Darksiders II PC

Darksiders II Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 642 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Darksiders II follows the exploits of DEATH, one of the four horsemen of the Apocalypse, in a weaving tale that runs parallel to the events in the original Darksiders game. This epic journey propels DEATH through various light and dark realms as he tries to redeem his brother WAR, theDarksiders II follows the exploits of DEATH, one of the four horsemen of the Apocalypse, in a weaving tale that runs parallel to the events in the original Darksiders game. This epic journey propels DEATH through various light and dark realms as he tries to redeem his brother WAR, the horseman who was blamed for prematurely starting the Apocalypse in Darksiders. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Sep 25, 2012
    96
    Being a fan of almost every genre this game has smashed together into one has made it highly enjoyable, and the ending had me hoping that the next installment (should they choose to make it) gets in the development queue soon.
  2. Aug 21, 2012
    90
    Darksiders 2 rises above the rest as a perfect example of what an action-adventure game should be, and if I had my way, Vigil Games would be making them all.
  3. CD-Action
    Aug 29, 2012
    90
    It has everything – great environmental puzzles, Prince of Persia style acrobatics, spectacular combat and an advanced character development system. It's definitely the best slasher available on PC and X360 and one of the best in genre's history. [10/2012, p.48]
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    83
    Darksiders 2 may not be perfect but it is a great action game nonetheless and guarantees hours of thrilling entertainment.
  5. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 11, 2012
    80
    Loot interacts with combat far better than Death's abilities. [Oct 2012, p.68]
  6. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    An exciting and lengthy adventure with interesting characters and a host of items and features that make its mix of combat and puzzle-solving very attractive. It's better if you also played the original game, but even if you didn't, Darksiders II is definitely worth looking at.
  7. Aug 24, 2012
    60
    I can say, though, that Darksiders 2 plays really, really well on a decent PC, so what it lacks in fidelity it at least partially makes up for in smooth framerates.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 143
  2. Negative: 30 out of 143
  1. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    great game. Most people will complain about the lack of graphics options. however, this game just proves that those arent necessary when yougreat game. Most people will complain about the lack of graphics options. however, this game just proves that those arent necessary when you have a great game, great art and jasper kyd as your composer, who once again does an outstanding job with the music. Its one of the most fun games ive played in a while. The cons are minimal compared to what it has to offer. dont be an elitist, be a gamer and appreciate what this game is doing. In a world populated by FPS and lame games like COD, this is a gem of a game, which surpasses the first one by miles. I trusted thq to give me a good game and they delivered by giving me an awesome game. Expand
  2. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    Game very engaging and very addictive, has tons of content, the voices of the characters are very well treated and well placed challenge.Game very engaging and very addictive, has tons of content, the voices of the characters are very well treated and well placed challenge. Although several reviews have said problems in graphics, I can not find them, if the cause is the graphics option from the shadows, you just put in the middle and start playing! The story has a plot and a very beautiful engagement. A final point in my first review, the game is excellent, it is a combination of hack-and-slashing with open world, skill tree like any other RPG, but that combined enough. Earlier in the game, you will get a little bored and very eager to get powerful, just be patient and calm to explore this magnificent game. You will not regret. Expand
  3. Aug 20, 2012
    9
    Yes I have it for PC, yes you can tell its a port. No there are no graphic options. Does it look good? Does it play good? Hell yes it does.Yes I have it for PC, yes you can tell its a port. No there are no graphic options. Does it look good? Does it play good? Hell yes it does. Force V sync through you card, Force the AA, and shut up. There can always be patch down the road to add these features. It does not break the great game these guys made. Tons of content, great voice acting, killer gameplay. You would have to be a fool to not realize that PC gamers are not the main revenue for developers, deal with it. Consoles took over years ago. That doesn't mean we should be neglected, but it also doesn't help to cry about it and miss out on a great game like this and pretend your 0 metacritic score is enough to matter. 0 really? Grow up. You are probably playing it right now with a **** eating grin on your face. I'm 31 and have played more games than I want to admit, this is a great one. Pick it up, you won't regret it. Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2013
    8
    So, after enjoying the first game I went straight for the second one. In Darksiders II we play as the Death horseman, who sets out to clearSo, after enjoying the first game I went straight for the second one. In Darksiders II we play as the Death horseman, who sets out to clear his brother Expand
  5. Aug 25, 2012
    8
    An all around time sink. This game's story is quite average with no new ground breaking or thought provoking moral themes, but it serves theAn all around time sink. This game's story is quite average with no new ground breaking or thought provoking moral themes, but it serves the purpose well. The combat is reactive and fast pace, although I found everything to be a cake walk as soon as i built up some critical chance and got Achidna's fangs from the story--even on the hardest difficulty. The aesthetics in this game are very well done although disappointing because of the slightly below average port. The texture work is bad. Without changing the focus i can see whole millimeter pixels in the shadows. For some odd reason inventory is mapped to "o" and "i" just pauses. In order to remap keys you actually have to go into the items screen. The map system is annoying requiring you to click and drag a small white box over the location, but these end up being only slight hindrances. The video options are sparse through and through, but seeing as this is a port, remains unsurprising. The controls have failed me more than once in a high stress platforming situation; I often found Death doing the wrong context sensitive action in a lava-is-rising-you-need-to-get-out-now situation but never enough to cause a rage quit. Over all this is a solid game, not revolutionary, that is barely held back by the transfer from consoles to PCs. Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2012
    7
    On balance, because of the combat and puzzle element it's a great game. It's pretty decent looking, but very few "WOW!!" moments for me. AOn balance, because of the combat and puzzle element it's a great game. It's pretty decent looking, but very few "WOW!!" moments for me. A few things drag it down for me, dodgy controls on PC keyboard, lots of keys are missed, feels like they haven't made much effort to do it properly (I assume they focussed on controllers). Quests are generally very poor, very simple, very unimaginative, the side quests are few and also devoid of any imagination. At it's very worst DS2 uses the most dreary form of 'quest' to death. Collectibles, f**k collectibles, it's the laziest easiest option and they overdo it, then overdo it some more, and then... overdo it again. The Arbiter's maze is another example of crushingly boring zone design. I guess the Crucible is required by the genre, but given that you have that, the Maze shouldn't have existed at all.

    A few people have commented on the greatness of the score, I think they must be listening to a different soundtrack. Several zones are poor, City of the Dead sounds like I'm back in a hotel concourse listening to piano muzak, simply awful. Entering the dead world you are greeted by overused flanging/phasing. It's nice, but we have heard it before. A very average score with some disastrous moments.

    It's very easy to get sucked in by the great combat and great looking art work, but large parts of this game are dreary, unimaginative and dull.

    But the combat and puzzles ARE very very good, but still at the end of the day, I finished DS1 with a "Wow, that was intense!!" this game I will finish with a "Not bad"
    Expand
  7. Mar 25, 2014
    0
    darksiders 2 is overall a fun game, but it was pretty inconsistent. most of the enviroments are amazing. some of the dungeons are also prettydarksiders 2 is overall a fun game, but it was pretty inconsistent. most of the enviroments are amazing. some of the dungeons are also pretty atmosphereic and cool. puzzles are overall mediocore. sometimes they are good but some times theyre boring and not fun to do. the music in the game is mostly good and pretty epic, though sometimes its a bit anoyying. and combat system is overall great, but like the puzzles, it gets tedious near the end of the game. the pacing in the game isnt really good. the best thing about the game is the boss fights. they are just thrilling and really fun to do. every boss fight feels unique, even though they dont really innovate.
    the game has few problems though. graphics arent really good. because the enviroment looks good, it makes up for it a bit, but when theres a cutscene and you have close-ups on characters and objects, you see how bad textures and character models are.the animations are inconsistent. finishers look great and opening doors is also pretty cool. combat animation are good, though they can be better. the running animation is pretty bad though. running also feels too slow. the story is bland. writing and characters are bad. voiceacting is also for the most part bad. the game tries to make a cool universe but it fails. the story was pretty forgetable. the open world is useless and doesnt make any real purpose. your horse is also pretty useless as you barely use him. the game is also a bit buggy. the aim redicle is just bad, and its a shame they released it. the aim redicle feels like a cheap port, and there are barely graphics options.
    overall, i sometimes enjoyed the game. it has a lot of problems, but sometimes i just couldnt stop playing because it was so amazing, but sometimes it was really boring and i didnt really want to play it. the game is just inconsistent in almost every aspect. if you like this kind of game, you will enjoy it and in its best moments it will be great, just sometimes expect some boring segments and a bad port.
    Expand

See all 143 User Reviews