Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1895 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With tense dungeon crawling and fearsome enemy encounters, the seamlessly intertwined world of Dark Souls is full of extreme battles, rewarding challenges, nuanced weaponry and magic, and the flexibility to customize each character to suit any desired play style. The innovative onlineWith tense dungeon crawling and fearsome enemy encounters, the seamlessly intertwined world of Dark Souls is full of extreme battles, rewarding challenges, nuanced weaponry and magic, and the flexibility to customize each character to suit any desired play style. The innovative online component allows gamers to draw from the collective experience of the Dark Souls community as they either help or sabotage each other on the journey through the world of Lordran to save the land from darkness. With a massive, seamless open world design, Dark Souls encourages deep exploration and an adaptable gameplay experience. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Aug 28, 2012
    100
    A bare-bones port can't sully one of the outstanding titles of this generation.
  2. Sep 17, 2012
    91
    If you're not prepared to implement the tweaks and fixes mentioned in this review, then you should stay away from the game or hunt it down on its native consoles instead. If the previously mentioned 360 Review doesn't describe the sort of game you enjoy, then stay away altogether – not even bug fixes and gameplay tweaks will make this a game you like. But if you're willing to implement a couple fan-made patches and you crave a game that's beautiful, dark, cryptic, challenging and just plain unique in so many ways, grab this game and give it a go.
  3. Sep 20, 2012
    90
    Underneath the port inadequacies is a masterful piece of design; intricate and drenched in woe. Dark Souls is infuriating, but well worth the investment in time and shattered patience.
  4. Aug 29, 2012
    88
    This Prepare to Die Edition is far from what the game should have been on the PC, but it still is a masterpiece, a game designed for hardcore players.
  5. Nov 19, 2012
    80
    Not often do you see a game that is equally rewarding as it is frustrating; and it's not because the game is unfair.
  6. Aug 28, 2012
    80
    If you're a hardcore Dark Souls fan, or if you're confident in your ability to wring every last cent of value out of the game, the Prepare to Die Edition is the way to go.
  7. Game Over Online
    Sep 21, 2012
    40
    This Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition is not only the worst console port I've ever played (and I play most of them), it's also one of the worst designed. I mean literally, this game is one step above my character having "lives" and when I run out of those, I'm told to jam quarters into my PC to continue playing. If this is what constitutes a "good console RPG", then I'll sleep soundly at night with the knowledge that I'm not missing a damn thing by not owning a PlayStation 3. I guess I'm alone in understanding this, but supposed difficulty is not a substitute for intelligent design. Dark Souls proves that.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Dec 2, 2015
    10
    Dark Souls is the hands down the best game of the previous generation and will remain the best game of this decade. It just offersDark Souls is the hands down the best game of the previous generation and will remain the best game of this decade. It just offers unparalleled gameplay and a story that's beyond anything we've had in RPGs so far.

    The people complaining about the port are just silly. Yes, it's a bad port, but you only need a controller and 2 minutes of your life to install a mod that fixes everything.
    Expand
  2. Aug 31, 2012
    10
    In general, it's a very lazy port never meant for PC. The game was programmed in such a way that changing the FPS from 30 to anything else isIn general, it's a very lazy port never meant for PC. The game was programmed in such a way that changing the FPS from 30 to anything else is impossible, and changing the native resolution of the game is impossible as well without a mod. The controls for keyboard and mouse are terrible, and you'll need to use a gamepad (I'm not sure if anything aside from the Xbox 360 wired gamepad will work, but I'd assume that's the case). This uses two layers of DRM if you bought it from Steam. Games for Windows Live (GFWL) and Steam's built-in DRM both are potential hindrances to playing, but so far have not been too much of a problem. The game retails for $40, which is on par, if not somewhat slightly above the average price of a PC game.

    The in-game graphics range from pathetic to tolerable, depending on whether or not you have the hi-resolution mod installed. The mod that changes the resolution doesn't also increase the size or clarity of textures, doesn't increase the fidelity of models, and doesn't add better AA. Hell, if it did that, the game might have an even lower FPS.

    The game this is a port of is fantastic for it's medium, which is a console six or seven years behind the curve. The development process for this game is laughable at best, as some of the problems that prevented the port from being amazing stemmed from incredibly lazy design choices. For instance, frame-based movement (ex: having a character move a fixed amount per frame, regardless of speed) prevented the game from running higher than 30 FPS. Designing the game's art assets at a low resolution instead of designing high-quality assets and then scaling them down is to blame for the horrid texture quality.

    Dark Souls for the Xbox 360 and PS3 are both fantastic games, and this is as well, even if it is plagued by a coupled of PC port-related issues.
    Expand
  3. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    Bad Pc port and hard controls but still i really enjoy of this game
  4. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    Port issues and me being late to the online party this was supposed to be... apart, this game is what many games should strive to be. The gamePort issues and me being late to the online party this was supposed to be... apart, this game is what many games should strive to be. The game is a real challenge, as you may have heard, since it's pretty much its selling point, but even if it's so hard I think it still manages to do so being absolutely fair, with a good mix of trial and error and literally testing your reflexes (unless you are not dodging). But oh, is this game so much more. Save for a few forgettable exceptions, the intro and the endings, this game is a constant stream of gameplay never interrupted, that doesn't "tell" you any story, but rather makes it happen as you exist in its world, at times so indirectly that you may miss parts of it! It has solid theming: the duality of life and death contained in the element of fire, recurring throughout the game as a source of both of those things. Atmosphere and graphics: well crafted and beautiful, almonst inseparable from the setting itself for how well they are integrated. As for the gameplay itself, I don't think I'm able to explain very well the genre other than saying it's an action RPG, but here's some things that are damn worth mentioning: farming doesn't make the game easy; farming is still a challenge and therefore shouldn't even be called like that, apart from some of the initial weapons no gear in this game is "useless" or just for the early game; almost literally everything is viable in PvE (in PvP I can't really tell, I'm pretty sure it's at least better than any other overcentralized metagame given the variety I've seen, but certainly not everything is recommended) thanks to the scaling and upgrading system, thus avoiding that typical rpg situation in which you keep dropping useless things with a grey name that don't help neither for vendors nor immersion and no one likes to see in their inventory; every type of weapon is a different playstyle and there's tons of space for customization (see viability)! Add to all of this incredible package a gimmicky, original online mode that will keep you connected to the internet without actually using it except at random intervals to make the player sessions interact with each other to either help (through warning messages you can leave on the ground, summoning players for cooperation) or for added difficulty, in the case of being "invaded" by a player that will hunt you down for a reward. It's just amazing on so many levels that, as you can see, the only way to say how good it is is to actually say what the game is! Talk about self explanatory. Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2013
    7
    Really bad port of what is supposed to be an excellent game by all accounts. The control system drives you up the wall and doesn't feelReally bad port of what is supposed to be an excellent game by all accounts. The control system drives you up the wall and doesn't feel responsive enough and just generally the game just feels... not quite there. Collapse
  6. Aug 30, 2015
    4
    This game for all its potential depth and story does a few things that are cardinal sins in my opinion. First off, it has very fiddlyThis game for all its potential depth and story does a few things that are cardinal sins in my opinion. First off, it has very fiddly controls combined with a 3rd person camera that make the blocking and striking mechanics harder than they need to be. Secondly it combines punishing difficulty with a lack of a save/load function, so if you try something and mess it up, there's no trying it again - e.g. the sleeping dragon at the start with the items you're supposed to be able to sneak up, steal and get away with (or die but keep). In my game the fiddly controls had me smashing A for my character to pick up the 2nd item before the dragon murdered me only to find that it just wouldn't register the command, and now the game is saved with the dragon awake.

    Frustrating design combined with huge difficulty and punishing auto saving? You get to meet my friend called the steam refund policy!
    Expand
  7. Jun 26, 2016
    0
    The worst game experience I've ever had. It might be better on console, but it is obvious that no real effort has been made to make it evenThe worst game experience I've ever had. It might be better on console, but it is obvious that no real effort has been made to make it even mildly enjoyable on PC. Unbelievable that it is still available as a PC version, as it can only give the game a bad name. Keyboard and mouse need elaborate mods and fixes (and even then it's not much better), messages for key presses come up with console buttons and not PC key bindings, menu system is awkward, movement feels clunky and awkward, directional aim is clunky, camera view is slow. Expand

See all 578 User Reviews