Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1313 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With tense dungeon crawling and fearsome enemy encounters, the seamlessly intertwined world of Dark Souls is full of extreme battles, rewarding challenges, nuanced weaponry and magic, and the flexibility to customize each character to suit any desired play style. The innovative online component allows gamers to draw from the collective experience of the Dark Souls community as they either help or sabotage each other on the journey through the world of Lordran to save the land from darkness. With a massive, seamless open world design, Dark Souls encourages deep exploration and an adaptable gameplay experience. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Aug 28, 2012
    100
    A bare-bones port can't sully one of the outstanding titles of this generation.
  2. Sep 17, 2012
    91
    If you're not prepared to implement the tweaks and fixes mentioned in this review, then you should stay away from the game or hunt it down on its native consoles instead. If the previously mentioned 360 Review doesn't describe the sort of game you enjoy, then stay away altogether – not even bug fixes and gameplay tweaks will make this a game you like. But if you're willing to implement a couple fan-made patches and you crave a game that's beautiful, dark, cryptic, challenging and just plain unique in so many ways, grab this game and give it a go.
  3. Sep 20, 2012
    90
    Underneath the port inadequacies is a masterful piece of design; intricate and drenched in woe. Dark Souls is infuriating, but well worth the investment in time and shattered patience.
  4. Aug 29, 2012
    88
    This Prepare to Die Edition is far from what the game should have been on the PC, but it still is a masterpiece, a game designed for hardcore players.
  5. Nov 19, 2012
    80
    Not often do you see a game that is equally rewarding as it is frustrating; and it's not because the game is unfair.
  6. Aug 28, 2012
    80
    If you're a hardcore Dark Souls fan, or if you're confident in your ability to wring every last cent of value out of the game, the Prepare to Die Edition is the way to go.
  7. Sep 21, 2012
    40
    This Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition is not only the worst console port I've ever played (and I play most of them), it's also one of the worst designed. I mean literally, this game is one step above my character having "lives" and when I run out of those, I'm told to jam quarters into my PC to continue playing. If this is what constitutes a "good console RPG", then I'll sleep soundly at night with the knowledge that I'm not missing a damn thing by not owning a PlayStation 3. I guess I'm alone in understanding this, but supposed difficulty is not a substitute for intelligent design. Dark Souls proves that.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    Dark Souls is a great, dark fantasy RPG. It is set in a post-apocalyptic fantasy world, where vile creatures are everywhere and nowhere is safe. The game's atmosphere is very intense, thanks to beautifully-crafted locations and dramatic music that usually plays during boss fights. The flow of the game is sort of semi-linear, meaning that more often than not there is a choice of several locations to do in your own order of preference and in many of those locations there are branching paths, often leading to shortcuts to the previous locations, hence saving you the time in case you wanted to go back. Now of course one of the most defining features of Dark Souls is its high difficulty. However, it is quite unlike most other challenging games out there. The way it is designed, dying is an important part of the game, and hence the words 'Prepare to Die' have to be taken seriously. The players should expect to die frequently, at which point the game simply continues and returns them back to the last bonfire (checkpoint) rested at with all enemies respawned. The trick is not about trying to avoid death altogether, but about picking yourself up and learning from your mistakes. It's a tactical game, because every enemy and every boss requires the right approach, and until you approach them with the correct mindset, they will keep beating you again and again. Admittedly sometimes it can be annoying having to walk big portions of the area to get back to the boss fight, but it is almost always well worth it. Dark Souls is not a button masher. It's not about how fast you can hit the attack button, but more about your timing, patience, concentration, and battle strategy. Its premise is quite simple really - persistence and determination pay off. Initially a lot of the areas and bosses seem impossible, but eventually any challenge can be beaten. There have been times I thought to myself Expand
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    This game is simply a masterpiece, there's nothing else to it. The gameplay is challenging and not boring you in all situations, and it will punish you, no matter how good you think you are. If you're too focused on graphics and high FPS, this game doesn't have it. The art style is amazing, however, and with a simple download of a graphics fix you can make the game look even better. I don't mind having to download something else to have a better looking game, because I'm focused on gameplay, for the most part. Another great thing about this game is the amount of detail put into it. I'm not just talking about graphically, but I'll get to that in a second. In the story! Oh wait, you didn't know there was one? Well that's another great thing about Dark Souls, if you're not going to try and look for a story or try and do your best, you're not going to like it. While I am not necessarily the super hardcore crowd of gaming, although this game will appeal to them too, I am somewhere in the middle. However, this has to be my favorite game I've ever played. There is no game that gives me so much satisfaction of killing a boss, finding new items and trying them out, upgrading weapons, and even... breaking boxes! This game has it all. The difference between Dark Souls difficulty and games harder than Dark Souls, is in Dark Souls you will only die if it's your fault. Trying to run past all the enemies and they catch up to you and kill you? Your fault. Not healing before going into the last hit to kill a boss and dying? Your fault. You can NEVER blame the game for your mistakes, unless you have some kind of strange physical condition. There is also a CRAZY amount of detail put into the graphics and art style, especially armor and weapons. I can't explain it, so I recommend you try it out for yourself. My only complaint is the keyboard and mouse controls. I'm using my PS3 controller with motionjoy, and if you do something similar or use an xbox 360 controller you won't have any trouble learning the controls. The keyboard and mouse controls, which I've dabbled in briefly, simply isn't for a game like this. I still think if you are strict about KB+M controls, to get this game, because you are missing out on a real gem if you don't. Once you're hooked, you're hooked, and you won't be able to put it down for months, possibly years, wouldn't be suprised. Thanks for reading, and don't forget to pick up one of the most challenging, rewarding, and best games of gaming history. Expand
  3. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    Bad Pc port and hard controls but still i really enjoy of this game
  4. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    I consider myself being one of the kind of players that just feel bored after 30 minutes of a single player and just want to log to LoL/WoW/Dota or Counter Strike. I played most new games like Bioshock, Dishnored, Batman, ecc, but the real game I really enjoyed to play is Dark Souls. Why?
    Dark Souls is not an interactive movie with crap gameplay like Bioshock Infinite. It has no unique pattern and approach with boring fights like Batman.
    In Dark Souls you really feel lost to yourself not knowing sometimes where or what to do, every direction you look from Firelink Shrine you are scared. It really took me long to finish the game, and trust me it was a very stressful accomplishment to make. I give the game 9 because the port sucks. Don't dare playing it without a joypad, better if you have a 360 one.
    Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2013
    7
    Too much game!
    This game is easy to pick up but demands time, patience and diligence to master.
    The combat system is amazing. Simple but
    immensely deep and satisfying. Even the lowest ranking enemies will cut you to bits if you rush in or lose concentration.
    The world or Lordran is beautiful in a dark way. It's history and lore revealed only to those who seek it.

    The problem is that this game really does demand too much of you. If I were a teenager with nothing better to do, I would score this a 9 or 10, but as a married man that works and has two kids, this is too much. I don't have the time to go back and fight the same boss for the fifth time just to have my behind handed over to me.
    As a game, it's great. It is addictive as anything and very satisfying, but it does cross that line from being a game to feeling almost like a commitment. Too much for me.
    Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2013
    4
    Meh. I'm not giving this game low scores because it's difficult. I bought the game knowing it is difficult, and I wanted challenge. I wanted to experience the sensation of getting better. But unfortunately the game did not appeal to me as much as I thought it would. While it plays well with a controller, the game seems very small and lacking in many aspects. Feels dull and boring. There's no direction to anything you do in the game, it's just... mindless. I guess there is some kind of lore hidden in the game, but it's not worth looking for to be honest. I bought the game from Steam, played it for 6 hours and was pretty much done with it. Expand
  7. Jul 14, 2013
    0
    Steaming pile of Microsoft LIVE and controller-needed Horribly executed port, as so many others have alluded to. Play it on your console if you have one, or just avoid it like the Microsoft-ruined plague it is. Expand

See all 481 User Reviews