Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 585 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Darksiders II follows the exploits of DEATH, one of the four horsemen of the Apocalypse, in a weaving tale that runs parallel to the events in the original Darksiders game. This epic journey propels DEATH through various light and dark realms as he tries to redeem his brother WAR, theDarksiders II follows the exploits of DEATH, one of the four horsemen of the Apocalypse, in a weaving tale that runs parallel to the events in the original Darksiders game. This epic journey propels DEATH through various light and dark realms as he tries to redeem his brother WAR, the horseman who was blamed for prematurely starting the Apocalypse in Darksiders. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Sep 25, 2012
    96
    Being a fan of almost every genre this game has smashed together into one has made it highly enjoyable, and the ending had me hoping that the next installment (should they choose to make it) gets in the development queue soon.
  2. 90
    Darksiders 2 rises above the rest as a perfect example of what an action-adventure game should be, and if I had my way, Vigil Games would be making them all.
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    90
    It has everything – great environmental puzzles, Prince of Persia style acrobatics, spectacular combat and an advanced character development system. It's definitely the best slasher available on PC and X360 and one of the best in genre's history. [10/2012, p.48]
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    83
    Darksiders 2 may not be perfect but it is a great action game nonetheless and guarantees hours of thrilling entertainment.
  5. Oct 11, 2012
    80
    Loot interacts with combat far better than Death's abilities. [Oct 2012, p.68]
  6. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    An exciting and lengthy adventure with interesting characters and a host of items and features that make its mix of combat and puzzle-solving very attractive. It's better if you also played the original game, but even if you didn't, Darksiders II is definitely worth looking at.
  7. Aug 24, 2012
    60
    I can say, though, that Darksiders 2 plays really, really well on a decent PC, so what it lacks in fidelity it at least partially makes up for in smooth framerates.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 136
  2. Negative: 27 out of 136
  1. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    A Terrible PC port, but my gosh this game is fun. Exactly what a sequel should be. Vigil's choice of music is wonderful, and slaying hugeA Terrible PC port, but my gosh this game is fun. Exactly what a sequel should be. Vigil's choice of music is wonderful, and slaying huge bosses with style and that epic music in background make that gameplay an unforgettable experience.
    I look forward to Darksiders 3
    P.S. The port is really terrible, but because of haters i feel it is ethical to give this game a 10.
    This game deserved it - plus Vigil is working on a pc patch to make the game behave like any PC game should
    Expand
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    Perfect game I'd consider it one of the best games that has come in the last 5 years. Much better than Skyrim. Don't listen to all the portPerfect game I'd consider it one of the best games that has come in the last 5 years. Much better than Skyrim. Don't listen to all the port whiners. Consoles are here to stay and PC gaming is a lost cause and dying. Expand
  3. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I hear very often that the game sucks for PC, but I'm reviewing the PS3 version.

    The graphics are stunning, and Death himself is a badass. The new loot system, the talent trees, and getting my horse at the very beginning was much better than having to wait until over halfway through the game like the last one. Death is not War in any way, and that's great. He's his own person, has his own (wondrously unsavory) personality, and turning into the Grim Reaper as much as you do is satisfying. The puzzles are just as entertaining and frustrating as the last game. Though Dust can, at times, be a bit confusing when you're trying to find the right way, you'll usually figure it out (after a bit of head scratching).

    I was disappointed when I did not see Fury and Strife, as Vigil had promised us that, but perhaps the White and Black Riders will get their own games, eh?
    Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2013
    8
    Darksiders I was amazing, rated it 8/10, and was expecting even better game with Darksiders II, did I get it? Yes and No. Character Death wasDarksiders I was amazing, rated it 8/10, and was expecting even better game with Darksiders II, did I get it? Yes and No. Character Death was very well done, especially if you have read the book, his sarcasm and witty jokes were amazing and so was his voice-acting. Story provided a lot of new information about Horsemen, Death/War, World, etc. The game focused more on RPG elements such as items but you didn't have to bother with them much since the game is relatively easy and 3/4 of gameplay you spend running around doing puzzles, only 1/4 is combat but that is nothing new compared to the previous game. The music is slightly better, it already was good in DSI, but now there are more different motives and from time to time I thought I was playing Prince of Persia. And where the game fails? Poor PC port. No proper video options, horrible aiming with gun/bombs. Another disappointing aspect of the game is difficulty. On Apocalypse it was fairly easy even without bothering with obtaining best gear only depending on what dropped from the stashes or Bosses. Final fight was was probably worst in the game history. The main boss did not inflict a single damage on Apocalypse and was dead faster than some minor bosses. And with the final boss going down goes the story, the end was horrible and it felt like it was rushed/written by someone else. Over and all, I gave the game 8/10. 20 hours fun with not-so-ordinary character Death, beautiful world design, story (omit the end). Main problems of the game are poor port, easy difficulty, weak ending. Expand
  5. Feb 12, 2013
    8
    Argghh!! This could've been a perfect PC title but Darksiders 2 suffers from an all too frequent developer flaw: the terrible PC port. Let'sArgghh!! This could've been a perfect PC title but Darksiders 2 suffers from an all too frequent developer flaw: the terrible PC port. Let's nail it now: the video settings are HORRID. Not only are they lacking video options but THEY DO NOT WORK. Aside from the resolution settings the video options are useless. I had to go use my NVidia control panel to remove the annoying tearing. The V-Sync doesn't work properly. The only way to get it to function (not entirely mind you) is to make sure the control panel forces it to work. Not only that, but the triple buffering has to be disable in the control panel to make it function. It's absolutely disgraceful that in this day and age, any game produced for the PC has such little regard for simple video settings. The other issue I had with the porting is the lack of key mapping on the number pad. The directional keys are bound to the arrow keys on the number pad so the number pad keys of 2/4/6/8 can't be remapped along with the DEL or backspace keys. Annoying. Aside from these issues, I can't think of any other negatives. This is simply a great game to play. The plot is very well-thought along with the smart dialogue perfectly executed by the voice-over cast (actor Michael Wincott with a British accent). It's a very entertaining, exciting and gripping story that strays from familiar plots. The gameplay is well-thought out and easy to use. There is a small problem with the "quick-action" logo that pops since it looks like a gamepad icon it doesn't make sense for it to be there. The level designs are articulate and well crafted. The production design is epic with such detail and creative environments. The character designs are colorful, detailed and unique. The foley work and voice-over sound great and are very well edited and pronounced. The music score by Jesper Kyd is outstanding. It's some of the best I've ever heard in a game. The game mechanics are excellent. I especially like the role-playing elements involving the weapons and gear. The attributes are random and mix well with the other components that can be added to the character. I liked the possessed weapons in particular. Darksiders 2 is on par with it's predecessor and is just a little bit better overall. It's an exciting game that is thrown into this amazingly created underworld. It's quite the feat only marred with programmer laziness. So close! Expand
  6. Oct 26, 2012
    7
    I don't know what happened in the recent years, but when I played Darksiders back then, I enjoyed the game a lot. It did not mindlesslyI don't know what happened in the recent years, but when I played Darksiders back then, I enjoyed the game a lot. It did not mindlessly combined ideas of other developers, to me it created its own Bible Arkham asylum. With this game it's different. I don't like it. First of all, I think it lacks story moments. Of 45 hours I spent in this game I had about 2 hours of story telling moments. I thing had the game length of the original, I would not notice this. But here it frustrated me. Secondly, the game artificially prolonged. Instead of one brilliant quest changing another with bullet speed, I go to one person for help, he sends me to another guy, the later needs me to clear 3 dungeons/floors/ collect orbs/crystals etc. You name it! How comes the game that handled quests presentation similar to Bayonetta and God of War, suddenly goes down to MMORPG-style? Next big problem - loot. I have nothing against it. I had my thumbs up for this opportunity. The case is, it is broken. In the original game, developer decided when you receive pieces of equipment, thus carefully selecting right moments to make battles interesting and challenging for you, because they knew how strong you gonna be when you reach this boss. Here developer can not determine that. You can rush forward through bosses, or you can farm experience and gold and become stronger. The result for me was: a) most of the enemies on Apocalyptic difficulty did not pose any threat for me and b) of 100 opened chests 98 chests contained garbage. In the original game, as you remember, every chest was useful, it was a treasure to find one already. It had lots of souls/artefact/map/life enhancer/demon meter enhancer. I really wanted to find all of them on the level. In Dirksiders 2 I don't care for chests. I already know they contain rubbish. As a result the game is easy for me and I changed my equipment 3 or 5 times. And without any enjoyment, because I was buying things from trader. What is the point of creating 1000 of equipment, when you need just 20-30 peaces of it?
    DLCs are a money sucking mockery - you get 2 hours of mediocre gameplay without interesting plot (you can not create interesting story in 2 hours) and innovative ideas. Compared with original game Darksiders 2 looks to me like Diablo III compared with Diablo II. It looks tempting, it feels empty. I witness MMORPG becoming more singleplayer engaging than singleplayer slashers. What a shame.
    Expand
  7. Sep 1, 2012
    0
    Well this game could had been a good game of the 2012, if just the developers didn't make it look like a poor console port, that's one of theWell this game could had been a good game of the 2012, if just the developers didn't make it look like a poor console port, that's one of the main problems of this game, almost completely unoptmized for PC's, people even had been forced to play it 1280x720 (Console resolution if i am not wrong), because of a stuttering problem that is happening to many players, i've experienced this issue too, after spending 2 hours trying to fix it, i decided to give up, and hoping for a possible future patch that might fix those problems, another bad point is everytime you will move the camera around, it will reset itself behind you, making it harder for targetting/looking around, i suggest you to wait for a "possible" GOTY edition with all the DLC's and base game being released, but before that look around if the issues has been fixed, cause in the actual state of the game is not worth to be bought on PC's since it's choppy, should you have question you can contact me anytime, ill be happy to be more detailed. Collapse

See all 136 User Reviews