Dark Sector PC

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 70
  2. Negative: 13 out of 70
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. YellowFerret
    Apr 1, 2009
    7
    I really enjoyed this game.Excellent graphics and lots of blood.Some encounters I found pretty hard,like when theres loads of guys shooting at you and then a guy comes up with a bulletproof sheild and hits you with a sword (weird).The biggest problem is its way too short and theres some reference to hadens past that you never find out about.Still its a good game for the price its at.
  2. Dec 27, 2011
    7
    For $5.00 or less this is an alright game. The storyline in negligible, and doesn't really go anywhere, it feels like if there were four dark sector books, and then they decided to make a crappy game adaptation of the fifth. As far as the gameplay is concerned, its pretty solid, combat and movement is smooth, and weapons and enemy are well balanced with each other. Graphically it fairlyFor $5.00 or less this is an alright game. The storyline in negligible, and doesn't really go anywhere, it feels like if there were four dark sector books, and then they decided to make a crappy game adaptation of the fifth. As far as the gameplay is concerned, its pretty solid, combat and movement is smooth, and weapons and enemy are well balanced with each other. Graphically it fairly good looking, even on consoles. To sum it up, the story is crap, but the game itself is fun enough that i played it twice, and I just bought it on steam cause its $2.50 right now. If you're a working person who has to budget the time you have to play games, then pass on this one. If you have ample time for gaming, then this is certainly worth playing through, if the price is right of course. Expand
  3. Sep 4, 2015
    6
    this game is common shooter game, hitting sense is good. but, the puzzle is annoying, there is no consideration for gamer. and latter part is boring for repetitive enemy
  4. Jul 26, 2016
    6
    Dark Sector is sort of a paradoxical game. The combat is very uninspired and tedious but at the same time unique because of the glaive and various powers and upgrades. The graphics are great in some places but at the same time clunky and dated, even for 2009. The game shows it tries to have style and originality but can't seem to grasp it. If it weren't for the fact it even tried to beDark Sector is sort of a paradoxical game. The combat is very uninspired and tedious but at the same time unique because of the glaive and various powers and upgrades. The graphics are great in some places but at the same time clunky and dated, even for 2009. The game shows it tries to have style and originality but can't seem to grasp it. If it weren't for the fact it even tried to be stylish then this game wouldn't get a bove a 4/10 from me. I only recommend this game if you play Warframe and want to see a bit more into the lore, as well as the company that made it. Expand
  5. GlassEye
    Mar 25, 2009
    8
    79/80 Not a bad little game for the money. It reminds me of the Tom Clancy Splinter Cell and recent Rainbow Six game series. It also runs on older machines at 2.0 ghz amd above with little or no trouble except in distance graphics. The artwork is top-notch, so if you like half descent artwork, here you go. Missing? The excitement level and it is over the shoulder with a rigid aspect of 79/80 Not a bad little game for the money. It reminds me of the Tom Clancy Splinter Cell and recent Rainbow Six game series. It also runs on older machines at 2.0 ghz amd above with little or no trouble except in distance graphics. The artwork is top-notch, so if you like half descent artwork, here you go. Missing? The excitement level and it is over the shoulder with a rigid aspect of moving the character that could use some work. Kill boss and minions and move on. But overall in my opinion it is a very good sci-fi fps with a nice storyline and I recommend. A pleasant surprise for the price. Thumbs up! Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2012
    5
    Bad sound effects, story isn't cool and the graphics not beautiful. Linear and killing with blade going **** On PC not cool. You can controlling the way of the blade, but it's terrible. Can't jumping and the key distribution is sucks.
  7. Jordan
    Jun 16, 2009
    2
    This game is not a very fun game and should be more of a 4.99 game rather than a 19.99 game. Blueberry Garden is probally even better.
  8. Aug 22, 2013
    9
    Given the history of the game's development it makes sense where this game has it's limitations... the plot seems decent if a bit anemic at times however that is secondary to the gameplay experience itself.

    It is certainly a game for mature audiences what with the violent content and copious amounts of blood and gore. This game isn't a game for kids in any way, shape or form... the
    Given the history of the game's development it makes sense where this game has it's limitations... the plot seems decent if a bit anemic at times however that is secondary to the gameplay experience itself.

    It is certainly a game for mature audiences what with the violent content and copious amounts of blood and gore. This game isn't a game for kids in any way, shape or form... the puzzles are quite difficult and it doesn't hold your hand through any of it save for the initial "this is what a puzzle looks like" in the first act. Also, the game is satisfyingly difficult giving you the chance to really challenge yourself. There are some spots where the difficulty seems just a bit too much but again, this game will not hold your hand and "tell you a story" with a few gameplay events here and there... so, if you're looking for a game where you can lose yourself in the story and not be bothered with too much difficulty, then this game may not be for you.

    It is also paced well... with just the right amount of slow points to give you a chance to catch your breath.

    It's not a perfect game... it has it's "Derp" moments... However, try and understand the game's history and how it came to development and you'll understand why this game wasn't as good as it could have been.

    All in all, a hidden gem for gamers looking for a game that will give them a tough challenge, immersive environment and rewarding gameplay. Hardcore gamers will love this game... casual gamers might find it a bit too intense.
    Expand
  9. May 9, 2012
    10
    Very nice game, the storyline is okay, the graphics aren't bad for 2009 but I personally don't care at all about graphics, the controls are good, I love swinging around my blade and controlling it in mid air, the game is gory and I love it! the amount of blood in the game satisfies me and the game is really fun, I don't understand why the low scores on this game, this game is **** awesome!
  10. johnci
    Apr 4, 2009
    5
    This would've been a GREAT game if the developers hadn't sabotaged it with stupid crap. Like when you sprint you can't turn? WTF? I can cut some sharp corners when I'm in a hurry, so that makes the Uber badass guy in the game kind of a gimp. Also it has no jump feature. When has that EVER been a good idea in an FPS game? As cool as it looks, the Glave weapon is This would've been a GREAT game if the developers hadn't sabotaged it with stupid crap. Like when you sprint you can't turn? WTF? I can cut some sharp corners when I'm in a hurry, so that makes the Uber badass guy in the game kind of a gimp. Also it has no jump feature. When has that EVER been a good idea in an FPS game? As cool as it looks, the Glave weapon is underpowered so it takes repeated throws--even repeated POWERED throws to take down baddies--whereas a burst from any of the guns will do it quicker. So you end up using the Glave mostly to look cool, not because it's a good weapon. If they'd had any clue, they'd have made the Glave steering mechanism real time (like the missiles in H-L 2), so it didn't slow the game to a crawl whenever you used it. And they should have made the guns short range only, forcing you to use the Glave for long range shots. Add JUMPING and subtract the retarded sprinting limitations and THAT woulda been a rockin' game. In fact I really want to play a game like that and I hope someone makes it. Expand
  11. baazd
    Apr 6, 2009
    4
    Do not read this if u are a fan of this game. U will not like what you read. Now you are warned. This game is so boring that I was going to be sick.. (not kinding) I could not stand the confused controlse and the strange story line. Crappy Weapons. Funny enemies. Is this game made in 1989??? Learn something from Waned: Weapon of Fate. Jesus ! I did not enjoy this game, Waste of time if Do not read this if u are a fan of this game. U will not like what you read. Now you are warned. This game is so boring that I was going to be sick.. (not kinding) I could not stand the confused controlse and the strange story line. Crappy Weapons. Funny enemies. Is this game made in 1989??? Learn something from Waned: Weapon of Fate. Jesus ! I did not enjoy this game, Waste of time if you ask me. hey, one good thing is there, in this game. Ok graphics. Expand
  12. samj
    Jul 31, 2009
    4
    dis game could be more good if it would hav more action n more fun n nt same type of level n wtf it has same type of attack n no jump feature
  13. Jan 9, 2012
    4
    good sound effects, bad voiceacting.
    nice graphics for a low budget game,
    animations are moderate with a few weird looking bugs. they ai is pretty bad. the controls are easy. i guess with a few changes the game actually would be fun to play, BUT unless you really save your ammo, you will have to kill most of the enemies with the almost useless boomerang knife. that takes ages and is
    good sound effects, bad voiceacting.
    nice graphics for a low budget game,
    animations are moderate with a few weird looking bugs.
    they ai is pretty bad.
    the controls are easy.

    i guess with a few changes the game actually would be fun to play, BUT
    unless you really save your ammo, you will have to kill most of the enemies with the almost useless boomerang knife.
    that takes ages and is pretty annoying.

    all together i would say, you dont miss out anything if you dont buy it.
    Expand
  14. Feb 12, 2013
    7
    story is about you playing as a secret agent that gets captured and has his arm replaced with some type of futuristic military alien weapon. the gameplay controls are great and you can use your new arm for some awesome combo kills with your gun. the shooting is great for 3rd person gameplay. there are a few bosses to fight but not as many as i would have liked. and not many uses with thestory is about you playing as a secret agent that gets captured and has his arm replaced with some type of futuristic military alien weapon. the gameplay controls are great and you can use your new arm for some awesome combo kills with your gun. the shooting is great for 3rd person gameplay. there are a few bosses to fight but not as many as i would have liked. and not many uses with the arm weapon as well only for killing purposes. the graphics and music are all solid. its really just a solid 3rd person shooter that gives you some new gameplay with the arm weapon. Expand
  15. touretultouretul
    Apr 20, 2009
    7
    It's more a 7.5. This game is not about story, it's about fighting. And the glaive is everything. This game resembles a lot with Gears of War, only that the action is better. Greate close combat killing cinematics.
  16. Oct 7, 2013
    7
    Not the best console port. I had to use numerous workarounds to get the game to display correctly on my 16:9 screen. Begins as a rather dull linear cover shooter and unfortunately only picks up too late in the game. Once all powers have been unlocked and a few things develop Dark Sector becomes very enjoyable, though it is frustrating at times; controls are rigid and clunky and the gameNot the best console port. I had to use numerous workarounds to get the game to display correctly on my 16:9 screen. Begins as a rather dull linear cover shooter and unfortunately only picks up too late in the game. Once all powers have been unlocked and a few things develop Dark Sector becomes very enjoyable, though it is frustrating at times; controls are rigid and clunky and the game does little to stand out from the crowd, but it's a decent enough 3PS with some great visual design (except for Hayden Tenno's character model, what happened there?) and neat mechanics that were no doubt more impressive at the time (like the Glaive, limb dismemberment, etc.) Probably of optimum interest to Warframe fans. Expand
  17. Nov 2, 2016
    6
    Pretty average TPS action game with some cool ideas and some some annoying ones.

    Story and characters first of all are instantly forgetable and setting itself is uninteresting. Graphics are pretty average aswell for for its time, as game's title implies its dark looking game with almost no color. On PC it runs really well with no issues in sight, but graphics options are super limited.
    Pretty average TPS action game with some cool ideas and some some annoying ones.

    Story and characters first of all are instantly forgetable and setting itself is uninteresting. Graphics are pretty average aswell for for its time, as game's title implies its dark looking game with almost no color. On PC it runs really well with no issues in sight, but graphics options are super limited. At times game can have cool spooky atmosphere. Also game wont save your custom key bindings after qutting to Windows, so youll have get used to default controls,

    Gameplay is fairly average if not ok. Wasnt the fan of movement system, sprinting especialy felt painful. Cover system works fine, but at times it can get in the way since cover and sprinting use same key, making you enter cover when you dont need it leaving you wide open for enemy attacks. Game also isnt telling you what to do, where to go, how to effectively beat the bosses, nothing, meaning it doesnt hold your hand, which for some more hardcore players will be a nice thing, but will leave casual players annoyed and frustrated, so bad that theyll possibly want to stop playing the game for good. The glave which will be your main weapon and tool is a cool gimmick and works very well and controls nicely. One small yet cool thing i liked was that you can only use picked up weapons from enemies for a short period of time before they self destruct. All of the boss fights were not very well designed imo, they felt too standard without giving me any thrills and some them can take too much time before you undersatnd how to take them down, theyre also pretty easy if you dont play like noob. Game also doesnt have difficulty settings, the standard setting can be pretty challenging at times when they throw lots of enemies at you some if which are pretty OP,, there will also be lots of cheap deaths that you wont see coming, but overall if you have xp with third person shooter action games youll do fine in Dark Sector.

    This game is purely for action heads, if you look for a good story above all else, dont bother.
    Expand
  18. Jan 29, 2017
    9
    Que les puedo decir, un juego directo, siniestro, de duración aceptable, dificultad a la medida, la historia es brutal, toques survival horror. hoy en dia ya no es tan común juegos asi. el uso del boomeran hojilla es muy bueno, la degradación del propio personaje. wow
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Predictable from the get-go, wrapped in a blanket of tired clichés, without an ounce of adrenaline in its blood, Dark Sector has finally surfaced after eight years of oblivion, yet nobody seems to care.
  2. Play (Poland)
    70
    The gameplay is quite enjoyable despite its apparent simplicity, and the best thing is the spinning glaive, the most dangerous boomerang thingy in the universe. It chops off hands, legs and heads, and when powered up can even cut people in half. Overall, Dark Sector is a very decent shooter - or slasher? [Apr 2009]
  3. Dark Sector is a pleasant enough distraction for any fan of action or shooting games. It’s not likely to keep you busy for too long, since there’s little replay value to be found.