Damnation PC

User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 70
  2. Negative: 40 out of 70
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 20, 2013
    8
    Basically I liked this game and I think of it as an older version of Assassins 3, with a lot more shooting. However, I got so involved with puzzle solving and wall jumping that I tended to lose track of the story line. Unfortunately, the story line isn't new and it is somewhat boring. Still, I believe this is a good game and it is appropriate for an old guy like me who has to play allBasically I liked this game and I think of it as an older version of Assassins 3, with a lot more shooting. However, I got so involved with puzzle solving and wall jumping that I tended to lose track of the story line. Unfortunately, the story line isn't new and it is somewhat boring. Still, I believe this is a good game and it is appropriate for an old guy like me who has to play all games dumbed down to easy level. Expand
  2. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    First time I tried to play I hated the game but when I got really bored one day played it again with my partner and we had more fun than most games we have played. the story is a bit lacking but the game play and scenery are amazing I'm guessing most people did what we did the first time round but never went back to try again. I really wish it had better reviews as we would have both lovedFirst time I tried to play I hated the game but when I got really bored one day played it again with my partner and we had more fun than most games we have played. the story is a bit lacking but the game play and scenery are amazing I'm guessing most people did what we did the first time round but never went back to try again. I really wish it had better reviews as we would have both loved a second to come out:( Expand
  3. MarkD
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    I thought this was a great game. It was exciting, as well as the huge jumping environment added alot of joy. It seemed to have a bit of a puzzle element as well (even though they werent hard in any sense just a bit different). Certain levels seemed like they would be more fun in co-op mode but I just played this in single player mode only. Overall the play, the AI and Weapons gave me a I thought this was a great game. It was exciting, as well as the huge jumping environment added alot of joy. It seemed to have a bit of a puzzle element as well (even though they werent hard in any sense just a bit different). Certain levels seemed like they would be more fun in co-op mode but I just played this in single player mode only. Overall the play, the AI and Weapons gave me a good time. I was upset to see this game scored so low. Expand
  4. admBOMBz
    Jul 5, 2009
    10
    i think everyone who didnt vote 8 or higher is dumb...the singleplayer was a joke ya sure. but the real fun is in the multiplayer. i think everyone hated the online play because you were only at ur best if you hosted the game....which i did all the time and always got the top frags. this game was too fun for me...sprinting one way, looking the other, toss a trip mine.....BUILT IN WALLi think everyone who didnt vote 8 or higher is dumb...the singleplayer was a joke ya sure. but the real fun is in the multiplayer. i think everyone hated the online play because you were only at ur best if you hosted the game....which i did all the time and always got the top frags. this game was too fun for me...sprinting one way, looking the other, toss a trip mine.....BUILT IN WALL HACKS PPL COME ON! this game is the shit, just needs better online lobby function....and better players...

    admBOMBz > you
    Expand
  5. Liamv
    Jun 12, 2009
    8
    V.T. pretty much hit the nail on the head. Everyone is complaining about how stupid this game is and how useless everything about it is. I say rubbish. Yes, the game could use some improvement, it is far from perfect, but it is still enjoyable. There are a few glitches here and there that i've found and the names and plot are fairly corny...But the game was still fun. The only V.T. pretty much hit the nail on the head. Everyone is complaining about how stupid this game is and how useless everything about it is. I say rubbish. Yes, the game could use some improvement, it is far from perfect, but it is still enjoyable. There are a few glitches here and there that i've found and the names and plot are fairly corny...But the game was still fun. The only problem i've had with weapons is when i had network trouble in a co op game and my bullets couldn't hit the enemy at all. WOW! one problem that's actually caused some form of frustration. Yes things like having to repeat the opening of doors and stuff is a pain...but who cares. i think the gameplay was quite good, and whatever the above comment was about the overcomplicated controls was ridiculous. it's like a 4 button control interface. If they're too complicated for you, go back to your 2x tables. It's not perfect, it's not GREAT, but it's pretty decent and i think people have cut it down WAY more than is necessary as the game can be quite fun. Expand
  6. JonasW
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    I think the gameplay is very good, I don't care of the reviews. After my point of view, I think it's a really good game.
  7. V.T.
    Jun 4, 2009
    8
    I have to admit that I love it when people feel they have to be overcritical about a game whenever its not the way they (the reviewer/critic) think it should be. Thats what I discovered has mostly been the case with Damnation. Scathing reviews from pretty much everybody, yet practically no one had anything constructive to say about the game. Now personally I enjoyed the game. Would I say I have to admit that I love it when people feel they have to be overcritical about a game whenever its not the way they (the reviewer/critic) think it should be. Thats what I discovered has mostly been the case with Damnation. Scathing reviews from pretty much everybody, yet practically no one had anything constructive to say about the game. Now personally I enjoyed the game. Would I say I loved it? Probably not, though it had its moments where I was stunned at how the story was progressing. Story: 8/10 Despite both user and critic reviews, the story is hardly "incoherent." In fact its quite easy to follow and has a pretty good twist thrown in. If the story suffered anywhere, it would be that it could have been longer and they could have developed the characters a bit more. Adding a little more fluff would have helped somewhat too as well as making the ending a little more substantial. I would like to have known what happened afterward. Sound & Voice Acting: 7/10 Voice acting was solid. Could it have been better? I would say probably. Everything else, solid. And I admit, some of the dialogue could have used some work but people need to understand that not everybody is a Oxford english major, not everybody is William Shakespeare. For crying out loud, the game takes place in the old west. Honestly I find the character's ineloquence make them more believable than if they spoke like Winston Churchill. Graphics & Animation: 9/10 Now as far as the graphics go, they are very well done. In fact I only noticed a few textures here and there that could have been a little higher res, but over all they did great. I don't know how people come off saying that the graphics are bad, perhaps they forgot to set the graphics quality to high and up the resolution. As for places that could use improvement, some of the cutscenes lagged a bit here and there. And I noticed in one level outside the PSI fortress where there was a floating drainage pipe not connected to anything and part of the tower is floating off the ground. But other than that no real problems that I noticed. Animations were solid. The only animation that I would see as needing to be fixed would be the animation of getting shot. There were also some weird animations with the motorcycle one or or two occasions where part of the bike would get funky but those problems were east to correct. In the end, people seem to forget that it's not about how pretty the game looks...its about how it plays... Gameplay: 9/10 I watched a video earlier about how inaccurate the weapons were. I had no such problems and the few times that I missed a head shot with the sniper rifle was due to me (though there might have been a few times where it glitched). Some of the levels were a little sparse for me in terms of enemies (PSI headquarters, Motorcycle levels) but hey... Game play overall though is solid. AI. 7/10 AI was generally good. There were a few times that I noticed the AI get a bit funky though. Expand
  8. joshhines
    May 29, 2009
    10
    I think it is a great game, solo play is very well laid out and the pvp play is very nice looking and quick to get into. The graphics themselves look astounding , in my own opinion the only con is theres no push to talk option the mic is always open so pvp can be irritating if theres a jerk in the round with his mic turned on constantly
Metascore
41

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 12 out of 17
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    60
    Damnation is a useless action game especially for core gamers. If only the developers had fulfiled their promises, we could have had a pretty cool game. Now you can enjoy the vertical architecture and nothing more. [May 2009]
  2. Damnation fails at pretty much everything it attempts to do. The story has never heard of coherence, climbing shouldn't be attempted if the gamer wishes to retain his sanity, bullets might as well be thrown with Rourke's bare hands and visually, Damnation could've been entirely in grey and nobody would notice the difference.
  3. Technically, Damnation is not up to date, it looks like a game from the 20th century with overly complicated controls. It's a shame, because it could have been so much better. Blue Omega, please try again.