User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 507 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 507

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 20, 2012
    9
    Yes I have it for PC, yes you can tell its a port. No there are no graphic options. Does it look good? Does it play good? Hell yes it does. Force V sync through you card, Force the AA, and shut up. There can always be patch down the road to add these features. It does not break the great game these guys made. Tons of content, great voice acting, killer gameplay. You would have to be a fool to not realize that PC gamers are not the main revenue for developers, deal with it. Consoles took over years ago. That doesn't mean we should be neglected, but it also doesn't help to cry about it and miss out on a great game like this and pretend your 0 metacritic score is enough to matter. 0 really? Grow up. You are probably playing it right now with a **** eating grin on your face. I'm 31 and have played more games than I want to admit, this is a great one. Pick it up, you won't regret it. Expand
  2. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    A Terrible PC port, but my gosh this game is fun. Exactly what a sequel should be. Vigil's choice of music is wonderful, and slaying huge bosses with style and that epic music in background make that gameplay an unforgettable experience.
    I look forward to Darksiders 3
    P.S. The port is really terrible, but because of haters i feel it is ethical to give this game a 10.
    This game deserved
    it - plus Vigil is working on a pc patch to make the game behave like any PC game should Expand
  3. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    great game. Most people will complain about the lack of graphics options. however, this game just proves that those arent necessary when you have a great game, great art and jasper kyd as your composer, who once again does an outstanding job with the music. Its one of the most fun games ive played in a while. The cons are minimal compared to what it has to offer. dont be an elitist, be a gamer and appreciate what this game is doing. In a world populated by FPS and lame games like COD, this is a gem of a game, which surpasses the first one by miles. I trusted thq to give me a good game and they delivered by giving me an awesome game. Expand
  4. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    Game is AWESOME! Better then the original Darksiders in every single way! I really loved the first game, but this one is so much better!

    Yes the game does have some issues in the PC port department, but the game works flawlessly and plays amazing on my PC! Course I would like to bumb up the Visuals, thats why I play on PC. The action is fast paced and platforming is really smooth and
    slick!

    Don't believe all the negative reviews, try it for yourself, there are a lot of mixed reviews out there, but if you liked the first one this game is better on every single level! Almost plays like a completely different game! Hopefully Vigil/THQ will come up with some PC specific updates maybe a config file or something to tweak and a instruction manual would be nice too! Great Game! Would've been a 10 if the graphics options weren't so handicapped.
    Expand
  5. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    It has become almost mainstream to make videogame sequels that are almost indistinguishable from their originals; Darksiders 2 breaks this trend, though not in all the right ways. You play as Death, the fourth horseman, on a quest to prove your brother's innocence; this quest takes you through some amazingly well crafted and created realms and, unlike in the first game, introduces you to many more NPCs, each with their own distinct personality. Speaking of distinct personalities, it becomes quite clear from the first interaction that Death is very different than war; his personality ranges from badass criminal to just plain dickish, and he lacks War's patience and discipline. The voice acting for all of these NPCs is very well done and most of their characters are quite believable, though there are a few who are just a little wonky. As for the gameplay mechanics, I like how Vigil tried to turn this into an RPG, and it was a pretty good effort. They included skill trees, loot, sidequests, and even a dialogue wheel. They haven't forgotten what made the original game great (more than EA can say. BURN!) ; the combat is still as dynamic as ever, and the puzzles are just as fun. The main problems I have with this game is that the one I played has more than just glitches; THQ made no effort to turn this into an acceptable PC port and everything (graphics, sound, gameplay) suffer for it. This is more than First Week Syndrome and some of these problems can't be solved by a patch. Is the PC gaming industry so dried up that game companies don't want to mke the effort anymore? All in all, though, the game is good and proof that a little respect for your creation goes a long way. Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    Game of the year without doubt. Awesome graphics and art direction, awesome characters, beautifull world and real epic main character. Death is a baddass. Takes everything from Darsiders 1 and put it in a really better formula. Joe Madureira, you do it again. A must have game.
  7. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    This game is great! if you liked this first one which i loved, this one is just as good if not better! the environments, music, and gameplay are a solid 10 for me, i absolutely love this series, i really hope they make a 3rd one someday id buy it in a heartbeat. Theres nothing bad i can say about Darksiders 2 except there are no options for keybindings and advanced graphics. My computer is below the minimum requirements but for some reason i dont know why, but it plays beautifully and smooth on high resolution *shrug*, love this game. Expand
  8. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best best no more to say
  9. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    While is it a console port the game itself is far more stable then the ps2 version, halfway through the game and zero bugs to speak off. Action is meaty as one would expect from the havok engine, feels very similar to kingdoms of Amalur Reckoning which really sealed the deal for me. While the rpg elements are a bit light the storyline is interesting enough to keep you immersed in the game play. overall i would definitely say it's up to scratch and well worth the asking price. Expand
  10. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    This game is utterly fantastic in every sense of the word, for the people saying "the PC version is horrible 0/10" what you are potentially doing is ruining the future for any updates of the games PC port, so please stop because this game deserves a massive amount of popularity and sales. the gameplay is polished, visceral, difficult, and overall fun, the customization isn't overly complicated or over done like in some other games have done, its enough for you to want to change your play-style but not too much to over complicate things. And for people saying "this game looks awful" I want you to step back and look at it for a second, yeah i know right, pretty awesome. yeah the game isn't as high fidelity as modern games, but at the same time modern games don't have art design thats this good either. the plot is fantastic and the characters are enjoyable and interesting. this game is totally worth picking up if you enjoy action games, or RPG's. its honestly one of the best games I've played in a long time and that's saying a lot Expand
  11. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Incredible. Absolutely incredible!! This game is running flawlessly on my GTX 560. At 1080 on my big ass LED with an xbox 360 wired controller, I am so happy. The game is pretty, the combat is Fun! The voice acting and animation are top notch and fun to watch. There are few breaks in the action, and so you continuously get to improve weapons, armor and stats. Dressing my character up with new armor gives the ultimate feedback of how much I own, by how badass I look! Buy this game now. Expand
  12. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    In a time where good adventure/action/RPGs are pretty non existent on PC - Darksiders 2 come along and change that. This game has fun combat, puzzles, quests, loot and well designed world.

    I'd recommend playing with a controller to get the best experience. Playing the PC version I noticed one really annoying bug (using the world map could hang your game) - but even with that bug around
    it's still a very fun game which I would recommend to anyone looking for a fun game. Expand
  13. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    You could listen to all them idiots complaining about lack of graphics options which is certainly true and a shame for a PC game BUT then you could also do yourself a great favour and BUY this game for its amazing gameplay randomly seen on the PC platform which is full of mediocre FPS. The graphics do their job as they also did their job on the first game but the meat of this game is its gameplay and its amazing cast of characters and enemies along with breathtaking boss fights waiting for you on the game's multiple dungeons. This is better than the first game which was already amazing and is game of the year so far although Guild Wars 2 will probably take that prize. DO NOT MISS ! Expand
  14. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    All the people who are complaining about graphic options seriously upgrade your PCs, other than that its really awesome game. Graphics arent always the primary thing when the artwork is simply superb and first class. Gameplay balances perfectly the RPG and action elements. I dont know why people are complaining about this game and giving less than perfect ratings. Excellent Boss fights and awesome environments, and of course story and the characters and the lore perfectly fit to make the perfect and very enjoyable game. I very rarely enjoy games this much and darksiders 2 is on the top of the list. And please buy the game because THQ promised more darksiders game if this one did well. Expand
  15. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    Maybe it has no graphic options,but i don"t care. This game brings third person hack'n'slash to PC,which is awesome,cause there area really few. The story,the atmosphere,everythings awesome. Great gameplay,rare kind of game on PC,it gives you an awesome experience. Also it does not have some high system req,i play on P4 3.0 Ghz with 9400GT 1 GB without any big problems. If you like God of war,Dantes Inferno or anything like these,but you don't have a console,Buyy this immediately!!!! Expand
  16. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    I see more Almalthen a copy of the computer they say, and staying wrong because sinned and the only one not a graphics company gave the possibilities to run the game from not Imlha do not try and rub with Am the gameplay more than wonderful, audio beautiful and videos more than wonderful you all you say about Alerslyoshn

    I Oqimha best 10/10
  17. now
    Aug 15, 2012
    10
    gooooooooooooood >

    good. gooooooooooooooooooooooooood

    but this not better then console In a time where good adventure/action/RPGs are pretty non existent on PC - Darksiders 2 come

    but 10/10

    because speasiel
  18. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    For those who are getting freezing on backing out of the menu:

    Enable V-sync in your graphic card's 3d settings. It fixed the problem for me and others. The higher resolution is worth getting it for the pc in and of itself. I haven't played much of the game, but I like what I've played so far.
  19. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Non-stop action, rpg elements , loots, nicely done voice acting and much more. It's really fun. Normaly I would give 8 but because of all that "U have no graphic option" reviews, I gave it 10 . By the way, If you're a graphic b***h, you won't like this game. Nearly all games on pc are console ports. Keep in that mind.
  20. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    To be completely honest, my review for this game would place it at a solid 9. It's not perfect as a score of 10 would imply, but it's very close. However, with the staggering amount of stupidity running rampant through the negative scores I figured I'd give it the extra point just to try and help.

    As far as the game is concerned, it's stunning. Yes, visually there are no options to
    change and some may feel the graphics are dated...but honestly who cares? The game still looks good, and fits with the graphics of the first game. No graphics options is not, in ANY way, detracting from the experience of playing the game so there is absolutely no reason to rate something a 1 or 2 just because you're spoiled and feel privileged because most PC games have those options. But setting aside the very minor issue of graphics, everything else about the game is superb. I am about 13 hours in and have experienced absolutely no crashing, freezing, stuttering or any other hiccups in performance. The gameplay has been smooth, fun, and engaging. I like that Death is more agile than War was in the first game, and if you have to label the game a Prince of Persia clone for that then so be it...Prince of Persia is also a fantastic franchise, so if you're going to copy at least they copied something great.

    One review cited the questing as boring because it was all simple go and retrieve? Some of the quests are like this yes, as they are in any rpg, but most of the "questing" plays out exactly like it did for War in the first game. Maybe he didn't have NPCs at quest hubs telling him to do things, but he did have NPCs popping up and instructing him on his next course of action...it was exactly the same concept, so why is it so hard to swallow in this game?

    Next, the looting mechanics in the game. Simply put, they're great. Yes you do get a lot of crap gear, but every RPG is like that, so it's hardly something that warrants giving a game a low score...it's just part of the experience to get cheap vendor crap, and it makes it all the more special when you find that really rare item.

    The sound and music in the game are also among the best I've had the pleasure of playing, and the voice acting is fantastic - Michael Wincott was the absolute perfect choice for Death, and his dialogue alone was enough to make the game enjoyable let alone the dialogue of everybody else. So in summation, this game is definitely worth the purchase. Yes, it's a console port...if that's really such a problem for you then well you have a serious case of entitlement. Use a controller and pretend you're playing it on the console...except, you know, you'll get actual patches for problems and stuff much more efficiently than people on console, but that bonus is worth giving up just to play on console and still not have graphics options right!
    Expand
  21. Aug 24, 2012
    9
    sadly, you can't change graphic options, because there's no an option. yes that's bad. But until now, is one of the best games of the year. the characters are really nice, love the environment and the design. Sound is great too. Combat moves are varied and there are great weapons, armors, etc. Enemies are varied and you need skill and style to kill him, and bosses are some easy, but that doesn't matter. Some puzzles are frustrating but are very well done, and that's fun. The game puts you on a beautiful world. Vigil made a great job on this game. If you like Action RPG'S, you must buy it! Death Lives. Expand
  22. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Metacritic is really hilarious, no game deserves a 0/10 because it doesn't have antialiasing options. I mean i can understand not giving it a 10/10 but come on. The game is extremely fun to play and the combat is very fluid. Yes the graphics options are lacking but there has been talk of a config file to fix that, and at least the game runs well unlike other games recently released *cough* Prototype 2 *cough* Also, I think most would agree that this game has excellent art direction and aesthetics, not to mention the soundtrack, which I think is exceptional. Even with lackluster graphics config I still think you're missing out if you don't play it, but to each his own, try it for yourself and form your own opinion. Expand
  23. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I hear very often that the game sucks for PC, but I'm reviewing the PS3 version.

    The graphics are stunning, and Death himself is a badass. The new loot system, the talent trees, and getting my horse at the very beginning was much better than having to wait until over halfway through the game like the last one. Death is not War in any way, and that's great. He's his own person, has his own (wondrously unsavory) personality, and turning into the Grim Reaper as much as you do is satisfying. The puzzles are just as entertaining and frustrating as the last game. Though Dust can, at times, be a bit confusing when you're trying to find the right way, you'll usually figure it out (after a bit of head scratching).

    I was disappointed when I did not see Fury and Strife, as Vigil had promised us that, but perhaps the White and Black Riders will get their own games, eh?
    Expand
  24. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    Bad console port, but with controller all shortcomings from porting are gone and only truly Great Game is remained - enthralling, dynamic, stylish.

    Good work with elimination of Darksiders defects was done, and correlation of the Darksiders II parts is perfect now.
  25. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    Great game! The pc version (a simple console port) has a lot of bugs but the game is still awesome. A lot better of Darksiders 1. The only "bad thing" is the plot: not very original and not too deep... but it's ok.
  26. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    Ok so this review will be short but the main point is that after a horrific set of large budget mediocre pc games this is the game that will save ur summer.
    So yeah it needs albeit refining of menus and what not but the underline is GAMEPLAY - and Darksiders 2 prevails so much that I never stopped enjoying it. (the whole 12h first apocalyptic run, going nightmare now :) )
    The infusion
    with RPG elements only made it better, the protagonist is clinical and Mary Sue (like l like them
    ) and u even get a couple of true lols.

    After first playthough:
    AWESOME gameplay,
    Great graphics (not top notch but hey its open world) ,
    Intense soundtrack ,
    Better story than the first one ,
    One tiny flaw is the port thing, in the beginning youll get confused but after awhile it will be better. 8.8 outa 10 defiantly one of the better games (if not the best) this summer
    Expand
  27. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    A mon goût c'est un jeu totalement magnifique et superbe, j'adore !
    Contrairement à d'autres personnes, je trouve ce jeu réussi avec une bonne aventure mais
    cela reste mon opinion.
  28. Jan 3, 2013
    9
    Think the was better then a 7.7. To start I was a bit of a fan of the first one cool story line neat char's plots epic boss battles and of course puzzles. This one was a bit of the same I think the boss fight was lacking compared to the first, and the puzzles where decent and fun way less challenging then the first. I did love how the char death tied in with war's story I felt kinda let down at the ending really all that work and then bam. So Con's of the game where : controls, my guy was jumping everywhere didn't go where I wanted him at times when I'm jumping one cliff to the next he would fall and die.. kinda, good thing for tho's non death re-spawns or I don't think I would of finished it I'm sure if i had a controller hooked up to my PC it would of made life easier. Another was the game was basically one dimensional I mean I didn't really mind this but every mission was the same in a sense solve a lot of puzzles jump around fight for a short period of time and then boss rinse recycle repeat. Pro's the attacking system was really cool and the equipment that went a long with it was to make the deal even better. Graphics where nice everything looked like how a game should look now a day that animations style that is. Loved the story line big reason why i came back to this cuz the first was Awesome as will...So i would say this is a def a buy...Can't wait for the other horsemen! Expand
  29. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    Game very engaging and very addictive, has tons of content, the voices of the characters are very well treated and well placed challenge. Although several reviews have said problems in graphics, I can not find them, if the cause is the graphics option from the shadows, you just put in the middle and start playing! The story has a plot and a very beautiful engagement. A final point in my first review, the game is excellent, it is a combination of hack-and-slashing with open world, skill tree like any other RPG, but that combined enough. Earlier in the game, you will get a little bored and very eager to get powerful, just be patient and calm to explore this magnificent game. You will not regret. Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 87
    Darksiders 2 is immersive, rich in content, it displays well-executed (although not original) mechanics and is a huge game that will quench your thirst for a top-notch, “intellectual” action game. [October 2012]
  2. Nov 10, 2012
    79
    Ultimately, Darksiders II often makes you think of how it is similar to other games in certain respects, but it still feels like its own creature. The combat is enjoyable if a bit mindless, but considering how some of the puzzles can be, that might not be a bad thing. However, since skills and gear have such little leverage in the game, it feels like something substantial is missing. The rest of the game doesn't suffer, and the title is certainly engaging, but Darksiders II feels like it hasn't lived up to its full potential.
  3. Nov 5, 2012
    89
    While the lack of advanced graphics options are disappointing, the core experience of Darksiders 2 remains intact with its assortment of gameplay genres and content rich world. Darksiders 2 on PC provides fans of the original and series newcomers with a seemingly endless amount of quests to complete and collectibles to discover, with the added bonus of Death himself as the protagonist.