User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 57
  2. Negative: 21 out of 57

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 3, 2013
    7
    A B-movie amongst games. The plot is a little silly and the game takes a while to get off the ground but once you get the jet pack things become a lot more fun. Controls can be a bit of an issue as the thing handles like a greased piglet in flight, but I thought Dark Void had some very nice touches, worthy of special mention is Bear McCreary's soundtrack.
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    4
    this game had a nice start and i thought it would be awesome but then it went to be one of the most terrible game i ever played game play is horrible and so repetitive simply skip this game
  3. Mar 30, 2013
    7
    A Very good solid 3rd person action adventure shooter game. The Story is about humans vs robots basically but it got boring for me and uninteresting after awhile. The Gameplay offers lots of variety in shooting with flying around, upside down, etc. The Graphics are solid, it has a sort of cartoonish vintage cinematic look and feel to it. Overall, its a very good shooter but the story didn't draw me in enough to make me want to continue playing. Expand
  4. Mar 15, 2013
    9
    I don't get why no one seems to like this game. I'm having an absolute blast with it.
    Compared to most 3PS's, the enemies have slightly more health but all the machine guns are more accurate, which I feel is a much better system (you're fighting the enemies, not the weapon spread). Plus one-hit melee kills while standing or over/under cover for additional options. And the game is really
    good about recognizing and rewarding headshots. I tried to replay Gears of War 1 recently and got bored halfway through, but this just feels better.
    And the vertical cover system works great. If you're flanked from above and below by enemies, then whether you take cover above or below the ledges becomes a shifting element of strategy. Whether you mantle upward for melee kills at the risk of giving the enemies a better shot is another element of strategy. And frankly, it's just cool to see a killed enemy ragdoll toward you as it falls off a cliff.
    Compared to the Rogue Squadron series, the jetpack flight seems just fine to me. And the ability to zoom into a horizontal ground fight or hover out of vertical cover for better aim (a the risk of exposing yourself) adds another layer.
    The slugs-inside-robots aren't quite as interesting as the multi-destructable robots of Binary Domain (another underappreciated shooter), but they are unique(r) than most games. I like the exploding red guys that leave damaging large energy spheres.
    Also I don't get the criticisms about graphics. It's not the prettiest game in the world, but I think it looks good (especially compared to the average Xbox360 title), and I like the semi-cartoony 50's style art choices. Admittedly the environments repeat.
    I love this game and have recommended it, especially now that it's dirt cheap ($5 on Steam as of writing, but you really need an Xbox controller to enjoy it). Mostly I'm just disappointed that a fun game (I would say 8.5/10) with a lot of great ideas won't get a sequel it really deserves.
    Expand
  5. Jul 27, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game wasn't as bad as i thought it would be. The use of jet packs and .45 cal machine guns is very inventive but the overall plot is kind of lacking some realness. All in all the game was fun, a bit to easy at times but still very fun. The flying battles were boring and repetitive and the final boss battle was too easy and was over before i knew it. Overall this game is a solid one, nothing that is a must have though. Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2011
    0
    Broken game. Always crashes at cutscenes and the only fix is skip them as fast as you can. There isn't support from developer so this game is wasted money IMO. Crapcom sucks!
  7. Nov 23, 2011
    7
    I very much liked the game. It is a relaxing title with similar dynamics to Just Cause. Almost everything is lite here. Small story, small weapon choice, small mission variations. The shooting is ok, and it has interesting ideas like using the jet pack, jumping on the ledges. The controls are very easy, the ui is simple. There are some nice places here that make this game worth playing. The simple best about this game are the maps. It is very fun to use the jetpack to hover above the enemies shooting, throwing grenades. There are plenty of great shooting setups that make a good use of a very simple covering system. The thing is that in the end you start wondering what made you especially remember this game for. Well, not much. Good for a weekend walkthrough. Expand
  8. Jan 16, 2011
    6
    All in all this is a fun game. I picked it up for 10 EUR and am glad I did but am also glad I didn't pay more. Gfx are ok but not outstanding, game play is fun once you get used to the controls (I strongly advise against flight controls for flying, i.e. don't invert the y-axis), the combat is quite intense if a tad repetitive. Checkpoint saving is terrible, since there are really few checkpoints. The story is one big mess - don't even bother to really understand it. I still don't know which purpose the natives in the beginning served. Turn your brain off and do the mission. Speaking of mission: the last level is a big disappointment - easy and very short. But all in all this is good enough to kill some time but nothing I would play twice because I have an urge to collect all bonus items (= incomprehensible diaries) etc. Collapse
  9. Dec 12, 2010
    7
    This is far from a bad game. It's currently going for £5 in tesco in the UK and at that it's a steal. It isn't brilliant, but it is a competent 3rd person shooter with some wacky aerial combat. The real surprise though is the on the ground vertical combat, which will have you trying to remember which way is up ! Sure, the story is tacky but the graphics are pretty good, the soundtrack is nice and the combat is great fun, if not up to Gears of War. To the reviewer (sorry, fanboy) who says it's not up to Halo3 (in his words, 'the greatest game ever !') then that's down to taste. I, for one, think Halo 3 is the most over-rated rubbish to have wasted my time on but I would pick Dark Void over the scurrying little alien drones in halo any day. Give it a try, it's a fiver ffs ! Expand
  10. Nov 28, 2010
    8
    I found the story interesting, not all to creative. I wouldn't throw it off as as bad as most say it is. The game play is somewhat slow paced. Air fights get old quick. You'll find yourself using the first two weapons you find for 95% of the game when on foot. Enemies take too long to die, you can unload into their head and still can take a whole clip. If they ever make a sequel, which I don't see happening, make thing more unique and fun. And accessible. Speed up the game play, make the air fights and weapons more creative and this game would of done a ton better. Expand
  11. Aug 30, 2010
    6
    This game wasn't, too bad. I felt that the flying combat felt a bit repetive, just flying in circles untill you can lock on to your target. Other then that it was a solid game but slightly lacket execution @LeoM Don't compare games like halo to this game, its not even the same genre. Its no wonder no one found your review helpful
  12. Jan 16, 2011
    0
    All in all this is a fun game. I picked it up for 10 EUR and am glad I did but am also glad I didn't pay more. Gfx are ok but not outstanding, game play is fun once you get used to the controls (I strongly advise against flight controls for flying, i.e. don't invert the y-axis), the combat is quite intense if a tad repetitive. Checkpoint saving is terrible, since there are really few checkpoints. The story is one big mess - don't even bother to really understand it. I still don't know which purpose the natives in the beginning served. Turn your brain off and do the mission. Speaking of mission: the last level is a big disappointment - easy and very short. But all in all this is good enough to kill some time but nothing I would play twice because I have an urge to collect all bonus items (= incomprehensible diaries) etc. Collapse
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. A criminal waste of time and energy, as standard and generic a game as you could hope to find. [Feb 2010, p.74]
  2. Unfortunately, the shining strengths of the game are buried underneath a thick layer of rust that only the thirstiest of air-junkies should bother chipping through. [Feb 2010, p.95]
  3. And once the brutally short campaign is over, Dark Void is over.