Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1997 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dark Souls II brings the franchise’s renowned difficulty & gripping gameplay innovations to both single and multiplayer experiences.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Apr 27, 2014
    100
    You'll get everything the fantastic console version had: a feeling of insecurity, respect for the apparently insurmountable, an unparalleled combat system. A nigh on perfect game.
  2. Apr 24, 2014
    98
    The PC version of Dark Souls II is the definitive one to own. It’s a good step up in the graphics and performance departments, annoying load times are drastically reduced, and players can even opt to play with the mouse and keyboard if they so desire. It shows that From Software spent a considerable amount of time attempting to come up with controls that would feel natural on the PC.
  3. Apr 25, 2014
    95
    Dark Souls II keep marking his very own label that players love. If you're a fan of the series, you’ve got a new journey to play and replay until the world fall back into darkness.
  4. Apr 24, 2014
    90
    Dark Souls 2 for the PC is a far cleaner port attempt than the first Dark Souls port.
  5. May 7, 2014
    90
    Dark Souls II, as its blessing and its curse, is not another Dark Souls. It is, however, more Dark Souls - and it makes good on its hallowed name.
  6. 90
    Dark Souls 2 offers glimpses of hope and illumination, but they always feel just out of reach. Scratching just below the surface to take on the challenges Dark Souls 2 has for you is where this game's appeal lies. The game will not be for everyone, but for those willing to tackle this game, it is a rewarding experience.
  7. Apr 24, 2014
    80
    This game is art in the good and bad sense of the word. It represents some of the best things that video games have to offer: at its most immersive, it offers a beautifully and thoughtfully rendered world to be explored that reveals itself not just through what is seen on the screen, but through the brutal and challenging experiences the player guides the in-game avatar through. The negative part of that is that the story of the game and the motivations and reasoning behind what is happening are obscure and unclear. A lot of the onus is on the player to piece things together. This is a kind of experience that is not necessarily designed to appeal to a broad swath of people, but its pitch perfect execution and strict adherence to its draconian design principles earn it a place in the pantheon of great games.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 19, 2014
    10
    Anyone giving this a negative review is playing it on the wrong system, this is a console game, not a computer game. on the ps3, it wasAnyone giving this a negative review is playing it on the wrong system, this is a console game, not a computer game. on the ps3, it was awwwweeeeessssooommmmeee. So much fun. Expand
  2. May 1, 2014
    10
    Dark Souls 2, in my opinion, is one of the best games of this decade and all time. I didn't get a chance to play the first one due to theDark Souls 2, in my opinion, is one of the best games of this decade and all time. I didn't get a chance to play the first one due to the problems of the PC port, but I assume it's much of the same. You could tell that the developers put SO MUCH work into this game, it is wonderfully complex, and not in a stupid way.

    I love that everything is about learning and getting better, and not about getting better gear as it is in every other RPG game. You have to be smart and always careful. Also, I love the level of little details like being able to use weapons in 1 or 2 hands, different weapons having VASTLY different playstyles and uses, the effects of gear on your roll speed, the effects of gear weight, etc. There is just so many little variables for you to play with and learn and customize in the way that you want.

    The leveling system is also unique in that you level through souls rather than experience, and gives you a great amount of customization. And of course the best feeling about a game is when you fail over and over (but knowing that it is your fault) and then finally succeeding.

    The atmosphere and the style of game is also incredibly unique. I love the dreary, dark and desolate atmosphere of the game. The fact that there are so few NPCs really adds to the atmosphere, and the NPCs add to the story really effectively. They don't feel like the stereotypical characters you see in every game. The whole premise of the souls is also incredibly unique and brilliant - you use souls for everything and it is a nice twist on the typical, overused ideas in other games - like the idea of Undeath.

    I would close by saying that DS2 is the first time in about a decade that I felt truly passionate about gaming again. Sure there were good games along the way like Mass Effect and The Witcher, but DS2 is on another level - it's like how I felt playing games like Diablo 2 or World of Warcraft for the first time. I put in 13 hours in the first day, despite dying probably 50 times just on the beginning part, because the game is that good.
    Expand
  3. Apr 28, 2014
    10
    UPDATE: The other review was negative,because the game didn't work.
    Finally the game it's working,(after the update) and All I can say,it's
    UPDATE: The other review was negative,because the game didn't work.
    Finally the game it's working,(after the update) and All I can say,it's awesome,beautiful,incredible and more hard than before.
    The multiplayer finally get fixed,now the connection it's super-fast and really good,good job from software.
    Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2014
    8
    Compared to the first game, this is major improvement, performance wise. My low end laptop could run it perfectly, with high settings (I turnCompared to the first game, this is major improvement, performance wise. My low end laptop could run it perfectly, with high settings (I turn off the shadow). This game does not have a good graphic at all, so if you're a graphic whore stay away from this game. The game play, in my opinion, is an improvement compared to the first game. No longer you could grind enemies for levelling up. It forces you to move forward, which is good in my opinion. Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2014
    6
    First of all, I don't like being lied to. Blatant lies just to line someone's pockets are even worse. So -2 marks straightaway. This was notFirst of all, I don't like being lied to. Blatant lies just to line someone's pockets are even worse. So -2 marks straightaway. This was not developed fist and foremost for PC. Not a chance. Gameplay and PVP are still very good, some of the innovations were good and bad at the same time. Ascetics for example - good of you want a sudden increase in difficulty and more loot, but bad because some cheesy items could be farmed limitlessly with minimal effort, eg Gower's ring. They also dampened my desire to actually go to NG+. Respeccing is a good idea, lifegems just made the game a lot easier. Seed of a tree of giants was a good idea, soul memory was so-so. Some bosses were extremely hard solo but stupid easy with a summon. Other bosses were just easy full stop. On the whole I would say the game was easier than its predecessor and not quite as good. But definitely still worth playing. Probably deserves an 8 but doesn't get it for reasons already explained and those reasons ruined any chance that this developer got any DLC sale off me. Expand
  6. May 13, 2014
    3
    3/10 - but in that case i do not claim to be very objective at all, because i knew from the start that this was not "my kind of game"

    so
    3/10 - but in that case i do not claim to be very objective at all, because i knew from the start that this was not "my kind of game"

    so why did i test it? - well to see what all the hype is about. - but more to the point...

    presentation is a mixed bag. setting and atmosphere is decent, graphical fidelity is average but does look outdated in parts. the player character model is horribly aweful despite plenty customization options. however enemy models range from average to excellent.

    the idea and difficulty is nothing that really influenced my rating, because i reckon people only pick that title up when they expect a gruesomely hard game and would be disappointed if it did not deliver that nearly frustrating degree of difficulty.

    what i did not like ( PC version )

    - a horrible UI - character management is aweful. UI and management is geared towards consoles and there has not been a single efford ( or so it seems ) to streamline it for PC

    - bad controls - and by that i mean controlling the character felt unintuitive. for a game that punishes every mistake you make, i d expect having a character that reacted instantly to any player input.

    - bad camera ( sometimes ) - again, for a game where precission and timing is vital, i felt like i d need a much better overview of the situation.

    so i cannot subscribe to the mantra "hard but fair" - because it was ( for me ) riddled with controlling and UI problems. i am quite certain that players who play on consoles or are used to a controller ( i am not, i never got the hang of it, i use mouse+keyboard ) have a greatly different experience.

    i can see the great potential of challenge and achievement there though, but it is not for everyone, that is for certain.

    postscript:

    if they fixed the UI for PC keyboard players to actually do the PC justice, it would be a 5/10 - if the controls and reaction time was improved, certainly a 8/10 - even for a more casual gamer.
    Expand
  7. Apr 30, 2015
    0
    Perhaps the laziest port to PC I have ever seen. This game is not playable with a mouse and keyboard. I do not care about the rich story orPerhaps the laziest port to PC I have ever seen. This game is not playable with a mouse and keyboard. I do not care about the rich story or dense lore if I am unable to move through the game without hitting alt-shift-leftmouse while hitting ctrl-scroll key at the same time. It may play well in a console, or with a game pad, but all the introductory directions ask for gamepad input which can be done with Vulcan neck pinch contortions on the keyboard. Fourty minutes of frustration, and now it is in the trash. Expand

See all 491 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2014

    The Best Videogames of 2014 Image
    Published: December 22, 2014
    We reveal the best and worst games for each platform in 2014.