User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 543 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 543

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 26, 2014
    10
    The very best fantasy action game I've ever played and I played a lot... :) It turned out to be way better than Devil May Cry series and even the previous Darksiders title! Amazing story and characters - can't wait for the next one!
  2. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    What a great game. I put in 30+ hours in this and thoroughly enjoyed it. For a guy who buys 2-3 games a week when bored, this is one of those games that gripped me and was the only game in my cue until I finished it. I just hope with THQ being sold the next game in this franchise delivers the same quality.
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    9
    This is one of my favorite games of all time. I can't describe how much I enjoyed playing it. Graphics are just amazing, great fighting mechanics, great environment, and they did an awesome job with the story. I give this a 9 out of 10. Of course, it has little things that should be fixed, but putting that on a side, this is an awesome game.
  4. Oct 21, 2013
    9
    I am honestly surprised by how much i am enjoying this game, i got it with the humble bundle and just thought meh ill play it some time, after playing it i am thoroughly enjoying the experience only 2 criticisms i have is it can be repetitive and it can be easy.
  5. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Looks good for pc on 1080 max Anti Aliasing. Game is a bit different from the first and still an awesome action game. They added a bit more customization of your character by choosing weapons and gear as well as a spell tree. Its hard finding good action games for the PC but this is the best series I have played in the action genre for PC. Recommended even though its a pc port with few nuances that I dont mind. I wish they would release more of these types of games for PC. It seems the delevopers wont be working on another Darksiders for years to come due to a THQ liquidation. They had intentions of releasing a D3 and D4 with a multi co-op using all 4 horsemen. Enjoy D2 as its probably the last of the series. Recommended/ Expand
  6. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    I know there are no graphics option and some really creepy bugs but the game still shines in darkness of the post apocalyptic realms.great fighting style, large maps, rpg elements, mind reaping puzzles and the dark fantasy tone similar to Soul Reaver are the true charm of this world.Overall Great Game
  7. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    I grabbed this game in a 80% sale, and so was half expecting the buggy broken PC port that some have spoken about. I didn't play the first game so was going in cold. But to my surprise, I found a game that I enjoyed on almost every level. I really like the back story and theme. Graphic style and quality is great. Characters and voice acting is great. I like the gameplay, but I can see how some people might find it simplistic. Overall a quality game. However, not just quality.....There is quantity as well. With the story going on and on 50hrs I hear is normal.

    Somebody somewhere compared the atmosphere to WOW. I get that, it feels solid and well designed, but without the 4000 kids telling you you're doing it wrong (Which in fairness I probably was). Another difference to WOW is that you character feels badass, which seems appropriate as you play Death.

    I will mention the controls as this was for me the only aspect of the game that let it down a bit. Obviously designed for a gamepad, it can be a bit fiddly on the keyboard and mouse. But mainly in the menus really than in game, so not a game breaker at all.

    The guys that wrote this game should be proud. I will definitely be buying Darksiders 1, and 3 when it comes out!
    Expand
  8. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    This is a great game! And there are indeed graphics options, you just have to look harder. I can also tell that it is a port as I own a console myself but if you didn't, I don't think it would matter. I had to change some of the bindings about as they were incredibly awkward and began to strain on my wrist but...I feel they improved the story a lot from the first game. It seemed more like an open world this time and I loved the wood setting and the field, brilliant ideas (although still a bit Zelda-like) One of the things I did not enjoy (don't slate me) Is the VAST amount of weaponry you could have. And you could obtain amazing weaponry from a silly little bug, which I found odd. I'm walking around playing Death with my scythes and this butterfly pops out and gives me scythes that are twelve times better. Yes, there was little to no variety in the first game, but I believe they overstepped the variety in this one. And that's only by a tad. Gameplay wise, I felt it lasted longer. In the first game it was at a great pace at the start but then it just sped up. To tell you the truth, I remember more from this game than the first. And I just replayed the first in apocalyptic mode! Expand
  9. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    I would love to give this game a perfect 10 but it has two glaringly obvious issues that detract too much from the game for it to get a perfect score. The issues that really stood out for me were the rubbish performance on a high end system and the very mediocre textures, which was a further insult to it running so poorly on a high end system. I have an i5 2500k Oc'd to 4.4Ghz with a 7970 Oc'd to 1.2Ghz core and 1.6Ghz mem and I can't play this at full settings without jerky gameplay. The blocky textures were also incredibly surprising, considering how mindblowingly awesome the artwork is and how they could not want to display this as best as possible at a smooth framerate has left me a bit stumped. What I also don't understand is that, from what I understand, both Darksiders games used the same engine, yet I could play DS1 on full settings with a 5750 and C2D-E8500 3.4Ghz and hardly get any FPS drops. I would give the game a 6 based on these things but the game deserves so much more because of its other elements. The gameplay was awesome and I couldn't stop playing. It caused me to lose sleep and not wait to get home from work to play more. It was definitely more intense then DS1 and it had a lot more RPG elements that were very well carried out. While we still don't need an aim mode as PC users, the controls were easy enough to use. I could kick infinite amounts of ass and thoroughly enjoyed this, especially in places like The Crucible and The Soul Arbiter's Maze. The combos were well thought out, easy to execute and were really, really cool. I also really enjoyed the Price of Persia style wall jumping and climbing and in a way this game really made up for the awful fighting in Prince of Persia. I did miss the double jump and glide that War had from DS1 and feel this could have been incorporated into this game. The level designs were really well thought out too and flowed really well. The open areas were easy to traverse. It would have been nice to use despair in more areas though for quicker traversing. I though the ability to teleport was integral though and also well executed. The loot was really good, the bosses were badass, the monsters were well executed (good AI), the other elements that war could interact with were very well done (such as the constructs) and the RPG element was very, very well done. At first I thought the RPG element seemed odd (in comparison to RPG games like Titan Quest and Torchlight) but once I got some skills and some possessed weapons, the whole thing made more sense than a traditional style RPG element. It ended up being a huge plus and I wouldn't want it any other way than it was implemented. The other element that I look for in a fantasy game like this is a good story and good voice acting. As I've come to expect in Darksiders games, the voice acting was amazing and they could not have done a better job casting. The music was also really, really good and normally when I play games I've got music playing in Windows because the game music gets tedious and repetitive, but I didn't do that in this game. The story was well carried out and while it feels like some elements weren't well explained enough or left out, it did feel like these would be developed more in further games, which just adds to the mystery. So all in all I'm up to a 9... down to a 6 from a 10 because of the performance issues and blocky textures but back up to 9 because of the incredibly addictive gameplay, fantastically well executed RPG elements, stunning artwork, great music, great level design and brilliant voice acting. Expand
  10. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    This game is God of War, this game is Legend of Zelda. All these doesn't stop it. This game is great- graphics, sound, gameplay, RPG elements, story, voice acting, content are good!. Althought, I feel I already played this game before.
    * My rate is 8.5
  11. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    Game very engaging and very addictive, has tons of content, the voices of the characters are very well treated and well placed challenge. Although several reviews have said problems in graphics, I can not find them, if the cause is the graphics option from the shadows, you just put in the middle and start playing! The story has a plot and a very beautiful engagement. A final point in my first review, the game is excellent, it is a combination of hack-and-slashing with open world, skill tree like any other RPG, but that combined enough. Earlier in the game, you will get a little bored and very eager to get powerful, just be patient and calm to explore this magnificent game. You will not regret. Expand
  12. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    This game is legitimately one of the best I have played. The intense combat, combined with an amazing storyline, incredibly designed dungeons, and freaking awesome RPG elements, make for a fantastic time playing this game. The dungeons can often prove challenging, but never overly so. And there are always new things to spice it up, be it portals or shadow clones. The RPG elements fit very nicely with the overall schema, with the loot being incredibly addictive and the leveling up always a joy. The graphics on PC may not be on par with other titles, but I honestly did not notice nor did I care. This is an amazing game, and easily in my top 5 games list. If you're main gripe is the poor PC port..... seriously? It may not be the best looking game ever, but its' gameplay and story make up for that ten times over. RIP THQ, and good luck Vigil. I hope you continue this amazing series of games. Expand
  13. Jan 3, 2013
    9
    Think the was better then a 7.7. To start I was a bit of a fan of the first one cool story line neat char's plots epic boss battles and of course puzzles. This one was a bit of the same I think the boss fight was lacking compared to the first, and the puzzles where decent and fun way less challenging then the first. I did love how the char death tied in with war's story I felt kinda let down at the ending really all that work and then bam. So Con's of the game where : controls, my guy was jumping everywhere didn't go where I wanted him at times when I'm jumping one cliff to the next he would fall and die.. kinda, good thing for tho's non death re-spawns or I don't think I would of finished it I'm sure if i had a controller hooked up to my PC it would of made life easier. Another was the game was basically one dimensional I mean I didn't really mind this but every mission was the same in a sense solve a lot of puzzles jump around fight for a short period of time and then boss rinse recycle repeat. Pro's the attacking system was really cool and the equipment that went a long with it was to make the deal even better. Graphics where nice everything looked like how a game should look now a day that animations style that is. Loved the story line big reason why i came back to this cuz the first was Awesome as will...So i would say this is a def a buy...Can't wait for the other horsemen! Expand
  14. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    Even better than the first. The game is 25 hours of constant fun and can extend if you do all the side quests and crucible. The story is intriguing, epic and excellent, similarly to the first title, and really ties together with the first installment. More importantly, in Darksiders II, it seems the franchise finally made its own mark and stood above the rest by implementing new and creative twists such as RPG and platforming elements which finally distinguishes the title from Zelda and God of War which it has been compared to countless times. A very entertaining and memorable game that anyone would enjoy. Expand
  15. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    A mon goût c'est un jeu totalement magnifique et superbe, j'adore !
    Contrairement à d'autres personnes, je trouve ce jeu réussi avec une bonne aventure mais
    cela reste mon opinion.
  16. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    This game is a solid 9/10. It's has a great epic adventure, side quests, fun itemization (far better than Diablo 3 IMO), good action/battle system, lots of fun boss fights, good cut scenes, puzzles, exploration, amenities like fast travel, horse combat, collectibles, power ups, leveling, and dual skill trees for a highly customizable experience. Great graphics which are truly outstanding in some areas, a FANTASTIC sound track, Oh, and it's fun!

    With so many positives come some flaws, it's not perfect but ANY gamer who likes action/adventure should STRONGLY consider picking this up. Negatives on the PC include the controls which are a bit difficult at times. Aiming mode is odd for example. Some settings are missing and you can tell it's a port (but I really didn't feel like I needed them). You can you use an xbox controller, sure, but I used keyboard mouse - I have an xbox controller just didn't feel the need it here personally, and it was fine to finish the game for me. Honestly I liked that all the abilities are available by keypress 0-9+ since I'm used to that from PC gaming.

    If you like games such as Zelda, Fable, Kingdoms of Amalur, Fallout 3, Diablo, Prince of Persia, etc. and want something similar but maybe a bit darker then definitely get this game.
    Expand
  17. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    The longer I play the better it gets.
    It is a little different from the first Darksiders game, but in a way it makes sense.
    A variety of weapons and armor with different looks and stats is fun.
    New character brings new abilities and a different approach compared to the previous title.
    If you liked the first one, than you probably want to give this a try.
  18. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    I always tried to avoid rpg style games...honestly why should I do the same thing over and over again just to gain some cool looking powers..well...this is not the case of DARKSIDERS II which has an unique story,great gameplay,relaxing music,tricky puzzles and boss battles which are pretty cool.Feel free to try this game out.It amazed and will definitely amaze you too!
  19. Oct 22, 2012
    9
    I've never played the first game, but I've been looking forward to play this one because I knew this would be more RPG-like. So I've walked through the game, I'm totally satisfied with it, the gameplay is just great (if you have a gamepad - I've bought myself one especially for this game). I liked the mix of slasher, RPG and puzzle. I didn't get bored by the game till the very final. The plot is pretty average, but the variety of side-quests and lots of stuff to explore keeps you amazed. Besides I liked the design of characters/locations. So... hopefully I'll walk through the first game and I'll hope for the next game in series! Expand
  20. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Altough I did enjoy the first installment of this series it bored me a little, the amazing gameplay and correction of the sins I had seen in Darksiders make this game deserve a perfect score, it brings me back to childhood memories of action RPG games such as Zelda and others, yes I saw some critic say it is not innovative but it does not take away the awesomeness, the light rpg aspect to it is amazing and not too tiresome and despite the somewhat easy puzzles I would recommend this masterpiece 100% Expand
  21. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    A fantastic game. Truly a game made by gamers who love old school games like Legacy of kain. Its basically LoK mashed up with diablo style loot system and the combat from god of war. The graphics style kinda grows on you and man!! having Joe Medura (sp.?) totally makes the game better. Look at the loot and weapons in the game...freaking amazing style and art.. Add together the hours of gameplay and this is a game worth paying every penny for. I hope THQ gets the support it needs and encouragement to continue the darksiders series. Expand
  22. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is excellent. The graphics , the sound , gameplay and story is perfect. -The graphics of the character and surroundings is really good.
    -And the sound is also good... from the music to the sound effects and voices. It really makes you feel like you are in the game.
    -The story is really good. You can feel the weight that "death" carries with him through the whole game, the souls of his kind ( the souls of the people that he killed ) trapped in the shards on his chest and that his brother "War" will soon be executed.
    -Gameplay... overall the gameplay is great. You loose touch of reality while playing the game just for a few minutes. And when you finally reach the end of the game you feel a great relief.
    The game shows you that 3d graphics that look like the real world are not what matters when it comes to a great game,That the music and story are what counts.
    Also the cut scenes and clips in the game were pretty good, some had a couple of jokes in them just to lighten the mood.
    In the game you will find a lot of items and chests , secrets , collectibles... and when i say "a lot" i mean A LOT.There are also quite a lot of quests too.
    In the game you will find some familiar characters like: Vulgrim the merchant , The stone golems that you have to move using that loud horn..

    All of these things are why i loved this game and it deserves to be on the top 5.
    Expand
  23. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    I played Darksiders I and I found the sequel much more compelling. Despite the initial bugs, the three patches that have been released so far improved the game a lot (it loads faster, has more graphic options) = +1 to the final score. Death as the character is witty and ironic, a bit romantic in his quest to save War. The RPG elements, with skill trees and Diablo-ish looting system is well thought, though Achidna's Claws are OP and ruined the final experience, making the second part of the game a bit repetitive if you use them. What I enjoyed most, though, were the arenas and locations. Fighting is really the essence of Darksiders and I missed some kind of PvE battleground in the first part. Great choice here, chapeau! Finally, considering the attention by Vigil Games towards the community and the upcoming DLCs, I think Darksiders II is a solid piece of epic entertainment. So sad it isn't selling well... Expand
  24. Sep 10, 2012
    10
    A wonderful action adventure game, perfect story-line, amazing capability for customization of Death. All weapons are impressed and easy customize. music is perfect, the combat game engine is a masterpiece. Execution animations are well designed and bloody. I recommend it as game of the year. It is a must have
  25. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    Great game! The pc version (a simple console port) has a lot of bugs but the game is still awesome. A lot better of Darksiders 1. The only "bad thing" is the plot: not very original and not too deep... but it's ok.
  26. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    A Terrible PC port, but my gosh this game is fun. Exactly what a sequel should be. Vigil's choice of music is wonderful, and slaying huge bosses with style and that epic music in background make that gameplay an unforgettable experience.
    I look forward to Darksiders 3
    P.S. The port is really terrible, but because of haters i feel it is ethical to give this game a 10.
    This game deserved
    it - plus Vigil is working on a pc patch to make the game behave like any PC game should Expand
  27. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    Bad console port, but with controller all shortcomings from porting are gone and only truly Great Game is remained - enthralling, dynamic, stylish.

    Good work with elimination of Darksiders defects was done, and correlation of the Darksiders II parts is perfect now.
  28. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    A great game, a very good graphic quality, long lasting game, variety of weapons, attacks, enemies and scenarios, great plot of the story mode. One observation: Final uncertain, it is not known if the story runs parallel with that of the original Darksiders...
  29. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    Perfect game I'd consider it one of the best games that has come in the last 5 years. Much better than Skyrim. Don't listen to all the port whiners. Consoles are here to stay and PC gaming is a lost cause and dying.
  30. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    this great game i love it i keep playing it on pc cause it fun the more i get into it more i love this one better then first one this one show more design more open world world
  31. Aug 24, 2012
    9
    sadly, you can't change graphic options, because there's no an option. yes that's bad. But until now, is one of the best games of the year. the characters are really nice, love the environment and the design. Sound is great too. Combat moves are varied and there are great weapons, armors, etc. Enemies are varied and you need skill and style to kill him, and bosses are some easy, but that doesn't matter. Some puzzles are frustrating but are very well done, and that's fun. The game puts you on a beautiful world. Vigil made a great job on this game. If you like Action RPG'S, you must buy it! Death Lives. Expand
  32. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    A great game, with great visuals, great combat, and a great overall gameplay experience.
    As of writing this, i am 13 hours into the game, and despite some..fanatical 'reviewers' on this site, i have experienced no game breaking bugs, no problem with the controls (which by the way can be changed through a keybinding menu, so i see no reason for anyone to have a problem), and since i just
    forced higher graphical settings through my graphics card UI, no problems with lack of graphics options (it takes less then 30 seconds to setup a game profile in your graphics card interface, where you can put whatever settings you want)
    The story can feel like it's put to the side at times. In the second dungeon, i almost completely forgot why i was there, i was too engrossed into the gameplay of the game, i hardly cared anyway.

    It's a great game which will supply you with lots of entertainment, definitely worth it regardless of what console you get it on.
    Expand
  33. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    So many complaints are just jaded. No graphic options for Darksiders II? Oh well, this game was developed for consoles. Does it look and play well on PC, yes it does. The game is amazing. Story is surprisingly good. The gameplay and combat is visceral and awesome. The RPG elements (skill trees, loot, etc.) are very well crafted. And the character Death is just great. His dialogue and interactions make you think now this is how Death would act... And the world is open, doesn't feel constricted, but also doesn't feel like they were trying to do too much. People give is a 0 just because of specific options being disabled are probably the same people that gave Mass Effect 3 a 10/10 when it had limited options. I understand being upset at the limited graphical options etc, but they also claim in their reviews that the game is well-made and fun. So why not just dock a few points instead of giving it a 0/10? Doesn't make sense to me that you give a 0/10 to a game you admit is fun. Oh well, rant over. Don't let these reviews dissuade you from purchasing the game. Vigil and THQ have a real gem right here and I hope they build off of it for the next horseman game? (Strife maybe?) :) Hard to make a more captivating character than Death though. Expand
  34. Aug 20, 2012
    9
    Yes I have it for PC, yes you can tell its a port. No there are no graphic options. Does it look good? Does it play good? Hell yes it does. Force V sync through you card, Force the AA, and shut up. There can always be patch down the road to add these features. It does not break the great game these guys made. Tons of content, great voice acting, killer gameplay. You would have to be a fool to not realize that PC gamers are not the main revenue for developers, deal with it. Consoles took over years ago. That doesn't mean we should be neglected, but it also doesn't help to cry about it and miss out on a great game like this and pretend your 0 metacritic score is enough to matter. 0 really? Grow up. You are probably playing it right now with a **** eating grin on your face. I'm 31 and have played more games than I want to admit, this is a great one. Pick it up, you won't regret it. Expand
  35. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I hear very often that the game sucks for PC, but I'm reviewing the PS3 version.

    The graphics are stunning, and Death himself is a badass. The new loot system, the talent trees, and getting my horse at the very beginning was much better than having to wait until over halfway through the game like the last one. Death is not War in any way, and that's great. He's his own person, has his own (wondrously unsavory) personality, and turning into the Grim Reaper as much as you do is satisfying. The puzzles are just as entertaining and frustrating as the last game. Though Dust can, at times, be a bit confusing when you're trying to find the right way, you'll usually figure it out (after a bit of head scratching).

    I was disappointed when I did not see Fury and Strife, as Vigil had promised us that, but perhaps the White and Black Riders will get their own games, eh?
    Expand
  36. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    Ok so this review will be short but the main point is that after a horrific set of large budget mediocre pc games this is the game that will save ur summer.
    So yeah it needs albeit refining of menus and what not but the underline is GAMEPLAY - and Darksiders 2 prevails so much that I never stopped enjoying it. (the whole 12h first apocalyptic run, going nightmare now :) )
    The infusion
    with RPG elements only made it better, the protagonist is clinical and Mary Sue (like l like them
    ) and u even get a couple of true lols.

    After first playthough:
    AWESOME gameplay,
    Great graphics (not top notch but hey its open world) ,
    Intense soundtrack ,
    Better story than the first one ,
    One tiny flaw is the port thing, in the beginning youll get confused but after awhile it will be better. 8.8 outa 10 defiantly one of the better games (if not the best) this summer
    Expand
  37. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    All the people who are complaining about graphic options seriously upgrade your PCs, other than that its really awesome game. Graphics arent always the primary thing when the artwork is simply superb and first class. Gameplay balances perfectly the RPG and action elements. I dont know why people are complaining about this game and giving less than perfect ratings. Excellent Boss fights and awesome environments, and of course story and the characters and the lore perfectly fit to make the perfect and very enjoyable game. I very rarely enjoy games this much and darksiders 2 is on the top of the list. And please buy the game because THQ promised more darksiders game if this one did well. Expand
  38. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Non-stop action, rpg elements , loots, nicely done voice acting and much more. It's really fun. Normaly I would give 8 but because of all that "U have no graphic option" reviews, I gave it 10 . By the way, If you're a graphic b***h, you won't like this game. Nearly all games on pc are console ports. Keep in that mind.
  39. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Metacritic is really hilarious, no game deserves a 0/10 because it doesn't have antialiasing options. I mean i can understand not giving it a 10/10 but come on. The game is extremely fun to play and the combat is very fluid. Yes the graphics options are lacking but there has been talk of a config file to fix that, and at least the game runs well unlike other games recently released *cough* Prototype 2 *cough* Also, I think most would agree that this game has excellent art direction and aesthetics, not to mention the soundtrack, which I think is exceptional. Even with lackluster graphics config I still think you're missing out if you don't play it, but to each his own, try it for yourself and form your own opinion. Expand
  40. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    To be completely honest, my review for this game would place it at a solid 9. It's not perfect as a score of 10 would imply, but it's very close. However, with the staggering amount of stupidity running rampant through the negative scores I figured I'd give it the extra point just to try and help.

    As far as the game is concerned, it's stunning. Yes, visually there are no options to
    change and some may feel the graphics are dated...but honestly who cares? The game still looks good, and fits with the graphics of the first game. No graphics options is not, in ANY way, detracting from the experience of playing the game so there is absolutely no reason to rate something a 1 or 2 just because you're spoiled and feel privileged because most PC games have those options. But setting aside the very minor issue of graphics, everything else about the game is superb. I am about 13 hours in and have experienced absolutely no crashing, freezing, stuttering or any other hiccups in performance. The gameplay has been smooth, fun, and engaging. I like that Death is more agile than War was in the first game, and if you have to label the game a Prince of Persia clone for that then so be it...Prince of Persia is also a fantastic franchise, so if you're going to copy at least they copied something great.

    One review cited the questing as boring because it was all simple go and retrieve? Some of the quests are like this yes, as they are in any rpg, but most of the "questing" plays out exactly like it did for War in the first game. Maybe he didn't have NPCs at quest hubs telling him to do things, but he did have NPCs popping up and instructing him on his next course of action...it was exactly the same concept, so why is it so hard to swallow in this game?

    Next, the looting mechanics in the game. Simply put, they're great. Yes you do get a lot of crap gear, but every RPG is like that, so it's hardly something that warrants giving a game a low score...it's just part of the experience to get cheap vendor crap, and it makes it all the more special when you find that really rare item.

    The sound and music in the game are also among the best I've had the pleasure of playing, and the voice acting is fantastic - Michael Wincott was the absolute perfect choice for Death, and his dialogue alone was enough to make the game enjoyable let alone the dialogue of everybody else. So in summation, this game is definitely worth the purchase. Yes, it's a console port...if that's really such a problem for you then well you have a serious case of entitlement. Use a controller and pretend you're playing it on the console...except, you know, you'll get actual patches for problems and stuff much more efficiently than people on console, but that bonus is worth giving up just to play on console and still not have graphics options right!
    Expand
  41. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    You could listen to all them idiots complaining about lack of graphics options which is certainly true and a shame for a PC game BUT then you could also do yourself a great favour and BUY this game for its amazing gameplay randomly seen on the PC platform which is full of mediocre FPS. The graphics do their job as they also did their job on the first game but the meat of this game is its gameplay and its amazing cast of characters and enemies along with breathtaking boss fights waiting for you on the game's multiple dungeons. This is better than the first game which was already amazing and is game of the year so far although Guild Wars 2 will probably take that prize. DO NOT MISS ! Expand
  42. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    Game of the year without doubt. Awesome graphics and art direction, awesome characters, beautifull world and real epic main character. Death is a baddass. Takes everything from Darsiders 1 and put it in a really better formula. Joe Madureira, you do it again. A must have game.
  43. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    For those who are getting freezing on backing out of the menu:

    Enable V-sync in your graphic card's 3d settings. It fixed the problem for me and others. The higher resolution is worth getting it for the pc in and of itself. I haven't played much of the game, but I like what I've played so far.
  44. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    great game. Most people will complain about the lack of graphics options. however, this game just proves that those arent necessary when you have a great game, great art and jasper kyd as your composer, who once again does an outstanding job with the music. Its one of the most fun games ive played in a while. The cons are minimal compared to what it has to offer. dont be an elitist, be a gamer and appreciate what this game is doing. In a world populated by FPS and lame games like COD, this is a gem of a game, which surpasses the first one by miles. I trusted thq to give me a good game and they delivered by giving me an awesome game. Expand
  45. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    This game is utterly fantastic in every sense of the word, for the people saying "the PC version is horrible 0/10" what you are potentially doing is ruining the future for any updates of the games PC port, so please stop because this game deserves a massive amount of popularity and sales. the gameplay is polished, visceral, difficult, and overall fun, the customization isn't overly complicated or over done like in some other games have done, its enough for you to want to change your play-style but not too much to over complicate things. And for people saying "this game looks awful" I want you to step back and look at it for a second, yeah i know right, pretty awesome. yeah the game isn't as high fidelity as modern games, but at the same time modern games don't have art design thats this good either. the plot is fantastic and the characters are enjoyable and interesting. this game is totally worth picking up if you enjoy action games, or RPG's. its honestly one of the best games I've played in a long time and that's saying a lot Expand
  46. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    It has become almost mainstream to make videogame sequels that are almost indistinguishable from their originals; Darksiders 2 breaks this trend, though not in all the right ways. You play as Death, the fourth horseman, on a quest to prove your brother's innocence; this quest takes you through some amazingly well crafted and created realms and, unlike in the first game, introduces you to many more NPCs, each with their own distinct personality. Speaking of distinct personalities, it becomes quite clear from the first interaction that Death is very different than war; his personality ranges from badass criminal to just plain dickish, and he lacks War's patience and discipline. The voice acting for all of these NPCs is very well done and most of their characters are quite believable, though there are a few who are just a little wonky. As for the gameplay mechanics, I like how Vigil tried to turn this into an RPG, and it was a pretty good effort. They included skill trees, loot, sidequests, and even a dialogue wheel. They haven't forgotten what made the original game great (more than EA can say. BURN!) ; the combat is still as dynamic as ever, and the puzzles are just as fun. The main problems I have with this game is that the one I played has more than just glitches; THQ made no effort to turn this into an acceptable PC port and everything (graphics, sound, gameplay) suffer for it. This is more than First Week Syndrome and some of these problems can't be solved by a patch. Is the PC gaming industry so dried up that game companies don't want to mke the effort anymore? All in all, though, the game is good and proof that a little respect for your creation goes a long way. Expand
  47. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    This game is great! if you liked this first one which i loved, this one is just as good if not better! the environments, music, and gameplay are a solid 10 for me, i absolutely love this series, i really hope they make a 3rd one someday id buy it in a heartbeat. Theres nothing bad i can say about Darksiders 2 except there are no options for keybindings and advanced graphics. My computer is below the minimum requirements but for some reason i dont know why, but it plays beautifully and smooth on high resolution *shrug*, love this game. Expand
  48. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Incredible. Absolutely incredible!! This game is running flawlessly on my GTX 560. At 1080 on my big ass LED with an xbox 360 wired controller, I am so happy. The game is pretty, the combat is Fun! The voice acting and animation are top notch and fun to watch. There are few breaks in the action, and so you continuously get to improve weapons, armor and stats. Dressing my character up with new armor gives the ultimate feedback of how much I own, by how badass I look! Buy this game now. Expand
  49. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    Game is AWESOME! Better then the original Darksiders in every single way! I really loved the first game, but this one is so much better!

    Yes the game does have some issues in the PC port department, but the game works flawlessly and plays amazing on my PC! Course I would like to bumb up the Visuals, thats why I play on PC. The action is fast paced and platforming is really smooth and
    slick!

    Don't believe all the negative reviews, try it for yourself, there are a lot of mixed reviews out there, but if you liked the first one this game is better on every single level! Almost plays like a completely different game! Hopefully Vigil/THQ will come up with some PC specific updates maybe a config file or something to tweak and a instruction manual would be nice too! Great Game! Would've been a 10 if the graphics options weren't so handicapped.
    Expand
  50. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    While is it a console port the game itself is far more stable then the ps2 version, halfway through the game and zero bugs to speak off. Action is meaty as one would expect from the havok engine, feels very similar to kingdoms of Amalur Reckoning which really sealed the deal for me. While the rpg elements are a bit light the storyline is interesting enough to keep you immersed in the game play. overall i would definitely say it's up to scratch and well worth the asking price. Expand
  51. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    I see more Almalthen a copy of the computer they say, and staying wrong because sinned and the only one not a graphics company gave the possibilities to run the game from not Imlha do not try and rub with Am the gameplay more than wonderful, audio beautiful and videos more than wonderful you all you say about Alerslyoshn

    I Oqimha best 10/10
  52. now
    Aug 15, 2012
    10
    gooooooooooooood >

    good. gooooooooooooooooooooooooood

    but this not better then console In a time where good adventure/action/RPGs are pretty non existent on PC - Darksiders 2 come

    but 10/10

    because speasiel
  53. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    Maybe it has no graphic options,but i don"t care. This game brings third person hack'n'slash to PC,which is awesome,cause there area really few. The story,the atmosphere,everythings awesome. Great gameplay,rare kind of game on PC,it gives you an awesome experience. Also it does not have some high system req,i play on P4 3.0 Ghz with 9400GT 1 GB without any big problems. If you like God of war,Dantes Inferno or anything like these,but you don't have a console,Buyy this immediately!!!! Expand
  54. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    In a time where good adventure/action/RPGs are pretty non existent on PC - Darksiders 2 come along and change that. This game has fun combat, puzzles, quests, loot and well designed world.

    I'd recommend playing with a controller to get the best experience. Playing the PC version I noticed one really annoying bug (using the world map could hang your game) - but even with that bug around
    it's still a very fun game which I would recommend to anyone looking for a fun game. Expand
  55. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best no more to say
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 87
    Darksiders 2 is immersive, rich in content, it displays well-executed (although not original) mechanics and is a huge game that will quench your thirst for a top-notch, “intellectual” action game. [October 2012]
  2. Nov 10, 2012
    79
    Ultimately, Darksiders II often makes you think of how it is similar to other games in certain respects, but it still feels like its own creature. The combat is enjoyable if a bit mindless, but considering how some of the puzzles can be, that might not be a bad thing. However, since skills and gear have such little leverage in the game, it feels like something substantial is missing. The rest of the game doesn't suffer, and the title is certainly engaging, but Darksiders II feels like it hasn't lived up to its full potential.
  3. Nov 5, 2012
    89
    While the lack of advanced graphics options are disappointing, the core experience of Darksiders 2 remains intact with its assortment of gameplay genres and content rich world. Darksiders 2 on PC provides fans of the original and series newcomers with a seemingly endless amount of quests to complete and collectibles to discover, with the added bonus of Death himself as the protagonist.