User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 54
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 54
  3. Negative: 4 out of 54

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 11, 2011
    10
    This game has been a defining and life-changing experience for me. No game in creation rivals the depth and complexity of the PvP system of DAoC. An absolute masterpiece of game design!
  2. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    Best MMO ever created. If it had the attention it deserved and had not been bought out and ignored by EA, this would still be the best MMO around. The best Player vs Player experience ever created on an online game, but only as long as you had friends to join you in battle.
  3. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    DAoC is the greatest MMORPG i grew up playing this game from the age of 11 back in 2002 till now. the graphics for one yes it compared to newer games that have come out its dull to few but it was the realistic of the graphics that made it feel real, the storie line the charcters the classes all schyronized well with the historical time this game was based off of. not to mention the RvRDAoC is the greatest MMORPG i grew up playing this game from the age of 11 back in 2002 till now. the graphics for one yes it compared to newer games that have come out its dull to few but it was the realistic of the graphics that made it feel real, the storie line the charcters the classes all schyronized well with the historical time this game was based off of. not to mention the RvR no game out there can compare to camelot in PvP combat running around with 50+ taking towers/castles/relics fighting one realm and all of a sudden the 3rd realm comes in and interferes and its a total chaos but fun you could also solo if u knew your way around the map, even the PvE was great you could group together and raid farm or just solo quests or kill to gain experiance in daoc u didnt have to do quests to level u could just run around and kill and honestly gain more xp from that thats something you dont see in these newer games and its kind of dragging to just do quest after quest. now threw the years ive tried other games like WoW WAR hammer rift but ive always came back to daoc and i would still play if it had a population to enjoy the game with like it used to be. and people who've played this game know what im talking about. but hands down not only was this the best MMORPG ive ever played. It is a game that sets the standards for how a MMORPG should be. with that being said i hope the camelot unchained will bring a success in rebirthing this gameplay type. Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    i wish that i could have been playing this game since start, but while i was giving SWG its chances i was totally not doing anything in DAOC, now i totally noticed this now and would like to start playing it, but is it too late?
  5. Jan 8, 2015
    10
    Best MMO ever. WoW is not even close to this.
    Best PvP, RvR, crafting, outstanding PvE, Quests.
    The devs started to ruin it at the end unfortunately; making gear obsolete, totally destroying ToA, and complicating with too many gear items etc.
    Still, if the servers had population I would consider returning.
  6. Feb 26, 2014
    9
    Oh DAOC, if i could go back in time and enjoy you again I would. You were everything an MMO and PVP MMO should be if you can merge in the Public Quests and other small advances we have made.

    Damn you Mythic and Damn you EABioware.

    Warhammer could have been so good as DAOC2.

    Q.Q
  7. Feb 19, 2015
    9
    Very fun and addicting MMORPG. I actually had to put the game down to focus on RL. Had great times playing on my Midgard warrior. One of the few MMORPGs to deliver the three faction warfare system. The game had a huge population in the early years. The crafted system was ok. Not easy to get used to at first, but immensely valuable once you learned a crafting trade. It could also have beenVery fun and addicting MMORPG. I actually had to put the game down to focus on RL. Had great times playing on my Midgard warrior. One of the few MMORPGs to deliver the three faction warfare system. The game had a huge population in the early years. The crafted system was ok. Not easy to get used to at first, but immensely valuable once you learned a crafting trade. It could also have been more meaningful and take less time to achieve Legendary status. While RVR was extremely fun, classes have remained unbalanced for the most part, especially since the inception of TOA. There's either no log in timer now, or a very short one enabling realm hoppers to easily bounce back and forth between realms. Players use this to earn more rps on their toons when one realm holds the advantage therefore destroying all meaning of realm loyalty. I fear the most recent changes to the frontiers may finish the game off as it was already suffering from a dwindling population. Many of my friends have quit, retired, or have gone to other games. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Although Dark Age doesn't innovate much, it's the best and most viable MMORPG out there right now.
  2. There are so many things to like about DAoC that it's hard not to find the game charming. [Jan 2002, p.93]
  3. One of the best MMORPGs on the market. It has depth of play, dynamic interplayer action, solid graphics and terrific sound.