Dark Messiah of Might and Magic PC

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1017 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Warmonger
    Oct 28, 2006
    0
    I just bought this game and, like many of you, was having a big problem just running it. Now, I, completely understand the need for copyright protection... after all, these people work too hard to produce these games, only to have them pirated. This so- called protection should no way infringe on your ability to play these games. What I find to be inexcusable, is UBISOFT releasing a game I just bought this game and, like many of you, was having a big problem just running it. Now, I, completely understand the need for copyright protection... after all, these people work too hard to produce these games, only to have them pirated. This so- called protection should no way infringe on your ability to play these games. What I find to be inexcusable, is UBISOFT releasing a game before ensuring that it is , reasonably, bug free. I had a problem that was a result of the copyright protection conflicting with my DVD rom ( driver software). Why was this major problem not resolved before shipping? Waiting for a patch,for me, is an afterthought, that is simply, not acceptable. I feel that these problems could have been avoided, had this product been thoroughly tested before it's release.Everyone makes mistakes but when they are done consistently, one has to wonder what is UBISOFT hoping to prove by releasing glitched and sub par products.Because of this, I have, reluctantly, sold my copy of Dark Messiah after many frustrating hours, unsuccessfully trying to get it to work and am sad to say that I wll never purchase another UBISOFT product, unless these big copyright protection problems are resolved. Expand
  2. FelixJ.
    Jun 20, 2007
    4
    While individual aspects were very good ... source engine, complexity of levels, multiple possible storylines/outcomes, stunning visuals, I couldn't overcome the basic fact that the game was unispiring to the point of boring. Maybe the busty demon guide character appeals to 15 year olds, but I found her incredibly annoying. I couldn't bring myself to finish out the game and While individual aspects were very good ... source engine, complexity of levels, multiple possible storylines/outcomes, stunning visuals, I couldn't overcome the basic fact that the game was unispiring to the point of boring. Maybe the busty demon guide character appeals to 15 year olds, but I found her incredibly annoying. I couldn't bring myself to finish out the game and ended up deleting it entirely. Zzzzzz. Expand
  3. GlyphL.
    Dec 5, 2006
    0
    This game is barely a beta. It looks like a lot of fun, but playing for more than 20 minutes at a time causes it to crash. Wait for at least a few more patches before buying.
  4. Josh
    Oct 27, 2006
    2
    The game is great. The bugs suck! This game is loaded with bugs that prevent many users from playing the game.
  5. ericm
    Oct 30, 2006
    1
    This game gets a 1 because the demo was fun. Saying that, I can't even get as far into the game as the demo let me progress...it crashes right after the tutorial. I spent 50 dollars to play a game for 10 minutes and to have it crash everytime it loads up the first level after the tutorial, this is garbage. I went to the Dark Messiah forums only to discover that there are over 200This game gets a 1 because the demo was fun. Saying that, I can't even get as far into the game as the demo let me progress...it crashes right after the tutorial. I spent 50 dollars to play a game for 10 minutes and to have it crash everytime it loads up the first level after the tutorial, this is garbage. I went to the Dark Messiah forums only to discover that there are over 200 posts with over 20,000 views of this exact same issue and that a patch is in the works. Bugs this bad should be worked out in advance of a major release, this is unacceptable and although they are working on a patch for this issue, I should have been able to save my 50 bucks until I could play the game in whole, not a ten minute teaser. Expand
  6. JonathanM.
    Dec 7, 2007
    1
    By far the most flawed game of the year. It had so much potential, but the developers blew it in a hurry to complete the crude basics of a game. It's got so many, many, many bugs that it's hardly playable.
  7. MylesT.
    Apr 6, 2007
    0
    Wasn't even able to play this game for 2 hrs. Have had nothing but bugs and crashes from this game. after initial install, couldn't even get video, had to let steam update game before i could even see opening credits. after patches and steam update was able to play for an hour before the game crashed and it now locks up whenever I try to load a saved game. very disappointed, Wasn't even able to play this game for 2 hrs. Have had nothing but bugs and crashes from this game. after initial install, couldn't even get video, had to let steam update game before i could even see opening credits. after patches and steam update was able to play for an hour before the game crashed and it now locks up whenever I try to load a saved game. very disappointed, game looked to be lots of fun. Expand
  8. geoffgroves
    Nov 23, 2008
    4
    first, it get a 4 only cause its $10. the single player game is extremely lacking. baught it and finished it in around 16 hours. and no, i didnt kick everything into spikes.........so i tried the multi player.......its a 'one shot factory' cluster f$%k. please, DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY ON THIS GARBAGE!!!!
  9. JakubS.
    Aug 31, 2008
    3
    I did Not enjoy this game, graphics were fine. But I wish there was more ACTION, and more blood.
  10. BrianR
    May 29, 2009
    2
    While pretty enough for a first person shooter, the game is disconnected from the Might and Magic experience. There is no real exploration, no side quests, no real 'Might and Magic' to the game. Instead, it feels like an extremely linear fantasy FPS. As a game itself, it's passable. As a Might and Magic game, it's a horrid failure. Might and Magic used to be about While pretty enough for a first person shooter, the game is disconnected from the Might and Magic experience. There is no real exploration, no side quests, no real 'Might and Magic' to the game. Instead, it feels like an extremely linear fantasy FPS. As a game itself, it's passable. As a Might and Magic game, it's a horrid failure. Might and Magic used to be about large expanses (for their time) of world to explore, of dungeon crawls and leveling up. You could say that the Might and Magic games were a basic precursor to what would eventually become the MMO-style RPG. Dark Messiah had none of those elements. Instead, it traded in the expansive world for a long series of bland hallways. It traded in the unique Might and Magic plot for an old rehash of stock fantasy nonsense. And it traded in the actual RPG istself for a fantasy Halo experience. Expand
  11. ZhelyazkoZ.
    Nov 2, 2006
    2
    after trying the demo provided me from steam/valve,i was waiting the release of the game with impatience...and on 11/1/2006 i bought it....to discover that i bought a beta version?!?!i know it is not beta,but definitly acts like that:elements and creatures dissapearing,and i was falling from highs or killed by"invisible" enemies....get stuck in walls couple times,fast save(F6) not warking after trying the demo provided me from steam/valve,i was waiting the release of the game with impatience...and on 11/1/2006 i bought it....to discover that i bought a beta version?!?!i know it is not beta,but definitly acts like that:elements and creatures dissapearing,and i was falling from highs or killed by"invisible" enemies....get stuck in walls couple times,fast save(F6) not warking all the time...dissapearing icons from the screan,or worse,showing up like molticolour squares?!?!,and this i just the easy part...How about the blou screens or dead comp,reboots or, internall errors,wrong allocation tables.....the magic(night)vision was much better on the demo.... I am really dissapointed.. my comp is :amd64 3000+,ati radeon 9600 128mb agp,2g RAM,250G HD,windows xp proffessional,up to date!!! i still can't get it?!?! oh and multiplayer choise on the menu is kicking the game to quit right away!why? Expand
  12. ItisaI.
    Nov 2, 2006
    1
    For casual gamer-It's fun. For hardcore gamer-It's fun but it didn't last long.(For single player of course).You'll be wondering why did you do the same thing over and over again.I believe if you want a really good game that using the HL2 Engine,I recommend you the 'Vampire: The Masquerade - Bloodlines'.This game single player mode last longer because of For casual gamer-It's fun. For hardcore gamer-It's fun but it didn't last long.(For single player of course).You'll be wondering why did you do the same thing over and over again.I believe if you want a really good game that using the HL2 Engine,I recommend you the 'Vampire: The Masquerade - Bloodlines'.This game single player mode last longer because of it's great replayability and it's better. Expand
  13. PaulR.
    Oct 27, 2006
    1
    The game looks great, but is all but unplayable due to numerous bugs. I have played every game in the might and magic series and this one doesnt currently work. Long load times, stuttering sound, etc. I decided it is not worth playing after dieing and contemplating another 5 min load time.
  14. LukeM.
    Oct 31, 2006
    0
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  15. BenC.
    Jan 1, 2007
    2
    Trailers and gameplay looked great. But they released a bug-ridden product that didn't work. No second chances for half-assed, obvious mistakes.
  16. TomH
    Feb 21, 2008
    4
    The game itself seems good, i've played it all the way through and enjoyed the levelling system and combat. It's major downfall for myself is the glitches and graphics. I dont have a bad rig at all and it has a nightmare running this game at anything that could be considered to look nice...
  17. MikaelI.
    Apr 8, 2008
    0
    This is one of the most buggy experiences in my life. I spent an awful amount of time even getting it running, even after getting it running I got no more than 20 fps on lowest settings, even though I exceed the recommended settings by a lot. I am tech savvy, there is nothing wrong with my computer, no viruses, no memory bugs, etc etc. The game just plain sucks.
  18. DannyC.
    Nov 10, 2006
    0
    Horrible. This game was so completly dead on arrival they day it was released it is unbelievable. 90% of people couldnt play it at release. The recent 1.01 patch fixed the game for maybe 10%. Might as well called all of us suckers beta testers. Shame on the developers of this game. Don't waste a hard earned 50 bucks on this!
  19. ObelM.
    Nov 25, 2006
    0
    This game had so much potential. Too bad that near the end it wasn't the final fight I was fighting, but repeated crashes and MM.exe bug errors that constantly, consistently bombarded me. I give this game the worst rating. Not only did it bug the hell out of me (pun intended), it also deeply disappointed me. Next time you want to charge $50 for a game - ensure it actually runs like a This game had so much potential. Too bad that near the end it wasn't the final fight I was fighting, but repeated crashes and MM.exe bug errors that constantly, consistently bombarded me. I give this game the worst rating. Not only did it bug the hell out of me (pun intended), it also deeply disappointed me. Next time you want to charge $50 for a game - ensure it actually runs like a $50 game. Pathetic. Expand
  20. AlexM
    Nov 27, 2006
    3
    They shouldn't have put Might & Magic in the title. This is an FPS, not an RPG.
  21. PaulL.
    Dec 20, 2006
    1
    I bought this game and it was working fine with small bugs and crashes. Now after the latest patch its obviously broken. I was really interested and had fun the little bit I played before the patches. If I would have known how bad the bugs were, I would never have played or purchased this broken product.
  22. PaulOrtenburg
    Dec 24, 2006
    0
    A game infameous for it's buggy launch furthur complicated by the use of Sony's Securom technology that made the game unplayable by many legitimate owners. Well advised to stay clear of this stinker until it actually works. Check ubi forums every once in a while until people stop complaining. Then maybe give it a go. If you've already got yourself a copy, try and return itA game infameous for it's buggy launch furthur complicated by the use of Sony's Securom technology that made the game unplayable by many legitimate owners. Well advised to stay clear of this stinker until it actually works. Check ubi forums every once in a while until people stop complaining. Then maybe give it a go. If you've already got yourself a copy, try and return it to the store you brought it from. Expand
  23. Catraven70
    Oct 28, 2006
    3
    When I first played the demo I was enthralled. Then I purchased this game and had nothing but problems loading it after installation-apparently the copyright protection on the disc conflicts with my DVD rom. This is not the first time that Ubisoft has had this problem with one of their games-you think they would learn from there mistakes. This game is unplayable and my excitment about it When I first played the demo I was enthralled. Then I purchased this game and had nothing but problems loading it after installation-apparently the copyright protection on the disc conflicts with my DVD rom. This is not the first time that Ubisoft has had this problem with one of their games-you think they would learn from there mistakes. This game is unplayable and my excitment about it is greatly diminished!!!! Collapse
  24. PeteS.
    Oct 29, 2006
    4
    Another linear first person game one of the best to look at but soon became tedius, too many bugs, whats the point of collecting items? you cant trade!, Gothic 3 is far better...I really wanted to like this game but AI is poor an example if you chased and outnumbered climb a chain they cant see you., as previously stated overrater..
  25. seanh
    Aug 21, 2009
    1
    Pros the 1 is for the game it was ok............cons for 1 ice daggers glitched all the equipment to dissapear.pros I liked the daggers b/c it cause the enemy to shatter as i kicked them cons at the fire level just as i was trying about 10 times. every time i touch anything that is wood or if i make a jumping noise the game loops, but wait its gets better i have my memory at the right Pros the 1 is for the game it was ok............cons for 1 ice daggers glitched all the equipment to dissapear.pros I liked the daggers b/c it cause the enemy to shatter as i kicked them cons at the fire level just as i was trying about 10 times. every time i touch anything that is wood or if i make a jumping noise the game loops, but wait its gets better i have my memory at the right volts and i gb graphics card etc and no glitches through out the game. but for some reason i get to the spot to where i need to get past a house b/c there is no other way but through that house so i cant beat the game. i f i touch the wood floor i nthe house i t freezes i can hang on the ropes all day swing from one to the other but when i hear a jumping noise in the floor it freezes. Expand
  26. ShadusS
    Nov 23, 2006
    2
    This game is absolute crap. Even if you accept that this ISN'T a might and magic game it runs like crap, the game play is repetitive, and they made some horrible "class" choices that make no sense. Give this game the boot and save your money. Buy oblivion... gothic 3 maybe... anything but this stinker.
  27. ThomP.
    Nov 25, 2006
    3
    If you're a die-hard M&M fan, beware. This is nothing like the old Might & Magic series. I was sorely disappointed to see there was no grand map with cities that I could freely explore, buy supplies in, etc. That said, for the type of game it is, it is nice. The ability to behead an opponent (easily when stunned, try the lightning shield...) is nice, and the graphics are great. The If you're a die-hard M&M fan, beware. This is nothing like the old Might & Magic series. I was sorely disappointed to see there was no grand map with cities that I could freely explore, buy supplies in, etc. That said, for the type of game it is, it is nice. The ability to behead an opponent (easily when stunned, try the lightning shield...) is nice, and the graphics are great. The story does move too quickly at times, and there are some very frustrating moments when trying to jump up to new platforms, or out of the water. I do like the use of the rope bow though. =) I'm obviously one of the lucky ones that has a system it only crashes on 33% of the time, and even then, only after playing for a reasonably long time. I can't imagine how mad I'd be if I felt like a "beta tester" like so many others have. That's just B.S. and UBI should be careful... if they do this enough they'll face a class action suit that will set them back far more than a small Q&A dept. All that said, I am still very mad that the old Might & Magic is gone. Granted the last several stunk (X was the worst, with so many bugs it was almost impossible to finish) but still, they held true to the series creating a world for you to explore. All in all, if the game had stayed true to the old Might & Magic theme, I would have given it a 7, and from there, easily a 10 if they'd not released a beta. Expand
  28. EdV.
    Nov 26, 2006
    4
    Another beta version game released to retail by UbiSoft without sufficient fixes. Minimum Req. are understated you can not run the game with the min requirements met. Patches are too long in coming out. The game is over 6 weeks out and only one patch out and it needs at least 2 more but knowing UbiSoft you will never see them. Arkane Studios made a bad mistake teaming with Ubisoft !
  29. CarlosL.
    Dec 19, 2006
    1
    The demo was great too bad I spent the money for the real game. Really bad bugs crashing mm.exe really makes you not want to paly the game. Long load times when you can get it to run. Oh can I say Steam copy protection real sucks!!! Steam prevents you from playing the game too!!! It is always updating man this really pisses me off you would think OK I spent the 50 bucks now I can play the The demo was great too bad I spent the money for the real game. Really bad bugs crashing mm.exe really makes you not want to paly the game. Long load times when you can get it to run. Oh can I say Steam copy protection real sucks!!! Steam prevents you from playing the game too!!! It is always updating man this really pisses me off you would think OK I spent the 50 bucks now I can play the game. NOT!!! Expand
  30. AnonymousMC
    Dec 22, 2006
    1
    I never got into the RPG games and thought I would give this one a chance. Now, I will never pay money for a ubisoft game again. Reason 1 - too much internet use to just play single player, 2 crashes ALL THE TIME!! 3 after spending over a thousand dollars to build a good pc, I shouldn't have a game run so crappy. save your money
  31. Jul 25, 2011
    4
    Underwhelming and frustrating. Dark Messiah is another example of what a game COULD have been. With some refinement, skill balancing, and a little more creativity this game might have been enjoyable. Instead it remains a journey into mediocrity. The levels are uninspired with the same tricks of cutting a rope to drop a box on an enemy, kicking them into spikes, or just plain slashing atUnderwhelming and frustrating. Dark Messiah is another example of what a game COULD have been. With some refinement, skill balancing, and a little more creativity this game might have been enjoyable. Instead it remains a journey into mediocrity. The levels are uninspired with the same tricks of cutting a rope to drop a box on an enemy, kicking them into spikes, or just plain slashing at them halfheartedly. Blocking attacks is clunky and there is way to dodge short of running away. Ranged combat is useless due to the unbelievably low damage that arrows inflict. Spell casting is also a farce. Spells are not powerful and use up at least half of your mana, leaving you very vulnerable for several minutes while you recharge. If you buy the game on sale and go into it with low expectations you'll probably get your money's worth. All in all, the game takes far too long to get to the interesting parts. Expand
  32. Mar 19, 2013
    0
    Great festering pile of frustrating rubbish!!! Appalling voice dialogue, dull, dark dungeon crawling with an annoying amount of spiders and towards the end of the game after all that frustration the game takes forever to load and sometimes doesn't load at all. Complete waste of time stay well away!!!!!!!!!!!!
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 44
  2. Negative: 2 out of 44
  1. PC Gamer UK
    88
    There's really nothing that can match Dark Messiah's combat. The mixture of weaponry and convincingly cause-and-effect physics really does take first-person fighting to new places. [Nov 2006, p.62]
  2. If the game suffers, it's from over-explanation, the occasional lapse in the combat, and the repetitive nature of the environmental weaponry. But I was kept entertained all the way through, and I've never felt so directy responsible for chopping off a goblin's arm. [Dec 2006, p.70]
  3. PC Format
    88
    An outstanding experience. It manages to create a constant sense of threat, includes some stunning set-pieces, and introduces a cast of breathtaking beasts, all within a combat system that is one of the most versatile and violent we have ever seen. [Dec 2006, p.98]