Damnation Image
Metascore
41

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Evolving the shooter genre with its unique combination of fluid action and combat, Damnation features huge, open environments, frenetic combat, daredevil acrobatics and high-octane vehicle-based stunts. Presenting players with an intense test of reflexes, quick thinking and rapid-fire conflict, Damnation features vast, breathtaking landscapes, each covering miles of distance and thousands of vertical feet. Billed as a "shooter gone vertical" and visually inspired by iconic elements of American history, these massive streaming landscapes form the battlegrounds for a post-industrial conflict between humanity and an unstoppable arms dealer hell-bent on total world domination. Players choose their own paths and navigate the world by performing daredevil feats on the edge of human ability. Intelligent enemies give chase and engage players in frantic gun fights and attacks that can come from any direction. With up to three hours of actual gameplay stretching out in front of them per level, players need more than just muscle power to get across each level safely. Damnation offers players a selection of vehicles, from motorbikes capable of launching across seemingly infinite chasms, to huge, armour-piercing marvels that induce mayhem with every huge shell. The high action is supported by an epic and in-depth story which, while focusing on the exploits of the hero character Rourke, is truly an ensemble piece. Players meet and become involved in intricate story plots that reveal much more than the obvious. In addition to the single player experience, Damnation comes complete with a unique set of multiplayer options that take full advantage of the game’s expansive levels. [Codemasters] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 12 out of 17
  1. Damnation is a useless action game especially for core gamers. If only the developers had fulfiled their promises, we could have had a pretty cool game. Now you can enjoy the vertical architecture and nothing more. [May 2009]
  2. Technically, Damnation is not up to date, it looks like a game from the 20th century with overly complicated controls. It's a shame, because it could have been so much better. Blue Omega, please try again.
  3. Damnation is so deeply generic and boring, so it gets the sort of mark that it deserves. [Aug 2009, p.71]
  4. It's ill-thought from the very start, which is demonstrated by the contradictions and flaws evident throughout the entire game.
  5. This third-person shooter is a trip into hell.
  6. A sad story. The game had an interesting concept and a good amount of potential but it just never came together.
  7. Damnation had potential, but manages to do everything wrong. The game looks and controls awful and never gets fun to play.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 17 out of 29
  1. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    First time I tried to play I hated the game but when I got really bored one day played it again with my partner and we had more fun than most games we have played. the story is a bit lacking but the game play and scenery are amazing I'm guessing most people did what we did the first time round but never went back to try again. I really wish it had better reviews as we would have both loved a second to come out:( Collapse
  2. Apr 20, 2013
    8
    Basically I liked this game and I think of it as an older version of Assassins 3, with a lot more shooting. However, I got so involved with puzzle solving and wall jumping that I tended to lose track of the story line. Unfortunately, the story line isn't new and it is somewhat boring. Still, I believe this is a good game and it is appropriate for an old guy like me who has to play all games dumbed down to easy level. Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2011
    6
    This game has good things and a few bugs that spoil the gamefun. The things that should not be in the final game are: - animation when hit feels and looks not as a finished product. Things that could be improved: - A bit too easy to play. It plays like a shooter in third person view.
    - The controls are ok, some people complain about it, but I find it ok.
    - The A.I is basic, the enemies do hide away after getting hit.

    Good things about the game:
    - The greying out, without a health-bar is cleverly incorporated. Let's the player focus on the action.
    - The game is diverse. Platform, shooter, Bike to race to the next place. The bike riding takes a bit of practise. After that you can speed throught. Gives a nice feeling of speed.
    - The world is nicely drawn.
    - Can take 3 types of guns/rifles with you. Can switch between them.
    - As a man I do like the playable female chars. =)
    - The western setting with 20th century robots and weapons is refreshing.

    I played most great games and this game does not shine like those top games, but does not deserve a place among the worst games. It's still enjoyable. They could have made this game much better. The potential is there.
    Expand
  4. Sep 8, 2013
    5
    The campaign for this game is definitely meant to be played co-op, since I would imagine that it would be pretty boring playing single-player. The story and the varied gameplay make it fairly interesting from beginning to end, but it can get tedious at certain points. The campaign is way too easy, which can make for a boring playthrough, but the weird, choppy game mechanics would have made a hard difficulty very frustrating. The cutscene graphics look horrendous, like something from a ps2-era game, but the in-game graphics are average for a 2009 title.

    I just wonder why this spent so much time in development from the 2006 release of the Damnation mod for UT2004, to this 2009 release, based on the UT3 engine. It was worth the $1.50 I paid for it though.
    Expand
  5. Oct 3, 2010
    4
    Good controls outdated graphics but the game isn't that bad.The weapons are way to old in design and function.The enemies are very stupid.I like the way is climbing walls.But that all is nice.The action and tension are 0.The character is a copy of Van Hellsing with short hair.To bad it could be something much better.You could give it a try but i can't say i'm happy for playing this. Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2010
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a nice game, but .. a very big BUT .. the graphics of this game are not really that detailed and rather between mediocre and good. The fact that the levels are big and with a lot of perspective makes up a lot.

    Why does the developer uses save points? I REALLY hate save points. If I stop reading a book, I do not restart the complete chapter either you bunch of idiots. I do not like playing a game for 15 min and have to restart 15 min because I died or more. This is not game play but only waisting my precious time!
    Expand
  7. Jan 10, 2014
    1
    Don't believe the users that give 10 to this useless game. They surely are employees. Don´t buy these don´t even play it for free. It could be a good PS1 game or a regular PS2 title. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews