Darkest of Days PC

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 112 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 112
  2. Negative: 34 out of 112
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 29, 2016
    4
    Honestly, the game is horrible.I enjoyed it, I did a lot, but only beacause I was able to ignore how broken the mechanics are, how little atmosphere there is (making every skirmish or battle feel so random), how ugly graphics could have been, how poorly optimised the game is for any non-nvidia driver and so forth.Moreover, it restrained you on a fixed path with invis walls.The ideas wereHonestly, the game is horrible.I enjoyed it, I did a lot, but only beacause I was able to ignore how broken the mechanics are, how little atmosphere there is (making every skirmish or battle feel so random), how ugly graphics could have been, how poorly optimised the game is for any non-nvidia driver and so forth.Moreover, it restrained you on a fixed path with invis walls.The ideas were wonderful but the execution lacked.I don't recommend it beacause it is infuriating at points.There are thousands of flaws with it but you can see the producers tried a lot, not enough, but a lot. Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2015
    6
    Say what you want about Darkest of Days, most people do, but I didn't think it was bad at all, quite entertaining in fact.

    The game engine is quite impressive with the amount of stuff than can be rendered on screen at once, and the physics and particle effects are particularly good...I was running a paltry 9600 GT when I played this with gpu physX at 1400 by 900 and the frame rate was
    Say what you want about Darkest of Days, most people do, but I didn't think it was bad at all, quite entertaining in fact.

    The game engine is quite impressive with the amount of stuff than can be rendered on screen at once, and the physics and particle effects are particularly good...I was running a paltry 9600 GT when I played this with gpu physX at 1400 by 900 and the frame rate was pretty solid. The weapon models look authentic and the swirling gunsmoke is so realistic you could almost smell it. You can blow chunks out of the ground with cannons and other explosives, and the ragdolls that go flying in every direction is quite spectacular and the way they slump against tree stumps brings the realism further. The sci-fi aspect of the story is neat even if a bit unfocused but it brings rise to some cool laser weapons and there are the key figures to rescue in order to change history & others to assassinate that have a purple glow around them...it makes for quite compelling stuff. The maps in the game can be quite large and you can wander a fair way off track, it sort of can feel like playing one of the alpha versions of s.t.a.l.k.e.r. in that respect. Something interesting, I just played Civil War Secret Missions the other day, and it is remarkably similar to this game but obviously it doesn't have the time travel fiction aspects which gives DoD an edge.

    If you are even remotely interested in Darkest of Days give it a go, I haven't finished it myself yet, maybe the Pompeii levels are completely awesome for all I know
    Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2013
    0
    This game is an atrocity, yes it has a lot of innovative ideas, but none of that matters when you fail to implement it properly!

    Lets start with the story, I wont lie I didn't play past the first few levels because of this. From what I recall, you were a cow-boy in the frontier fighting off native warriors, but you are eventually pulled through a warp in time... yeah that makes complete
    This game is an atrocity, yes it has a lot of innovative ideas, but none of that matters when you fail to implement it properly!

    Lets start with the story, I wont lie I didn't play past the first few levels because of this. From what I recall, you were a cow-boy in the frontier fighting off native warriors, but you are eventually pulled through a warp in time... yeah that makes complete sense, get pulled from your roughneck world to a futuristic world full of advanced technologies that you somehow know to use!

    Beyond this point it was full of story-breaking loopholes, and unanswered questions.

    The Story is bad, now they should redeem through game play right? Wrong, the game play is very stiff and not innovative at all compared to the ideas that were advertised with the games release.
    The enemy AI is a very sad thing to see, constantly getting stuck or glitching across the map into your face. While you are surrounded by allies that cannot do a thing, and I don't mean a small squad, no you are surrounded at some points by MASSIVE armies, that do nothing but stand in your way, blocking any action and causing incredible stress to the system. I hate to imagine how it would affect a computer.

    To call it short, the game play felt like I was playing call of duty but without good controlling.

    Well that is my rant for the day, sorry to ruin your day mate.
    Expand
  4. Jun 13, 2013
    5
    This game..it has very creative ideas, but failed to perform well..It is quite fascinating when think about the fact that you can play in different history periods using the weapons of that era..So far so good..but the glitches and poor feeling of shooting ruined this game..The instructions were not clear either..
  5. May 3, 2013
    6
    A nice $10 title. Allows you to use futuristic weapons against Civil War and WW1 troops. Many opportunities to man machine guns in nests, zeppelins, towers, etc. Then you are faced with waves of attackers. One scenario gave the ability to call in artillary against waves of Germans. I don't like having to press the Tab key for the map all the time to see if I am heading towards myA nice $10 title. Allows you to use futuristic weapons against Civil War and WW1 troops. Many opportunities to man machine guns in nests, zeppelins, towers, etc. Then you are faced with waves of attackers. One scenario gave the ability to call in artillary against waves of Germans. I don't like having to press the Tab key for the map all the time to see if I am heading towards my objective, a simple compass in the corner like everyone else would have been a big help. Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2012
    7
    I found this game to be very unique and interesting to play. While not a AAA title and in some parts this is obvious the game offers something different and I think they have done this quite well.
  7. Mar 4, 2012
    7
    I know alot of people who like this game. I can't say for myself that its a game I would recommend buying. Unless you like interesting storyline, and plot. Check this one out. Otherwise... Don't buy it. The graphics suck with a horrible framerate. The gameplay is fun, but broken. This is a game that I kinda like, even though its broken. Still interesting, and enjoyable. Nice storyline.I know alot of people who like this game. I can't say for myself that its a game I would recommend buying. Unless you like interesting storyline, and plot. Check this one out. Otherwise... Don't buy it. The graphics suck with a horrible framerate. The gameplay is fun, but broken. This is a game that I kinda like, even though its broken. Still interesting, and enjoyable. Nice storyline. Alright setting. The plot is good. It has decent shooting. The rest of the game doesn't work well. Expand
  8. Jan 3, 2012
    7
    for start. as a technical achievement, this game isn't much. pretty much innovations on graphics, etc.
    BUT where this game looses points in numerous bugs, bad AI and voice acting that literally sounds like it was done over a phone, it makes up for in epic scale, that it almost achieves
    many war games don't fee like war. simply as you are in a narrow corridor shooting at about 10 people
    for start. as a technical achievement, this game isn't much. pretty much innovations on graphics, etc.
    BUT where this game looses points in numerous bugs, bad AI and voice acting that literally sounds like it was done over a phone, it makes up for in epic scale, that it almost achieves
    many war games don't fee like war. simply as you are in a narrow corridor shooting at about 10 people max. in darkest of days you take part in battles where nearly 100 soldiers fight each other.
    that may be a bad thing, as the AI is so bad you usually end up being the one who kills th 100. as for story, its very interesting. no other game lets you play the same mission, but from the enemies point of view.
    i would recommend this game, definitely, but i would warn, its a bit short, follow the paths, and only if you can get it a bit cheaper than usual.
    Expand
  9. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    I think the game was awesome! I mean there's a couple of bugs in it but still its just fun! I would recommend it to anyone! I don't know why it go such a low rating. I just think its so cool how you get to go to the Civil War, WW1,WW2, and back to ancient times!
  10. Jul 1, 2011
    6
    I was utterly fascinated with the concept of a time traveling shooter and eagerly picked up Darkest of Days. Right out of the gate my hopes got a quick reality check.Darkest of Days tries to put you in the middle of the battle and does a good job when it forces you to play the part you've "jumped" into. Most notably, the first Civil War mission really made me feel like I was blending in toI was utterly fascinated with the concept of a time traveling shooter and eagerly picked up Darkest of Days. Right out of the gate my hopes got a quick reality check.Darkest of Days tries to put you in the middle of the battle and does a good job when it forces you to play the part you've "jumped" into. Most notably, the first Civil War mission really made me feel like I was blending in to not disrupt history and that I was really there. Unfortunately it goes down hill quickly from there. The plot begins to meander quickly with, and the level design becomes worse and worse. I found more invisible wall in DoD than in another game I've played, often in areas that seemed to suffer from serious "rail-shooter"-itis. Darkest of Day's concept is there, but the writing (especially the dialogue) doesn't do it justice. When you are told by a mysterious stranger literally "You are actually working for the bad guys" you can't help but laugh. Your partner's quips are forgettable and his ever present Australian Boony cap is always out of place and almost stands out for everything wrong with DoD. Yeah you (the developer) may think its cool, but does it make sense? I wouldn't mind a DoD2, but put a bit more thought into the story and level design next time guys.

    TLDR: If the concept of killing Prussians with a man portable MIRV launcher is your thing, its worth snagging if it ever goes on sale on steam. Bad level design and bad writing make DoD sadly forgettable.
    Expand
  11. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    This is by far one of the best games i have played. The graphics were good, Story was very well done, Very high replay value, and the idea was played out spectacularly. I loved every moment playing this game as i went through different eras of time with guns from their appropriate time. The critics must have been blind idiots when they played.
  12. Jun 11, 2011
    7
    This game is one of my guilty pleasures: I thoroughly enjoyed it, but I would also hesitate to recommend the game to any of my friends, at least at the current price that the game is going for at most online retailers. I wouldn't even debate the flaws mentioned by other reviewers, both professional and amateur. What I enjoyed most about the game were the Civil War scenarios; in fact, IThis game is one of my guilty pleasures: I thoroughly enjoyed it, but I would also hesitate to recommend the game to any of my friends, at least at the current price that the game is going for at most online retailers. I wouldn't even debate the flaws mentioned by other reviewers, both professional and amateur. What I enjoyed most about the game were the Civil War scenarios; in fact, I think the game would have been better overall if the plot had focused entirely on changing the outcome of the Civil War. For example, we know the North won, but what if they had actually lost "the first time around", and the game detailed the exploits of various time-traveling factions tying to influence the outcome? I think that would have been great. Nonetheless, playing as a Civil War soldier with both period-appropriate weapons as well as a futuristic arsenal was a lot of fun. I could have done without the WWI missions, as they just didn't seem as interesting to me. Another thing the game does well is rendering large-scale battles that have one-hundred or more soldiers on the battlefield at one time. As I'm sure other reviews have stated, the AI for all of those soldiers isn't all that great, but if it were, there's absolutely no way you'd survive the thick of most of those battles. Another flaw: nobody seems to notice when you're using one of the futuristic weapons, and this bothers me only because I think it would have been humorous to hear some of the other soldiers comment about the weapon you're using, or to see them run away in fear or call you the devil or something along those lines. I wish I could argue against all of the negative comments people have made about DoD, but the fact is that the game does have it's issues. Somehow, I'm just one of those people that managed to have fun playing the game despite those issues. If you ever see the game on sale, let's say around $10 or so, I'd recommend giving it a shot. Otherwise, DoD is one of those "love-it-or-leave-it" games that you just have to play for yourself to see which camp you fall into. If you enjoy shooters, keep an eye out for this one to be on sale; at the regular price, it's difficult for me to recommend simply because I'd hate to see someone spend that much money on a game that they may not like. Expand
  13. May 5, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. Replay is great, Story is great. AI could be better. lets just say, Civil War + Modern / Future Weapon;s = OMG this is FREAKIN sweet. play with modern, future, and past Weapon's in CW, WWI, WWII, Rome era, Cowboy and Indian era, etc. What more can you ask of an amazing game. The Critics Review is almost like they didn't have a Computer that could run this game lol.This game is amazing. Replay is great, Story is great. AI could be better. lets just say, Civil War + Modern / Future Weapon;s = OMG this is FREAKIN sweet. play with modern, future, and past Weapon's in CW, WWI, WWII, Rome era, Cowboy and Indian era, etc. What more can you ask of an amazing game. The Critics Review is almost like they didn't have a Computer that could run this game lol. cuz they dont know what they are talking about, same goes for anyone who rated this game less than an 8. must buy. trust me, send me a nasty letter if im wrong. Expand
  14. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    just wow a very very nice game full of action with some nice futuristic weapons and authentic ww2 weapons nice graphics and funny to play a game with a new idea is so fun to kill Spartans with the assault rifle that i can do that all day
  15. DonG.
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    I played this game and I think it is really good. The way it looks is a lot better than most games today. The only bad side is that the game is too short and it needs more battles and different wars.they should have D-Day and midway and they should have more wars like the Vietnam War and Cold war. And why not the bombing in Japan? I hope they make a second Darkest of Days or add to the I played this game and I think it is really good. The way it looks is a lot better than most games today. The only bad side is that the game is too short and it needs more battles and different wars.they should have D-Day and midway and they should have more wars like the Vietnam War and Cold war. And why not the bombing in Japan? I hope they make a second Darkest of Days or add to the Darkest of Days now with a patch. Thanks a lot for reading! Expand
  16. GaryL
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    Sure, the AI is lacking, and the graphics aren't the most extreme, but it has an excellent concept behind it. You play as a silent protagonist that was rescued from certain death and tasked with repairing the timeline in various wars. Utilizing both weapons of the era and futuristic weapons, you wreak havoc on the battlefield and have a blast doing so. I don't know any FPS gamer Sure, the AI is lacking, and the graphics aren't the most extreme, but it has an excellent concept behind it. You play as a silent protagonist that was rescued from certain death and tasked with repairing the timeline in various wars. Utilizing both weapons of the era and futuristic weapons, you wreak havoc on the battlefield and have a blast doing so. I don't know any FPS gamer who hasn't wondered what would happen if they were to bring modern day fire power to historical battles. Ignore the bad reviews from people who expected it to be halo or CoD Modern Warfare, and pick this game up. It's definitely worth a play through. Expand
  17. SeanF
    Dec 23, 2009
    6
    This game is borne of a genuinely inspired idea. Even though it looked like it had low production value, I was intrigued enough to try the game based on it having a new backstory that wasn't a recycled "evil men trying to conquer the world with a bomb/virus/etc." There are some very fun parts of the game (the shooting tutorial with the red simulated soldiers, the period-specific This game is borne of a genuinely inspired idea. Even though it looked like it had low production value, I was intrigued enough to try the game based on it having a new backstory that wasn't a recycled "evil men trying to conquer the world with a bomb/virus/etc." There are some very fun parts of the game (the shooting tutorial with the red simulated soldiers, the period-specific weapons) but I'd have to say the laser guided 5-rocket launcher is some of the most fun I've had with any shooter. Who hasn't thought about what would happen if you introduced modern weaponry into historical battles? Mowing down Confeds with an assault rifle is glorious indeed. However, the game still needs a lot of refinement and polish. I'm willing to give the devs another chance; they clearly have good ideas. I hope they build upon them. Expand
  18. josephn
    Dec 19, 2009
    10
    this game was great for the amount of people on the battle fild at once never listen to the big shot reviwers all they care about is how good the company that made the game is like on cod that game could have so much btter and this was a low buget game for all the fun i had knock out the blue guys to a prison break level and to see this game get a 5.4 this game was so much btter then the this game was great for the amount of people on the battle fild at once never listen to the big shot reviwers all they care about is how good the company that made the game is like on cod that game could have so much btter and this was a low buget game for all the fun i had knock out the blue guys to a prison break level and to see this game get a 5.4 this game was so much btter then the reveiwer set it up to be there were no story telling part expect you talking to dexter and that on lady well codwm 2 annt good at all theres noneing new on it and it had a bigger buget then drakest of days but darkest of days had btter ever thing then codm2 did this game need mp then it well be perfect this is what i do when i m bad about something i go on darkest of days and kill injuns or in the future solders or breaking out a prison Expand
  19. MariuszK
    Nov 30, 2009
    9
    Like many here I don't understand all the low marks from the 'unbiased' critics! Because it's from a poor unknown developer it gets slated for being a 'rehash of ideas' from other shooters, while Call of Duty MW 2 gets praised despite being virtually a rehash of every COD game to date! The games graphics are good, the criticism of them is ridiculous and just Like many here I don't understand all the low marks from the 'unbiased' critics! Because it's from a poor unknown developer it gets slated for being a 'rehash of ideas' from other shooters, while Call of Duty MW 2 gets praised despite being virtually a rehash of every COD game to date! The games graphics are good, the criticism of them is ridiculous and just goes to show the times we live in when unless everything is expertly shaded, textured to the max and runs on DX 22 etc. then it's instantly rubbish! The game still looks better than many out there. The voice acting is lackluster but it's hardly all about that. The important thing is that right from the start I really enjoyed playing the game! From the first night-time skirmish against Confederate forces, I enjoyed the reload mechanic of the game and using the old muzzle loader. Being a fan of the Call of Juarez games, I like games set in 'ye olden days'! Makes a nice change. As others have said, gameplay matters, and this game despite it's quirks has it in spades. Just hope that little Monkeylabs sell enough despite the idiotic reviews to stay in business! Expand
  20. BenK
    Nov 17, 2009
    7
    Although there are many many problems i enjoyed it. I liked the idea and a lot of the gameplay and there were moments where i had alot of fun. People cant get past the abysmal reviews they need too.
  21. AdamG
    Nov 16, 2009
    8
    A lot better than the critics reviewed however a big down fall was the no multiplayer and the random acts where u would recieve an awesome gun and get to use it for 3 mintues just to get it taken away will piss u off no a whole lot of replay vaule however I still enjoyed the game a lot even during its buggier momements
  22. MikeD
    Oct 27, 2009
    5
    For a very small team, maybe 10 devs, artists and programmers I think this is a decent first outing. Sure it's buggy and the AI is that of a margarita machine, but the idea was sound. My biggest regret was paying full price. If the game was launched with a 19.99 price point I think it would have done better.
  23. MikeM
    Sep 27, 2009
    10
    Amazing weapons. using one shot muskets really makes you think where to put your shots. makes futuristic weapons seem really powerfull. A wonderful game.
  24. PascalS.
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    Graphics are excellent, interesting plotline and good use of time settings to produce good atmosphere with brilliant set-pieces with authentic-feeling weaponry. also it's awesome to run through civil war troops with a fully-automatic shotgun.
  25. MarkL.
    Sep 17, 2009
    9
    Times have changed. Back in the day, a little thing called "fun" mattered more than fancy graphics or clever AI. This game delivers fun. Nothing more, and nothing less. I don't know what kind of game the bashers wanted to play. Maybe this was just a bit too different from what they expected. I enjoyed it. Quite a lot. So sue me.
  26. PaulW
    Sep 15, 2009
    8
    I'm glad to see other users posting their comments here as well. This game is quite original and so far quite fun. The graphics are very nice especially considering the VAST expanse of scenery and draw distance. I'm playing in 7.1 surround sound and the positioning is SUPERB! I can't tell you the amount of times I've had massive trouble getting 7.1 to work correctly in I'm glad to see other users posting their comments here as well. This game is quite original and so far quite fun. The graphics are very nice especially considering the VAST expanse of scenery and draw distance. I'm playing in 7.1 surround sound and the positioning is SUPERB! I can't tell you the amount of times I've had massive trouble getting 7.1 to work correctly in AAA games. This one worked right out of the box (or... more correctly... right of of the Steam since I downloaded it). The battles are vast and have a distinct feeling to them. I'm amazed at the amount of NPC soldiers involved on the field. AI is as good as any AI I've played on AAA games. The utilize cover and pop in and out. Devs like this should be encouraged. Sure there is no multiplayer... so what?! MOST of the time the multiplayer is same old, same old. Unless you are creating a TF2 or L4D, I prefer a great single-player experience. Only major drawback for me so far is the lack of SLI support. But running at 3840x1024 (Triplehead2Go over three monitors) with Medium Physics and 2x AA, 16XAF, I get steady 30-35 fps. One has to question the maturity or ethics of sites doling out scores that are equivalent to saying the game is literally garbage. Bottom line: it's fun to play. End of story. Expand
  27. StephenB
    Sep 15, 2009
    3
    It's like the movie Time Cop only worse. While there are roughly 15 missions there are only 3 places to play, Civil War, World War I, and Pompeii. The graphics are subpar yet taxed my machine like it was Crysis. After playing a few levels I dreaded having to pick a Civil War mission. Last time I checked you shouldn't dread anything while playing a game. The story was uninspired It's like the movie Time Cop only worse. While there are roughly 15 missions there are only 3 places to play, Civil War, World War I, and Pompeii. The graphics are subpar yet taxed my machine like it was Crysis. After playing a few levels I dreaded having to pick a Civil War mission. Last time I checked you shouldn't dread anything while playing a game. The story was uninspired and left little to no connection with either of the main characters. The icing on the cake was how short the game was, 5-6 hours of gameplay. Wait for this to hit the bargain bins or just skip it all together, you aren't missing anything. Collapse
  28. JohnW
    Sep 14, 2009
    9
    Fun game. Perhaps a little behind with graphics, but the content was solid. It is easy to tell the amount of research the designers put into the little details. The controls were a little rough at first, but overall simple, so the learning curve isn't great. Props for the detailed content.
  29. TomM
    Sep 14, 2009
    9
    This game is not a perfect game, but then again I didn't expect it to be. Darkest of Days was a pretty fun game though. I have to say it is a game with a fresh and entertaining concept. The futuristic weapons were definitely a innovative and fun aspect of the game that I personally had a lot of fun with. I hope to see a sequel to this game and see what kind of improvements the This game is not a perfect game, but then again I didn't expect it to be. Darkest of Days was a pretty fun game though. I have to say it is a game with a fresh and entertaining concept. The futuristic weapons were definitely a innovative and fun aspect of the game that I personally had a lot of fun with. I hope to see a sequel to this game and see what kind of improvements the company would make on this game. Overall this game was worth playing through. Expand
  30. LeeH
    Sep 13, 2009
    10
    It really is too bad that the company who didn't make this game didn't have the cash to pay royalties to reviewing agencies, because this is an extremely good game getting extremely bad reviews. Don't listen to them; this is an amazing game. The graphics are intense, the storyline is interesting, and it has quite some hours of play time to it for being a game of a marked It really is too bad that the company who didn't make this game didn't have the cash to pay royalties to reviewing agencies, because this is an extremely good game getting extremely bad reviews. Don't listen to them; this is an amazing game. The graphics are intense, the storyline is interesting, and it has quite some hours of play time to it for being a game of a marked down price. All the weapons are really fun to use, and can be upgraded after every level. I highly suggest playing through this game. Expand
  31. OllyM
    Sep 13, 2009
    10
    Sleeper hit of 2009. Brilliant grahics and atmosphere complement a decent storyline and some very nicely done weaponry, both futuristic and historical! The battles are a complete blast, and always had me suffering from the "just one more level" feeling that a truly enjoyable game will! Recommended for any open minded fps and/or military history fan!
  32. JoshC
    Sep 13, 2009
    5
    Despite the great Idea of time travel to different wars, the game just doesn't deliver. The gameplay is bad in the sense that the AI enemies are retarded. The storyline lacks flow and originality. The weapons are terrible to use and its just a boring game to the point where you just want it to end or hurry up. Graphics are weak .. but i look passed all that and still see nothing much Despite the great Idea of time travel to different wars, the game just doesn't deliver. The gameplay is bad in the sense that the AI enemies are retarded. The storyline lacks flow and originality. The weapons are terrible to use and its just a boring game to the point where you just want it to end or hurry up. Graphics are weak .. but i look passed all that and still see nothing much good. The main positive I get from this game is the gun lock idea. Its a good idea. poor gameplay though. Expand
  33. ZsomborB
    Sep 12, 2009
    9
    I've expecting this game since the first time I heard about it. I think the storyline holds a really interesting concept, and the fact that you can spice up the civil war with an action rifle is just priceless. In my opinion, it's just about time to stop developing graphics engines and selling them in boxes, YES I'M TALKING ABOUT YOU CRYSIS. The technological presentation I've expecting this game since the first time I heard about it. I think the storyline holds a really interesting concept, and the fact that you can spice up the civil war with an action rifle is just priceless. In my opinion, it's just about time to stop developing graphics engines and selling them in boxes, YES I'M TALKING ABOUT YOU CRYSIS. The technological presentation of the game is overall completely okay, altough the controls feel a bit weird, it's not difficult to get used to. Overall, this is a nice game, and I like playing it, this is the first step towards creating ACTUAL GAMES. Expand
  34. PoisonousHorse
    Sep 11, 2009
    8
    I
  35. JaredJ
    Sep 11, 2009
    1
    I had very high hopes for this game. I can't recomend this to anybody and it is nowhere near worth the $39.99 price tag. It's story is apauling, the A.I. is disgusting and the new engine for graphics is ugly. It's also only single player with short repeating missions that have no replay value. Do people even take time to sit down and think of a story, fun gameplay, good I had very high hopes for this game. I can't recomend this to anybody and it is nowhere near worth the $39.99 price tag. It's story is apauling, the A.I. is disgusting and the new engine for graphics is ugly. It's also only single player with short repeating missions that have no replay value. Do people even take time to sit down and think of a story, fun gameplay, good A.I.? This disgusting excuse for a game is proof they don't, they just throw together a pile of garbage, don't care about the result and put an over priced tag on it. This game is like a steak that players ordered medieum well but it comes out rare and it leaves a bad taste in your mouth. Expand
  36. BobRoundal
    Sep 10, 2009
    10
    Amazing for an indie game. This isn't the kind of indie game where it's a constant struggle to eek out any fun or it's only for a niche market, the fundamnetal gamepaly is enjoyable. You can just breeze through it if you're a casual and want to ignore the story.
  37. SteveS.
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    I thought this game made me feel like gaming did 5 years ago. It was fresh, fun, and I always wanted to see what was around the next corner. I thought the graphics were great, and it was a breath of fresh air compaired to too many games that are spending 90% of their budget on graphics and nothing new. I have to give it really high marks because of the rush I got going into every level - I thought this game made me feel like gaming did 5 years ago. It was fresh, fun, and I always wanted to see what was around the next corner. I thought the graphics were great, and it was a breath of fresh air compaired to too many games that are spending 90% of their budget on graphics and nothing new. I have to give it really high marks because of the rush I got going into every level - a feeling I have not had in a LONG time! Expand
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 20
  2. Negative: 6 out of 20
  1. PC Zone UK
    50
    It's got too many issues to recommend it. [Oct 2010, p.]
  2. PC Gamer UK
    80
    A few clever mechanics and great weapons against a backdrop of surprisingly immersive Civil War and WWII battles. [Oct 2009, p.87]
  3. 40
    Darkest of Days indeed. This first-person shooter from 8monkey Labs fails on nearly all fronts. A promising narrative setup is roasted over a bonfire of mangled mechanics, poor presentation, and sloppily implemented missions and objectives.