Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1616 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With tense dungeon crawling and fearsome enemy encounters, the seamlessly intertwined world of Dark Souls is full of extreme battles, rewarding challenges, nuanced weaponry and magic, and the flexibility to customize each character to suit any desired play style. The innovative onlineWith tense dungeon crawling and fearsome enemy encounters, the seamlessly intertwined world of Dark Souls is full of extreme battles, rewarding challenges, nuanced weaponry and magic, and the flexibility to customize each character to suit any desired play style. The innovative online component allows gamers to draw from the collective experience of the Dark Souls community as they either help or sabotage each other on the journey through the world of Lordran to save the land from darkness. With a massive, seamless open world design, Dark Souls encourages deep exploration and an adaptable gameplay experience. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Aug 28, 2012
    100
    A bare-bones port can't sully one of the outstanding titles of this generation.
  2. Sep 17, 2012
    91
    If you're not prepared to implement the tweaks and fixes mentioned in this review, then you should stay away from the game or hunt it down on its native consoles instead. If the previously mentioned 360 Review doesn't describe the sort of game you enjoy, then stay away altogether – not even bug fixes and gameplay tweaks will make this a game you like. But if you're willing to implement a couple fan-made patches and you crave a game that's beautiful, dark, cryptic, challenging and just plain unique in so many ways, grab this game and give it a go.
  3. Sep 20, 2012
    90
    Underneath the port inadequacies is a masterful piece of design; intricate and drenched in woe. Dark Souls is infuriating, but well worth the investment in time and shattered patience.
  4. Aug 29, 2012
    88
    This Prepare to Die Edition is far from what the game should have been on the PC, but it still is a masterpiece, a game designed for hardcore players.
  5. Nov 19, 2012
    80
    Not often do you see a game that is equally rewarding as it is frustrating; and it's not because the game is unfair.
  6. Aug 28, 2012
    80
    If you're a hardcore Dark Souls fan, or if you're confident in your ability to wring every last cent of value out of the game, the Prepare to Die Edition is the way to go.
  7. Sep 21, 2012
    40
    This Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition is not only the worst console port I've ever played (and I play most of them), it's also one of the worst designed. I mean literally, this game is one step above my character having "lives" and when I run out of those, I'm told to jam quarters into my PC to continue playing. If this is what constitutes a "good console RPG", then I'll sleep soundly at night with the knowledge that I'm not missing a damn thing by not owning a PlayStation 3. I guess I'm alone in understanding this, but supposed difficulty is not a substitute for intelligent design. Dark Souls proves that.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. May 1, 2015
    10
    I feel that this game is one of the best that I've ever played. I did not find the controls complicated, despite using a keyboard and mouse. II feel that this game is one of the best that I've ever played. I did not find the controls complicated, despite using a keyboard and mouse. I do not see the problem that other people seem to have.
    If you're one of those people that have a huge issue with the graphics, feel free to download the graphics fix, but it was hardly a problem for me.
    Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    its sad that so many ppl r giving this game a 0. yea the keyboard controls are horrible but i've managed 20 hours on em and then put anotherits sad that so many ppl r giving this game a 0. yea the keyboard controls are horrible but i've managed 20 hours on em and then put another 40 with controler (yes i bought 1 just for the game) but that aside this game is simply amazing and depsite all the ppl being buthurt over the controls they shouldnt let that drag down the core of the game Expand
  3. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    Bad Pc port and hard controls but still i really enjoy of this game
  4. Dec 4, 2013
    9
    Hace mucho no jugaba algo tan difícil y la historia me gusto mucho, aunque creo que podrían mejorar el apartado gráfico.

    Espero que la saga
    Hace mucho no jugaba algo tan difícil y la historia me gusto mucho, aunque creo que podrían mejorar el apartado gráfico.

    Espero que la saga siga mejorando con los moustros y la historia.
    Expand
  5. May 24, 2014
    7
    I reviewed this poorly before but after seeing footage for Dark Souls 2, i decided to give this another try. If you press beyond the PC portI reviewed this poorly before but after seeing footage for Dark Souls 2, i decided to give this another try. If you press beyond the PC port issues there is some rewarding content later on. As long as you go the right way and have a walkthrough open most of the time. Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2014
    4
    Dull boring environment. Boring combat. Boring world. Demon Souls was great both Dark Souls series very boring. The graphics on both DarkDull boring environment. Boring combat. Boring world. Demon Souls was great both Dark Souls series very boring. The graphics on both Dark Souls on the pc are worse than the graphics of demon souls on the ps3. FANS OF SINGLE PLAYER GAMES AVOID THIS TITLE. Nothing but a bunch of children invading other's games. Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2013
    0
    Another console port. No keyboard support, you have to use an Xbox controller. Graphics are low res Xbox crap.

    Good news: I paid $2.49
    Another console port. No keyboard support, you have to use an Xbox controller. Graphics are low res Xbox crap.

    Good news: I paid $2.49 on a Steam sale.
    Bad news: I wasted $2.49 on a complete and utter steaming pile of crap.
    Expand

See all 541 User Reviews