Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 995 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in 2047, Prophet is on a revenge mission after uncovering the truth behind Cell Corporation's motives for building the quarantined Nanodomes. The citizens were told that the giant citywide structures were resurrected to protect the population and to cleanse these metropolises of the remnants of Ceph forces. In reality, the Nanodomes are CELL's covert attempt at a land and technology grab in their quest for global domination. With Alien Ceph lurking around every corner and human enemies on the attack, nobody is safe in the path of vengeance. Everyone is a target in Prophet's quest for retribution. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Jun 10, 2013
    92
    You are an enhanced super-soldier, the ultimate killing machine developed through nanotechnology, and that fact is fleshed out during gameplay- you can do all the things that you would expect you could do. [April 2013]
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    90
    Crytek's last work is an excellent product. Crysis 3 on PC offers an awesome gaming experience, thanks to stunning graphics and a fast paced gameplay.
  3. Feb 27, 2013
    85
    On the PC, Crysis 3 is certainly better compared to the console versions, with Cry Engine 3 able to give the game true visual splendor, without asking for exorbitant hardware resources.
  4. Feb 19, 2013
    80
    A self-assured but largely unambitious game, content to refine the experience of the previous games in the series without deviating very far from the standard that they set.
  5. Feb 19, 2013
    75
    Crysis 3 is stunning to look at, successfully portraying an uneasy partnership of the natural and the artificial. As the story presses on, the conflict deepens and the visuals darken; it's as if you can feel the evil spreading throughout the city. As a piece of technology, Crysis 3 lives up to the series' legacy. As a game, it doesn't reach the same heights.
  6. Mar 13, 2013
    70
    Crysis 3 looks stunning and ticks all the right boxes, but the game doesn't do enough to distinguish itself in order to earn the higher marks.
  7. Feb 25, 2013
    50
    Crysis 3's campaign disappoints; its story isn't compelling, the storytelling itself doesn't help it, the level design remains an ordinary one, the difficulty is not well-balanced, and overall, there's no real risk taken creatively at any point in it. It's a game of appearances without substance; visually strong, but that's it. The multiplayer kind of saves the deal, most notably thanks to the Hunter mode.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 196
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Awesome game!Greatest graphics and various gameplay.
    Crysis series continued with prophet and Psycho.Most wonderful art design for levels and
    great lighting effect,very good textures,awesome dx11 effects and solid gameplay.
    Welcome to next gen fps by crytek.
    Expand
  2. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    this game is awesome with allot of good men and the graphics is good and the thing that is good about it is that it's to hard to do, i did it nearly 1000 times and i couldn't get to the final battle so it is a really hard to get there. And also when you finished the last battle it goes over and over again so it gets boring after you did it for 1000 times. Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    Just started to play this game, and what can I say. Beautiful graphics, but they should make better melee and take down system. Guns are realistic, bow is fun. Blot is nothing special and that's it. Good game, that's all. Expand
  4. Mar 5, 2013
    7
    I love the new lanscape and atmosohere, but its literally pointless, maybe you kick car here or there, and the graphics are amazin on max, but just feels like crysis dlc with pretty nice surroundings, and of course the shoehorned same multiplsyer EVERY game now has to have. I can see the meeting of pulbisher and devs now "We have a dark horse of succss in Dark Souls, anway we can make it lot easierk AND add capture the FLAG!?!? OMG YOU ARE GETTING A RAISE JOHNSON,. Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2013
    6
    I consider myself lucky to have a 1.5 years old gaming-like laptop where I could run this on medium settings. It felt a bit sluggish, haven't measured the fps. I played the prequels and I'm glad the green vegetation is back. Many say the graphics is stunning, but I didn't notice anything about it, it felt okay. One odd thing I saw was in one of the APC sections where the impact explosion looked like a flat, black rectangle with flames on it. Controls were a bit shaky, and there is, of course, the strange delay in jumping. Similar to Crysis 2, the explicit mapping of armor, stealth and speed modes to keys are good improvements in respect to Crysis 1. I play usually with inverted Y, and the VTOL section was annoying as it ignored this settings. Positive thing that now I could survive difficult encounters, unlike Crysis 1 where the poor NK soldiers seemed to have superior armor to you (played all on easy difficulty). I felt a bit tedious to battle in Cry1 second half. The music and sound effects are nothing special, but I miss the sound of the SCAR from Cry1. The story is average at best; It felt head scratching in Cry2 and it still remained as such. It didn't feel like a sandbox at all. The AI was gentle and polite with me, but I guess it won't become Skynet anytime soon. If I consider that many need to upgrade their hardware just to play it on bare minimum makes it overpriced. The time the upgrade happens, you'll sure get this for the fraction. Expand
  6. Feb 26, 2013
    5
    i was so waiting for this game and now i understood that pc gaming is dead
    because when there was bad pc games you could always count on on a
    crysis game
    but after this one i think we need to droop pc gameing and buy a console
    its sad but true
    Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2013
    0
    Campaign was just over six hours. I basically just walked through the whole game in stealth, it was so boring and un-engaging. The story was supposed to be psychological but I seriously had no emotional response to it. There were way too many cut-scenes that left me wondering, "Why am I not controlling my character right now?" FFS, the majority of the endgame is comprised of QuickTime events. Focus on multi-player is a cop-out. Mutli-player means that developers get to stop working after the levels are built and they expect the customer to create their own sense of immersion. F that. Some 12-year-old d!p$#!t crying on team-speak does not help create atmosphere. If all I want to do is "compete", I'll play Call of Duty (which will never happen). I bought Crysis for the story and SciFi setting. The story and single-player campaign deserved more attention. Same price as previous titles, a lot less content and a whole lot more Hollywood. Thumbs down. This was a linear, boring, waste of money. Three points for having the most gorgeous graphics of any game ever. Collapse

See all 196 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.