Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1840 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dark Souls II brings the franchise’s renowned difficulty & gripping gameplay innovations to both single and multiplayer experiences.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Apr 27, 2014
    100
    You'll get everything the fantastic console version had: a feeling of insecurity, respect for the apparently insurmountable, an unparalleled combat system. A nigh on perfect game.
  2. Apr 24, 2014
    98
    The PC version of Dark Souls II is the definitive one to own. It’s a good step up in the graphics and performance departments, annoying load times are drastically reduced, and players can even opt to play with the mouse and keyboard if they so desire. It shows that From Software spent a considerable amount of time attempting to come up with controls that would feel natural on the PC.
  3. Apr 25, 2014
    95
    Dark Souls II keep marking his very own label that players love. If you're a fan of the series, you’ve got a new journey to play and replay until the world fall back into darkness.
  4. Apr 24, 2014
    90
    Dark Souls 2 for the PC is a far cleaner port attempt than the first Dark Souls port.
  5. May 7, 2014
    90
    Dark Souls II, as its blessing and its curse, is not another Dark Souls. It is, however, more Dark Souls - and it makes good on its hallowed name.
  6. 90
    Dark Souls 2 offers glimpses of hope and illumination, but they always feel just out of reach. Scratching just below the surface to take on the challenges Dark Souls 2 has for you is where this game's appeal lies. The game will not be for everyone, but for those willing to tackle this game, it is a rewarding experience.
  7. Apr 24, 2014
    80
    This game is art in the good and bad sense of the word. It represents some of the best things that video games have to offer: at its most immersive, it offers a beautifully and thoughtfully rendered world to be explored that reveals itself not just through what is seen on the screen, but through the brutal and challenging experiences the player guides the in-game avatar through. The negative part of that is that the story of the game and the motivations and reasoning behind what is happening are obscure and unclear. A lot of the onus is on the player to piece things together. This is a kind of experience that is not necessarily designed to appeal to a broad swath of people, but its pitch perfect execution and strict adherence to its draconian design principles earn it a place in the pantheon of great games.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 19, 2014
    10
    incredible, awesome and a lot of great words about this shinny game. DS2 changed my game vision to another direction. Now the most gamesincredible, awesome and a lot of great words about this shinny game. DS2 changed my game vision to another direction. Now the most games aren't interesting, so easy, so stupid by design. DS it's unique world

    don't read this negative **** DS2 is awesome
    Expand
  2. Apr 28, 2014
    10
    I just got gang-banged by Three Little Pigs.

    The Good: · Rogue-like and addictive atmosphere. · Everything has improved over the old
    I just got gang-banged by Three Little Pigs.

    The Good:
    · Rogue-like and addictive atmosphere.
    · Everything has improved over the old versions.
    · Hardcore.
    · Awesome story.

    The Bad:
    · Hardcore (for people that don't like it).
    · Need a controller since keyboard and mouse is impossible to play with.
    · You will die.

    Final verdict:
    · If you like a challenge, you'll love this game. One of the most addictive games I have ever played.
    Expand
  3. Apr 28, 2014
    10
    UPDATE: The other review was negative,because the game didn't work.
    Finally the game it's working,(after the update) and All I can say,it's
    UPDATE: The other review was negative,because the game didn't work.
    Finally the game it's working,(after the update) and All I can say,it's awesome,beautiful,incredible and more hard than before.
    The multiplayer finally get fixed,now the connection it's super-fast and really good,good job from software.
    Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2014
    8
    Keyboard and mouse is playable, despite what people here are saying. You do need to remap a few keys and adjust sensitivity to make itKeyboard and mouse is playable, despite what people here are saying. You do need to remap a few keys and adjust sensitivity to make it functional, and they didn't get rid of the console prompts - but it is fine and responsive if you put time to set it up. Some of Froms default keys are pretty badly placed, some horribly placed, which is why I think most of the complaints are influenced by. I actually feel more confident with mouse and keyboard in this game than with a controller.

    The game looks nice, its an improvement from the console versions. But it still suffers from not being as good as their teasers, probably due to the redesigns they probably had to do to get a nice framerate on consoles. There are some bad textures, tiled textures, cardboard cutout backgrounds, a few badly placed enemies and seemingly pointless empty areas that screams redesigned levels - at least to me. Regardless, its likely to get mods soon enough - which is hopefully possible without threat of VAC bans

    But, it is a fun and worthy title entry to the souls series. It improves upon some of the gameplay and mechanics, but some decisions will be controversial; like the despawning enemies after they have been killed often enough, and how invasions have a smaller presence.

    Its a console port, but its not a bad one. If you enjoyed previous Souls games, you will probably enjoy it, but some may find the feel of the game has changed and it has lost a little bit of the charm. Its one of my favorite games to come out of late, but it has a few problems.
    Expand
  5. Apr 27, 2014
    6
    Welcome to the drab and boring world of Drangleic. Where there are repeating textures everywhere and graphics that would make Demon's SoulsWelcome to the drab and boring world of Drangleic. Where there are repeating textures everywhere and graphics that would make Demon's Souls curl up in a ball and cry in a corner. From-soft is the wonderful developer of this massive rpg open-world experience and I don't know how but they balls it up because every time I die I don't feel that it's my fault. Mostly because either I die from the stupid new implemented jump mechanic or the game designers though that they would have a joke with the player and make him die instantly without warring. This does not make it a bad game, the controls mostly feel responsive, and sometime even the environment can look gorgeous. Just make sure not to go up to that environment to see the **** resolution of the textures. Also, isn't this game supposed to be dark? Most of the time I don't need my torch and I can see everything perfectly clear. In fact, many things are different. The lock-on system isn't colored like in the demo, it looks worse than shown and generally everything that made it unique before has been stripped away. Overall Bright Souls 2 feels like an hollowed out version of Dark Souls with very little effort or though put into it. Poor design choices, horrid textures, a horrible jump mechanic, and sometimes non-responsive game-play is why I think this game deserves a 6 out of ten. Expand
  6. Sep 5, 2014
    3
    My friend constantly raved about how this game was so great because it is challenging. I agree that it was very challenging at time. What theMy friend constantly raved about how this game was so great because it is challenging. I agree that it was very challenging at time. What the developers of this game forgot to put in this game was fun.

    I beat the game (minus the ancient dragon) and other than a sense of achievement in over coming the challenge, it was not fun. I do not feel relaxed. If anything the more I played this game the more despair and stress I developed. When it was over I was happy. Not happy because the game fulfilled me but happy that I can uninstall it and never play this game again.
    Expand
  7. Oct 16, 2014
    0
    console port what else can I say anything thats a console port is flat out awful and doesnt get anything more then 0 from me its just a moneyconsole port what else can I say anything thats a console port is flat out awful and doesnt get anything more then 0 from me its just a money grab and a screw you pc gamers im glad i didnt pay for this if you get what I mean even with a controller it doesnt fix its many problems which has already been said no point repeating Expand

See all 473 User Reviews