User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 469 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 469

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PaulT.
    Sep 16, 2008
    0
    This game uses the SecuROM DRM system that limits you to 3 activations, like Spore. Sony, the makers of SecuROM, were reprimanded by the FTC in 2007 for using unlawful DRM practices with music CDs. EA is using Sony's SecuROM DRM technology to commit similar offenses. For instance, the FTC ruled that, "Installations of secret software that create security risks are intrusive and This game uses the SecuROM DRM system that limits you to 3 activations, like Spore. Sony, the makers of SecuROM, were reprimanded by the FTC in 2007 for using unlawful DRM practices with music CDs. EA is using Sony's SecuROM DRM technology to commit similar offenses. For instance, the FTC ruled that, "Installations of secret software that create security risks are intrusive and unlawful," said FTC Chairman Deborah Platt Majoras. "Consumers' computers belong to them, and companies must adequately disclose unexpected limitations on the customary use of their products so consumers can make informed decisions regarding whether to purchase and install that content." Expand
  2. MaciejC.
    Dec 4, 2008
    4
    In fact, it looks like a film adaptations of Crysis: someone kicked most events and places out of the scenario and changed what has left so that the spirit od the original was totally lost; in Crysis, you saw everything like the main character would see it - now those third-person cinematics are ruining the impression. Maybe the new game is more action-packed, but it's like watching In fact, it looks like a film adaptations of Crysis: someone kicked most events and places out of the scenario and changed what has left so that the spirit od the original was totally lost; in Crysis, you saw everything like the main character would see it - now those third-person cinematics are ruining the impression. Maybe the new game is more action-packed, but it's like watching an action movie, while in the first Crysis you could feel like inside it. And where has all the mystery gone? Also, it's too short - yeah, I know it's an expansion pack, and that explains 5 chapters instead of 11; but it doesn't explain why every chapter is moving from A to B - in the original, you could use more of the alphabet. I came to thinking that I don't like Warhead because I keep idealized memories of the first Crysis - so I played Crysis again. And... IT WAS GODLY! Nothing like occasionally-good Warhead. Graphics... Well, quite like the first game, but... is it me, or is the jungle more yellow this time? A little difference, but it was so perfectly green in Crysis... The first game just imitated reality as good as possible, now I feel like it's over-stylized. But maybe it's just me... Snow and ice still look great. To sum up: if you did't play the first Crysis (shame on you!), you will probably like this game (given that your machine will run it). For me, remembering the thrilling atmosphere of the first Crysis, it was a huge disappointment. HUGE. So 4. Expand
  3. FilibertyJ.
    Oct 1, 2008
    0
    While I actually enjoyed the original Crysis, I cannot say about this game. I cannot say because I have not played, and I will not buy or support a game that limits you to 5 installations. Lets hope more people become aware of the issue with DRM and don't support such products.
  4. ClaufeR.
    Sep 21, 2008
    0
    I read the thread on the Crymod forums and i couldn't believe what happened! 0 to this game. PS: I also bought the first Crysis, and i´m also disappointed about this MP patch.
  5. MaruN.
    Sep 20, 2008
    0
    I am frustrated about that 1.3 MP patch cancelled, i payed to them, and they've done a new patch with my money, and i can´t use it, what´s the point? O to this game and this enterprise.
  6. MunaPää;D
    Apr 22, 2009
    0
    This game was really great and I will marry and then kill the ones who made it or they should kill themselves and after that be thrown to a river that takes them to China where rice farmers will think they're fish and grill them and spice them and dry them so their children will have something to eat the next winter cause they're poor people out there in China who farm rice and This game was really great and I will marry and then kill the ones who made it or they should kill themselves and after that be thrown to a river that takes them to China where rice farmers will think they're fish and grill them and spice them and dry them so their children will have something to eat the next winter cause they're poor people out there in China who farm rice and farm WoW gold to gold sellers in mostly USA where the medical system is crappy and people pay a helluva lot of dollars on medicine so they can stay alive so that the car companies wont go bankrupt and the global economy wont be paska. Expand
  7. JanL.
    Oct 23, 2008
    3
    Real disappointment. Usual developers release patches making more changes compared to differences between Crysis and Crysis Warhead. And people thinks this game is great. Crysis sucked and Crysis Warhead sucks more because it's the same game, released year or so later, for additional 30$.
  8. AndréL.
    Sep 18, 2008
    0
    I give this rate because this company disrespected everyone who bought the first crysis, what they´ve done is totally unfair and unethical.(read on the crymod foruns the long thread about the MP patch and the you-ll see).
  9. ChuckNorris
    Sep 19, 2008
    0
    So, guess what? I also bought the first Crysis and was harmed on the MP to, so i can´t imagine a good game on this sequel, since the company doesn't have done a patch that worth it, and if they have to sell the MP patch on this game, I just think this is totally against the rules of the market.
  10. RobN.
    Sep 25, 2008
    0
    Crysis Warhead builds on the excellent foundations of the original. However, regardless of how good the game is, you have to judge the package as a whole, and as such I cannot recommend you buy this. Along with the game the installation requires that you also include an unwanted and unwelcome additional program over which you have no control. This game requires that you install an EA Crysis Warhead builds on the excellent foundations of the original. However, regardless of how good the game is, you have to judge the package as a whole, and as such I cannot recommend you buy this. Along with the game the installation requires that you also include an unwanted and unwelcome additional program over which you have no control. This game requires that you install an EA rootkit on your PC in order to activate and run the game. The rootkit is there to host EA's draconian DRM which limits you to three (or maybe 5) installs (they seem to change frequently as they receive their sales statistics). I don't know about you, but I regularly upgrade my PC and I don't want to have to telephone each and every one of my software providers' call centres to argue a case that I should be allowed to re-install software that I have bought and paid for. Currently it only seems to be EA taking this O.T.T. DRM route, but unless they are stopped this is the scenario we'll be faced with. Score: 9 for the game. -9 for the DRM/Rootkit Result = 0. Expand
  11. Gael
    Feb 23, 2009
    0
    Surement un jeu pas trop mal: j'ai bien aimé le premier hormis la linéarité un peu lassante, mais bon.
    Je ne ferai pas partie des acheteur de ce jeu avec une limitation des installations: comme une critique plus haut, je bidouille pas mal ma config, je tente des choses qui loupent quelque fois: dual boot, raid, oc...et au final, je réinstalle l'os
    Surement un jeu pas trop mal: j'ai bien aimé le premier hormis la linéarité un peu lassante, mais bon.
    Je ne ferai pas partie des acheteur de ce jeu avec une limitation des installations: comme une critique plus haut, je bidouille pas mal ma config, je tente des choses qui loupent quelque fois: dual boot, raid, oc...et au final, je réinstalle l'os environ 3 à 4 fois par ans...il a beau être court, je voudrais bien profiter de ce jeu ainsi que du multi-joueur un peu plus longtemps qu'un an et demis.
    Donc 0.
    Expand
  12. Dec 31, 2010
    1
    This game have an epic engine BUT it have a DRM technology too. So I've rated this game as you can see because DRM is unlawful. You cannot limit me to five installation!
  13. Sep 21, 2011
    2
    This game requires a permanent Internet connection. If I had known what this really means I would not have bought this game. I will not buy another game the has this requirement.

    The graphics in the game are top notch and the combat areas are large with plenty of space for different attacking maneuvers. But I had trouble completing missions even on the easiest difficulty settings. I spent
    This game requires a permanent Internet connection. If I had known what this really means I would not have bought this game. I will not buy another game the has this requirement.

    The graphics in the game are top notch and the combat areas are large with plenty of space for different attacking maneuvers. But I had trouble completing missions even on the easiest difficulty settings. I spent too much time replaying missions using different attacking strategies only to be killed off without the slightest reason what I did wrong. I finally had to resort to an Internet search for cheats, something I only do for the most boring of games.
    Expand
  14. Nov 6, 2012
    3
    This expansion to Crysis is almost exactly the same, I can easily just write the same review as I did for that, however on warhead the action was a little more intense, and I liked the vehicle control near the beginning, however I still uninstalled after 1.8 hours of play.
  15. Dec 17, 2012
    2
    Slapped together add-on that fails to add anything positive to the original game's formula. Very linear, short and predictable. Not worth your time or money.
  16. Jan 10, 2014
    0
    wow, pretty terrible game. no sense of shooting, no fun in combat, no weapons that make you happy to trigger.

    what's all the hype for this game? one of the worst shooters i've ever played.
  17. Dec 12, 2014
    3
    The gameplay for this game is exactly the same as for the original Crysis. The island is the same. Graphics are awesome which is a good point. The weapons are the same except with a couple of exceptions. But the story for this "expansion" is horrible. And the last boss is a joke. I completed it in 3 hours. Not worth it, except if you are a huge fan of the series and don't want to miss theThe gameplay for this game is exactly the same as for the original Crysis. The island is the same. Graphics are awesome which is a good point. The weapons are the same except with a couple of exceptions. But the story for this "expansion" is horrible. And the last boss is a joke. I completed it in 3 hours. Not worth it, except if you are a huge fan of the series and don't want to miss the little part of the story related to Psycho and the Warhead. But you can totally omit it, it's a loss of time. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. The original Crysis may have given you the basic tools, but Warhead allows you to really use them, and while its previous titles made it clear that Crytek knew technology like few others, it's this strange off-shoot Warhead that proves it's no slouch when it comes to level design and set-pieces either.
  2. 94
    For $30, Crysis Warhead is an incredible value, and you’d be hard pressed to find a better shooter on the PC this year. The single-player campaign is tight and superb, and the multiplayer portion delivers something that you can just in and play and have fun with.
  3. Warhead honestly is the finest burst of action gaming released so far this year, and if you're canny then you'll be able to pick it up for a mere £15 from online retailers. It's a five hour tour-de-force that's plugged the holes in Crysis with diamonds.