Dark Age of Camelot Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the Kingdom of Albion in the years immediately following the death of King Arthur, players of this MMORPG enter a world in chaos, where Arthur's peace has been shattered and dark forces threaten the Kingdom. In Camelot, players must choose to be members of one of the three Realms that are striving for mastery in this chaotic world. [Mythic Entertainment] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. I can't remember the last time I had so much fun just playing. At times I truly felt like a little kid completely immersed in a fantastic game of let's pretend. At my age that feeling doesn't come around to often but when it does you sure savor it.
  2. I strongly recommend this game. It is the best, most enjoyable and most addictive game I have seen in 19 years.
  3. The fact is, as an online role-playing game, Dark Age of Camelot surpasses any such game to date and promises to remain the finest in its class for a long time.
  4. The gameplay’s the thing, though, and in Dark Age it’s the best I’ve yet experienced in an online RPG. [Feb 2002, p.77]
  5. The game really kicks ass. While it may not be "the next big thing" in the mmorpg genre, it's a genuine (and in some cases very attractive) alternative to games like "EverQuest."
  6. There are so many things to like about DAoC that it's hard not to find the game charming. [Jan 2002, p.93]
  7. Although Dark Age doesn't innovate much, it's the best and most viable MMORPG out there right now.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. RickO.
    Feb 25, 2002
    10
    Awesome game! Way too addicting tho... Dont get it if you are married or in a relationship. It will be over quick! heh... j/k
  2. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    IMHO this really is the greatest MMORPG of all time. If there was any population on the Mythic servers I would probably still be playing. DAoC struck a balance of Race/Class variety, beautiful immersive world, and sophisticated game play. The is a real MMORPGr's MMORPG.. if you know what I mean. No hokey WoW graphics and linear WoW gameplay. DAoC was the real deal. Expand
  3. TonyM.
    Jan 31, 2004
    10
    Very very addicting,but also fun to no end. Love it!
  4. Aug 11, 2011
    10
    This game has been a defining and life-changing experience for me. No game in creation rivals the depth and complexity of the PvP system of DAoC. An absolute masterpiece of game design! Expand
  5. AnonymousMC
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    A classic MMORPG with a PvP system that revolutionized the MMO PvP scene. While population decline has left it only a shell of what it once was, Dark Age of Camelot has much to offer in the way of PvP and character specialization that makes it better than any other MMO you will play this decade.

    That being said, the game is slightly out of date and the graphics aren't nearly as vibrant as the "too cartoony" WoW. Still these minor details can be seen as something that adds character to the game.

    If you haven't played it before, pick up a free trial. You will be pleased that you did.
    Expand
  6. Ummagumma
    Apr 15, 2002
    9
    An amazing MMORPG that runs alarmingly bug-free. It is also alarmingly addictive, allowing you to level your character safely against AI monsters until you are ready to head out into the frontier and face the human enemies of your chosen realm. A must-have for online gamers everywhere. Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2011
    7
    Good, solid MMO. I felt it was a bit of a mixture of UO and Everquest when it came out, and it was quite enjoyable. I never was drawn into it as deeply as I was with UO and Everquest, but I did play it for a year or two and leveled 2 or 3 characters to 50. World of Warcraft is very similar to Daoc, you could say it's a slightly improved version of that game in many ways. Collapse

See all 15 User Reviews