User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 467 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 467

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PeterS.
    Sep 18, 2008
    10
    Great game, great Value! Multiplayer is lots of fun, and the single player is awesome!
  2. SpidermanPsycho
    Sep 26, 2008
    10
    Best game for the best affordable price it is absolutely steal. if you love shooters like me I'm sure you also like this one. Bring on Crysis 2.
  3. RM
    Sep 16, 2008
    10
    A fantastic improvement over the first in all affairs. Level design, performance, pure beauty, AI intelligence, storytelling, music, and cut-scenes. It takes you for a ride and doesn't let go!
  4. JonathanW.
    Sep 14, 2008
    10
    Even Better than the original. Visuals and gameplay!
  5. HernandoT.
    Sep 14, 2008
    10
    Great game! After Crysis, this is will be well optimized and playable with a 600$ machine all in high. I recommend this game to FPSrs.
  6. MarcinS.
    Sep 14, 2008
    10
    An amazing improvement over the original game.
  7. QuanD.
    Sep 18, 2008
    9
    The shooting is better than the first one, harder and more realistic.
  8. YuukiA.
    Sep 21, 2008
    9
    Very much Crysis style but with alot more packed into 5 hours of mayhem much to the style of 'Psycho'. Great fun, more challenging then the first Crysis, fun new weapons to add to your arsenal, fast paced action and follows the original story well, but at the same time definitely adds its own dimension to make it a unique experience. The Cry2 engine seems to definitely have had Very much Crysis style but with alot more packed into 5 hours of mayhem much to the style of 'Psycho'. Great fun, more challenging then the first Crysis, fun new weapons to add to your arsenal, fast paced action and follows the original story well, but at the same time definitely adds its own dimension to make it a unique experience. The Cry2 engine seems to definitely have had its optimization improved as the game actually LOOKS better but also RUNS better then the original. The action is more intense but its not to say that there aren't areas where you will make use of being stealthy. If you enjoyed Crysis then you will definitely enjoy Crysis Warhead. 30 bucks, you cant go wrong! Using a fairly 'budget' system (8800GT) the game ran real well with most settings on enthusiast mixed with gamer @ 1680x1050. Good game Crytek~ more please! Expand
  9. mysterylol
    Sep 28, 2008
    9
    Great game, stunning visuals. Great maps. Short and sweet!
  10. May 10, 2011
    10
    Much better than the first.The campaign is short but much more engaging, the battles more fierce and gameplay better.Overall one of the best games ever better than Crysis.And i like Psycho more than Nomad.
  11. JN
    Sep 30, 2008
    9
    I don't understand PC GAMER giving this game such a low score. It has been the best game I have played this year so far, and since i'm goin travelling in a few weeks it will probably be my game of the year :) A lot of criticism has been levelled at the more action packed on-rails nature of this game, I have to say this criticism is unfounded. The few parts where you are totally I don't understand PC GAMER giving this game such a low score. It has been the best game I have played this year so far, and since i'm goin travelling in a few weeks it will probably be my game of the year :) A lot of criticism has been levelled at the more action packed on-rails nature of this game, I have to say this criticism is unfounded. The few parts where you are totally restricted (ie. defensive parts/driving) the action and gunplay is so excellently realised that you don't care. The aliens are much better, but the creators have listened to their fans, and in this game even alien sections have KPA sprinkled liberally throughout so your tactics are always varied. The best way of describing this game is the freedom of Crysis mixed with the scripted nature of Call of Duty 4. The set-pieces in this game will blow you away. However players who slowly inched their way through the whole of Crysis in stealth mode will find this less fun than the player who enjoyed jumping from rooftop to rooftop blowing the entire KPA away. Expand
  12. JoepH.
    Oct 4, 2008
    10
    Perfect graphics, fast, exciting and original gameplay and GREAT multiplayer which will keep you busy for ages. if you allready have crysis, buy this for better multiplayer and performance. The graphics in this one are better but less intense for your graphics card!
  13. KantleyW.
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    EA and Crytek. Best combination ever!! That ought to tip the scales in EA's ever ongoing war with Blizzard.
  14. BobJ.
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Best game I've played in a long time. If you have the system to run it that is.
  15. MikeC.
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    A superb game! The suit is so damn fun to use. You'll do things like use invisibility to creep up on an unsuspecting Korean patrol. Changing to maximum armour, you ambush them with a well placed grenade and then finish them off. But now the Koreans have heard the noise and seen you, and are closing in to flank you. How's your energy? Can you hide behind cover to flick back to A superb game! The suit is so damn fun to use. You'll do things like use invisibility to creep up on an unsuspecting Korean patrol. Changing to maximum armour, you ambush them with a well placed grenade and then finish them off. But now the Koreans have heard the noise and seen you, and are closing in to flank you. How's your energy? Can you hide behind cover to flick back to invisibility so you can invisibly creep to a different bit of cover, flanking your enemies as they close in on where they think you're still hiding? Or are they already too close, and you have to switch to speed and make a make a mad, desperate dash to avoid being killed? Or should you switch to strength and jump onto the roof of that building where they can't reach you? Or will someone lob a grenade at you and make the roof collapse? The open levels, suit powers, and weapon customisations give you so many possibilities. The combat is intense, brutal and visceral (best played on delta difficulty). And it's gorgeous. Awesome graphics are used to render intensely beautiful scences. The plot is standard action fare, but it's told with such visual flair and uses such beautifully atmospheric locations that I was still interested in it. The one issue I had is that there's now noticable pop-in, compared to the original crysis. And it's short but cheap. With this level of quality, I wouldn't mind long but expensive :) But it was still a 10/10 experience for me. Easily up there as one of the best FPS experiences I've ever had. Expand
  16. RobbieG.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Loved it...from start to finish...it's tough on Delta which is great, and while more linear than it's predecessor, it's great fun. Sure, it's hort, but it costs less than half the price of Crysis and if it were not for the annoying scenery pop-up and issues with sniper sights (objects that haven't appeared in normal view will suddenly block your sights with the Loved it...from start to finish...it's tough on Delta which is great, and while more linear than it's predecessor, it's great fun. Sure, it's hort, but it costs less than half the price of Crysis and if it were not for the annoying scenery pop-up and issues with sniper sights (objects that haven't appeared in normal view will suddenly block your sights with the sniper scope on) then this would be technically perfect. Plays faster than Crysis and given the luke-warm reception to Far-Cry 2, as a teaser before Crysis 2 (what's with Prophet? Has he been infected by the aliens? I need to find out...) it's just about the best thing around right now. Expand
  17. JeffreyC.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    Crysis Warhead I suspect will be the best PC game and best first person shooter of 2008. It's such an awesome game. Almost the standard it put up when Crysis was first released. It fixed all the problems Crysis had. Smoother running and sharper graphics although Crysis had the best graphics a PC game could have. Excellent game!! Absolutely!! Praise Crytek Studios!! All hail EA!!!
  18. [Anonymous]
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    It is a very dynamic and beautiful game. Totally worth it.
  19. BrianY.
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    This game shines truly as FPS masterpiece. Best graphics, most intense gameplay, most flexible gameplay, excellent campaign and a truly great price of $30 only. It should be $100.
  20. DaveC.
    Sep 22, 2008
    9
    Awesome, just like the original but with more gung-ho action and you get to play as that tough cockney geezer Psycho. What more could you want ? Well, it's cheap to buy and you get Crysis Wars thrown in on a second disc too ! Would have gotten a 10 if not for the scarily expensive PC you need to buy to play it on.
  21. PaulW.
    Sep 24, 2008
    9
    Very enjoyable followup to Crysis. Performance is much improved, as is AI, pacing and overall gameplay. Hope to see more from Crytek soon!
  22. Sven
    Jan 18, 2009
    10
    This game is pure awesomeness in every sense of the word. This is for me THE best PC experience of 2008. This game is the perfect example of why PC's kickass and are here to stay, FOR EVER. Its gameplay is more intense and focused than the original Crysis and can be very closely described with the intensity of a Call Of Duty game. I actually found it to be more enjoyable than Crysis This game is pure awesomeness in every sense of the word. This is for me THE best PC experience of 2008. This game is the perfect example of why PC's kickass and are here to stay, FOR EVER. Its gameplay is more intense and focused than the original Crysis and can be very closely described with the intensity of a Call Of Duty game. I actually found it to be more enjoyable than Crysis since developer Crytek has learned from Crysis and improved upon its mistakes. By this I mean, NO LONG LULLS, MORE INTENSE ACTION, BETTER GRAPHICS, BETTER PERFORMANCE and a ENJOYABLE MULTIPLAYER. This game is by all means no Crysis 2 (man that game needs to come soon), but it wasnt supposed to be, it is supposed to be an improved Crysis experience, which is exactly what Crysis Warhead is. So BUY THIS GAME. Expand
  23. RobS.
    Jan 18, 2009
    10
    Best PC game ever made. Basically an improvement on the original Crysis where they kept all that was good and tossed all that wasn't. It's visually incredible and the game play is the best since the original Counter-strike / Half-life games. All future game should have gameplay this sweet. One caveat though, you need a good computer with a good graphics card. Without it, forget Best PC game ever made. Basically an improvement on the original Crysis where they kept all that was good and tossed all that wasn't. It's visually incredible and the game play is the best since the original Counter-strike / Half-life games. All future game should have gameplay this sweet. One caveat though, you need a good computer with a good graphics card. Without it, forget it. You are missing all that makes this game great! Expand
  24. AnonymousMC
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    Crytek certainly paid attention and learned from their mistakes with Crysis. Minor gameplay tweaks and graphical details all come together to make a more exciting and varried game that never becomes a chore. Unlike Crysis I found myself using the suit controls for a lot more than just invisibility. This is what Crysis should of been.
  25. AnonymousMC
    Aug 6, 2009
    9
    I found this game to be alot of fun it had great gameplay and amazing graphics and even though the gameplay was linear it was still a great game BUT i found it to be alot shorter then the original crysis and the ending felt like it shouldnt have ended there. 9/10
  26. TonyL.
    Sep 27, 2009
    9
    Great looking game, better than the original. There are some good missions with a lot of action and explosions. Very playable if you play this in DX9. The controls are good, the gameplay and different levels of difficulty is good, the sound and visuals are good. I think the story and voicing are above decent. The new team deathmatch is a plus too. This game isn't priced too high soGreat looking game, better than the original. There are some good missions with a lot of action and explosions. Very playable if you play this in DX9. The controls are good, the gameplay and different levels of difficulty is good, the sound and visuals are good. I think the story and voicing are above decent. The new team deathmatch is a plus too. This game isn't priced too high so it's definitely worth it. If you have the original Crysis, you'll have a blast with this one. There are plenty of multiplayer maps released from Crytek too. If you're really into eyecandy, you will love this game especially if enable AF in your graphics control panel. Expand
  27. LesterG.
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    Overall, the superb graphics and open ended gameplay of Crysis Warhead was worth my hard earned money. However, I was a little dissapointed with the shorter single player campaign, especially compared to the original Crysis. But at a MSRP of $29.99, who can complain? Of course, there'll always be a handful of PC's that will crush under the might of the Crytek2 engine. But in the Overall, the superb graphics and open ended gameplay of Crysis Warhead was worth my hard earned money. However, I was a little dissapointed with the shorter single player campaign, especially compared to the original Crysis. But at a MSRP of $29.99, who can complain? Of course, there'll always be a handful of PC's that will crush under the might of the Crytek2 engine. But in the end, this is why dedicated gamers stick to the PC, you get cutting edge games that pushes our technology to the limit. Like the old saying goes, "If you can't take the heat, get out of the kitchen". Crysis Warhed represents the epitome of PC gaming and another reason why PC games will always remain generations ahead of bubble gum consoles. Expand
  28. MojahedA.
    Dec 1, 2008
    10
    so Valve has done it again by Making the best Milti plyer Addictive Person shooter of all Time . now I.m not gonna rate it Based on The Demo . It Deserve Every penny of it .
  29. MartinV.
    Sep 18, 2008
    9
    Much more intense. Seems like graphics and texture quality were turned down a bit, but the art quality of the frozen landscape is breathtaking. Didn't have much time to look around though, because of all the action. I was expecting the game to be a bit longer, it took me just two afternoons on Delta level to finish the game. Still takes a hell of a rig to run on Enthusiast settings - Much more intense. Seems like graphics and texture quality were turned down a bit, but the art quality of the frozen landscape is breathtaking. Didn't have much time to look around though, because of all the action. I was expecting the game to be a bit longer, it took me just two afternoons on Delta level to finish the game. Still takes a hell of a rig to run on Enthusiast settings - Q6600 at 3.2Ghz and two GTX 280s in SLI around 25FPS on average. Expand
  30. BelushiS.
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Much has been made of Warhead being "faster", or "optimized"...you won't notice that much of a speed difference but you will notice how much smoother it is, how much better enemy AI is and there's endless fun to be had seeing just how much yof the screen you can fill with explosions. Gung-ho tactics will not work, it's a much more cerebral shooter than most and it's Much has been made of Warhead being "faster", or "optimized"...you won't notice that much of a speed difference but you will notice how much smoother it is, how much better enemy AI is and there's endless fun to be had seeing just how much yof the screen you can fill with explosions. Gung-ho tactics will not work, it's a much more cerebral shooter than most and it's much more exciting than most, and at the price represents the best value for money you'll find all year. Too much fun. Expand
  31. JohnK.
    Sep 24, 2008
    10
    Anyone who enjoyed Crysis will simply be blown away by Warhead. Every aspect is amplified, from the graphics, to the soundtrack, to the engagement of the player with the storyline. The characters are more memorable and the action is better paced. While it doesn't quite have the impact of HL2, Warhead is still one of those games that when you finish make you sit back and exhale.
  32. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    Just as good as the original Crysis. The AI seems to have been slightly updated, but still has a few glitches. The story is just as solid as Crysis, but in Warhead you play as "Psycho". Psycho has more character than Nomad which may just be because he was so memorable in Crysis. The gameplay and graphics are the same, except that the Cryengine 2 has been further optimized in Warhead. AJust as good as the original Crysis. The AI seems to have been slightly updated, but still has a few glitches. The story is just as solid as Crysis, but in Warhead you play as "Psycho". Psycho has more character than Nomad which may just be because he was so memorable in Crysis. The gameplay and graphics are the same, except that the Cryengine 2 has been further optimized in Warhead. A worthy expansion for Crysis, and a bit cheaper. Comes with Crysis Wars as well, which is great fun. It is fairly straightforwards multiplayer and it has no real problems. Great bang for your buck. Expand
  33. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    CrysisWarhead is greater than its predecessor Crysis.... I played the two back to back; there is only one way to describe this - in your best Jamaican accent - Totally Great Man. Overall Score 10, played 4 years after release, SteamPC version, and DRM Steam only (always without flaws) and no EA/Origin necessary.

    [Story] Play as the character -Psycho-, survive the VTOL crash and go deep
    CrysisWarhead is greater than its predecessor Crysis.... I played the two back to back; there is only one way to describe this - in your best Jamaican accent - Totally Great Man. Overall Score 10, played 4 years after release, SteamPC version, and DRM Steam only (always without flaws) and no EA/Origin necessary.

    [Story] Play as the character -Psycho-, survive the VTOL crash and go deep behind enemy lines. Secure the frozen Alien carcasse (that you saw at the penultimate scene in Crysis). This game is another 8 hour Episode of the original game and you can not afford to miss it.


    [Challenges] The game layout is identical to Crysis.... You are playing missions and the game is tight Tight TIGHT. Much of the flaws from the first game have been solved.... Driving with combat is much better and now fun, ammo pick up is automatic, and the AI is good but dumb just like the first game. A good approach when you are outnumbered is to go far away from the objective and create a diversion; the NPCs get totally lost and jammed up in the far away place.... return to the objective without hindrance.... ; ) [My PC] i7-2600K 3.4GHz / ASUS Z68 ProGen3 / 8Gig RAM / Radeon 6870 / 1920x1200 / W7 PRO SP1 [Graphics score 10] This game was beautiful and flawless and was played in one day without a crash or a reboot. [MyFavorites] [PC Win7] Crysis&Warhead Rage [PC XP] DeuxExHumanRevolution&TheMissingLink DeadSpace1&2 Fallout3 FalloutNewVegas HalfLife1&2 Bordelands BatmanArkumAsylum AssassinsCreed1 Magicka RedFaction Portal1&2 FromDust MrRobot Sam&MaxSeasons1&2 CulpaInnata TheSecretOfMonkeyIsland DreamfallTheLongestJourney Syberia1&2 CrayonPhysicsDeluxe DefenseGridTheAwakening PlantsVsZombies Prototype Bioshock1&2 UnrealTournament3 Quake4 [360] AfroSamurai BrutalLegends [XBOX] HALO KOTOR1&2 Crackdown ArmedAndDangerous AggressiveInline BeyondGoodAndEvil DeadOrAlive1&2&3&ExtremeBeachVolleyball Psychonauts [AppleG4] DeusExMachina ReturnToZork Suspended UnrealTournament TombRaiderSeries Suspended [Born] 1964 http://www.metacritic.com/user/metacriticFAN
    Expand
  34. Dec 29, 2010
    9
    crysis was good, warhead is even better. with the improvement for duel wielding sidearms it almost makes it worth it by itself. vehicle driving could be slightly smoother (only say that because I have played a lot of racing games) but overall i think this is a terrific game. to put the graphics in retrospect think of tes4 and the detail put into it with slightly longer view distances here.crysis was good, warhead is even better. with the improvement for duel wielding sidearms it almost makes it worth it by itself. vehicle driving could be slightly smoother (only say that because I have played a lot of racing games) but overall i think this is a terrific game. to put the graphics in retrospect think of tes4 and the detail put into it with slightly longer view distances here. definitely worth the money (ten bucks on steam for crysis, crysis warhead and crysis wars!) Expand
  35. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    An improved Crysis 1 with a new(?) story line. It's rather a DLC and not a full game. Even though it"s fun to play with it. The story is quite short, it"s easy but the multiplayer (Crysis Wars) compensate it. The Power Struggle is the best multiplayer mod I've ever played. The graphics is still world-class but I think it"s clear if we talk about the Crysis franchise.
  36. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    Crytek did a beautiful job with Warhead Although i like Crysis Original better this one is more linear than the first and Crysis 2 is the most linear so on that note Crytek/Electronic Arts is getting lazy but at the same time setting the standard is Graphics Technology.
  37. Aug 7, 2011
    9
    Amazing story, awesome graphics (but also demanding on the system), cool weapons. Only issues i have with this game is that it's just too short (like Crysis), and that the system requirements are a little steep. Otherwise - a must have shooter!
  38. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    So, Crysis: Warhead. Same gameplay as Crysis but a different character and story. Is it worth it? Well, gameplay wise, nothing has been changed which was a good thing for me. After finishing Crysis on Delta and Crysis 2 on Supersoldier I felt I needed something else with similar gameplay that wasn't the same game then this came around! I thoroughly enjoyed it and the advanced physics wereSo, Crysis: Warhead. Same gameplay as Crysis but a different character and story. Is it worth it? Well, gameplay wise, nothing has been changed which was a good thing for me. After finishing Crysis on Delta and Crysis 2 on Supersoldier I felt I needed something else with similar gameplay that wasn't the same game then this came around! I thoroughly enjoyed it and the advanced physics were awesome, the only thing letting the game down for me was a few glitches the larger Ceph had such as them getting stuck because they went into a tight space and couldn't get out again. Either way you look at it, buy it! Expand
  39. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    If Crysis deserves a 10, then Warhead deserves an 8. Still a good game but much shorter than Crysis, didn't run as smooth, and slightly buggy. The campaign took only six hours to complete and that is including many long cinematic cut scenes that were poorly done and pointless. However, the multiplayer game, Crysis Wars, is about as much fun as I've ever had in multiplayer, 80 plus hoursIf Crysis deserves a 10, then Warhead deserves an 8. Still a good game but much shorter than Crysis, didn't run as smooth, and slightly buggy. The campaign took only six hours to complete and that is including many long cinematic cut scenes that were poorly done and pointless. However, the multiplayer game, Crysis Wars, is about as much fun as I've ever had in multiplayer, 80 plus hours and still going strong. If you liked Crysis, and you like FPS team death match multiplayer you should love this game. As point of reference, some other games I would score 8-10, Crysis, COD 4, Half Life 2, Halo, and all the Quake iterations. Expand
  40. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    Co ckney (apparenly a swearword for metacritic) Statham-esque alien destruction in a superhero suit. I mean, if that doesn't whet your appetite I think you need to re-evaluate your life choices.
  41. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Crysis Warhead improves upon the original in every aspect. It's more intense, it has one of the best soundtracks I've heard in a long while with each song getting your adrenaline pumping and hairs raise on your arms, it's that epic. The graphics and physics have been worked on so it's smoother and even more beautiful than the original. There are a couple of new weapons but nothing special.
    The game has a much more personal feel to it because it follows the story of Psycho who's a much greater character than Nomad. It has way more story cutscenes which are greatly executed and helps you get involved emotionally too. The game is more linear, the levels are more straight forward and it keeps increasing in intensity and speed throughout the campaign. It has some really epic battles, not just alone but often with other soldiers with you, this time around a whole squad of Nanosuit operatives. You'll get into threeway battles which has you fighting both Koreans and aliens at the same time.
    Expand
  42. May 19, 2012
    10
    Awards: The Best FPS of 2008, The Best Semi-sandbox game of 2008, The Best Stand Alone expansion of 2008. Amazed by the how awesome is this game, I kept playing for hours. Technical graphics are great, thanks to CryEngine 2. And amazing semi-sandbox gameplay is rewarding and outstanding, thanks to CryTek. And thanks to the publisher, Electronic Arts, because they made this outstandingAwards: The Best FPS of 2008, The Best Semi-sandbox game of 2008, The Best Stand Alone expansion of 2008. Amazed by the how awesome is this game, I kept playing for hours. Technical graphics are great, thanks to CryEngine 2. And amazing semi-sandbox gameplay is rewarding and outstanding, thanks to CryTek. And thanks to the publisher, Electronic Arts, because they made this outstanding stand alone expansion. Expand
  43. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    Almost as awesome as the original Crysis, Warhead features a shorter, more action-oriented campaign and an outstanding standalone Crysis Wars multiplayer component. The game is better optimized, so it runs smoother on your PC, which is quite handy, since you'll need those extra FPS in the explosive action sequences, which the game is full of. The only cons that take away that, 10th reviewAlmost as awesome as the original Crysis, Warhead features a shorter, more action-oriented campaign and an outstanding standalone Crysis Wars multiplayer component. The game is better optimized, so it runs smoother on your PC, which is quite handy, since you'll need those extra FPS in the explosive action sequences, which the game is full of. The only cons that take away that, 10th review point, are an uninspiring plot, less freedom of choice (the aggressive approach is kinda forced in this one) and stiff cutscene animations. But despite of that, it's still more of Crysis and it is awesome. Expand
  44. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    Good things about it:
    -graphics
    -story
    -the freedom of choice in combat(stealth, hit and run, or just run away from everybody(not recomended))
    -its basically the same game as Crysis 1, the graphics and graphics engine are the same, same weapons, same customizations

    Not so good things:
    -nothing new different from Crysis 1
    -too short
  45. sft
    May 22, 2013
    10
    More maximum mayhem

    CRYSIS WARHEAD is basically an expansion of the original game so everything I felt about that game also applies here. Even though it’s now 5 years old the game looks fantastic and has some impressive physics (apparently the CryEngine was updated for this). The story is adequate, given the limitations of a game such as this, and the voice acting is convincing
    More maximum mayhem

    CRYSIS WARHEAD is basically an expansion of the original game so everything I felt about that game also applies here. Even though it’s now 5 years old the game looks fantastic and has some impressive physics (apparently the CryEngine was updated for this). The story is adequate, given the limitations of a game such as this, and the voice acting is convincing throughout. The gameplay is perhaps a little more linear than in the original but it’s also faster paced and more intense. The combat is pretty tough at times, although the final boss battle was actually easier than much of what had gone before. There’s a lot packed into this short game, and that’s the only downside: it’s over way too soon.
    Expand
  46. Jan 23, 2015
    9
    Played this for the first time more than 6 years after its release, and it is an awesome game by modern standards. Loved the original Crysis, but I honestly believe this game is superior. The story is more compelling, there's more action, Sykes is a better character than Nomad, and even the settings are more gripping. There were some issues with getting it to run properly after I firstPlayed this for the first time more than 6 years after its release, and it is an awesome game by modern standards. Loved the original Crysis, but I honestly believe this game is superior. The story is more compelling, there's more action, Sykes is a better character than Nomad, and even the settings are more gripping. There were some issues with getting it to run properly after I first downloaded but I was able to resolve them with some research. If it weren't for that, this game would be a 10. Expand
  47. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    Playing as SGT Psycho was one of the best SP gaming experiences i had. This game has all of the good elements from Crysis 1 and ufortunately adds very little to it. Short but great campaing that finnaly has "balls" and you get to fight aliens more than in original game. Final fight is also very good. Unfortunately its not so much open to options on how to deal with enemies and its morePlaying as SGT Psycho was one of the best SP gaming experiences i had. This game has all of the good elements from Crysis 1 and ufortunately adds very little to it. Short but great campaing that finnaly has "balls" and you get to fight aliens more than in original game. Final fight is also very good. Unfortunately its not so much open to options on how to deal with enemies and its more linear but still a great game. I would give it an 8 but i enjoyed the SP so much that i have to give it higher score. Expand
  48. Feb 20, 2015
    10
    Had a blast playing this game despite it being a pretty old game! Very beautiful environments and has more action/excitement in the gameplay compared to Crysis 1. The AIs are pretty dumb still haha, but i had a ton of fun playing this game. If it goes on sale, give it a try! :D
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. The original Crysis may have given you the basic tools, but Warhead allows you to really use them, and while its previous titles made it clear that Crytek knew technology like few others, it's this strange off-shoot Warhead that proves it's no slouch when it comes to level design and set-pieces either.
  2. 94
    For $30, Crysis Warhead is an incredible value, and you’d be hard pressed to find a better shooter on the PC this year. The single-player campaign is tight and superb, and the multiplayer portion delivers something that you can just in and play and have fun with.
  3. Warhead honestly is the finest burst of action gaming released so far this year, and if you're canny then you'll be able to pick it up for a mere £15 from online retailers. It's a five hour tour-de-force that's plugged the holes in Crysis with diamonds.