Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 573 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Darksiders II follows the exploits of DEATH, one of the four horsemen of the Apocalypse, in a weaving tale that runs parallel to the events in the original Darksiders game. This epic journey propels DEATH through various light and dark realms as he tries to redeem his brother WAR, theDarksiders II follows the exploits of DEATH, one of the four horsemen of the Apocalypse, in a weaving tale that runs parallel to the events in the original Darksiders game. This epic journey propels DEATH through various light and dark realms as he tries to redeem his brother WAR, the horseman who was blamed for prematurely starting the Apocalypse in Darksiders. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Sep 25, 2012
    96
    Being a fan of almost every genre this game has smashed together into one has made it highly enjoyable, and the ending had me hoping that the next installment (should they choose to make it) gets in the development queue soon.
  2. 90
    Darksiders 2 rises above the rest as a perfect example of what an action-adventure game should be, and if I had my way, Vigil Games would be making them all.
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    90
    It has everything – great environmental puzzles, Prince of Persia style acrobatics, spectacular combat and an advanced character development system. It's definitely the best slasher available on PC and X360 and one of the best in genre's history. [10/2012, p.48]
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    83
    Darksiders 2 may not be perfect but it is a great action game nonetheless and guarantees hours of thrilling entertainment.
  5. Oct 11, 2012
    80
    Loot interacts with combat far better than Death's abilities. [Oct 2012, p.68]
  6. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    An exciting and lengthy adventure with interesting characters and a host of items and features that make its mix of combat and puzzle-solving very attractive. It's better if you also played the original game, but even if you didn't, Darksiders II is definitely worth looking at.
  7. Aug 24, 2012
    60
    I can say, though, that Darksiders 2 plays really, really well on a decent PC, so what it lacks in fidelity it at least partially makes up for in smooth framerates.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 132
  2. Negative: 27 out of 132
  1. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    A Terrible PC port, but my gosh this game is fun. Exactly what a sequel should be. Vigil's choice of music is wonderful, and slaying hugeA Terrible PC port, but my gosh this game is fun. Exactly what a sequel should be. Vigil's choice of music is wonderful, and slaying huge bosses with style and that epic music in background make that gameplay an unforgettable experience.
    I look forward to Darksiders 3
    P.S. The port is really terrible, but because of haters i feel it is ethical to give this game a 10.
    This game deserved it - plus Vigil is working on a pc patch to make the game behave like any PC game should
    Expand
  2. Sep 10, 2012
    10
    A wonderful action adventure game, perfect story-line, amazing capability for customization of Death. All weapons are impressed and easyA wonderful action adventure game, perfect story-line, amazing capability for customization of Death. All weapons are impressed and easy customize. music is perfect, the combat game engine is a masterpiece. Execution animations are well designed and bloody. I recommend it as game of the year. It is a must have Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Metacritic is really hilarious, no game deserves a 0/10 because it doesn't have antialiasing options. I mean i can understand not giving it aMetacritic is really hilarious, no game deserves a 0/10 because it doesn't have antialiasing options. I mean i can understand not giving it a 10/10 but come on. The game is extremely fun to play and the combat is very fluid. Yes the graphics options are lacking but there has been talk of a config file to fix that, and at least the game runs well unlike other games recently released *cough* Prototype 2 *cough* Also, I think most would agree that this game has excellent art direction and aesthetics, not to mention the soundtrack, which I think is exceptional. Even with lackluster graphics config I still think you're missing out if you don't play it, but to each his own, try it for yourself and form your own opinion. Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2013
    8
    So, after enjoying the first game I went straight for the second one. In Darksiders II we play as the Death horseman, who sets out to clearSo, after enjoying the first game I went straight for the second one. In Darksiders II we play as the Death horseman, who sets out to clear his brother Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2012
    8
    While the game is not as much fun as the original Darksiders for a sequel is holds up pretty well. I didn't get as attached to the charactersWhile the game is not as much fun as the original Darksiders for a sequel is holds up pretty well. I didn't get as attached to the characters as the original. Sometimes you get that "What was the point of this game again?" feeling as the story doesn't really suck you in and you are occasionally reminded that you are on a mission instead of just randomly looking for stuff to kill. Dialogue is mostly interesting and humorous and you rarely find yourself skipping cut scenes to get back to the action.

    There is a good balance between combat and puzzles but sometimes you wish there was something else in there to break it all up. I'm not sure what, but something. Occasionally you are shown a room full of jumping puzzles and you just cbf. Sometimes having to collected X number of items before you can fight the boss gives you the same feeling.

    While the graphics on the PC port are not perfect the art itself is quite impressive. It is a shame it wasn't ported with a bit more effort as a high end PC would have really made this game shine. Textures sometimes take me back to the late 90's, while the characters are bright and quite detailed at times the surroundings really lets them down. Forcing everything to max via your graphics card settings squeezes a little extra eye candy out of the engine.

    Combat is fun, fast and for a controller based game really not that repetitive. The variety of moves and weapons really puts this game in front. While some fights can drag on a bit the intensive action keeps the game alive. There is quite a variety of items and upgrades in the game and plenty of treasure to be found which makes the long and sometimes quite tricky jump puzzles worthwhile.

    Overall the game is a good sequel to the original and definitely worth the time if you're and action RPG fan.
    Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2012
    7
    Michael Wincott is the only reason it gets such a favorable review. The voice acting this man provided is beyond awesome. But that's just me.Michael Wincott is the only reason it gets such a favorable review. The voice acting this man provided is beyond awesome. But that's just me. The game on the other hand is painfully average. It probably shouldn't have boasted "open world" or "mass of weapons" because it delivers only on the surface. Going in depth, the gameplay is exactly the same as the Darksiders, with a "switch" in battle style to accentuate dual wielding, which is purely cosmetic. The story is not as engaging as the first game (which says a lot) and the puzzles feel a bit dumbed down (i'm not sure if they secretly tried to cater to kids or whatever) and there's no real challenge other than an arduous test of patience since BACKTRACKING is the name of the game. There's a system present to simulate a loot driven RPG but that too feels superficial and somewhat out of place. It feels rushed and bland and not at all fun and engaging. Basically, you'll feel right at home if you're a die hard fan but everyone else might feel lost, confused and unmotivated to keep playing. Expand
  7. Sep 1, 2012
    0
    Well this game could had been a good game of the 2012, if just the developers didn't make it look like a poor console port, that's one of theWell this game could had been a good game of the 2012, if just the developers didn't make it look like a poor console port, that's one of the main problems of this game, almost completely unoptmized for PC's, people even had been forced to play it 1280x720 (Console resolution if i am not wrong), because of a stuttering problem that is happening to many players, i've experienced this issue too, after spending 2 hours trying to fix it, i decided to give up, and hoping for a possible future patch that might fix those problems, another bad point is everytime you will move the camera around, it will reset itself behind you, making it harder for targetting/looking around, i suggest you to wait for a "possible" GOTY edition with all the DLC's and base game being released, but before that look around if the issues has been fixed, cause in the actual state of the game is not worth to be bought on PC's since it's choppy, should you have question you can contact me anytime, ill be happy to be more detailed. Expand

See all 132 User Reviews