Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1053 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in 2047, Prophet is on a revenge mission after uncovering the truth behind Cell Corporation's motives for building the quarantined Nanodomes. The citizens were told that the giant citywide structures were resurrected to protect the population and to cleanse these metropolises of theSet in 2047, Prophet is on a revenge mission after uncovering the truth behind Cell Corporation's motives for building the quarantined Nanodomes. The citizens were told that the giant citywide structures were resurrected to protect the population and to cleanse these metropolises of the remnants of Ceph forces. In reality, the Nanodomes are CELL's covert attempt at a land and technology grab in their quest for global domination. With Alien Ceph lurking around every corner and human enemies on the attack, nobody is safe in the path of vengeance. Everyone is a target in Prophet's quest for retribution. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Jun 10, 2013
    92
    You are an enhanced super-soldier, the ultimate killing machine developed through nanotechnology, and that fact is fleshed out during gameplay- you can do all the things that you would expect you could do. [April 2013]
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    90
    Crytek's last work is an excellent product. Crysis 3 on PC offers an awesome gaming experience, thanks to stunning graphics and a fast paced gameplay.
  3. Feb 27, 2013
    85
    On the PC, Crysis 3 is certainly better compared to the console versions, with Cry Engine 3 able to give the game true visual splendor, without asking for exorbitant hardware resources.
  4. Feb 19, 2013
    80
    A self-assured but largely unambitious game, content to refine the experience of the previous games in the series without deviating very far from the standard that they set.
  5. Feb 19, 2013
    75
    Crysis 3 is stunning to look at, successfully portraying an uneasy partnership of the natural and the artificial. As the story presses on, the conflict deepens and the visuals darken; it's as if you can feel the evil spreading throughout the city. As a piece of technology, Crysis 3 lives up to the series' legacy. As a game, it doesn't reach the same heights.
  6. Mar 13, 2013
    70
    Crysis 3 looks stunning and ticks all the right boxes, but the game doesn't do enough to distinguish itself in order to earn the higher marks.
  7. Feb 25, 2013
    50
    Crysis 3's campaign disappoints; its story isn't compelling, the storytelling itself doesn't help it, the level design remains an ordinary one, the difficulty is not well-balanced, and overall, there's no real risk taken creatively at any point in it. It's a game of appearances without substance; visually strong, but that's it. The multiplayer kind of saves the deal, most notably thanks to the Hunter mode.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 207
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Awesome game!Greatest graphics and various gameplay.
    Crysis series continued with prophet and Psycho.Most wonderful art design for levels and
    Awesome game!Greatest graphics and various gameplay.
    Crysis series continued with prophet and Psycho.Most wonderful art design for levels and great lighting effect,very good textures,awesome dx11 effects and solid gameplay.
    Welcome to next gen fps by crytek.
    Expand
  2. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    this game is awesome with allot of good men and the graphics is good and the thing that is good about it is that it's to hard to do, i did itthis game is awesome with allot of good men and the graphics is good and the thing that is good about it is that it's to hard to do, i did it nearly 1000 times and i couldn't get to the final battle so it is a really hard to get there. And also when you finished the last battle it goes over and over again so it gets boring after you did it for 1000 times. Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    Incredible game! Graphic is just amazing! I really love the bow very cool stealth killings... You still need think make some strategy... ThisIncredible game! Graphic is just amazing! I really love the bow very cool stealth killings... You still need think make some strategy... This game is really for people who love mix of first shooter, strategy and best graphic ever! I saw some bad reviews about going in stealth all the way but that's kind-a a point... time your moves with stealth and get on top...

    Anyhow.. I loved it..
    Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2014
    7
    Yes it looks amazing, maxed out on high end gaming rig this is the best looking game ever made. However as a game it is only mediocre, it isYes it looks amazing, maxed out on high end gaming rig this is the best looking game ever made. However as a game it is only mediocre, it is more a benchmark for PC enthusiasts and a vehicle for the developer to sell their engine. Its story and setting are just rehashes of Crysis 2, which though a disappointment graphics wise, was actually a better game. Expand
  5. Jan 25, 2014
    6
    Best Shooting game ever !!! This game got great storyline and There are new weapons and this need good pc to run this game greatly and thisBest Shooting game ever !!! This game got great storyline and There are new weapons and this need good pc to run this game greatly and this game is ever written by the xbox viewer that "The best shotting game ever is back" and more info is in it's website ( www.crytek.com / www.crytec.com )

    #THX
    Expand
  6. Apr 25, 2013
    5
    Average SP at best. Mostly a corridor shooter, nowhere near as free as Crysis 1. Story is flat unlike the first. Kill the aliens. That'sAverage SP at best. Mostly a corridor shooter, nowhere near as free as Crysis 1. Story is flat unlike the first. Kill the aliens. That's all there is to it. The single player was extremely short. Let's go back to the good old days of the first Crysis game. Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2014
    0
    Years after release i gave Crysis 3 a try after this disaster in Crysis 2. But it seems they learned nothing! The only thing in what this gameYears after release i gave Crysis 3 a try after this disaster in Crysis 2. But it seems they learned nothing! The only thing in what this game is any good are the graphics. Beside of that most of the time i receive (Crysis 3 is not working anymore...) WTF? My hardware is fine, no overheating etc. and works with every other game. After some research i found out that a lot of people are having the same problems. So what is this BETA version all about? Then i continued playing. Some kind of hunter kicked my ass and i was flying through the ground deeper and deeper till everything around was white and the level was like 2 km above me??! LOL Srsly? Such bugs years after the release? Sorry but i stopped playing at this point. This game is not even worth 5 bucks. Expand

See all 207 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.