Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1307 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: First-person shooter Crysis returns powered by CryEngline 3 and is coming to PS3 and Xbox 360, as well as the PC.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. May 5, 2011
    99
    Crysis 2 meets and exceeds all my expectations as a sequel and a next-gen shooter.
  2. Mar 24, 2011
    91
    The long and diverse single player campaign is only faulted by a too simple IA, but the technical achievements Crytek was able to get will probably make up for it for most of the gamers. Add to all of this, the complex and satisfactory multiplayer and what you'll get is one of the best FPS around, both on consoles and PC.
  3. Mar 22, 2011
    90
    Fantastic visuals, fast combat and clever nanosuit mechanics more than compensate for some linear leveldesign, a mediocre story and unvaried enemy design. It's not as good as the first game in the series, but it's a great shooter nonetheless.
  4. Apr 6, 2011
    90
    Crysis 2 feels like a much more refined version of the first game. The plot isn't amazing, but it's much better than the first game, and the pacing is well done.
  5. Mar 23, 2011
    85
    The wow factor is undercut by some AI and multiplayer oddities. But while the lows are inescapable, the highs are intense, and the more you play, the more extraordinary they become.
  6. Apr 18, 2011
    80
    A tighter, louder and gaudier journey than the first, but the core sandbox gameplay still manages to occasionally shine through. It's also the best looking game the PC has ever seen. [May 2011, p.72]
  7. Apr 1, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Just like its predecessor, Crysis provides both a unique and engaging premise for its campaign and top-notch graphics that once again raises the graphical benchmark for gaming. Well, kind of. It may not appear as instantly striking in terms of awesomness the original did with its lush, tropical setting but it's in the finer details and when things really escalate in the single player that will blow your mind. The sheer 'destructional' splendour of New York under alien siege has to be seen and played to behold. Seeing screenshots and a few gameplay trailers does not do it justice unless you're sitting there, at your desktop, plugged into your HDTV or whatever, with full surround-sound and maybe even 3D, escaping a sinking sub yourself. This being said, graphics don't make a game. And with such refined gameplay, it sure as hell doesn't make Crysis 2.

    For the core gameplay of Crysis 2, I was initially disappointed about the nanosuit's powers being reduced to stealth and armour. That quickly changed, however. Having a button for each made switching between the two far more fluid than Crysis 1. On top of this, it adds a lovely twist and breath of fresh air to what is essentially your typical combat multiplayer affair. That being said, it is a step down from the large scale frantic antics of the original. But it's this added layer of depth to the tried and tested 'CoD-style' multiplayer offering that lends it an advantage.

    But it was the single-player, like its predecessor, I bought it for. The original garnered some criticism to its rather basic plot, but having never seen it done so well, or in a videogame for that matter, it didn't hinder the experience one bit. Crysis 2, however, propels the Crysis universe onto a whole new level. It's obvious a hell of a lot more thought has been put into it. It's more complex, deeper and smart and makes for infinitely more compelling game. Couple this with the unique and shockingly-real depiction of an apocalyptic New York and well... I can't even begin to explain how awesome it is
    Expand
  2. Feb 14, 2013
    10
    ONE HELLLL!!!! of a game.......amazing graphics amazing audio quality and most of all AMAZZZINGGG!!!!!!!!!!!!!! storyline......i cant believe some people voted it a bad game.....while they can easily play Call of Duty,Halo,Battlefield....... Expand
  3. May 11, 2013
    9
    one of the best shooters ever!!! the game is really good and unique. the graphics are spectacular. this is one of the best looking games to date. the level desighn is also fantastic. the levels are big, letting you a lot of space to manuver and use different tactics. the size of the levels is perfect. its not linear, but its not as big as the levels in the first game not that the size of the levels in crysis 1 was bad. this game just finds a good balance between open world and linear.) the game also has a lot of spectacular action sequences ever. because the game isnt as open as in crysis 1, there is much more action. the action isnt boring mediocore call of duty action, this is much better action that shouldnt be missed. the story starts good but then it slows down a bit. after the first half of the game the story starts getting really epic and great and you really feel like you should do your objectives( im avoiding spoilers but the objectives are great). the game also has epic soundtracks and audio. the soundtracks are from the best i have ever heard. the sound desighn and sound effects are also top notch and sound really realistic and amazing!!!!!! the AI isnt so good. some times its great and smart but some times it has some problems.
    overall this is a super epic game!!!!!!!! again, this is one of the best shooters ever!!!!!! buy it!!!!!!!
    Expand
  4. Oct 31, 2013
    7
    Solid 7, but not more. Gameplay is repetitive, and i still don't understand why it concentrates so much on Stealth Upgrades, trying to be Hitman. Story is nice. Many locales are recycled. My most disappointment is the shortness: it seems all console based games are aiming at a 10 hour gameplay. Thank you once again, Consoles. Expand
  5. Aug 19, 2012
    6
    I bought Crysis 2 just for the graphics, which are pretty amazing when you get DX11 and High-Res textures. But CryEngine 2 has a somewhat Unreal Tournament 3 kind of look which isn't promising. Lighting isn't as vivid as I expected either. In terms of gameplay, the single player campaign is very dull, bland and generically unfascinating, especially when compared to Far Cry. It's not bad, but not great or anything special at all. Multiplayer is more promising, offering a standard multiplayer but with "perks" which mostly act as nanosuit enhancements. It's a difficult and quite different multiplayer to CoD due to the nanosuit which has stealth, armor and nanovision. But if you wish you can play a gun-on-gun game which is EXTREMELY slow due to the stupid movement speed. The gunplay is pretty average however it is satisfying. Sniping isn't overpowered at least, but it is slightly underpowered due to the very slow rate of fire. There aren't many weapons too choose from, and it's not an overcomplicated multiplayer but not oversimplified like a free game either. Killstreaks are balanced since you have to go up to an enemy and pick up their tag to earn them. They are direct copy of CoD4; 3 gets you radar, 5 airstrike and 7 an attack helicopter. Overall the game excels in nothing but graphics. It's a pretty face but not particularly engaging or intense like Far Cry. However it isn't hideous so if you're after a visual treat then I highly recommend it. Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2011
    4
    Crytek was one of the developers I believed in, but Crysis 2 was nothing, but a let down. The graphics are good, but I don't really care about those. Single player, was too short and I personally enjoyed the Crysis 1 campaign a lot more, so I expected Crysis 2 would have a good campaign as well, but it was rather, boring. When it comes to multi player, seems like they just mixed the nanosuit with call of duty, which was a bad move. The game just doesn't feel like 'Crysis' anymore. They really should have sticked to PC only, crysis was not meant to be a console game. Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2014
    0
    yes a 0. quite literally a zero. how EA continue to sell this game on PC is beyond me. like many fools i picked this up in a sale, but oh wait. i need to log in to play. hmm not working. ok lets create an account, ok those details already exist, ok hit reset password. nope. site no longer exists.

    Dear EA. please do not sell games where your DRM for that game no longer actually works. you sold me a brick of a game. a game i cant even get into the main menu screen.

    i bet that this game is actually great, but no. you dun goofed. please EA. please please please stop punishing us good users who want to buy your stuff. lets go for a hat trick with that worst company award shal we.
    Expand

See all 411 User Reviews