User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 451 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 451

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 10, 2011
    10
    Much better than the first.The campaign is short but much more engaging, the battles more fierce and gameplay better.Overall one of the best games ever better than Crysis.And i like Psycho more than Nomad.
  2. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    Just as good as the original Crysis. The AI seems to have been slightly updated, but still has a few glitches. The story is just as solid as Crysis, but in Warhead you play as "Psycho". Psycho has more character than Nomad which may just be because he was so memorable in Crysis. The gameplay and graphics are the same, except that the Cryengine 2 has been further optimized in Warhead. AJust as good as the original Crysis. The AI seems to have been slightly updated, but still has a few glitches. The story is just as solid as Crysis, but in Warhead you play as "Psycho". Psycho has more character than Nomad which may just be because he was so memorable in Crysis. The gameplay and graphics are the same, except that the Cryengine 2 has been further optimized in Warhead. A worthy expansion for Crysis, and a bit cheaper. Comes with Crysis Wars as well, which is great fun. It is fairly straightforwards multiplayer and it has no real problems. Great bang for your buck. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    CrysisWarhead is greater than its predecessor Crysis.... I played the two back to back; there is only one way to describe this - in your best Jamaican accent - Totally Great Man. Overall Score 10, played 4 years after release, SteamPC version, and DRM Steam only (always without flaws) and no EA/Origin necessary.

    [Story] Play as the character -Psycho-, survive the VTOL crash and go deep
    CrysisWarhead is greater than its predecessor Crysis.... I played the two back to back; there is only one way to describe this - in your best Jamaican accent - Totally Great Man. Overall Score 10, played 4 years after release, SteamPC version, and DRM Steam only (always without flaws) and no EA/Origin necessary.

    [Story] Play as the character -Psycho-, survive the VTOL crash and go deep behind enemy lines. Secure the frozen Alien carcasse (that you saw at the penultimate scene in Crysis). This game is another 8 hour Episode of the original game and you can not afford to miss it.


    [Challenges] The game layout is identical to Crysis.... You are playing missions and the game is tight Tight TIGHT. Much of the flaws from the first game have been solved.... Driving with combat is much better and now fun, ammo pick up is automatic, and the AI is good but dumb just like the first game. A good approach when you are outnumbered is to go far away from the objective and create a diversion; the NPCs get totally lost and jammed up in the far away place.... return to the objective without hindrance.... ; ) [My PC] i7-2600K 3.4GHz / ASUS Z68 ProGen3 / 8Gig RAM / Radeon 6870 / 1920x1200 / W7 PRO SP1 [Graphics score 10] This game was beautiful and flawless and was played in one day without a crash or a reboot. [MyFavorites] [PC Win7] Crysis&Warhead Rage [PC XP] DeuxExHumanRevolution&TheMissingLink DeadSpace1&2 Fallout3 FalloutNewVegas HalfLife1&2 Bordelands BatmanArkumAsylum AssassinsCreed1 Magicka RedFaction Portal1&2 FromDust MrRobot Sam&MaxSeasons1&2 CulpaInnata TheSecretOfMonkeyIsland DreamfallTheLongestJourney Syberia1&2 CrayonPhysicsDeluxe DefenseGridTheAwakening PlantsVsZombies Prototype Bioshock1&2 UnrealTournament3 Quake4 [360] AfroSamurai BrutalLegends [XBOX] HALO KOTOR1&2 Crackdown ArmedAndDangerous AggressiveInline BeyondGoodAndEvil DeadOrAlive1&2&3&ExtremeBeachVolleyball Psychonauts [AppleG4] DeusExMachina ReturnToZork Suspended UnrealTournament TombRaiderSeries Suspended [Born] 1964 http://www.metacritic.com/user/metacriticFAN
    Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2010
    9
    crysis was good, warhead is even better. with the improvement for duel wielding sidearms it almost makes it worth it by itself. vehicle driving could be slightly smoother (only say that because I have played a lot of racing games) but overall i think this is a terrific game. to put the graphics in retrospect think of tes4 and the detail put into it with slightly longer view distances here.crysis was good, warhead is even better. with the improvement for duel wielding sidearms it almost makes it worth it by itself. vehicle driving could be slightly smoother (only say that because I have played a lot of racing games) but overall i think this is a terrific game. to put the graphics in retrospect think of tes4 and the detail put into it with slightly longer view distances here. definitely worth the money (ten bucks on steam for crysis, crysis warhead and crysis wars!) Expand
  5. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    An improved Crysis 1 with a new(?) story line. It's rather a DLC and not a full game. Even though it"s fun to play with it. The story is quite short, it"s easy but the multiplayer (Crysis Wars) compensate it. The Power Struggle is the best multiplayer mod I've ever played. The graphics is still world-class but I think it"s clear if we talk about the Crysis franchise.
  6. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    Crytek did a beautiful job with Warhead Although i like Crysis Original better this one is more linear than the first and Crysis 2 is the most linear so on that note Crytek/Electronic Arts is getting lazy but at the same time setting the standard is Graphics Technology.
  7. Aug 7, 2011
    9
    Amazing story, awesome graphics (but also demanding on the system), cool weapons. Only issues i have with this game is that it's just too short (like Crysis), and that the system requirements are a little steep. Otherwise - a must have shooter!
  8. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    So, Crysis: Warhead. Same gameplay as Crysis but a different character and story. Is it worth it? Well, gameplay wise, nothing has been changed which was a good thing for me. After finishing Crysis on Delta and Crysis 2 on Supersoldier I felt I needed something else with similar gameplay that wasn't the same game then this came around! I thoroughly enjoyed it and the advanced physics wereSo, Crysis: Warhead. Same gameplay as Crysis but a different character and story. Is it worth it? Well, gameplay wise, nothing has been changed which was a good thing for me. After finishing Crysis on Delta and Crysis 2 on Supersoldier I felt I needed something else with similar gameplay that wasn't the same game then this came around! I thoroughly enjoyed it and the advanced physics were awesome, the only thing letting the game down for me was a few glitches the larger Ceph had such as them getting stuck because they went into a tight space and couldn't get out again. Either way you look at it, buy it! Expand
  9. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    If Crysis deserves a 10, then Warhead deserves an 8. Still a good game but much shorter than Crysis, didn't run as smooth, and slightly buggy. The campaign took only six hours to complete and that is including many long cinematic cut scenes that were poorly done and pointless. However, the multiplayer game, Crysis Wars, is about as much fun as I've ever had in multiplayer, 80 plus hoursIf Crysis deserves a 10, then Warhead deserves an 8. Still a good game but much shorter than Crysis, didn't run as smooth, and slightly buggy. The campaign took only six hours to complete and that is including many long cinematic cut scenes that were poorly done and pointless. However, the multiplayer game, Crysis Wars, is about as much fun as I've ever had in multiplayer, 80 plus hours and still going strong. If you liked Crysis, and you like FPS team death match multiplayer you should love this game. As point of reference, some other games I would score 8-10, Crysis, COD 4, Half Life 2, Halo, and all the Quake iterations. Expand
  10. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    Co ckney (apparenly a swearword for metacritic) Statham-esque alien destruction in a superhero suit. I mean, if that doesn't whet your appetite I think you need to re-evaluate your life choices.
  11. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Crysis Warhead improves upon the original in every aspect. It's more intense, it has one of the best soundtracks I've heard in a long while with each song getting your adrenaline pumping and hairs raise on your arms, it's that epic. The graphics and physics have been worked on so it's smoother and even more beautiful than the original. There are a couple of new weapons but nothing special.
    The game has a much more personal feel to it because it follows the story of Psycho who's a much greater character than Nomad. It has way more story cutscenes which are greatly executed and helps you get involved emotionally too. The game is more linear, the levels are more straight forward and it keeps increasing in intensity and speed throughout the campaign. It has some really epic battles, not just alone but often with other soldiers with you, this time around a whole squad of Nanosuit operatives. You'll get into threeway battles which has you fighting both Koreans and aliens at the same time.
    Expand
  12. May 19, 2012
    10
    Awards: The Best FPS of 2008, The Best Semi-sandbox game of 2008, The Best Stand Alone expansion of 2008. Amazed by the how awesome is this game, I kept playing for hours. Technical graphics are great, thanks to CryEngine 2. And amazing semi-sandbox gameplay is rewarding and outstanding, thanks to CryTek. And thanks to the publisher, Electronic Arts, because they made this outstandingAwards: The Best FPS of 2008, The Best Semi-sandbox game of 2008, The Best Stand Alone expansion of 2008. Amazed by the how awesome is this game, I kept playing for hours. Technical graphics are great, thanks to CryEngine 2. And amazing semi-sandbox gameplay is rewarding and outstanding, thanks to CryTek. And thanks to the publisher, Electronic Arts, because they made this outstanding stand alone expansion. Expand
  13. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    Almost as awesome as the original Crysis, Warhead features a shorter, more action-oriented campaign and an outstanding standalone Crysis Wars multiplayer component. The game is better optimized, so it runs smoother on your PC, which is quite handy, since you'll need those extra FPS in the explosive action sequences, which the game is full of. The only cons that take away that, 10th reviewAlmost as awesome as the original Crysis, Warhead features a shorter, more action-oriented campaign and an outstanding standalone Crysis Wars multiplayer component. The game is better optimized, so it runs smoother on your PC, which is quite handy, since you'll need those extra FPS in the explosive action sequences, which the game is full of. The only cons that take away that, 10th review point, are an uninspiring plot, less freedom of choice (the aggressive approach is kinda forced in this one) and stiff cutscene animations. But despite of that, it's still more of Crysis and it is awesome. Expand
  14. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    Good things about it:
    -graphics
    -story
    -the freedom of choice in combat(stealth, hit and run, or just run away from everybody(not recomended))
    -its basically the same game as Crysis 1, the graphics and graphics engine are the same, same weapons, same customizations

    Not so good things:
    -nothing new different from Crysis 1
    -too short
  15. sft
    May 22, 2013
    10
    More maximum mayhem

    CRYSIS WARHEAD is basically an expansion of the original game so everything I felt about that game also applies here. Even though it’s now 5 years old the game looks fantastic and has some impressive physics (apparently the CryEngine was updated for this). The story is adequate, given the limitations of a game such as this, and the voice acting is convincing
    More maximum mayhem

    CRYSIS WARHEAD is basically an expansion of the original game so everything I felt about that game also applies here. Even though it’s now 5 years old the game looks fantastic and has some impressive physics (apparently the CryEngine was updated for this). The story is adequate, given the limitations of a game such as this, and the voice acting is convincing throughout. The gameplay is perhaps a little more linear than in the original but it’s also faster paced and more intense. The combat is pretty tough at times, although the final boss battle was actually easier than much of what had gone before. There’s a lot packed into this short game, and that’s the only downside: it’s over way too soon.
    Expand
  16. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    Nastavlja gdje je prethodnik stao, odlicno, zadrzani svi elementi, a misije jos zanimljivije..........................................................
  17. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    Playing as SGT Psycho was one of the best SP gaming experiences i had. This game has all of the good elements from Crysis 1 and ufortunately adds very little to it. Short but great campaing that finnaly has "balls" and you get to fight aliens more than in original game. Final fight is also very good. Unfortunately its not so much open to options on how to deal with enemies and its morePlaying as SGT Psycho was one of the best SP gaming experiences i had. This game has all of the good elements from Crysis 1 and ufortunately adds very little to it. Short but great campaing that finnaly has "balls" and you get to fight aliens more than in original game. Final fight is also very good. Unfortunately its not so much open to options on how to deal with enemies and its more linear but still a great game. I would give it an 8 but i enjoyed the SP so much that i have to give it higher score. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. The original Crysis may have given you the basic tools, but Warhead allows you to really use them, and while its previous titles made it clear that Crytek knew technology like few others, it's this strange off-shoot Warhead that proves it's no slouch when it comes to level design and set-pieces either.
  2. 94
    For $30, Crysis Warhead is an incredible value, and you’d be hard pressed to find a better shooter on the PC this year. The single-player campaign is tight and superb, and the multiplayer portion delivers something that you can just in and play and have fun with.
  3. Warhead honestly is the finest burst of action gaming released so far this year, and if you're canny then you'll be able to pick it up for a mere £15 from online retailers. It's a five hour tour-de-force that's plugged the holes in Crysis with diamonds.