crysis 2 is a very interesting game that picks up and releases only the end of the game and its great the passing game. The first mode is a mode of passage form the ghost he is very interesting as you do in the stealth mode. 2 mode is a gun when you go out and shoot and you get all nelya to the left and the right to only one error in Developer's about it so quickly wasted energy. Others were removed 2 Developer's regime is a regime of speed and power mode, Crysis 2 has two modes would have even better. The developers have made one mistake stupid enough protagonist Alcatraz not not say a word as something silly in our time well, it's very small cons of srovneniyu with the advantages of the game such as the positive side of his suit. Types of shooter games have changed the usual shooter shooters such as Call of Duty, Battlefield. So as impurity shooters as Bulletstorm, Duke Nukem. And there are half as stealth stealth already long gone and will take place stealth sex stelae and games such as Crysis 2 and Deus Ex: Human Revolution. Deus Ex came out had not yet left the first game of Crysis 2! Expand
  91. Apr 2, 2012
    8
    The single campaign is great.Addictive and it gave me the feel that i really wanted to kill the bad guys ass.Graphics are pretty good,not as good and not as innovative as the ones from Crysis 1.Crysis 1 was so good for PC cause Crytek worked on it since it did not come out for the Ps3 and Xbox.Some things are wrong for the PC such as mouse lag.The single player campaign is great,amazing and i really liked it.The multiplayer though is a whole different story.It is so bad.It is just boring and just something generic.I tried to play with a friend and got bored after 2 minutes.Overall,this looks like a console port like many other PC exclusive games that have been transferred to the consoles.The single player though seems to be able to save this game from complete catastrophe,at least in my opinion,and is what makes this game good. Expand
  92. Dec 29, 2012
    3
    This game has high 'box appeal'. In other words, based off the trailer, screenshots and the hype, I had substantial expectations as I first booted up the game. Initially, it's very interesting. The first few hours you learn how to use various skills, like invisibility or armor sheild (you basically transform into a bulletproof rock). In addition to night/heat vision. These are all very cool and useful skills when fighting aliens... EXCEPT; after about a day of playing this, I very quickly lost interest. The game is quite linear, attacking or extracting various points... and the characters abilities grew very boring and overpowered. Basically, you go in guns blasting, then turn into a rock, then dissapear... Rinse, repeat. I played ~7hrs of Crysis2 before I uninstalled it. Personally, I did not care much for it. Yes the graphics were nice, Gameplay was not. Expand
  93. Feb 19, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well, I generally play games for their story and the presentation thereof. After playing through Crysis, I sank a lot of time into it because the story kept wanting me to keep going and see how things turned out. The game even ended on a cliffhanger, with Psycho piloting a VTOL with Helena Rosenthal and Nomad aboard flying back to the island after taking down a hulking alien warship, with Nomad saying the closing remarks with "We know how to beat them." I was itching to play Crysis 2 as soon as I could to see what happens next with Nomad and friends.

    However...as soon as I started up Crysis 2, I was immediately misled as the game jumps three years forward, playing a now-mute protagonist apparently named Alcatraz. I immediately wondered about Nomad. Wasn't he about to kick some alien butt back on the Lingshan Islands? Not this time, according to the sudden twist that Crytek apparently authorized in a friggin' *comic book series* which bridges the gap between Crysis and its sequel. It would seem that Crytek was quick to dump a character that I assume a lot of fans loved, made apparent by the plot summaries of the comic's six issues that I read online. Basically, Nomad's VTOL is shot down the moment they get back to the island. They meet up with Prophet who explains the aliens killed Aztec and Jester because they were trying to communicate by tapping into the nanosuits. Further venturing into the alien technology somehow transports them to the outer planets, particularly a moon orbiting Jupiter. They return to Earth shortly after but discover that somehow they came back 18 hours before even going to space. Prophet even tells his past self everything that happened so that events can still play out exactly as they happened. It's also revealed that Prophet's not really with the Army; he's actually a "private-sector mole" placed in Delta Force by his employer, Jacob Hargreave, the co-founder of the company that made the nanosuits. So instead of a soldier, Prophet's actually a veteran security guard/spy for one of the largest corporations in the world, CryNet (another play-on of the developer's name). They contact a boat to pick them up, but it fires on them as soon as it arrives, killing Helena instantly. Eventually, just to cut to the end, Nomad takes a rocket meant for Prophet and Psycho and dies.

    Talk about some of the worst writing I've ever seen!! A lot of the stuff in the comics after playing the first game doesn't make sense in relation to the gameplay from the game. How can Nomad die from a single rocket but the North Korean Nano-soldiers in the game can take at least 3 before getting killed?! Why, after so long playing the game, would the developers give players hope that maybe Nomad would have a chance at beating the aliens right there on the island just to have him fail miserably in the follow-up comics (which I would assume almost nobody's even heard of)? And why was Crytek so eager to write off their star hero? I'd like to think that a lot of fans would have loved to see Nomad's triumphant return, heading back to a now-frozen island ready to face the aliens head-on. He had such personality and character development as the game went on, even saying what's on his mind about the mission at hand.

    Not the way Crytek sees it. Instead, the comics pretty much retconned everything that happened from the first game so they can start fresh over with Crysis 2. And boy, does the sophomore syndrome suck. From the beginning, I was surprised, shocked, and a little confused at handling a new character who pretty much never speaks like he's the Crytek version of Gordon Freeman (up until the end, that is). There are major plot holes in the story. How the hell did the aliens overrun Earth so quickly? And why are they using biological warfare instead of just destroying everything in sight and take the world by military conquest? A lot of things don't add up in Crysis 2, especially the streamlined gameplay. Gone is the open-world feature that was presented in the previous game, replaced by linear, scripted, CoD-like missions that scream "console game" (not to mention running into damn annoying invisible walls), something that the first title thankfully didn't have. Also, the quick save/load system and graphics-tweaking options were dropped, especially saving. If I'm so far ahead in a level and I die, it puts me back to the last "checkpoint" I hit, making the last 15-20 minutes of progress a big waste of time. I actually don't care so much about the graphics as I do with the story. Dumping the events of the previous game was probably one of the dumbest moves a developer like Crytek could do. People loved Nomad!! His vocal input during the game really let the players connect to him. And now we're left with a bland, near-mute nobody named after a prison island-turned-museum in the San Francisco Bay. The major story overhaul, controls that feel like a console port, and line-of-sight bugs really hurt the game.
    Expand
  94. May 23, 2011
    6
    Its a good game, not amazing. nice graphics, some pretty low res textures in places. game seems linear in approach unlike the 1st one. Multiplayer is good, ive had no crashes, no high lag and no noticeable cheating.
    My biggest problem with this game is the lack of manual saving, the checkpoint system sucks really. it ruins the fun in taking risks as a death can throw you back 5 - 10
    Minutes (if you take a stealth approach)

    However its still an excellent game
    Expand
  95. Apr 11, 2011
    0
    Although crytek has done their utmost to make this game look good, the fact is that this is 2011 and they have coded this game for the 2005 xbox360 and then ported it to pc and ps3. Moreover, they using dx9 which was released in 2002. So yes, this game looks great compared to COD etc, but so what? It's like saying you have a really great looking 480i standard def TV. The game market is stagnant right now because the consoles are old and there is no tripleA cutting edge games. How someone could get excited over this game is beyond me. Unless of course you are a professional reviewer and are looking to secure your next free 2 week all expenses paid EA vacation next year Expand
  96. May 18, 2011
    9
    Overall i had a lot of Fun with Crysis 2, i am basing this solely on Single player as PSN is down so no multi player for me. Having played Crysis and warhead on PC it did take an initial adjustment period to adjust to the subdued graphics but once i settled into the fact that this was on Console i found it rewarding and enjoyable. The sound in this game is unreal when played through a Good surround setup and that alone is worth the price of admission luckily the game play is a blast too Expand
  97. Mar 10, 2013
    5
    If you're a fan of the first Crysis....then this game is not for you.
    The sandbox element has been pretty much completely stripped away. No silly things that made the last game so fun.
    Not only that, but the suit is also very stripped down, only leaving your the option of either using Stealth or Armor mode, aka "Go kill enemies without them seeing you and recharging behind a wall every
    10 seconds" or "Go kill enemies like you would in any other shooter except that you can make yourself invinsible for a few seconds". And why the does regular sprinting take off suit energy? It makes the game unnecessarily sluggish.
    The game is a whole lot more linear and narrowed down compared to the first Crysis, which makes it pretty much feel like every other military FPS. Granted, levels do grant a little more freedom than most other games, but not by a whole lot. The game especially takes a huge dip mid-game where you stick with the military. It's pretty much just Call of Duty with a robot as the main protagonist.
    The story is even more bland and confusing than the one from Crysis 1. This is mainly due to the fact that now, we have a silent protagonist that just gets orders and some dialogue from the nano suit, where as Crysis 1 at least had the protagonists show some reactions like fear or shock.
    I guess multiplayer needs to be mentioned since it got its own bunch of trailers. It's functional, but it's very slow because of the sprint mechanic. Thankfully the sequel fixes this.
    Overall I wouldn't call this a bad game but I just didn't have the same amount of fun as I did with the first Crysis.
    Expand
  98. Sep 7, 2013
    8
    Very nice shooter. Avesome graphics, cool gameplay, nonstandart for FPS beacause nanosuit have speacial abilities, smart AI and good continue story from Crysis 1 to Crysis 2.
  99. Sep 11, 2011
    7
    I grabbed this game with NO expectations, wanting only to have fun with a graphically good-looking shooter .. and I was not dissapointed. Still, comparing this to Crysis 1 would be ridiculous. The original was in so many ways more enjoyable ..
  100. Mar 31, 2011
    0
    I totally agree with those ppl that gave this game an score of 5 points and the complains in those reviews. Crytek, seriously, if you wanted to release the game to consoles too,.. why the hell you didn`t do like Ubisoft and Ghost Recon advance Warfighter. one engine made specifically for the console versiona dn another for the PC version, even the games are different,..each one taking advantage for each system. Crysis 2 is not a bad game,is an excellent FPS if you just change the name,.. this is not the crysis i was expecting.. gimme back my money. Q_Q Collapse
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 90
    New York in ruins, alien invasion and a hi-tech suit? Sounds like a typical B-movie. This time it's different – it's done with such perfection and enthusiasm that all FPSs can finally retire – either 2nd World War or modern. [Issue#203]
  2. May 18, 2011
    80
    When we played Crysis 2 on the consoles, we honestly could have taken or left it. Only on the PC do we feel comfortable recommending and replaying Crytek's best game yet – and its first chance of matching technical prowess with good game design.
  3. May 5, 2011
    99
    Crysis 2 meets and exceeds all my expectations as a sequel and a next-gen shooter.