User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 117 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 117
  2. Negative: 22 out of 117

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 14, 2013
    3
    In an attempt to revert to the 'Good Ol' Days' of 16-bit and 8-bit RPGs, Cthulhu Saves The World manages to be slightly amusing, while simultaneously ruining the game-play and shortening the length. The jokes are fairly amusing to RPG players, you'll get references to tonnes of old 16 bit RPGs, Dragon Quest, Final Fantasy, all that. But the gameplay is mind-numbingly dull and frustrating.In an attempt to revert to the 'Good Ol' Days' of 16-bit and 8-bit RPGs, Cthulhu Saves The World manages to be slightly amusing, while simultaneously ruining the game-play and shortening the length. The jokes are fairly amusing to RPG players, you'll get references to tonnes of old 16 bit RPGs, Dragon Quest, Final Fantasy, all that. But the gameplay is mind-numbingly dull and frustrating. Combat is just a damage rush which involves you trying to kill the enemies as quickly as possible due to the rising attack power the enemies gain every turn. This is even worse against bosses, which, in a good RPG would be prolonged and tense engagements. It's slightly amusing but the gameplay just makes it a chore to play. Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2014
    1
    Just like 'Breath of Death VII: The Beginning', this sequel features some ugly (and that even by SNES standards) and uninspired graphics. Funny ironical storyline & -telling. Better play a Japanese masterpiece like a 'Final Fantasy' episode on SuperNintendo!
  3. Mar 9, 2012
    4
    Very very overrated game with bad graphics and extremely short playtime for a so-called throwback to the old superNES RPG (5 hours or so). The humor is quirky at best. But at least it's cheap.
  4. Feb 16, 2012
    3
    This game, is probably one of the worst indie titles I've ever played. Initially, I bought the game because I was told it was hilarious, and that it was a great retro title. Well, I bought this game at its ultra-low price, and I gave it the shot it deserved. Honestly, this game should be free. It's not even worth the price of admission. I did not laugh, chuckle, smile, or smirk even once.This game, is probably one of the worst indie titles I've ever played. Initially, I bought the game because I was told it was hilarious, and that it was a great retro title. Well, I bought this game at its ultra-low price, and I gave it the shot it deserved. Honestly, this game should be free. It's not even worth the price of admission. I did not laugh, chuckle, smile, or smirk even once. I love a good parody, I really do, but this is just not done right. It's not a funny game, and even its gameplay doesn't live up to even the retro titles that this game is spoofing. Turn-based combat in an RPG can be exciting, if done correctly, such as Chrono Trigger or Final Fantasy IV - VI. This game's combat makes me yawn, the graphics are bland even for a retro title, and the music? Let me put it to you this way, I've heard better music in Jeckyll and Hyde for the NES. There are far better indie games out there than this one. Steer clear until its free. Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2012
    3
    Intended to give 3 pts not 1
  6. Dec 24, 2011
    0
    A guy walks into a shop: "Hello, I'd like to buy a steaming pile of manure". Shopkeeper: "Ah, I have just the thing", quickly serving up a double pack of Breath of Death and Cthulhu Saves the World, "That's 89 pence please!" This game is just so bad, where do I begin? Well, I want my 89 pence back! I should have bought that hot chocolate instead... It's a game of hammering the A button onA guy walks into a shop: "Hello, I'd like to buy a steaming pile of manure". Shopkeeper: "Ah, I have just the thing", quickly serving up a double pack of Breath of Death and Cthulhu Saves the World, "That's 89 pence please!" This game is just so bad, where do I begin? Well, I want my 89 pence back! I should have bought that hot chocolate instead... It's a game of hammering the A button on your gamepad for about 30 seconds whist not really looking at the screen, then getting a 10 second break, then repeat... kind of for eternity, or so it feels! Really? Yes, really. Oh come on it can't be that bad? Oh, how I wish... read on, Dear Adventurer, read on!... ****If you've read my review for Breath of Death you'll notice I've just copied and pasted that review here, and that's because ITS THE SAME GAME!!! OK, combat is now more difficult but still really tedious and the maps look cleaner but are now even more badly laid out! What follows is the remainder of my review for Breath of Death, replace pointless combat with utterly tedious combat and you'll get the idea!**** You can't explore for literally more than 10 seconds without having a combat encounter. All the combat encounters save for the boss fights are so ridiculously easy (on normal difficulty) that they are simply an exercise in using the default attack on the first creature for the first member of your team, using the default attack on the second creature for the second member of your team, and so on. As you have to do this every 10 seconds, after 5 minutes you can do it without actually looking at the screen! Still, it got the A button on my Xbox gamepad a good workout (before you nay sayers say "Xbox groupie who doesn't appreciate PC games", I don't own an Xbox, just the controller as it's the most compatible controller for PC games, and no I don't use it for FPSes!) And that is the game, that pointless combat, that IS the game! About 90 percent of it. The rest of the time is spent exploring (only you can't in any type of satisfying manner because after 10 seconds you've got the pointless button pressing combat again) some terribly badly designed maps (on roughly the same tech and inspirational level as Horace Goes Skiing - seriously that lost world of dinosaurs game on the Spectrum 128K had way, way better level design), following a story line that is so shallow it makes Jet Set Willy look like story telling genius, buying weapons and armour and levelling up which is all pointless because the combat is just so useless. Oh yeah, there are special skills and combo moves in the combat, but you don't need them except against Boss monsters so that's about 1 in 30 to 1 in 50 fights then. Oh, and Boss monsters are announced on the exploring map, which is nice because then you know to look at the screen during that combat! Stay away from this game the way you'd stay away from leprosy. If you just want to play an decent indie game, Bastion, Aaaaaaa A Reckless Disregard for Gravity and World of Goo spring to mind...amongst others. Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2015
    0
    This sequel to 'Breath of Death VII: The Beginning' features uninspired graphics - even by SNES standards!
    The ironical storyline does not save the day.

    You are better off playing any SNES 'Final Fantasy' episode... these are masterpieces!
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 2, 2011
    80
    Are you Final Fantasy old-time classics' devotees? Without hesitation, try this one! Do you love Lovecraft? Without hesitation, try this one! If you are truly positive about your answers, straightway you got to quest for Cthulhu Saves the World! Besides, how long ago you got a chance to play as a he-man (and quite an original one) baddy?
  2. PC Gamer
    Sep 13, 2011
    67
    A really good parody. [Nov 2011, p.76]
  3. Aug 3, 2011
    90
    A quality game, but at that absurdly low price there's really no excuse to deny yourself of it.