Darksiders II PC

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 603 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 603

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 16, 2012
    8
    A terrible PC port, but Amazing game. Gorgeous characters and world design, great voice work and a real old school dungeon crawler feel with all the modern day bits from classic's like Zelda, Prince of Persia and Devil May Cry all thrown into the mix. You can quite readily approach the game at your own pace. Choosing to go off and pilfer and loot forgotten chests to your hearts content orA terrible PC port, but Amazing game. Gorgeous characters and world design, great voice work and a real old school dungeon crawler feel with all the modern day bits from classic's like Zelda, Prince of Persia and Devil May Cry all thrown into the mix. You can quite readily approach the game at your own pace. Choosing to go off and pilfer and loot forgotten chests to your hearts content or follow the quest line and learn new abilities as you level up, earn ever improving weapons and armor and progress through this great tie in of a story to it's predecessor. Outside of the main game you have the new Arena mode which allows you to fight against wave after wave of enemies for increasingly better loot , be warned however, if you die you lose everything. This can really force you to up your game and gives the Arena a great sense of urgency, making each battle increasingly tense. The feeling when you know you've earned a great reward and chosen to risk it all for the taste of something even sweeter is invigorating and how a game should be enjoyed. The combat indecently is very satisfying and pacey. Gone is the brute force and strength of War and in it's place a new sleeker combat system. If I were to liken it to something, then it would be a 'Devil May Cry light' style of combat. You have your standard enemy grapple and main dual wielded weapons, intended for quick combos, pummeling your enemy before you dodge out of range again. Death is a lean combatant, he cannot parry or block enemy strikes so dodging will become your friend here. You also wield a heavier and incidentally slower secondary weapon which deals greater damage and can break through some tougher enemies defenses that Death's scythes cannot. A ranged pistol will soon become your ever present companion also, good for quick bursts of ranged damage. The pistol is less of a focus in Death's combat in comparison to his other weapons, the pistol being more integral to the games vast puzzles, which you frequently encounter along Deaths journey through conveniently parkour friendly architecture. Death will encounter environmental blockages he must traverse with an assortment of talents, from wall running, to climbing, to a ghostly grapple; swinging from point to point. All sprinkled with certain environmental items and golem helpers . Death can also often be found blowing holes in wall after wall with a toss of a bomb and a quick shot from the hip of your pistol, opening a new passage. Puzzles will reveal areas unreachable through standard adventuring and will reap the player rewards such as hulking chest which Death rips open in a triumphant smash of nether world magic to poor more loot into you hulking inventory or the ever elusive quest keys, which can be found throughout dungeons or as rewards from defeating the games many bosses. A boss battle in Darksiders II joins a rank of so few, that only games of the caliber of Shadow of the Colossus and Dark Souls can hope to rub shoulders with what's been accomplished in this game. Gone are the quick time events of old and anew we find a game where each Boss encountered is as gleeful and exhilarating to the player to enjoy as it clearly was for the creators to craft. Enemies will employ varyied tactics hoping to stop Death in his quest to reap them. Each encounter is compelling, often lasting several minutes and challenges the player to adapt, track the enemies patterns and discern how best to tackle these determined and monstrous opponents. These bosses may be the highlight of the game, but as Death you find yourself in a world so vast you will need to travel great distances to reach these encounters. Compared to the original, the game world and the playground Death now inhabits has grown in spades. Totaling 3 times it's predecessor. The environments are richly varied and detailed, the occasional muddy textures will be forgiven in the wake of such a masterfully crafted world. Death will not be alone on his journey. He can summon his trusty stead outside of cities and traverse the games many environments in a flash. The game offers a quick travel system also, making some task far less trivial and hastening you towards your next encounter. Many players may want to take the extra time to travel the land my horse back however. The music is exquisite and finds that balance so few games can find in allowing the music dip seamlessly into the background as you feel it express your adventure, your trials emote the world, it's environments. Death's journey through the game brings many joys to the player. The game seems to scream at the top of it's lungs it's unashamed to borrow from it's peers whole hardheartedly and concoct a new formula, blending the old with the new. When Death's adventure comes to a close, you will have learned many facts and stories about the world you inhabit. However, this game demands to be played again, going so far as to offering a Game+ mode for those who have completed it Expand
  2. Aug 20, 2012
    9
    Yes I have it for PC, yes you can tell its a port. No there are no graphic options. Does it look good? Does it play good? Hell yes it does. Force V sync through you card, Force the AA, and shut up. There can always be patch down the road to add these features. It does not break the great game these guys made. Tons of content, great voice acting, killer gameplay. You would have to be a foolYes I have it for PC, yes you can tell its a port. No there are no graphic options. Does it look good? Does it play good? Hell yes it does. Force V sync through you card, Force the AA, and shut up. There can always be patch down the road to add these features. It does not break the great game these guys made. Tons of content, great voice acting, killer gameplay. You would have to be a fool to not realize that PC gamers are not the main revenue for developers, deal with it. Consoles took over years ago. That doesn't mean we should be neglected, but it also doesn't help to cry about it and miss out on a great game like this and pretend your 0 metacritic score is enough to matter. 0 really? Grow up. You are probably playing it right now with a **** eating grin on your face. I'm 31 and have played more games than I want to admit, this is a great one. Pick it up, you won't regret it. Expand
  3. Feb 12, 2013
    8
    Argghh!! This could've been a perfect PC title but Darksiders 2 suffers from an all too frequent developer flaw: the terrible PC port. Let's nail it now: the video settings are HORRID. Not only are they lacking video options but THEY DO NOT WORK. Aside from the resolution settings the video options are useless. I had to go use my NVidia control panel to remove the annoying tearing.Argghh!! This could've been a perfect PC title but Darksiders 2 suffers from an all too frequent developer flaw: the terrible PC port. Let's nail it now: the video settings are HORRID. Not only are they lacking video options but THEY DO NOT WORK. Aside from the resolution settings the video options are useless. I had to go use my NVidia control panel to remove the annoying tearing. The V-Sync doesn't work properly. The only way to get it to function (not entirely mind you) is to make sure the control panel forces it to work. Not only that, but the triple buffering has to be disable in the control panel to make it function. It's absolutely disgraceful that in this day and age, any game produced for the PC has such little regard for simple video settings. The other issue I had with the porting is the lack of key mapping on the number pad. The directional keys are bound to the arrow keys on the number pad so the number pad keys of 2/4/6/8 can't be remapped along with the DEL or backspace keys. Annoying. Aside from these issues, I can't think of any other negatives. This is simply a great game to play. The plot is very well-thought along with the smart dialogue perfectly executed by the voice-over cast (actor Michael Wincott with a British accent). It's a very entertaining, exciting and gripping story that strays from familiar plots. The gameplay is well-thought out and easy to use. There is a small problem with the "quick-action" logo that pops since it looks like a gamepad icon it doesn't make sense for it to be there. The level designs are articulate and well crafted. The production design is epic with such detail and creative environments. The character designs are colorful, detailed and unique. The foley work and voice-over sound great and are very well edited and pronounced. The music score by Jesper Kyd is outstanding. It's some of the best I've ever heard in a game. The game mechanics are excellent. I especially like the role-playing elements involving the weapons and gear. The attributes are random and mix well with the other components that can be added to the character. I liked the possessed weapons in particular. Darksiders 2 is on par with it's predecessor and is just a little bit better overall. It's an exciting game that is thrown into this amazingly created underworld. It's quite the feat only marred with programmer laziness. So close! Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2013
    9
    Think the was better then a 7.7. To start I was a bit of a fan of the first one cool story line neat char's plots epic boss battles and of course puzzles. This one was a bit of the same I think the boss fight was lacking compared to the first, and the puzzles where decent and fun way less challenging then the first. I did love how the char death tied in with war's story I felt kinda letThink the was better then a 7.7. To start I was a bit of a fan of the first one cool story line neat char's plots epic boss battles and of course puzzles. This one was a bit of the same I think the boss fight was lacking compared to the first, and the puzzles where decent and fun way less challenging then the first. I did love how the char death tied in with war's story I felt kinda let down at the ending really all that work and then bam. So Con's of the game where : controls, my guy was jumping everywhere didn't go where I wanted him at times when I'm jumping one cliff to the next he would fall and die.. kinda, good thing for tho's non death re-spawns or I don't think I would of finished it I'm sure if i had a controller hooked up to my PC it would of made life easier. Another was the game was basically one dimensional I mean I didn't really mind this but every mission was the same in a sense solve a lot of puzzles jump around fight for a short period of time and then boss rinse recycle repeat. Pro's the attacking system was really cool and the equipment that went a long with it was to make the deal even better. Graphics where nice everything looked like how a game should look now a day that animations style that is. Loved the story line big reason why i came back to this cuz the first was Awesome as will...So i would say this is a def a buy...Can't wait for the other horsemen! Expand
  5. Jan 20, 2013
    8
    Darksiders I was amazing, rated it 8/10, and was expecting even better game with Darksiders II, did I get it? Yes and No. Character Death was very well done, especially if you have read the book, his sarcasm and witty jokes were amazing and so was his voice-acting. Story provided a lot of new information about Horsemen, Death/War, World, etc. The game focused more on RPG elements such asDarksiders I was amazing, rated it 8/10, and was expecting even better game with Darksiders II, did I get it? Yes and No. Character Death was very well done, especially if you have read the book, his sarcasm and witty jokes were amazing and so was his voice-acting. Story provided a lot of new information about Horsemen, Death/War, World, etc. The game focused more on RPG elements such as items but you didn't have to bother with them much since the game is relatively easy and 3/4 of gameplay you spend running around doing puzzles, only 1/4 is combat but that is nothing new compared to the previous game. The music is slightly better, it already was good in DSI, but now there are more different motives and from time to time I thought I was playing Prince of Persia. And where the game fails? Poor PC port. No proper video options, horrible aiming with gun/bombs. Another disappointing aspect of the game is difficulty. On Apocalypse it was fairly easy even without bothering with obtaining best gear only depending on what dropped from the stashes or Bosses. Final fight was was probably worst in the game history. The main boss did not inflict a single damage on Apocalypse and was dead faster than some minor bosses. And with the final boss going down goes the story, the end was horrible and it felt like it was rushed/written by someone else. Over and all, I gave the game 8/10. 20 hours fun with not-so-ordinary character Death, beautiful world design, story (omit the end). Main problems of the game are poor port, easy difficulty, weak ending. Expand
  6. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    I got this game late. Bought it on steam and was really surprised. I loved it. I loved the music, graphics, plenty of moves and spells you could use in fights, the items you get along the way felt like zelda in a way, and just the atmosphere it creates in each area makes it all come together. The characters in the game were all done very well I thought. Loved how they all looked, and howI got this game late. Bought it on steam and was really surprised. I loved it. I loved the music, graphics, plenty of moves and spells you could use in fights, the items you get along the way felt like zelda in a way, and just the atmosphere it creates in each area makes it all come together. The characters in the game were all done very well I thought. Loved how they all looked, and how it played to what kind of character they were. I didn't give it a higher score only because it had a ton of potential to be amazing all the way through. I loved the game, and wished they would of been able to keep making games, but it did get to the point where it was a little lame. Having to always get 3 items or 3 of something to further the story was a let down. Destroyed the immersion of the game. Also the tools you get are not really used too much accept for convenience of the current level you were on. There is a few exceptions, but other then that it felt like you were just lucky to have it right when it was needed. Other then that I felt the game was amazing. I'm glad I was able to experience this game. I'm sad to see THQ fall apart. Expand
  7. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    Game very engaging and very addictive, has tons of content, the voices of the characters are very well treated and well placed challenge. Although several reviews have said problems in graphics, I can not find them, if the cause is the graphics option from the shadows, you just put in the middle and start playing! The story has a plot and a very beautiful engagement. A final point in myGame very engaging and very addictive, has tons of content, the voices of the characters are very well treated and well placed challenge. Although several reviews have said problems in graphics, I can not find them, if the cause is the graphics option from the shadows, you just put in the middle and start playing! The story has a plot and a very beautiful engagement. A final point in my first review, the game is excellent, it is a combination of hack-and-slashing with open world, skill tree like any other RPG, but that combined enough. Earlier in the game, you will get a little bored and very eager to get powerful, just be patient and calm to explore this magnificent game. You will not regret. Expand
  8. May 18, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was such a fun game. The awesome combos are so fun to do i wish there was a replay camera. The skill tree actually works really well and the powers you get are powerful but not overpowering. The loot you get it very nice (don't know why more people don't mention it) and the puzzles were very, very fun. The only reason this isn't a 10 is when you beat the game you have an option to start a new game with your character (not sure what that means) or continue and finish side quests. I decided I should finish the side quests, but what that does is restart right before the final boss so you have to fight him again. So essentially all the fun extra areas like the Crucible exist but there is no good way to get to them. Expand
  9. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    This is a great game! And there are indeed graphics options, you just have to look harder. I can also tell that it is a port as I own a console myself but if you didn't, I don't think it would matter. I had to change some of the bindings about as they were incredibly awkward and began to strain on my wrist but...I feel they improved the story a lot from the first game. It seemed more likeThis is a great game! And there are indeed graphics options, you just have to look harder. I can also tell that it is a port as I own a console myself but if you didn't, I don't think it would matter. I had to change some of the bindings about as they were incredibly awkward and began to strain on my wrist but...I feel they improved the story a lot from the first game. It seemed more like an open world this time and I loved the wood setting and the field, brilliant ideas (although still a bit Zelda-like) One of the things I did not enjoy (don't slate me) Is the VAST amount of weaponry you could have. And you could obtain amazing weaponry from a silly little bug, which I found odd. I'm walking around playing Death with my scythes and this butterfly pops out and gives me scythes that are twelve times better. Yes, there was little to no variety in the first game, but I believe they overstepped the variety in this one. And that's only by a tad. Gameplay wise, I felt it lasted longer. In the first game it was at a great pace at the start but then it just sped up. To tell you the truth, I remember more from this game than the first. And I just replayed the first in apocalyptic mode! Expand
  10. Sep 2, 2012
    8
    While the game is not as much fun as the original Darksiders for a sequel is holds up pretty well. I didn't get as attached to the characters as the original. Sometimes you get that "What was the point of this game again?" feeling as the story doesn't really suck you in and you are occasionally reminded that you are on a mission instead of just randomly looking for stuff to kill. DialogueWhile the game is not as much fun as the original Darksiders for a sequel is holds up pretty well. I didn't get as attached to the characters as the original. Sometimes you get that "What was the point of this game again?" feeling as the story doesn't really suck you in and you are occasionally reminded that you are on a mission instead of just randomly looking for stuff to kill. Dialogue is mostly interesting and humorous and you rarely find yourself skipping cut scenes to get back to the action.

    There is a good balance between combat and puzzles but sometimes you wish there was something else in there to break it all up. I'm not sure what, but something. Occasionally you are shown a room full of jumping puzzles and you just cbf. Sometimes having to collected X number of items before you can fight the boss gives you the same feeling.

    While the graphics on the PC port are not perfect the art itself is quite impressive. It is a shame it wasn't ported with a bit more effort as a high end PC would have really made this game shine. Textures sometimes take me back to the late 90's, while the characters are bright and quite detailed at times the surroundings really lets them down. Forcing everything to max via your graphics card settings squeezes a little extra eye candy out of the engine.

    Combat is fun, fast and for a controller based game really not that repetitive. The variety of moves and weapons really puts this game in front. While some fights can drag on a bit the intensive action keeps the game alive. There is quite a variety of items and upgrades in the game and plenty of treasure to be found which makes the long and sometimes quite tricky jump puzzles worthwhile.

    Overall the game is a good sequel to the original and definitely worth the time if you're and action RPG fan.
    Expand
  11. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    Game of the year without doubt. Awesome graphics and art direction, awesome characters, beautifull world and real epic main character. Death is a baddass. Takes everything from Darsiders 1 and put it in a really better formula. Joe Madureira, you do it again. A must have game.
  12. Aug 24, 2012
    9
    sadly, you can't change graphic options, because there's no an option. yes that's bad. But until now, is one of the best games of the year. the characters are really nice, love the environment and the design. Sound is great too. Combat moves are varied and there are great weapons, armors, etc. Enemies are varied and you need skill and style to kill him, and bosses are some easy, but thatsadly, you can't change graphic options, because there's no an option. yes that's bad. But until now, is one of the best games of the year. the characters are really nice, love the environment and the design. Sound is great too. Combat moves are varied and there are great weapons, armors, etc. Enemies are varied and you need skill and style to kill him, and bosses are some easy, but that doesn't matter. Some puzzles are frustrating but are very well done, and that's fun. The game puts you on a beautiful world. Vigil made a great job on this game. If you like Action RPG'S, you must buy it! Death Lives. Expand
  13. Aug 25, 2012
    8
    An all around time sink. This game's story is quite average with no new ground breaking or thought provoking moral themes, but it serves the purpose well. The combat is reactive and fast pace, although I found everything to be a cake walk as soon as i built up some critical chance and got Achidna's fangs from the story--even on the hardest difficulty. The aesthetics in this game are veryAn all around time sink. This game's story is quite average with no new ground breaking or thought provoking moral themes, but it serves the purpose well. The combat is reactive and fast pace, although I found everything to be a cake walk as soon as i built up some critical chance and got Achidna's fangs from the story--even on the hardest difficulty. The aesthetics in this game are very well done although disappointing because of the slightly below average port. The texture work is bad. Without changing the focus i can see whole millimeter pixels in the shadows. For some odd reason inventory is mapped to "o" and "i" just pauses. In order to remap keys you actually have to go into the items screen. The map system is annoying requiring you to click and drag a small white box over the location, but these end up being only slight hindrances. The video options are sparse through and through, but seeing as this is a port, remains unsurprising. The controls have failed me more than once in a high stress platforming situation; I often found Death doing the wrong context sensitive action in a lava-is-rising-you-need-to-get-out-now situation but never enough to cause a rage quit. Over all this is a solid game, not revolutionary, that is barely held back by the transfer from consoles to PCs. Expand
  14. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    While is it a console port the game itself is far more stable then the ps2 version, halfway through the game and zero bugs to speak off. Action is meaty as one would expect from the havok engine, feels very similar to kingdoms of Amalur Reckoning which really sealed the deal for me. While the rpg elements are a bit light the storyline is interesting enough to keep you immersed in the gameWhile is it a console port the game itself is far more stable then the ps2 version, halfway through the game and zero bugs to speak off. Action is meaty as one would expect from the havok engine, feels very similar to kingdoms of Amalur Reckoning which really sealed the deal for me. While the rpg elements are a bit light the storyline is interesting enough to keep you immersed in the game play. overall i would definitely say it's up to scratch and well worth the asking price. Expand
  15. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    This game is great! if you liked this first one which i loved, this one is just as good if not better! the environments, music, and gameplay are a solid 10 for me, i absolutely love this series, i really hope they make a 3rd one someday id buy it in a heartbeat. Theres nothing bad i can say about Darksiders 2 except there are no options for keybindings and advanced graphics. My computer isThis game is great! if you liked this first one which i loved, this one is just as good if not better! the environments, music, and gameplay are a solid 10 for me, i absolutely love this series, i really hope they make a 3rd one someday id buy it in a heartbeat. Theres nothing bad i can say about Darksiders 2 except there are no options for keybindings and advanced graphics. My computer is below the minimum requirements but for some reason i dont know why, but it plays beautifully and smooth on high resolution *shrug*, love this game. Expand
  16. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    great game. Most people will complain about the lack of graphics options. however, this game just proves that those arent necessary when you have a great game, great art and jasper kyd as your composer, who once again does an outstanding job with the music. Its one of the most fun games ive played in a while. The cons are minimal compared to what it has to offer. dont be an elitist,great game. Most people will complain about the lack of graphics options. however, this game just proves that those arent necessary when you have a great game, great art and jasper kyd as your composer, who once again does an outstanding job with the music. Its one of the most fun games ive played in a while. The cons are minimal compared to what it has to offer. dont be an elitist, be a gamer and appreciate what this game is doing. In a world populated by FPS and lame games like COD, this is a gem of a game, which surpasses the first one by miles. I trusted thq to give me a good game and they delivered by giving me an awesome game. Expand
  17. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    Perfect game I'd consider it one of the best games that has come in the last 5 years. Much better than Skyrim. Don't listen to all the port whiners. Consoles are here to stay and PC gaming is a lost cause and dying.
  18. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    Game is AWESOME! Better then the original Darksiders in every single way! I really loved the first game, but this one is so much better!

    Yes the game does have some issues in the PC port department, but the game works flawlessly and plays amazing on my PC! Course I would like to bumb up the Visuals, thats why I play on PC. The action is fast paced and platforming is really smooth and
    Game is AWESOME! Better then the original Darksiders in every single way! I really loved the first game, but this one is so much better!

    Yes the game does have some issues in the PC port department, but the game works flawlessly and plays amazing on my PC! Course I would like to bumb up the Visuals, thats why I play on PC. The action is fast paced and platforming is really smooth and slick!

    Don't believe all the negative reviews, try it for yourself, there are a lot of mixed reviews out there, but if you liked the first one this game is better on every single level! Almost plays like a completely different game! Hopefully Vigil/THQ will come up with some PC specific updates maybe a config file or something to tweak and a instruction manual would be nice too! Great Game! Would've been a 10 if the graphics options weren't so handicapped.
    Expand
  19. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    It has become almost mainstream to make videogame sequels that are almost indistinguishable from their originals; Darksiders 2 breaks this trend, though not in all the right ways. You play as Death, the fourth horseman, on a quest to prove your brother's innocence; this quest takes you through some amazingly well crafted and created realms and, unlike in the first game, introduces you toIt has become almost mainstream to make videogame sequels that are almost indistinguishable from their originals; Darksiders 2 breaks this trend, though not in all the right ways. You play as Death, the fourth horseman, on a quest to prove your brother's innocence; this quest takes you through some amazingly well crafted and created realms and, unlike in the first game, introduces you to many more NPCs, each with their own distinct personality. Speaking of distinct personalities, it becomes quite clear from the first interaction that Death is very different than war; his personality ranges from badass criminal to just plain dickish, and he lacks War's patience and discipline. The voice acting for all of these NPCs is very well done and most of their characters are quite believable, though there are a few who are just a little wonky. As for the gameplay mechanics, I like how Vigil tried to turn this into an RPG, and it was a pretty good effort. They included skill trees, loot, sidequests, and even a dialogue wheel. They haven't forgotten what made the original game great (more than EA can say. BURN!) ; the combat is still as dynamic as ever, and the puzzles are just as fun. The main problems I have with this game is that the one I played has more than just glitches; THQ made no effort to turn this into an acceptable PC port and everything (graphics, sound, gameplay) suffer for it. This is more than First Week Syndrome and some of these problems can't be solved by a patch. Is the PC gaming industry so dried up that game companies don't want to mke the effort anymore? All in all, though, the game is good and proof that a little respect for your creation goes a long way. Expand
  20. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    This game is utterly fantastic in every sense of the word, for the people saying "the PC version is horrible 0/10" what you are potentially doing is ruining the future for any updates of the games PC port, so please stop because this game deserves a massive amount of popularity and sales. the gameplay is polished, visceral, difficult, and overall fun, the customization isn't overlyThis game is utterly fantastic in every sense of the word, for the people saying "the PC version is horrible 0/10" what you are potentially doing is ruining the future for any updates of the games PC port, so please stop because this game deserves a massive amount of popularity and sales. the gameplay is polished, visceral, difficult, and overall fun, the customization isn't overly complicated or over done like in some other games have done, its enough for you to want to change your play-style but not too much to over complicate things. And for people saying "this game looks awful" I want you to step back and look at it for a second, yeah i know right, pretty awesome. yeah the game isn't as high fidelity as modern games, but at the same time modern games don't have art design thats this good either. the plot is fantastic and the characters are enjoyable and interesting. this game is totally worth picking up if you enjoy action games, or RPG's. its honestly one of the best games I've played in a long time and that's saying a lot Expand
  21. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    You could listen to all them idiots complaining about lack of graphics options which is certainly true and a shame for a PC game BUT then you could also do yourself a great favour and BUY this game for its amazing gameplay randomly seen on the PC platform which is full of mediocre FPS. The graphics do their job as they also did their job on the first game but the meat of this game is itsYou could listen to all them idiots complaining about lack of graphics options which is certainly true and a shame for a PC game BUT then you could also do yourself a great favour and BUY this game for its amazing gameplay randomly seen on the PC platform which is full of mediocre FPS. The graphics do their job as they also did their job on the first game but the meat of this game is its gameplay and its amazing cast of characters and enemies along with breathtaking boss fights waiting for you on the game's multiple dungeons. This is better than the first game which was already amazing and is game of the year so far although Guild Wars 2 will probably take that prize. DO NOT MISS ! Expand
  22. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    All the people who are complaining about graphic options seriously upgrade your PCs, other than that its really awesome game. Graphics arent always the primary thing when the artwork is simply superb and first class. Gameplay balances perfectly the RPG and action elements. I dont know why people are complaining about this game and giving less than perfect ratings. Excellent Boss fightsAll the people who are complaining about graphic options seriously upgrade your PCs, other than that its really awesome game. Graphics arent always the primary thing when the artwork is simply superb and first class. Gameplay balances perfectly the RPG and action elements. I dont know why people are complaining about this game and giving less than perfect ratings. Excellent Boss fights and awesome environments, and of course story and the characters and the lore perfectly fit to make the perfect and very enjoyable game. I very rarely enjoy games this much and darksiders 2 is on the top of the list. And please buy the game because THQ promised more darksiders game if this one did well. Expand
  23. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Incredible. Absolutely incredible!! This game is running flawlessly on my GTX 560. At 1080 on my big ass LED with an xbox 360 wired controller, I am so happy. The game is pretty, the combat is Fun! The voice acting and animation are top notch and fun to watch. There are few breaks in the action, and so you continuously get to improve weapons, armor and stats. Dressing my characterIncredible. Absolutely incredible!! This game is running flawlessly on my GTX 560. At 1080 on my big ass LED with an xbox 360 wired controller, I am so happy. The game is pretty, the combat is Fun! The voice acting and animation are top notch and fun to watch. There are few breaks in the action, and so you continuously get to improve weapons, armor and stats. Dressing my character up with new armor gives the ultimate feedback of how much I own, by how badass I look! Buy this game now. Expand
  24. Aug 16, 2012
    8
    Very good game. Alot better than the first one. It's the perfect game for people looking for fast paced/deeper combat mechanic action rpg with puzzles a la Prince of persia/zelda. What i like too is that the game has his own lore and has beautifully crafted achitectures.And for people who notice these kind of things, the music is absolutely amazing great and original and fresh soundtracksVery good game. Alot better than the first one. It's the perfect game for people looking for fast paced/deeper combat mechanic action rpg with puzzles a la Prince of persia/zelda. What i like too is that the game has his own lore and has beautifully crafted achitectures.And for people who notice these kind of things, the music is absolutely amazing great and original and fresh soundtracks tha fits the world perfectly. The main reason i give the pc version is because its a godamn port wich means non-existant graphic options only resolution that force you to restart the game to apply if you have a console buy the console version Expand
  25. Aug 16, 2012
    8
    Pretty good gameplay all over except the feel you get when you're moving which is a little bit odd, like you're not one with the ground. No graphics options other than resolution and v-sync, poor for a pc game even if it's a port, but still, the game looks like it'll run very smooth on any pc. Cool story, cool protagonist, cool musics (jesper kyd factor), and it's nice to have even morePretty good gameplay all over except the feel you get when you're moving which is a little bit odd, like you're not one with the ground. No graphics options other than resolution and v-sync, poor for a pc game even if it's a port, but still, the game looks like it'll run very smooth on any pc. Cool story, cool protagonist, cool musics (jesper kyd factor), and it's nice to have even more rpg elements. Expand
  26. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    A solid action rpg with fun combat, loot gathering, dungeons and terrific voice acting to back it all up. This is exactly my kind of game a mishmash of genre's that all work together perfectly. A game that one ups it's predecessor in every way I would complain about the lack of graphics options if I hadn't switched to using my GPU's setting's program that came with the card. But the oneA solid action rpg with fun combat, loot gathering, dungeons and terrific voice acting to back it all up. This is exactly my kind of game a mishmash of genre's that all work together perfectly. A game that one ups it's predecessor in every way I would complain about the lack of graphics options if I hadn't switched to using my GPU's setting's program that came with the card. But the one part of the game that I hope is expanded on is it's mail system allowing you to mail loot to your friends and allowing an easy way for the dev's to get in contact with the player base. A "AAA" title worth every penny. Expand
  27. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    To be completely honest, my review for this game would place it at a solid 9. It's not perfect as a score of 10 would imply, but it's very close. However, with the staggering amount of stupidity running rampant through the negative scores I figured I'd give it the extra point just to try and help.

    As far as the game is concerned, it's stunning. Yes, visually there are no options to
    To be completely honest, my review for this game would place it at a solid 9. It's not perfect as a score of 10 would imply, but it's very close. However, with the staggering amount of stupidity running rampant through the negative scores I figured I'd give it the extra point just to try and help.

    As far as the game is concerned, it's stunning. Yes, visually there are no options to change and some may feel the graphics are dated...but honestly who cares? The game still looks good, and fits with the graphics of the first game. No graphics options is not, in ANY way, detracting from the experience of playing the game so there is absolutely no reason to rate something a 1 or 2 just because you're spoiled and feel privileged because most PC games have those options. But setting aside the very minor issue of graphics, everything else about the game is superb. I am about 13 hours in and have experienced absolutely no crashing, freezing, stuttering or any other hiccups in performance. The gameplay has been smooth, fun, and engaging. I like that Death is more agile than War was in the first game, and if you have to label the game a Prince of Persia clone for that then so be it...Prince of Persia is also a fantastic franchise, so if you're going to copy at least they copied something great.

    One review cited the questing as boring because it was all simple go and retrieve? Some of the quests are like this yes, as they are in any rpg, but most of the "questing" plays out exactly like it did for War in the first game. Maybe he didn't have NPCs at quest hubs telling him to do things, but he did have NPCs popping up and instructing him on his next course of action...it was exactly the same concept, so why is it so hard to swallow in this game?

    Next, the looting mechanics in the game. Simply put, they're great. Yes you do get a lot of crap gear, but every RPG is like that, so it's hardly something that warrants giving a game a low score...it's just part of the experience to get cheap vendor crap, and it makes it all the more special when you find that really rare item.

    The sound and music in the game are also among the best I've had the pleasure of playing, and the voice acting is fantastic - Michael Wincott was the absolute perfect choice for Death, and his dialogue alone was enough to make the game enjoyable let alone the dialogue of everybody else. So in summation, this game is definitely worth the purchase. Yes, it's a console port...if that's really such a problem for you then well you have a serious case of entitlement. Use a controller and pretend you're playing it on the console...except, you know, you'll get actual patches for problems and stuff much more efficiently than people on console, but that bonus is worth giving up just to play on console and still not have graphics options right!
    Expand
  28. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    I see more Almalthen a copy of the computer they say, and staying wrong because sinned and the only one not a graphics company gave the possibilities to run the game from not Imlha do not try and rub with Am the gameplay more than wonderful, audio beautiful and videos more than wonderful you all you say about Alerslyoshn

    I Oqimha best 10/10
  29. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    For those who are getting freezing on backing out of the menu:

    Enable V-sync in your graphic card's 3d settings. It fixed the problem for me and others. The higher resolution is worth getting it for the pc in and of itself. I haven't played much of the game, but I like what I've played so far.
  30. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Non-stop action, rpg elements , loots, nicely done voice acting and much more. It's really fun. Normaly I would give 8 but because of all that "U have no graphic option" reviews, I gave it 10 . By the way, If you're a graphic b***h, you won't like this game. Nearly all games on pc are console ports. Keep in that mind.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 87
    Darksiders 2 is immersive, rich in content, it displays well-executed (although not original) mechanics and is a huge game that will quench your thirst for a top-notch, “intellectual” action game. [October 2012]
  2. Nov 10, 2012
    79
    Ultimately, Darksiders II often makes you think of how it is similar to other games in certain respects, but it still feels like its own creature. The combat is enjoyable if a bit mindless, but considering how some of the puzzles can be, that might not be a bad thing. However, since skills and gear have such little leverage in the game, it feels like something substantial is missing. The rest of the game doesn't suffer, and the title is certainly engaging, but Darksiders II feels like it hasn't lived up to its full potential.
  3. Nov 5, 2012
    89
    While the lack of advanced graphics options are disappointing, the core experience of Darksiders 2 remains intact with its assortment of gameplay genres and content rich world. Darksiders 2 on PC provides fans of the original and series newcomers with a seemingly endless amount of quests to complete and collectibles to discover, with the added bonus of Death himself as the protagonist.