Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. May 24, 2012
    80
    So far, Cubemen is the best "tower defense" of 2012.
  2. May 11, 2012
    76
    Cubemen's simplicity is of the arrogant, even brash kind. [June 2012, p.95]
  3. 70
    Visually stern variation of tower defense strategies scores thanks to its multiple game modes and online multiplayer option. [Sept 2012]
  4. Apr 1, 2012
    70
    Cubemen is a simplistic tower defense game with a unique style that is best to be enjoyed offline. There are a lot of different game modes to enjoy and the AI is pretty good. Things tend to get a bit too simplistic however as all of the levels basically look the same and you can't upgrade any of your units. The multiplay can get frustrating as well, as people just tend to spam the cheapest units available.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 6 out of 18
  1. Mar 18, 2012
    8
    Cubemen is a decent RTS/Tower Defense game that does well with what little it contains. The use of "cubemen" instead of towers and theirCubemen is a decent RTS/Tower Defense game that does well with what little it contains. The use of "cubemen" instead of towers and their ability to move around on the battle field can make you rethink your strategies, especially since they can be destroyed by the enemy that is approaching you. The oncoming enemies can also pack weaponry so strategic selection and placement of your cubemen is critical for your success. In skirmish mode the game becomes even more entertaining with the addition of an enemy commander which will command it's own tower-like cubemen. You also get the basic foot soldiers that will mindlessly attack the enemy base every round. The wide variety of maps make up the majority of the difficulty differences, along with a couple other changes. This is a great little game and well worth the couple bucks it costs. Full Review »
  2. Aug 21, 2012
    4
    I am a big fan for RTS games, but not such for tower defense. Cubemen tried to combine both, having your men able to move around theI am a big fan for RTS games, but not such for tower defense. Cubemen tried to combine both, having your men able to move around the battlefield and- that's pretty much it. An update came out to change your character and added a new mode, but the game itself is boring. I got only 3 hours out of it, and completed all the levels on singleplayer. The multiplayer drags on for hours and is boring, also as Yahtzee said "A game has to stand up on singleplayer." The game needs a level editor bad at this point.

    To summarize, it is mediocre at best.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 25, 2013
    7
    This is a fun little strategy RTS/defense game mix well worth playing. It's not exceptional - so score is a 7 - but it's very good at what itThis is a fun little strategy RTS/defense game mix well worth playing. It's not exceptional - so score is a 7 - but it's very good at what it does. I've only played the 35 classic defense modes over about 20 hours so I'll comment on that. It has some tower defense elements, but it's more of an RTS. You have little "cubemen" with different abilities that are your towers - a grunt, a flamethrower, a mortar, medic, rocket launcher, laser, sniper, and "slow down/temporal" guy. I'm a big fan of Defense Grid's tower defense, but this is different in that you can move your troops around the battlefield (vs. stationary in tower defense). You're still protecting your base, but you can move your troops around the battlefield, take positions, advance/withdraw, take cover, etc in you efforts to kill the enemy. Often you'll be at endgame camping on the home base(s) of the bad guys (you can't just take their base - you just shoot them all when they come out, but that's an OK if not an exciting ending to a level. The difficulty curve is a little tough right at the start, but I found many of the medium/hard levels easier than the 3rd level of the game. So don't get discouraged - just give it a bit and learn how your pieces work. There are a couple levels at the end that I couldn't beat and just weren't fun to play even in losing - and I think I've thrown in the towel on those (one called Circuit and the other which is the very last level)- but generally this has been a fun game up to this point, and that's what matters. I found the controls simple (all mouse) and gameplay normally at a very manageable pace. I notice some comments have said the game had too much micromanagement, but I didn't find that to be the case at all. At least with the strategies and methods I used I found the ease of use good and interface to be very well thought out. I did find myself clicking and moving a whole lot on the two levels that I mentioned above that I couldn't win - but I wonder if I've just been playing them wrong. Most levels aren't that way and are strategic in a tower defense sense in that you use the terrain and barriers to your advantage when you can, and try to pick the right trooper for the right geography / situation. Then secure that area, and advance to your next key area to take. I also had fun building quite a few levels (maybe 6 or 7 so far) with the user level editor. Yep - you can build your own maps and play them. Very cool - and very easy to use interface for doing so. If you like building with Legos you'll probably like building your own levels. Note there are other game modes including multiplayer options that I haven't played yet, but may do so soon. One other thing I liked alot is that the developer participated in the forums on Steam talking to the players. I liked the game anyway - but it's cool he was there listening to comments also. Bottom line. Very cool game. If you're in the least bit interested it's worth a play. I had fun with it. Full Review »