Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1397 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: First-person shooter Crysis returns powered by CryEngline 3 and is coming to PS3 and Xbox 360, as well as the PC.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. May 5, 2011
    99
    Crysis 2 meets and exceeds all my expectations as a sequel and a next-gen shooter.
  2. Mar 24, 2011
    91
    The long and diverse single player campaign is only faulted by a too simple IA, but the technical achievements Crytek was able to get will probably make up for it for most of the gamers. Add to all of this, the complex and satisfactory multiplayer and what you'll get is one of the best FPS around, both on consoles and PC.
  3. Mar 22, 2011
    90
    Fantastic visuals, fast combat and clever nanosuit mechanics more than compensate for some linear leveldesign, a mediocre story and unvaried enemy design. It's not as good as the first game in the series, but it's a great shooter nonetheless.
  4. Apr 6, 2011
    90
    Crysis 2 feels like a much more refined version of the first game. The plot isn't amazing, but it's much better than the first game, and the pacing is well done.
  5. Mar 23, 2011
    85
    The wow factor is undercut by some AI and multiplayer oddities. But while the lows are inescapable, the highs are intense, and the more you play, the more extraordinary they become.
  6. Apr 18, 2011
    80
    A tighter, louder and gaudier journey than the first, but the core sandbox gameplay still manages to occasionally shine through. It's also the best looking game the PC has ever seen. [May 2011, p.72]
  7. Apr 1, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Just like its predecessor, Crysis provides both a unique and engaging premise for its campaign and top-notch graphics that once again raises the graphical benchmark for gaming. Well, kind of. It may not appear as instantly striking in terms of awesomness the original did with its lush, tropical setting but it's in the finer details and when things really escalate in the single player that will blow your mind. The sheer 'destructional' splendour of New York under alien siege has to be seen and played to behold. Seeing screenshots and a few gameplay trailers does not do it justice unless you're sitting there, at your desktop, plugged into your HDTV or whatever, with full surround-sound and maybe even 3D, escaping a sinking sub yourself. This being said, graphics don't make a game. And with such refined gameplay, it sure as hell doesn't make Crysis 2.

    For the core gameplay of Crysis 2, I was initially disappointed about the nanosuit's powers being reduced to stealth and armour. That quickly changed, however. Having a button for each made switching between the two far more fluid than Crysis 1. On top of this, it adds a lovely twist and breath of fresh air to what is essentially your typical combat multiplayer affair. That being said, it is a step down from the large scale frantic antics of the original. But it's this added layer of depth to the tried and tested 'CoD-style' multiplayer offering that lends it an advantage.

    But it was the single-player, like its predecessor, I bought it for. The original garnered some criticism to its rather basic plot, but having never seen it done so well, or in a videogame for that matter, it didn't hinder the experience one bit. Crysis 2, however, propels the Crysis universe onto a whole new level. It's obvious a hell of a lot more thought has been put into it. It's more complex, deeper and smart and makes for infinitely more compelling game. Couple this with the unique and shockingly-real depiction of an apocalyptic New York and well... I can't even begin to explain how awesome it is
    Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    Crysis 2 beats up its sequel It has scintillating graphics, mindblowing storyline, superb in game mechanics, minority of glitches and many more things. It was a nice experience playing this kind of first person shooters. I was totally stunned with its ending( best ending everrrr of a first person shooter Expand
  3. Jan 11, 2012
    9
    Loved the game to an extent. The graphics were amazing. The game play was great. However the game was like the first one very short (actually shorter than the first one) and the enemies in normal play were a bit too easy to defeat. Also hard to find a lot of the in game items. I would highly recommend it though be prepared for it not lasting very long. Thankfully I only spent $10 or it would have been more disapointing. Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2013
    7
    Not even half as good as the first game. Yet it's better than a lot of other FPS games I've played.
    The main thing I hate about this game is
    the awfully limited controls. Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Crysis 2 is a disappointment. It's linear and repetitive. The story is confusing. I asked to myself: Who the hell is Alcatraz? Why he is the chosen one to kill the aliens? ... At least it's graphically fantastic, and It has It's fun parts, but the repetitiveness and the linearity of Crysis 2 broke the game. The multiplayer is frustrating in this game. In multiplayer, every player is able to be invisible. Literally, in every multiplayer match the players spend 85 % of time being invisible, and killing enemies without being detected. The players use invisibility so much in a match, that can be frustrating as hell dying from an invisible enemy. Crysis 2 is average. (6.7) Expand
  6. Apr 7, 2011
    4
    I consider my self to be a PC Gaming veteran. I have played most of the major fps titles to death. Crysis 1 is easily my favourite FPS of all time due to its longevity and challenge. The truth is, Crysis 1 is the sequel to Crysis 2. Crysis 2 is a step back 5-6 years in an embarrassing attempt to emulate the multi-million dollar success of the COD franchise. What a shame! Cryteck had something so unique and so special and they mutilated it and prostituted it into this disastrous FPS. let it be known for all. There are no 'tactical' or 'thinking mans' elements to this game play. You can literally walk through the last 5 hours without a thinking. I began to feel very angry at the lack of challenge. I was playing on the hardest setting.

    Fighting the same 2 types of alien over and over and over and over again becomes totally moronic. And with just two tactical options - 'go invisible' cloak or 'go armoured' armour mode. The illusion of choice the developers offer is pathetic and condescending to a pc gamer.. This is infantile in comparison to Crysis 1. Graphics? Not that great for someone using the latest cards, no dx11 and the AA really is shoddy. It looks slightly better than an x box, but Im using a GTX 480 and an i7. I expected more from this game. i was promised much more. I feel betrayed. Many of the set pieces are recycled from Half Life 2 or Crysis 1. Nothing original.

    Story: Dont even go there. Again - utterly childish and at times - bafflingly stupid. By the end, the writers completely lost the plot and it turns into an utterly predictable nonsense.

    Scripted events and button pushing sequences: Cloned from COD, Boring. Golden rule - dont make a player 'watch' everything fun. I still cannot complete the game because of a bug on the ending script event. Multiplayer: Just a COD clone attempt thrown in to justify the price tag. Nothing of longevity. All the 80+ reviewers either did not complete the game or are being paid. There is no justification for 80+ due to a fundamental lack of originality. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME - you will regret it.

    Shame on you cryteck. Shame on you and your work. I loved you for your genius, now I hate you for your lack of integrity.
    Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2014
    0
    yes a 0. quite literally a zero. how EA continue to sell this game on PC is beyond me. like many fools i picked this up in a sale, but oh wait. i need to log in to play. hmm not working. ok lets create an account, ok those details already exist, ok hit reset password. nope. site no longer exists.

    Dear EA. please do not sell games where your DRM for that game no longer actually works. you sold me a brick of a game. a game i cant even get into the main menu screen.

    i bet that this game is actually great, but no. you dun goofed. please EA. please please please stop punishing us good users who want to buy your stuff. lets go for a hat trick with that worst company award shal we.
    Expand

See all 421 User Reviews