Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2089 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With tense dungeon crawling and fearsome enemy encounters, the seamlessly intertwined world of Dark Souls is full of extreme battles, rewarding challenges, nuanced weaponry and magic, and the flexibility to customize each character to suit any desired play style. The innovative onlineWith tense dungeon crawling and fearsome enemy encounters, the seamlessly intertwined world of Dark Souls is full of extreme battles, rewarding challenges, nuanced weaponry and magic, and the flexibility to customize each character to suit any desired play style. The innovative online component allows gamers to draw from the collective experience of the Dark Souls community as they either help or sabotage each other on the journey through the world of Lordran to save the land from darkness. With a massive, seamless open world design, Dark Souls encourages deep exploration and an adaptable gameplay experience. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Dark Souls - Bartholomew Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Aug 28, 2012
    100
    A bare-bones port can't sully one of the outstanding titles of this generation.
  2. Sep 17, 2012
    91
    If you're not prepared to implement the tweaks and fixes mentioned in this review, then you should stay away from the game or hunt it down on its native consoles instead. If the previously mentioned 360 Review doesn't describe the sort of game you enjoy, then stay away altogether – not even bug fixes and gameplay tweaks will make this a game you like. But if you're willing to implement a couple fan-made patches and you crave a game that's beautiful, dark, cryptic, challenging and just plain unique in so many ways, grab this game and give it a go.
  3. Sep 20, 2012
    90
    Underneath the port inadequacies is a masterful piece of design; intricate and drenched in woe. Dark Souls is infuriating, but well worth the investment in time and shattered patience.
  4. Aug 29, 2012
    88
    This Prepare to Die Edition is far from what the game should have been on the PC, but it still is a masterpiece, a game designed for hardcore players.
  5. Nov 19, 2012
    80
    Not often do you see a game that is equally rewarding as it is frustrating; and it's not because the game is unfair.
  6. Aug 28, 2012
    80
    If you're a hardcore Dark Souls fan, or if you're confident in your ability to wring every last cent of value out of the game, the Prepare to Die Edition is the way to go.
  7. Game Over Online
    Sep 21, 2012
    40
    This Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition is not only the worst console port I've ever played (and I play most of them), it's also one of the worst designed. I mean literally, this game is one step above my character having "lives" and when I run out of those, I'm told to jam quarters into my PC to continue playing. If this is what constitutes a "good console RPG", then I'll sleep soundly at night with the knowledge that I'm not missing a damn thing by not owning a PlayStation 3. I guess I'm alone in understanding this, but supposed difficulty is not a substitute for intelligent design. Dark Souls proves that.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Apr 12, 2017
    10
    Una obra de arte. El primer videojuego que me hizo apreciar al videojuego como un arte. Su atmósfera, su jugabilidad, su historia, su bandaUna obra de arte. El primer videojuego que me hizo apreciar al videojuego como un arte. Su atmósfera, su jugabilidad, su historia, su banda sonora, su apartado artístico, todo es grandioso. Transmite emociones variadas e intensas a pesar de tener una narrativa no lineal y hasta cierto punto críptica (o más bien, quizás precisamente por eso). Las batallas contra ciertos jefes son algunas de las mejores experiencias que he tenido en un videojuego.

    Ahora bien, su adaptación a PC es realmente deficiente. Sin un control de Xbox simplemente no lo disfrutarás como se debe. Pero incluye uno de los mejores DLC's de la historia, así que se compensa.
    Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    On the surface just a disappoint console port of a great game, but try DSFix from blog.metaclassofnil.com and enjoy the game as it was meantOn the surface just a disappoint console port of a great game, but try DSFix from blog.metaclassofnil.com and enjoy the game as it was meant to be played! Expand
  3. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    Bad Pc port and hard controls but still i really enjoy of this game
  4. Jun 27, 2015
    9
    - Good: Gameplay, Exploration, Character progression, Boss fights, Atmosphere/Mood, Demanding

    - Mixed: Setting, Story - Bad: terrible
    - Good: Gameplay, Exploration, Character progression, Boss fights, Atmosphere/Mood, Demanding

    - Mixed: Setting, Story

    - Bad: terrible mouse/keyboard controls, overall bad PC port.

    Great game after some mods, also u need gamepad because this game is unplayable with mouse/keyboard.
    Expand
  5. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    this is a enjoyable game, although the story line is single, you can still make some choice, and some reaction with NPC. the fight in thisthis is a enjoyable game, although the story line is single, you can still make some choice, and some reaction with NPC. the fight in this game has a lot fun and to build ur character, such as upgrade state and chose equipmant. Expand
  6. Sep 1, 2013
    4
    A friend suggested I buy this game because it is challenging and a good throwback to how games used to be. Well, I can agree that the game isA friend suggested I buy this game because it is challenging and a good throwback to how games used to be. Well, I can agree that the game is indeed difficult, but unfortunately it is the dumb kind of difficulty, where the enemies just 2 shoot you. Normal creeps also have the ability to instagib you with an animated attack, even if you are at full health. The story is pretty much non-existent, you are never told anything helpful as there is no tutorial/practice level and you learn the tactics for a particular boss by dying to them, respawning and running to them again. You don't really know where to go or what do to apart from a general idea of "ringing two bells". The NPCs don't tell you anything more useful than that. Top it off with PKers invading your world even though their level is twice as high as you and the fact that to understand anything of the game-play the Covenants, the Invasions, the Phantoms, Bosses etc. you have to browse the Wiki. Oh, and the abysmal respawn system where you have to run back to where you died to pick up your experience points before finding a shortcut this might take up to 15 minutes to reach your body the monsters have all respawned, too. All in all, a disappointment, and the only redeeming factor for me is that I bought it on a Steam sale. If you do play this game, do it on a controller, not the keyboard+mouse as the port sucks. Expand
  7. Aug 9, 2015
    0
    This game is Really Hard and it's not Recommendable to Casuals? but even if it's Hard, that means is it Bad? NO! this game is Amazing! i mayThis game is Really Hard and it's not Recommendable to Casuals? but even if it's Hard, that means is it Bad? NO! this game is Amazing! i may have already tell to ALL of my Friends that i am a Humongous RPG Fanatic from numerous games such as Mother 3, Hyperdimension Neptunia, South Park, TERA and etc. the Game has solid Combat and Mechanics, Nice Graphics, a very strange and cool story and very Challenging, but at the same time Rewarding! the PC Port have some Problems but i didn't really care about! i thought i wouldn't like this games as other People do... but man... they were Right Expand

See all 572 User Reviews